New 2014 Lexus IS officially revealed – IS 250, IS 350, F Sport, IS 300h, the first ever hybrid IS

2014LexusISFSPORT026

We’ve seen some pics, now the new Lexus IS has been officially revealed at Detroit. The all-new 3-Series fighter makes its debut with three variants – IS 250, IS 350 and the hybrid IS 300h. The latter, which will be available in Europe and Japan, but not USA, is the first IS to feature a hybrid drivetrain.

UPDATE: The new Lexus IS is now launched in Malaysia. Click here for our launch report and pics.

The Lexus Hybrid Drive system in the IS 300h combines an electric motor and a new 2AR-FSE 2.5 litre four-cylinder Atkinson cycle petrol engine, equipped with D-4S fuel injection, Dual VVT-i and an Exhaust Gas Recirculation system. Total system output is 217 bhp and Lexus is targeting class-leading sub-100g/km CO2 emissions and average fuel consumption of over 23 km/l.

The petrol-only IS models carry on with naturally aspirated 2.5 and 3.5 litre V6 engines. The 204 hp 4GR-FSE V6 in the IS 250 is paired to a six-speed auto, but the IS 350 features the eight-speed, Sport Direct Shift (SPDS) automatic from the IS F with quicker shifts, full torque converter lockup and throttle blips in manual mode.

2014LexusIS015

The new IS is the first Lexus to adopt “G force Artificial Intelligence” (G-AI) control in Sport mode. This system automatically selects the optimal gear and downshift pattern in response to G force, and maintains the selected gear through a corner.

Speaking of modes, Drive Mode Select offers up to four switchable driving modes – Eco, Normal, Sprot and Sport S+ (S+ available on IS 350 only) – that optimise vehicle systems to suit the driver’s preferred combination.

The new IS aims to offer a class-leading driving experience. Laser screw welding and adhesive body bonding techniques, which, together with additional spot welding, have increased the car’s overall body rigidity.

2014LexusIS004

The double wishbone front suspension has been revised, giving a 20% increase in roll rigidity. At the rear, there’s a new multi-link system similar to that featured in the new GS. Changes to the structure and rigidity of the steering rack have created lighter, smoother and more accurate steering feel.

The new IS can be had with an F Sport package, which is not just about aesthetics, but bring “genuine dynamic enhancements” via specially tuned suspension and steering.

F Sport cars have a special grille and front bumper design. There are more prominent chrome trim elements and a different mesh pattern is used for the grille. The “waistline” of the spindle-shaped grille is set higher than on the standard models, creating a larger lower grille that can draw in the greater volume of cooling air.

2014LexusIS350FSPORT016

Inside, F Sport exclusive seats provide extra support. The chairs are made using an integrated foaming method that ensures there are no gaps between the upholstery and the filling, giving both good comfort and lateral holding.

The current IS is very tight inside, something the new model should fix, thanks to increased width (+10 mm) and a longer wheelbase (+70 mm to 2,800 mm). Lexus says that the combination of the extended wheelbase and a thinner front seat design delivers best-in-class knee-room (+85 mm compared to the current model) and rear seat access. The new rear seats also have a 60:40 split-folding function.

For the IS 300h, the hybrid battery pack is located beneath the boot deck board. Boot volume is 450 litres, 30 litres less than the non-hybrid IS.

Full high res gallery and videos are after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• vee-oh on Jan 16, 2013 at 4:57 pm

if i can afford luxury car, this new Lexus will be my choice…Germans are quite boring oredi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 14
    • German design are more to Timeless, Clean and streamline. This thing looks just distortion in design point of view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 50
    • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:54 pm

that is why you still cannot afford luxury.poor taste and poor choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
      • dude it is his comment for his mind to say whatever the hell he wants.

Using your theory, founder and CEO of Amazon , Jeff Bezos, travels around in a 1988 Chevy Blazer, must have poor taste for a better car, right?. Mark Zukerberg too also can’t afford a better car, going around in a Damn Acura TSX. Needless to say, Warren Buffet, is a man with terrible taste, although he has a Gulfstream IV, he is still going around in a 2005 Lincoln Town Car, could have gotten a BMW.

