Toyota Yaris GRMN Turbo Concept – 148 hp, 205 Nm

yaris grmn turbo concept

The GRMN Sports FR Concept Platinum seen at the Tokyo Auto Salon over the weekend wasn’t the only offering from GRMN, Gazoo Racing’s customisation and tuning arm. There was also the GRMN Yaris Turbo Concept, a race-fettled version based on a three-door Australian-spec’d model.

The car is powered by a turbocharged 1.5 litre mill offering 148 hp and 205Nm of torque. Exterior and interior changes include new aluminium wheels, sports seats, race pedals and a modified rear bumper, among other things. Also tucked in is a tuned suspension, uprated disc brakes and a bodyshell that has been strengthened for track use.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I know there’s the word FR in the name, but where the hell is that much torque delivered to, the front wheels? Thsts something in a car this small

Next gen Vios owner (not me) are Grinning in delight.

• You do know that this is an after market mod right? Not officially from T.

• Paul Tan on Jan 14, 2013 at 5:38 pm

FR was mentioned but it was on reference to the other Toyota 86 based model shown, read the sentence again.

• Sorry…. I have very little dyslexia, it takes me several attempts to get the words right. Writing these comments takes time and several autocorrect for me.
        Thanks again Paul!

• Does the frot look like a Myvi, or is it just me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • whysoserious on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:04 pm

Still prefer this.. http://paultan.org/2010/12/03/proton-satria-neo-r3-concept-at-klims-200-hp-250-nm/

yum yum..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • dun medan on Jan 14, 2013 at 2:04 pm

now we’re talking….

• ben yap on Jan 14, 2013 at 3:07 pm

should plonk that into the upcoming vios. the current engine has been running for a decade.

• FR, in the auto industry, means front engine, rear wheel drive. I doubt this car is a FR. Moving ForwaRd? Hehe

• SUV lover on Jan 14, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Wonder how next gen vios looks like…maybe better design

• Jienn on Feb 14, 2013 at 2:27 pm

The thais already have factory fitted turbo version of vios 7 years ago. What for TRD is doing this… they just need to copy and paste..