Perodua Myvi ‘Preventive Measure Campaign’ to fix EPS steering column – 74,000 units involved

myvi recall
UPDATE: Perodua’s MD said that there were 86 reported cases before the recall was announced, but no accidents. As of February 3, 1,500 Myvis have been fixed, while 5,000 owners have booked their slots. The EPS column replacement process requires one to two hours.

Perodua is initiating a “Preventive Measure Campaign” recall for 74,000 new Myvi variants produced between March 2011 and March 2012 to replace the Electronic Power Steering (EPS) column of the car.

“We apologise for the inconvenience caused to our customers but this campaign is necessary as the car’s performance may not be at its best and could partially compromise the driver’s response time at low speeds,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said.

He added that based on studies conducted by Perodua, the problem could be detected when the EPS indicator is lit, after which, the driver would feel slight steering heaviness at speeds of between 30 km/h and 40 km/h. This issue can be temporarily fixed by switching off the engine and restarting the car.

“However, for a permanent fix and to eliminate any possibility of risk to our customers, we kindly request that an appointment to be made at any of our 170 service centres nationwide for the replacement of the EPS column,” Aminar urged.

After making an appointment at a service centre, a customer will be given a briefing on the replacement of the EPS column. The exercise will take approximately 80 minutes. The campaign time frame is open ended, but Perodua is encouraging customers to bring their Myvi in as soon as possible. All costs will be absorbed by the carmaker.

Perodua has already issued notification letters to affected customers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Finally Perodua have major problem… Not all car are perfect… Thumbs Up Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 14
    • this will haunt perodua forever like wat happen to proton with tagline sudah fix ka power window… perodua new tagline sudah fix ka power stering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 21
      • from what i know, proton never recall their power window problem..but they did give lifetime for new proton cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
        • old myvi had a problem with power window, p2 did not recall.. old myvi also had an endless problem with brake calliper but p2 also dont even bother. Did u know mr. aaa??

Toyota develop EPS.. but malaysians become their “tikus makmal” to test the system..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • fahmi on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:54 pm

It is TRW. JTEKT (toyota-owned) don’t supply EPS to Perodua.

• i said develop.. not supply…

• bang u ckp perodua tikus makmal???so how about proton???its not even a tikus makmal it juz a copay cat

• dissappointed on Dec 09, 2014 at 12:23 pm

this show that proton aftersale sucks, they don;t care about sold cars,

• 1st batch of myvi mostly got power window problem also..
      except for driver window, all are always faulty.. new myvi tak sure pulak..buat apa nak beli myvi banyak2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • zainal abidin on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:21 am

Myvi has power window problems all this while and yet nobody seems to make a fuss out of this issue. Hint….it’s the same vendor that makes waja and gen2 power window.

• carazy on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:27 pm

good names for RECALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • Bimmer on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:29 pm

What a fancy name for a recall…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • costwise on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Nice name to call it. This concern steering column, not power window!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • mosar on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:30 pm

so that whats its call these days huh..preventive measure campaign…a recall is a recall…just admit it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
  • xilas on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:30 pm

omg~ many kena.. i am one of it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • KageSenshi on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:34 pm

lol .. “This issue can be temporarily fixed by switching off the engine and restarting the car.” < this .. reminds me of this ::

"""
    Three engineers were riding in a car: a mechanical engineer, a chemical engineer, and a software engineer. The car stalled, and they rolled it to the side of the road.

The mechanical engineer popped the hood, looked in and said "Look. The drive belt is loose. All we have to do is tighten it up and the car will work just fine."

The chemical engineer replied "No, that's all wrong. The problem is fuel contamination. We have to drain the fuel, filter it, and then everything will be A-OK."