And people with great taste, Jay-Z with a Maybach Exelero. Justin B**ber with a chrome plated Fisker Karma. They must have excellent taste right.

granted I still walk into Pavilion or Bangsar with my 10 ringgit set of Pasar clothes and go round in a 20yr old Saga, but we all have an individual mind. To say a person has poor taste and choice based on his comment is like saying that a girl is beautiful because she is sexy. I’ll love to see one day vee-oh here in that Lexus IS driving past you in your will-be-daily Kancil.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
        • Agreed!! some ppl are just too shallow minded and cant accept the comment of other ppl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • dugong on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:53 pm

dude, your comparison is not relevant. Those ppl that u mention are rich billionaires. IT does not mean they are car enthusiasts and have good taste in cars.

• oh and comments like that means you have good taste and able to afford cars like this? please respect other ppl’s view and opinion without sounding so arrogant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • “Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself, do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.”
        -Bruce Lee

Interesting that that was posted on Facebook before I read your comment. Likewise Vee-oh here,it is his comment and his brain to say what he likes. Based on your theory, those who cannot get wealthy in life are people with poor taste and choices. Choices maybe, but taste? Jay-Z has a Maybach Exelero and Justin Bieber has a chrome plated Fisker Karma, they are quite able to afford luxury, with their taste being so bad. Inversely ,Billionaires such as Mark Zuckerberg, Jeff Bezos and Warren Buffet are way richer than those wannabes, and yet they drive a Acura TSX, 88′ Chevy Blazer and 04′ Lincoln Town car respectively, do they not have taste for a better automobile ?

I actually wrote something more fiery earlier but for some unknown reason it was’t posted.

• vee-oh on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Audi should learn something about design from Lexus…your car models look the same across all range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 14
  • taboogen on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:05 pm

big nose small eyes… i think the jap are carried away with the styling… 3series anytime for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
    • cheapppl on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:03 pm

im not surprise since you are always here to bash each japanese car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • PauKaya on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:05 pm

a bit disappointed its only a 6 speeder and the obmission of the S+ for the IS250

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • i would get the IS-F just for that LFA digital speedo

• downsys on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:15 pm

Whoa, the LED is part of the front bumper instead of the headlight? I haven’t seen this kind of design before.

The current IS is still quite stylish despite its age.

• torque on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:46 pm

I have to say that I’m on your side on this one bro…the current is much more streamline and looks timeless to me. This one really takes the cake…too sharp and drastic the lines. Good thing is when this one hit Malaysia, we all could might getting the current ‘handsome’ one at a bargain prices. Still, the IS-F speedo is a nice touch!

• one word: Ugly!!! luckily its wearing LEXUS badge and because of this it still have their hardcore fan boys from Toyota.

Just imagine if this thing wearing a china car maker badge, i bet most of ppl here will says the same thing: Ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • and if its wearing a korean badge people will praise it

• there are people praising the Hyundai Sonata Hybrid and the front end of that HCD-14…
        …so maybe[?] given that Toyota has develop a long line of loyal haters across the globe.

• PauKaya on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:55 pm

perhaps if only toyota stop producing junk like the avanza etc…and give us the JDM stuff…still, malaysia is really a small market compared to indonesia and vietnam

• Okay I change my opinion….This car is definitely handsome in my eyes. in normal form where the grill has been tone down with a more conventional horizontal bars still looks unique and flamboyant. I like the fact they kept the gentle ‘flick’on the side as it nears the rear wheel arch, I thought it was special to the F-sport model. BTW, is it me or does the LFA like LCD instrument cluster is exclusive towards the F-sport? Interor still looks great with the dual binnacle, though I wish for a more exciting steering wheel which looks like it was taken from the mundane-era Lexus.

Overall, this really is a desirable Lexus that a decent normal person can afford. Looks great, and from Jay Leno’s review (US spec F-sport) it rides and handles like…..a German car, and a, as quoted ‘a sports car hiding in a sedan’.

In Malaysia I don’t think it will dent the three Iron Crosses. But as something different, I really have no better alternative. Great job Lexus. Won’t say much until it’s launch here next year or so.

• Downright ugly and garish.

Honda was experimenting with radical and flashy design with the last reincarnation of Civic. Now they are reverting back to the mundane. There must be something in it, perhaps feedback from their loyal customers, or the sales figure.

With this design, Lexus is alienating many of their admirers who value class, poise and comfort.
    I currently own one, sadly the replacement will not be another Lexus. Infiniti Q90 look more inviting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • auto-enthusiast-but-not-quite on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm

great photos!!! HI RES!! thanks! indeed one of the more interesting premieres from NAIAS.

