Volkswagen CrossBlue Concept: MQB-based 7-seater

Volkswagen Studie CrossBlue

This is Volkswagen’s Detroit 2013 debutant, the Volkswagen CrossBlue mid-size 7-seater SUV concept, built on the Golf’s MQB platform. Depending on whether its accepted well, it will go into production as a 7-seater slotted in between the Tiguan and the Touareg.

Although designed in Germany, Volkswagen says it merged the clean lines of German Volkswagen DNA with the masculine character of an American SUV (think Chevrolet Orlando). The concept is 4,986mm long, 2,014mm wide, and 1,732mm high. It has a wide front and rear tracks of 66.4 and 66.8 inches respectively. This concept wears typically oversized 21-inch aluminum-alloy wheels shod with 235/45 tires, and significantly flared wheelarches.

In this concept, power is via a 190 horsepower TDI Clean Diesel engine from the new EA288 family, that’s used in combination with a 54 horsepower electric motor at the front and a 114 horsepower electric motor at the rear. The motors are powered by a lithium ion battery in the centre tunnel. This powertrain combo is mated to a 6-speed DSG gearbox.

Combined power output is 305 horsepower, and considering the combination of diesel and electric power, you know torque numbers are going to be over the roof – the diesel engine alone makes 400Nm, while the front motor does 180Nm and the rear motor does 270Nm. Combined torque output is 700Nm, more than enough to lug an MQB-based SUV and 7 people around.

The default mode of operation is a classic hybrid, where the electric motors are used to assist power as often as possible. In Eco mode, parameters such as the throttle map and air conditioning are controlled for minimal fuel and electrical consumption. In Sport mode, the drive system’s maximum power potential is exploited. Other available modes are: offroad, where all-wheel-drive is permanently engaged; charging; and EV mode, where it drives as an electric vehicle.

The EV mode uses just one motor – the rear 114hp/270Nm one. The 9.8kWh li-ion battery allows it to cover 22km on EV mode. It can be charged by the TDI engine in motion, or it also has plug-in functionality, allowing charging via external power sources if required. The driver can intentionally switch over to a charging mode by pressing another button on the center console. The TDI engine charges the battery while driving in order to store enough electrical energy for EV operation later in the journey—for instance, in an urban area.

The CrossBlue is equipped with two ‘fuel doors’. The filler neck for the diesel tank is on the passenger side, and engineers integrated two electrical sockets behind the door on the driver’s side.

The first socket is used to charge the lithium-ion battery and the second can be used to connect electrical devices such as coolers or camping lights. In this case, the CrossBlue acts as an auxiliary electrical generator, a very useful feature.

The offroad mode is an interesting one. It activates all wheel drive mode for offroad purposes, but in this car there’s no propshaft as the only rear wheel propulsion is by electric motor.

Thus in offroad mode, the front wheels are driven by the TDI engine while the front motor operates exclusively as a generator for the rear electric motor. Volkswagen calls this “propshaft by wire”, since power is transmitted to the rear wheels by cabling!

It isn’t mentioned whether the car is going to be a US-only model, though Volkswagen says it is ‘perfect’ for the US market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Looks muscular and rugged( weather it is I’m not sure)
    but what really got me interested is that propshaft by wire thingy, that has to come to production!!!

• 700NM, ain’t no hybrid has that (except this one).

• Since we are in the discussion of a concept….. Audi E-tron concept from Frankfurt 2009 with 4500 NM from if I’am not mistaken, 4 electric motors.

Nice interior tough, this Vee-Dub

• Vader on Jan 15, 2013 at 10:54 am

it look more pretty compare to the PS picture..
    the diesel engine is great but always hopeless for bolehland..

• goguncas71 on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:51 am

you dont know what youre talking about…VW Malaysia offers the Toureg TDI with full manufacturers warranty.

• nickken on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:02 am

Its stated a 7 seater ??? but the pictures all show 6 seats ???

• taboogen on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:45 am

you’ve been conned.. hahaha

• Boot still big enough to fit 1 person.

• Garfield on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:12 pm

I guess it’s because it’s still a concept. In European 7-seaters (e.g Touran), the middle row is usually 3 individual smaller seats that may not exude the concept’s luxury. Or they may feature a split 60:40 bench in the middle. I for one wouldn’t mind a 6-seater at all.

• Jimmy on Jan 15, 2013 at 10:53 pm

I want 2nd row captain seats, more elegant.
      Good, something of Ninja King size, but with stiffer chassis, possibly better safety kits and brand new from German.

• ABTguy on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:10 am

Wow, the technology is awesome !! Big car yet sips little fuel. Like the idea of how they designed the EV & charging auxiliary functions !

My office is 18 km away from home, this means I don’t need to spend a single drop of diesel to get to offcie :-D

• Chicarito on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:29 am

I only see 6 seats, where is the missing one?

• I want this

• Amir Sufyan on Jan 15, 2013 at 11:52 am

I also want this…if its a petrol…..not familiar with diesel engine..the only option is fortuner 2.7…waiting for new 7seater crv….i hope

• Garfield on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:06 pm

It could work well for VW Malaysia, but they could test our market’s taste by bringing in the Amarok first. The positioning is unique because the price is below the Touareg yet offers space like Audi Q7.

• Gavin on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Diesel + electric motors = Locomotive

• veedub on Jan 15, 2013 at 5:50 pm

diesel + electric = conventional non-nuclear submarine ler bro!

• PauKaya on Jan 15, 2013 at 12:57 pm

very outdated looking

• good bye ninja king?

• GrandSavrify on Sep 30, 2013 at 10:40 am

Dont you guys think the rear looks like Q7? Still a great car though.