The software engineer told the other two "No, I've seen this problem before. We have to get back in the car, close all the windows, shut down the car, get out, get back in, start up the car, open all the windows, and then it will run."?
    """

xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 41
  • Celicazz on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:35 pm

bashers remained tight lipped?

where are they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
  • i_swear on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:36 pm

I think I have imagine things. I somehow read “Recall” when i read the “Preventive Measure Campaign”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • llgriver on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:37 pm

In other words, RECALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • llgriver on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:38 pm

In other word, RECALL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • i’ve heard this problem few years back on toyota model when i worked at the semiconductor company that produced that ASIC (ICs). FA results shows that there are burn mark on the IC’s dice. too bad perodua noticed this quite late. dan nampak sangat perodua guna stok barang lama..hurmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • sekarang toyota jadikan pemilik myvi baru sebagai “tikus makmal”.. too bad for the hardcore die hard fans…

• Steven Goh on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:41 pm

There was an earlier ‘preventive measure’ for the new MYVI which was never publicized. When I sent my car for the 10k servicing, the SA advised me to leave the car longer for them to replace the windscreen holding rubber – seems the original rubber has fewer sticking points and may be dislodged at high-speed resulting in the windscreen being blown off! They replaced with a new rubber which has more sticking points (whatever that means). Looks like the new MYVI has a few hidden safety hazards – not counting the discontinuation of the Autolock system! What next – replacement of engine block?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
  • Perodua sengal on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Cakap je la kasik eps yg jahanam pada customer, kan senang. Recall is the right word to describe it. Preventive measure campaign konon.

Boikot perodua. Cakap tak serupa bikin, bikin pon tak serupa cakap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 27
    • Orang biasa on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:52 am

At least Proton kalau recall, depa say recall. Ini tidak, Preventive measure kepala hotak

• tokmoh on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:47 pm

So that after fix can fly to the Mars, Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
  • neverbuyp2anymore on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:48 pm

why not recall for klok! klok! sound on 2007 myvi front brake caliper… shit P2…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
  • damn it, another thing is would there be other problems that may arise after changing the eps column?

you know what if things are not done properly during the dismantling and assembling back of the column?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Listen listen listen listen listen…. myvis have problems too…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 2
  • siazshuakme on Jan 16, 2013 at 5:55 pm

p2 just dont want to admit their fault. cmon, it should be RECALL CAMPAIGN instead of ‘preventive measure campaign’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • spyshotX on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:21 pm

“variants produced between March 2011 and March 2012..”

one whole damn year now only the problem rectified?! that eps is a safety part for heaven’s sake!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • hidz7 on Jan 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Good thing is Perodua took action and admit there’s a problem with their cars.
    Not blaming it’s ‘kecuaian pemandu’ if anything do happen because of this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • japanese manufacturer always make recall. something wrong during design n testing. may be too rush or may be development system not good. recall show they are resposible but if the problem involve safety then we are in danger.

• mamat on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:44 pm

they should recall all the 1st generation n Fl MYVI….to be fair…

• Sharon on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:50 pm

“Preventive Measure Campaign”?

Preventive? It already happened!
    Campaign? It is a RECALL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Kelvin on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Bravo to Perodua! They willing to admit the mistake and absorb the cost. This is what we want to hear more from our country, Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 24
  • Sharon on Jan 16, 2013 at 7:56 pm

P2 should team up with JPJ to teach the P2 owners how to drive! These small cars car owners like to drive fast, cutting lines and turn here and there without giving indicator!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • kojee on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:23 am

correct! i can count the number of P2 cars overtaken by me, but loss count of the number of P2 cars overtaking me. in other words, most of them driving fast like they own the best of the best car in the whole galaxy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Sharon on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:03 pm

For my second post, P2 should call it:

“Preventive Killing Others Campaign” which actually ask the P2 owners to drive safe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • ntah.. on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:08 pm

I knew this gonna happen since it is the first time perodua using the eps setup.. anyway,are the myvis produced after march 2012 does not have this problem? different setup meh?

• Amind on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Actuallly what is the problem , seriuosly i don’t understand, can somebody tell me the problem of the sterring.. My spousse driving one tq

• Kalun on Jan 17, 2013 at 10:36 am

It may caught on fire and explode like what Toyota always claims.