• Gavin on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:56 pm

nice face but the front looks very very detached, esp the front grille it’s too wide and like they didn’t know what to put there so just left it

• Lexus boss tells his design team ‘ I want jaw dropping design!’…..
    Hence, come this…..

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Fugly…..designer must be playing with his iphone app when designing the grille…took a photo of the old an distorted it…downright fugly….it should be Lexus learning from Audi…

• RajaKing on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:25 pm

Seriously?? its an expensive hideous machine.. seriously!

• amirad on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:02 pm

This is one of the few Jap cars I would aspire to own but its more expensive than most German marques.

• SexyandGood?+quiet and comfort! on Jan 16, 2013 at 9:55 pm

At first I did not like the Spindle sarong when the GS came out. But this IS, I am very much attracted to it. I guess because of the swoosh leds help accentuate the shape of the spindle. Overall, the buttock does look a bit like BMW car, but due to its light’s frame tapering off towards the back wheel well, it seems to have flowing lines that again makes it look sexy.

Needless to speak, the tech is good and Jay Leno likes the car. Definitely wait for the IS-F if you want the LFA engine in one? keep fingers crossed.

• it’s been a while since I last saw a design as awesome as this from the Japanese!

• jinkalo on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Just a Beautiful car ever create from Lexus, curve line every made for balance and sophisticated , this call future design ,bravo

• ramun on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:12 am

Who cares if it is not a beautiful car.. the LF-A inspired meter cluster win- any time. considering LF-A is way too epic & will stop production at 500 units.

• qwerty on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:12 am

the non F-Sport IS350 is actually very handsome! especially with those huge rims, i like it!

sorry Lexus, you were wrongly blamed previously when the leaked images of the F-Sport variant came out. Still, the F-Sport one went a bit off IMO.

• SexyandGood?+quiet and comfort! on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:23 am

Lots of commenter on autoblog site said, Lexus is for Asians…and calling it ugly and makes them puke ect.

While I have to admit I did not like the new GS. This IS is different So I would think, if less people likes it, also kewl, less competition to buy one, discount would be easier to come by and deeper. Lastly, buying Lexus is about NVH comfort. Now there is option for hybrid, various updated tech, sure why not. Turns out the car is pushing its envelope on exterior design and it is a unique one, so cheers!

• Joe Radzif on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:37 am

Dari tepi nampak macam BMW 5’s sikit..

• Direct view from the rear is beautiful, but other than that i am not so sure. But some car need some time to get used to it.

• Jimmy on Jan 18, 2013 at 12:00 am

How are the safety features of this IS compared to the new 2.5L Mazda 6?

• Jerry on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Opinions are mixed but they come from extreme ends, either like or dislike.

Lexus traditional buyers look for good look, comfort, built quality and cast iron reliability. Not sure whether they will continue to stay loyal to the brand.

Many of those who adore the new design, might not have the mean to actually buy and own it.

Just look at Mazda 6. It definitely look much more desirable than Accord, Camry or even Sonata, but how many do we see on the road?

The proof will be in the sales figure.

• sonny on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:53 am

kind of over do . . . . .

• The front looks like that ugly alien creature – predator!

• dugong on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:22 pm

back looks like rip off from this

http://www.google.com.my/imgres?q=honda+accord+euro&start=166&um=1&hl=en&sa=N&tbo=d&biw=1600&bih=799&tbm=isch&tbnid=2YpjWFMJOqbSfM:&imgrefurl=http://www.sgdrift.com/2008_02_01_archive.html&docid=vHLvAD9dfzkSFM&imgurl=http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_930Nfj4G8iQ/R7ON6sKRrTI/AAAAAAAAAzw/m5P39sf9aMo/s400/Honda_Accord_Euro_Photos_3.jpg&w=400&h=213&ei=CfQIUeSaHcfMrQeM84DIDw&zoom=1&ved=1t:3588,r:79,s:100,i:241&iact=rc&dur=848&sig=101625835614213160105&page=8&tbnh=164&tbnw=308&ndsp=28&tx=106&ty=69

• Scott on Jun 06, 2013 at 11:07 am

The new 2014 IS250 looks like camry. The side mirrors just like a camry, not to mention the ugly inside. The a/c conductors way too ugly along with the dashboard. If I spend that kind of money I rather but a BMW or BENZ. people in USA are blind with lexus equals toyota.