New Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class makes its debut

Mercedes-Benz CLA 220 CDI, (C117), 2012

After a few teasers and some leaked images of a particularly aggressive looking variant, the Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class finally makes its world premiere at the Detroit 2013 show happening this month. The CLA-Class (codenamed C117) is Mercedes-Benz’s new four door coupe, what Mercedes-Benz calls a ‘style rebel’. It’s based on the same front wheel drive platform as the A-Class and B-Class.

5 variants were announced at debut time, excluding the CLA 45 AMG that was teased before this. The baseline is the CLA 180, which also has a more economical CLA 180 BlueEfficiency Edition counterpart that features fuel-saving features such as longer gear ratios. These are powered by a 1.6 litre turbo four cylinder engine doing 122 horsepower and 200Nm of torque, both mated to a 6-speed manual.

Mercedes-Benz New Year´s Reception, Detroit 2013

Go one step up the rung and you have the CLA 200, powered by a 1.6 litre turbo as well, but making 156 horsepower and 250Nm. This is also available with a 6-speed manual, and the CLA 200 does the 100km/h sprint in 8.6 seconds. The most powerful petrol version as of now is the CLA 250, with a 2.0L turbocharged direct injection four cylinder engine producing 208 horsepower and 350Nm of torque mated to a 7G-DCT 7-speed dual clutch transmission. It has a sports suspension and the option for 4MATIC all wheel drive. It hits 100km/h in 6.7 seconds.

The sole diesel engine at launch time is the CLA 220 CDI, with a 2.2 litre diesel engine mated to a 7G-DCT transmision, Peak power is 170 horses, while torque is 350Nm.

Mercedes-Benz New Year´s Reception, Detroit 2013

The aerodynamic four-door coupe body has a Cd figure of 0.23. Mercedes-Benz also claims that the frontal surface area, Cd x A – which is crucial to aerodynamic resistance – also leads the field at 5.49 sq. ft.

Features that contribute to good aerodynamics are a low A-pillar shoulder with adapted A-pillar geometry, aerodynamically optimized exterior mirrors, low-drag wheel trims and serrated wheel spoilers on the front and rear wheel arches. Extensive underbody cladding, additional cladding at the center of the rear axle, an aerodynamically optimized muffler and a diffuser improve the flow of air beneath the underbody.

Mercedes-Benz CLA 250 Edition 1, (C117), 2012

The CLA-Class has an advanced electromechanical power steering system which uses ESP control unit data to facilitate various steering assistance functions such as counter-steering in the event of oversteer, corrective steering when braking on road surfaces with differing levels of grip (split-friction braking), minimization of torque steer and compensation for crosswinds and road gradients.

Other safety features include ATTENTION ASSIST drowsiness detection and radar-based COLLISION PREVENTION ASSIST with adaptive Brake Assist, which offers collision protection in the CLA from speeds of just 6.5km/h. The optional Driver Assistance package also offers DISTRONIC, as well as familiar safety systems including Blind Spot Assist and Lane Keeping Assist. Optional is PARKTRONIC with Advance Parking Assist, enabling autonomous parking in parallel and perpendicular parking spots

Look after the jump for a gallery of the CLA-Class.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DewaSemut on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Wow… the red one is a real beauty… :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Looks……amazing, except maybe the rear end, there’s just something wrong with putting that slopping boot line on a car this small. Really like that Interior, derived from the A class ,which looks simplistic and amazing.
    Overall this is fluidic design done right, heard that Hyundai, stop putting chrome accent all over the sonata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
  • Awesome!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • bystander on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:58 pm

definitely a good move from MB!
    in other news, waiting for Sam Loo to start his speech on RV, conti radiator overheating and going on your knees! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • qwerty on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:31 am

don’t understand why did you always have to condemn others.

can’t you just focus on cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • skyrim on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Looking from the rear angle, it is a beaty, exterior wise. Interior wise, the round aircond vents are unmistakenly B or A series, although I read somewhere that B and A copied CLA. Merc have the penchant to change shape of things, remember the trademarks of “round lamps” or “lampu bulat” which was used to describe The Car – it is not gone now…so how long this round vents gonna last eh?…having said that it would indeed a pleasure if opportunity permits to own this CLA…I wonder what the money like in Malaysia..

• sepul on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:08 pm

the butt is ugly

the rest is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • kamil on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:13 pm

the sport rims for the red colour merc reminds me to the current facelift honda city sport rims.. hehe

• Michael Torlodo on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:32 pm

The front resembles my sls now..not too bad indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • kadajawi on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:02 pm

Nixe, except for front wheel drive and that rear… It melted!

Interior is also not bad, though the GPS looks like an aftermarket unit they just glued to the dashboard. Other brands do a much better job at integrating it.

• indomee on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Is CLA equivalent to C-class?

• tree star on Jan 14, 2013 at 4:14 pm

When you see this car coming… Pheeewit! Cat whistles! Watha beut! When it passes by and u see the rear..
    you just wanna puke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • from most angle the car looks stunning. but from profile view the front door looks thick,, and if seen from lower angle ie. slightly below eye level the car obviously looks thick in the middle with short wheelbase. quite weird.