• RajaKing on Jan 16, 2013 at 8:20 pm

How ironic.. a day before they boast of being the market leader. Ceritanya, all cars sold that shot them to the top are defective rupanya haha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • at least perodua have some balls to recall its car for repair,same as what toyota did in the past,not like those protong never admit their car hv problem plus crappy after sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
    • mesti myvi owner kan?haha sedapkan la hati sendiri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • MoFaz on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:45 pm

listen listen listen and listen. i’ll teach you how to use google search engine… just type ‘proton recall’ in the box and press search. viola! you’ll find Proton did recalls too, including Gen2, Inspira and Exora CFE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
    • taboogen on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:58 am

same company (toyota & P2) same problem… they really have BALLS to make the same mistake

• Patutla byk accident myvi terbabas,terbalik……stering problem rupanya!Pemilik myvi blh sue P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 11
    • AH CAI on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:48 am

gua tengok lg banyak P1 kena towing kat atas jalan..ada yg tersadai tepi highway.sebab ape ye?problem enjin kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • x byk pulak aku tgk proton tersadai kat tepi jalan.. selalu aku tgk avanza dan viva…

• sudonano on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:07 pm

To be very fair, Perodua should be given a thumbs up for informing people through proper mediums ie: Internet, mass media.

Unlike Hyundai…

My Hyundai i10 has been recalled(and many others) due to an issue in the TCM where the system hangs and stops the car from starting. Only some affected owners received a letter, others were not informed.

When mine started to go nuts I took it in (I did not receive a letter), only to find out about the recall. That is very dangerous, what happen if suddenly hang while driving?

There is no control+alt+delete in cars. No manufacturer is perfect, but they should make an effort to try and be perfect.

PS: Sam Loo, even your UMW is no angel. Just saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
  • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:21 pm

My neighbour all the while got this prob but he malu to tell ppl cos no one heard about this prob b4 so he thought he got a lemon car.Actually everyone quietly suffering in silence. Steering problem is much worse than power window problem.Toyota ma….superb built quality one! wahahahahhahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • MoFaz on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:49 pm

last month, Toyota recall 7.4million cars… and now perodua recall 74k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Jan 16, 2013 at 10:45 pm

recall how many units also useless. rubbish car will always remain a rubbish car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • The main point is Perodua brave enough to recall their cars.
    Toyota, Honda, VW did recall their cars before.
    What’s the big deal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Mat Global on Jan 16, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Daihatsu Sirion also have the same steering rack problems.no wonder the sister Myvi here also affected.
    The problem if not rectified can be dangerous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • salgoodguy on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:27 am

i got this problem with my new 2012 altis..same problem..feels like shit

• Mechanic on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:10 am

Good Move Perodua. LISTEN! 10X Other brand got ‘depollution error’ was never recalled…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • azrai on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:44 am

Lagi best than Proton i see. :-)

• Saga BeLum Masak on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:51 am

I’m forcing Proton to make a recall for it’s defect steering rack mounting bracket of EB. I’ve sent a reminder for this issue. Let see their BALLS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • perodua really understand the meaning of their tagline ‘building car, people first’, which is good. unlike proton ‘committed to be better’but still have the problem in terms of quality. that is the use of tagline not just to say it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
  • ahlie on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:14 am

why preventive and not recall?

for me preventive is like scheduled/interval service such as replacing engine oil every 5K km to avoid excessive engine wear out or replacing air filter before it getting clogged. recall is when bad thing already happen, so just replace them. maybe preventive for P2 is avoiding from road accident? steering wheel out of control is like rodeo riding bull!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • David Billa on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:25 am

..nothing is perfect in our life, including cars. But I seriously respect P2 for their recall….that shows how important their brand & quality for them. P1 should learn this as even p1’s service centers provides low quality services as well….the best part is some p1’s technicians doesn’t seem to know how to tackle minor issues…p2 putting effort to stay ahead of p1…considered as a healthy competition. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • google search for “PROTON RECALL”.. Proton also did do the recall for their product. So u can say Proton also want to show how important their brand and quality for them..

• David Billa on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:46 pm

…well, we’re in Malaysia bro, what else to expect rather than good quality cars from both sides… :-)

• Hi Guys,

Can anyone kindly advise on how to check the year of manufacture please?

I bought the Myvi somewhere in August 2012… Appreciate any comments or help here.

Thanks!

• Steven Goh on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:21 am

Update to the EPS replacement – I called the Service Centre today and it seems they have received too many calls for replacement appointments. They are unable to confirm any appointments and will call back after they have arranged their schedule. So now starts the waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting, waiting in the ‘preventive waiting’ queue!

• Mat Global on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:37 am

What is the point of better 2nd value and may be good looks to some if the steering is ‘loose’.
    some more typical of Toyota engines the sound is noisy and road and wind noise are disturbing.

