Infiniti Q50 sedan photos: new 3-Series fighter leaked

infiniti-q50-leaked-0007

These leaked low-res photos offer us a first look at the new Infiniti Q50 sedan. The Q50 name is part of Infiniti’s new naming scheme, and this 3-Series/C-Class/IS fighter segment’s contender used to be known as the G Sedan, while the G Coupe will be known as the Q60.

It’s immediately recognisable as an Infiniti, and shares a similiar front end to the rest of the Infiniti range including the larger M Sedan (which is sold in Malaysia by Tan Chong with M25, M37 and hybrid M35h variants). The C-pillar gets an interesting treatment, something alot of car makers seem to be experimenting with lately – we saw a funky C-pillar on the Lexus GS too.

Full details and pix of the new Q50 will be revealed at Detroit 2013. In the meanwhile, you can also also watch a video teaser of the Q50’s headlamps.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tristan on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Doesn’t that front grille looks like a mini “spindle grill”? Perhaps a less curvy one a the waist line.

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 13, 2013 at 2:59 pm

3 Series fighter?
    Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
  • Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2013 at 3:29 pm

But sushi won’t sui kwan and kwai tai, like Euros

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • As much as l like it, as a Japanese-German rivaling car, I would go for the new IS just because the other one is more crazy and flamboyant, more ‘in-yer-face’ than this car and for some unknown reason, I like it, which is weird coz I like minimalism . I usually say this to Lexus cars but this is a bit…..dull ,espacially the interior. But I still like the front.

Is it better than a 3series , this car ,let the critic judge that. All I know is that it is different option towards the ever common German cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • TheHulk on Jan 13, 2013 at 3:33 pm

“I’m angry”

• confused on Jan 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Now we need an equivalent Acura to complete the Japanese charge.

• the interior look very hyundai-ish me think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
    • Jilbaber on Jan 13, 2013 at 4:34 pm

No surprise coz nowadays the Korean set the standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • stupidorwhat? on Jan 13, 2013 at 5:26 pm

infiniti interior was always that way….-.-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • zeebee on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:38 am

every brand have its own style this is infiniti style,you see bmw it have his own interior style and they repeat that in there cars,all brands do the same thing

• Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Koreans definitely set the standards for low Resale Value. 100% agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
      • Sohai-Sam Loo on Jan 13, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Uncle Sam, i still don’t understand why you keep saying the Korean got no resale value!!?? It seems the CAMRY also no resale value wor. Look at the CAMRY 2.4, buying price is 170K++ now selling 105-115k for 09 model. Say the use car dealer take your car around 90k-100k, you have loss 70-80k in 3yrs . I sold my Z4 03/07 in 2010, 3 yrs car and i lost only 50k. Now you tell me, your so called sushi got more value or my German sausage got more???!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
        • poorppl on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:36 pm

dunno you stupid or what…D segment cars were all the while having lowest resale value compared to C or B segment cars…..
          your name shows how high standard you are….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Sohai-Sam Loo on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:00 am

Once you have read all the past Sam loo comment than you will know that he keep on saying the Japs has more RV than any other car. My point is to tell Sam Loo not all Japs car has resale value. Your name show you how POOR are you in reading PPL post. NOOB!!!

• Dr Mamak on Jan 13, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Heheh joke of the day.
    Still waiting for F30 M Sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • looking-Good on Jan 16, 2013 at 2:49 am

agree :)
      I can’t wait to get the f30 M sport bodykit soon!

• PauKaya on Jan 13, 2013 at 7:31 pm

interior is disappointing but that centre console touch screen thingy looks interesting

• kev413 on Jan 13, 2013 at 8:26 pm

The next generation skyline?

• Josh Ling on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:42 pm

is it because of the new crash safety standard or really wanna show it is a 3 Series fighter, why this car has the headlamps set a bit lower like F30? even the shape is a little similar too.

• Jilbaber on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:06 am

Yes that a new safety standard… only Volvo (S60) 2011 and Acura TSX 2013 model survive IIHS new ovelapping crash test format while other German marque scored very low..(BMW 3 series-marginal, Mercedes C-class-poor and Audi A4-poor)

• BMW BEST on Jan 14, 2013 at 12:01 am

The side view(shape) is almost same as F30…LOL

• exterior is subjective

but for interior the new IS definitely pawn this hands down

• Zigzag on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:10 pm

This car………is like an evil but pretty girl

• the grill looks stupid.

• Max Shadow on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:55 am

HUGELY Disappointed (to say the least).
    This car looks a like a Hyundai Elantra.
    No other car looks like the old G37 but they made the 2014 Q50 look like every car out there.
    Total crap!

• cosmo on Jan 15, 2013 at 6:49 pm

I like this car!!! when i first saw this car photos here, i kind of disappointed with it… but when u see the ‘real’ car here http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3ApyRvHIGak
    I was like… wow!! this is so much nicer than the 3series and C class… it looks very different from the photos here… i think this car will be a serious player to the 3 and C…