• CheapandGood? on Jan 14, 2013 at 6:03 pm

the front and back looks good.

The back reminds me of S class but at the same time V jay jay.

• scratching head on Jan 14, 2013 at 6:42 pm

All parts of the car looks fine except the REAR. It looks like… butt ugly is just putting it mildly. If this CLA happen to swerve in front of me while I’m driving, I’d just scream “UGLYYY!” and rear end it without any regret even if it cost me a hefty insurance premium…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Gegary on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:30 pm

your flair for the melodramatic doesn’t overwhelm everyone’s desire to hold you to what you said, and ask for photo evidence you’ve done so.

• jerrymouse on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Has this car been launched in Malaysia yet or any part of our neighbour country? Is there any other Merch model which come with same/similar design with this CLA-class?

The reason I am asking is because last Saturday, while I am on my way to JayaOne from Federal road, I saw this car stopping right besides me (In front of KWSP building)at the traffic light. The car’s rear design caught my attention and looking at the trade plate hanging behind the car, I thought our local Mercedes dealer is going to launch some new model of car this year but to my surprise after visiting paultan website, this car just shown up and debut in Detroit 2013 today. How can this be possible??

• pomen keto on Jan 14, 2013 at 8:28 pm

maybe that was CLS….lol

• jerrymouse on Jan 15, 2013 at 9:47 am

upon checking from website, it seem that both CLS and CLA rear is quite similar to each other. Yeah la maybe CLS la..false alarm ><

• gangully on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:26 pm

u probably saw the CLS lah! they just launched it internationally…

• Gegary on Jan 14, 2013 at 7:27 pm

FRONT wheel drive sedan from MB?
    Older drivers would remember not so long ago, buyers were snobbing up on how luxury cars should always be rear wheel drive.
    Times have changed, together with 6 cylinders falling out of favor with emergence of 4 cylinder turbos.
    Onward to the future then.

• Luke GroundSlither on Jan 14, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Anyone has any idea on the price range? tq

• Jaybond on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Could this be a sub-RM200K from Mercedes-Benz?

• hope they fix the proportion of the car by making the back a lil bit longer.. than everything from this car will be perfect

• They can’t. It is already launched. Love it or loathe it. Best you can do is wait for the full model change… which is…

• shawal on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:19 am

looks like it’ll be cramped in the back
    otherwise…. great looking thing
    style over substance, style wins…

• By the way, what price range will it slot in? B and C class?

• Jilbaber on Jan 15, 2013 at 8:34 am

This car is definitely your wife’s CLS version for your secret young mistress

• longjaafar on Jan 15, 2013 at 9:54 am

Based on the pricing of the E class and the CLS, it would mean that the CLA would cost more than the vanilla C class in Malaysia. Why should it be so?
    Mercedes Malaysia should CKD the CLA and see how it can turn into a runaway success, irrespective of whether it takes away some sales from the C class.

• Ahmadfaris93 on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:37 am

I dont know if this would enter the Malaysian market anytime soon, my theory is, Merc themselve would probably see the sales of the A-class first as the CLA is based on A-class. It is a baby CLS and maybe it gives an option for others to get this if they can’t afford the CLS. Now, I wonder how would it be priced, is it lower than a standard C-Class ? Let’s see

• PauKaya on Jan 15, 2013 at 1:01 pm

sorry. don like it. c-class low spec better.

• what a nice and sexy car.. definitely an alternate choice for those who thinks that CLS is ridiculously expensive. if at RM290K-RM340K.. its actually a good buy. cheaper than A5 sportback.

• unforgiven on Jan 17, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Any idea on the launching date?

• unforgiven on Jan 18, 2013 at 12:09 am

After ge13, and if we get to change, those on Japan D-seg can anytime afford it…

• chill on Jan 18, 2013 at 6:46 pm

in my opinion this car is beutiful. i love the design..

• Toffeeman on Jan 20, 2013 at 10:05 am

I was told it will be in Malaysia early 2014. We are considered secondary market hence not in the priority list !

• Maserati on Jan 24, 2013 at 9:05 pm

So damn nice.Anytime nicer than BMW!

• Tommy on May 23, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Wonder when it’ll released in malaysia n d otr price

• kucipan on Oct 25, 2013 at 11:15 am

b.e.a.u.tifull..in every corner, very fluidic design, combined of volvo s60 (front) + hyundai sonata (rear) = CLA-Class

• this is one very very sexy car… top to bottom!

• Pedaltometal on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:47 pm

This car supposed to be Merc’s initiative to enter the lower price luxury market together with the new A class which help them claim the top spot in best selling luxury car.
    With price tag starting at USD29,000(CLA250) and has been a success all over the world.
    Not sure why, but clearly Merc Malaysia do not see this car as marketing effort to sell more of this model.

Even after tax, this car should be price below the RM200k mark for the base variant.

In comparison, the BMW316i is only at RM209k.

I think there is some pricing error here.