• confused on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:46 am

So many blind haters here in PT. Proof that most of the PT readers are mere retards, which is sad, considering PT is one of the most interesting automotive blog in Malaysia. Why can’t you just read the article, comment sensibly, and be nice to other people?

Oh, I forgot; keyboard effing warriors…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Vyseus on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Well thats the Internet~

Anyway, still a bit slow on Perodua end here. My friend have been bugged by his problem month befor e they recall back the car. Even highlight the appropriate department ( don’t know which one since never own a perodua ). Still, can’t escape issue. Just hope no serious incident happens to those who are affected.

• alldisc on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:47 pm

actually, there is a line of what is warranty claim and what is a safety recall.

if the car model is very new in market like myvi lagi best and happens to 30-40 cars out of 50,000 cars, the percentage is very very low no matter it is related to safety, mechanical or just aesthetics.

but when the number increases giving more weight to it, only then it will be considered recall – which to ensure all cars are CHECKED, and then ensure it is not affected or if it does to fix it by repair or changing parts.

Lexus did a recall on even cigarette lighter not functioning properly in year 1991/2 with the 1st gen LS400 but in that it gained consumer confidence and build up sales from there.

local toyota had a recall involving airbag inspection not long ago on the vios, proton had recall on gen2 airbag clockspring and savvy wheel bearing even though not on suspension lower arms of perdana E55 and E54 V6 unlike their Mitsubishi counterpart in Japan.

those not knowing definitely have to read more, to know more.

• Sharon on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Ehh…. where is Amoi?

Kasihan… dah diam diri? Itulah, sepandai-pandai cakap orang, akhirnya kena sendiri juga!

• I’ve sent my Myvi 1.5 to Perodua service centre today. The checking process only took around 75 minutes. They just need to replace the column and …that’s it. FREE OF CHARGE!! love it :D

Other case, my friend’s car produced in early 2012 but right after the checking process,..they found out that the steering column is okay…no need to replace. Myvi owners out there, go quickly to the nearest service centre. Not all Myvis have that problem.

• nosey kaypoh on Jan 18, 2013 at 12:30 am

If there are too many complains about certain component in new car, the carmaker will have have to investigate what is wrong with the part. Is it safe to drive the car. Then they will issue a recall.no carmaker are immune even rollsroyce has recall their cars even they slightly over 3k per year.I have owned more than 30 cars both new and used over 40 years I have my fair share of recalls.

• gOOsh on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:16 pm

konon-konon customer focused arrr… typical marketing strategy la tu…

• myvi dangerous on Jan 20, 2013 at 1:34 am

P2 kena recall all this 74k as fast as they can. If not, whoever in queue are in danger. Very risky. Better simpan kete dulu, jgn pakai hingga slps dh repair.huhuhu

• Kailord on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:31 am

I don’t understand.
    Car has problems and car maker makes no recall, people complain.
    Car has problems and car maker makes recall, people still complain.

It doesn’t matter what fancy name they want cover the recall, at least THEY DO RECALL. And actually through public media. Not just by letter which some people might miss.

You people complain as if you’ve never done any mistakes.

Everybody falls down. What’s important is to do something about it.

• zizan on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:49 am

Minggu lepas aku hantar surat dari Perodua suruh betulkan power steering. So aku pergilah pusat servis perodua berdekatan Good Hope Hotel & pasar Peladang Skudai JB tu… dia kasi aku tarikh dtg semula hari ini 8 Feb 2013 (aku minta cuti kerja lah).
    Tadi 8.30 pagi aku pergi ke tempat tu,.. mcm sial aje, lepas dia check dan tick kat checklist,. pekerja tu dan supervisor suruh balik.

(aikkk!!! tak sampai 5 minit jerr) supervisor Cina tu kata 2 bulan nanti kami call awak bila barang sampai…. (kalau dia check minggu lepas semasa aku datang tu kan senang)
    chehh!!!! memalukan punya servis!.

• myvian1.5 on Feb 11, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Ni bkn pasal eps bro.aku punya ad satu..batch yg awal2 kluar..trus aku bli myvi 1.5.tp .layan corner seratus km per hour pon steady lg.ni pasal power..try cek ko punya computer system..haha..tp aku thumb up la dr segi engine myvi1.5..mmg besttt..jd as conclusion love ur old computer system..(computer board)..dan satu lg jge serbiss..hahah..that all..