F15 BMW X5 unveiled by scale model promo material

f15-bmw-x5

And here it is, the first images of the next generation BMW X5, codenamed the F15. These front and rear three quarter shots of the third generation BMW X5 was uploaded to Diecast Empire’s Facebook fan page to promote 1:18 scale models of the car that are set to go on sale this year (the scale models, not the car).

This probably means the F15 X5 will be unveiled at a motor show sometime this year, if scale models are already ready to go on sale! We’re thinking perhaps one of the American motorshows, since that’s where X5s are built, at their Spartanburg plant.

These images of the X5 look like the usual promo images that BMW uses on their websites, as opposed to press images. It’s finished in a brown shade that BMW seems to be very fond of using these days. It’s an evolution of the current X5’s design rather than a revolution, maintaining a similiar look but taking on the latest BMW design cues such as headlamps that meet the exposed sides of the kidney grille.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• not nice… or wat we call ugly… current 1 looks better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • intermilan on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Buruknye. Is it a Ssangyong? WTF. ROFL.

• to me only the first x5 had road presence, the current x5 is so bland that you wont really notice it on the street. the new x5 looks to continue that, they could of made it angular as a bmw should but instead they went for plain boxy ( land crusider boxy nor range rover boxy) my guess is to improve the room for the 3rd row seats

• carnoisseur on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:13 pm

it is indeed very difficult to evolve a good design . if there is anything to go by ,the 1st gen X5 was the most Germanic looking of the lot . The sequels dont look so convincing.

• Louis on Jan 14, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Nice…

• Alpha on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:39 pm

The rear looks like just a less bulging version of the current one.Which is a good thing.

• Ugly.. All new BMW series ugly except X6, 3-Series Coupe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • PauKaya on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:58 pm

the x6 is pig ugly

• MiniCooperFreak on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:12 pm

If so then you my friend, is blind. X6 is praised as one of the best looking SUV ever made before the evoque came along.

• actually alot of european review label the x6 as distasteful, but i guess europeans and asian have different tastes

• carnoisseur on Jan 15, 2013 at 4:40 pm

X6 is a love it or hate it design

• Like a piece of art. Forget about value for money, I would like to own an Aston Martin, Lumbo Avendator and Evoque. BMW? Really ugly now. Lotus concepts looks good but for display only.

• baloney on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:19 am

current x5 looks nicer than x6. the more u look at x6 the weirder it looks

• Resemble new 2014 Honda Accorr USDM

• The foglamp light location ruin the image…the design is very bland now….bmw designer should retired…

• qwerty on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:20 am

if this is the real thing, then the current one is much nicer.

perhaps if the headlamps do not ‘connect’ with the grille, it’d look nicer.

• They could have just done this in the previous facelift insteadcof running out of creativity for a brand new generation. Afterall, Malaysian gotta pay more than half a million for their work!

• They could have just done this in the previous facelift instead of running out of creativity for a brand new generation. Afterall, Malaysian gotta pay more than half a million for their work!

• more like facelift.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Ugly.

• sigh.. BMW.. wats wronf wei. 1st was Merc now BMW. i guess besides F10 5ser, others are not that nice anymore.

• Odd placement of foglight.

• To me, X6 is nice, other X series are so boring. Any car will have ppl loVe it or Hate it…so we respect the taste n preference of individual…..anyway, it’s millions times better than our bolehland junk car.

• Runyakhunts on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:35 pm

foglamps looks like giant nostrils on a fat man….