W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class: new details revealed

mercedes-benz-c-class-rendering-front

Autocar UK has revealed a treasure trove of information on the fourth-gen Mercedes-Benz C-Class, which may receive its debut at next year’s Geneva show. No official images yet, so we have here some speculative renderings from automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin to give you an idea of what the car could look like, based on information and spyshots that’s found on the net so far.

The compact exec will be reborn with more sporting intent and will share very little with the current car. “We want once and for all to discard the idea that the C-Class is a car bought by your grandfather,” a Stuttgart-based official told Autocar UK. “We have gone to extensive lengths to ensure it will meet the expectations of a younger generation of buyers, both visually and technically.”

The smaller CLA-Class‘ arrival allows the C-Class to be pushed a little more upmarket. Sedan, estate, coupe and cabriolet bodystyles are planned, with the first two set to emerge in March 2014 and the rest the year after. All will get AMG versions, powered by a new twin-turbo 4.0 litre V8.

Autocar UK reports that the new car, codenamed W205, is 4.7 metres long, with a 2.82 metre wheelbase. Track width is up by 40 mm and overall width jumps by the same amount to 1.81 metres. Boot volume is increased to 485 litres.

mercedes-benz-c-class-rendering-side

Mercedes’ new MRA (Modular Rear-wheel drive Architecture) platform will debut on this car. It involves a lightweight monocoque structure made out of hot-formed steel that allows a base C160 model to weigh under 1.38 tonnes; bearing in mind the new car is larger all-round and more rigid.

A double wishbone set-up may take the place of the existing MacPherson struts up front, while out back the multi-link arrangement gets some refinement-improving tweaks.

There’ll be four-cylinder and V6 petrols ranging from a 184 hp turbocharged 2.0 litre to a 330 hp twin-turbo 3.0 litre, while the diesels should include an upgraded version of the familiar 2.1 litre engine in up to four states of tune, between 120 to 220 hp. Stop-start and regenerative braking will feature on all engines, bringing CO2 emissions down to around 20 grams per km.

Changes there are to the driveline architecture and driveshaft layout, which will allow, for the first time, production of the standard RWD and optional 4MATIC in both LHD and RHD. As a result, there’ll also be a RHD version of the next GLK-Class.

mercedes-benz-c-class-rendering-rear

Transmission options for the W205 are a six-speed manual and an updated version of the 7G-TRONIC. The British publication says that a nine-speed auto is in the works, most probably for the car’s mid-cycle facelift that’s planned for 2017, after it trickles down through more upmarket Mercs.

There will be a new electromechanical steering system and a range of self-parking options will come with it. Adaptive damping control is standard across the range, while the safety tech found on the facelifted E-Class, including the stereo camera and collision prevention systems, is planned for the new C-Class.

Additionally, there’ll be Distronic Plus with Steering Assist and Brake Assist Plus with Junction Assist; these systems respectively keep the car in lane and boost braking to avoid collision with cross-flow traffic and pedestrians.

Planned for 2015 is a plug-in petrol-electric hybrid version of the C-Class. Sources have suggested to Autocar UK that the car will be capable of travelling up to 30 km on electric power alone.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• PauKaya on Jan 13, 2013 at 7:25 pm

last gen toyota mark x lookalike…great

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 53
    • Sam Loo on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:46 am

MB got no class at all. Copy Toyota design. Anyway, padan muka to all those who got conned buying the recently dropped price of the C class. Buyers were singing praises that it was below RM199,000. Now you know why. Now that generation of Merc will drop in price like mad because it is now “old model”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 57
      • Alvin on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:56 am

Use your brain please.

First of all, the pictures are personal renderings by Theophilus Chin who is not designing the car for MB or is in anyway related to MB.

Secondly, the RM199K is an even more basic version of the C-class hence the reduce price.

Thirdly, all car manufacturers will offer discounts in view of an impending new model change. It doesn’t matter whether it’s MB or even Toyota. Substantial discounts is given for outgoing models. This is a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
        • Vader on Jan 14, 2013 at 12:31 pm

arr… don’t bother him..
          He is the smartest guy (in his own world)who own a hilux as his dream car!!!

• to Theophillus
    Please shorten the wheelbase and lengthen the rear overhangs. While you are it, shorten the boot by a little thanks. It looks a stretching pitbull at some angle.

thanks

• Jimmy on Jan 13, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Mercedes Malaysia please do not delete the safety equipments from your tick lists.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Jan 13, 2013 at 8:38 pm

The car looks cantiq with size of the previous generation Mazda 6, good.

• Speeder on Jan 13, 2013 at 8:41 pm

That is a horrid looking back. Hope they fix it before releasing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:50 pm

That is a rendering done by someone not related to Mercedes. He is just guessing how the car will look like, based on other recent designs from Mercedes. But for all we know the next C class may look like a submarine.

• Kaizer on Jan 13, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Wow now that looks real good! Definitely will wipe off the ‘uncle’ image that previous C-classes have had.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • The car looks extremely good and very potential for me

• yamaha sikoru on Jan 13, 2013 at 10:51 pm

very similar Merc CLA launcher soon, C-Klass is differ language and term.

• Farhat on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Dont think mercedes new design language fits for a small sedan like the c-class. Maybe these renderings are not yet completed?

I would suggest lowering the top half, because it looks like a W203 tophalf fitted on a new rendition. Also the wheel base seems abit off.

Nice design though, but i really miss the more prominant looking mercedes design back in early 2000, than the mainstream curves and bulges seen on the newer generation.

• Jolly_idiot on Jan 14, 2013 at 8:49 am

You must be an uncle

• skyrim on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:17 am

It occurs to me that the general public refer Merc as uncle’s car, my 30 years newphew would say the same…”uncle BM is better than merc’ he said. So, I lectured him like:

– if you are somebody else and above 30 but driving a later merc be it C or E series, other people will call you uncle all the same, for 30 is the count down. If you aren’t married yet by 30, esp ladies, your count down starts and heart beats faters; when you are 40, merc or not, you are uncles and auties, still has issue?

– if you below 30 and own a brand new merc, C or E series, then you must make sure you also have a landed house, 2 or 3 condos almost fully paid. For a below 30, that’s almost impossible feat, so the most sour grapes would do is shouting uncle to all merc owners. However if you can i.e. own the brand new merc plus those properties and pershap a couple of million dollars somewhere, then you a re definitely shouting about your father’s money. So still want to say merc is an uncle’s car? make you think doesn’t it? hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • you must be an “idiot”..

• QChan on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:22 am

It appears to look all brawn and little in the way of finesse for the gentle ones! What a sledgehammer approach!

• ABTguy on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:08 am

The “push nose” of recent Mercedes is a bit of overstyled. Hope they make it a bit slanted instead.

BTW, the upgrade of suspension from MacPherson to double wishbone will give BMW some headache. Maybe C-class will take over the best handling in the class soon from 3 Series.

And 9 speed gearbox is a bit too much for us, maybe it suits American more since their land is flat and cross-states take more than 1000 miles. I think 7-8 is the optimum level, ha ha

• look so small ^^

• Bong Ming Wei on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:44 am

there’s something about the proportion that doesn’t look quite right…

• dear theo please stop ruining car design. all you did is take the cla and stretch it.

• skyrim on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:59 am

– the rear bumper looks nice, the lamp is pusxy shape..need time to appreciate this..
    – The front looks macho! what a contadiction. Can’t help rreminiscing merc look in late 90s.
    – 184hp…, torque?…comparable to F30 320i I supposed; so may cuase a strategic change from F30 to new C-class in the next 3 years — worth monitoring but the pusxy shape has to go for now!

• Looks like Mercedes version of Toyota Vios -_-“

• kadajawi on Jan 14, 2013 at 1:55 pm

9 speed. How much does Toyota give us? 4? lol

• Fishy on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Ho ho ..Mr.Theophilus dear, Chris Bangle will be so proud of you!

• Jilbaber on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:25 pm

I hope this not what real C-class will look like..that coupe silhouette look should only applied for CL* variant…it should have more boxy design..

• Front a bit like Volvo S60….. More aggressive design compare to current model. An good option besides F30.