Ford Atlas Concept – future of the F-Series truck

Ford Atlas Concept-01

Ford Ranger owners and fans, salute your taikor! This is the Ford Atlas Concept that the Blue Oval wheeled out for the 2013 NAIAS in Detroit and it gives us a sneak peek at the future of the Ford F-150. The F-Series pick-up truck has been America’s best selling vehicle for the longest time, 30 years to be exact.

“The Ford Atlas Concept previews the innovations that will transform what people expect from their pickup,” said Raj Nair, Ford group vice president, Global Product Development. “With 36 years as America’s best-selling pickup, we are absolutely committed to setting the agenda in the truck market.”

So what exactly does Atlas preview? On the work front, multiple tie-down points are integrated within the cargo box walls and load floor, along with 110-volt electrical outlets in the cargo box to charge power tools. An integrated roof carrying system and hidden extendable ramps give the truck added functionality.

Ford Atlas Concept-15

Hitching a trailer can be time consuming and difficult, but Dynamic Hitch Assist helps precisely line up the truck’s hitch with the trailer coupling, eliminating maneuvering guesswork by showing visual cues in the truck’s center display screen. There’s also a 360-degree point-of-view camera, a Ford truck first.

Hidden cargo ramps stowed below the cargo box can be quickly removed and set up to assist with loading wheeled items into the bed – from landscaping equipment to dirt bikes.

The Ford Atlas Concept features a next-gen EcoBoost powertrain, which introduces truck-enhanced Auto Start-Stop tech, which suspends the feature when the truck is towing. No other details were released. Ford says that over 500,000 EcoBoost engines have been sold globally, including 250,000 in the Ford F-150.

Ford Atlas Concept-12

FC is also improved via Focus-style Active Grille Shutters and Active Wheel Shutters. In the latter, automatic shutters in the wheels are hidden to improve style at rest/low speeds, but automatically close at highway speeds to improve aerodynamics. Self-charging batteries use energy from the wheels’ motion to power the shutters.

There’s also a Drop-Down Front Air Dam, which is a front wind spoiler that lowers at highway speeds to improve underbody airflow. The air dam is raised at low speeds to improve ground clearance. Auto-deploying running boards help passengers enter the truck at rest and tuck up against the truck when it is moving to improve aerodynamics and ground clearance.

The clever ideas are all good, but just look at it – macho to the max!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Autobots, let’s roll!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • manyak syok on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:07 pm

is it as tough as it looks?

• celicazz on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:43 pm

seriously? u donno ford pickups?

ford rangers are range rover of pickups, segment leader

• Agreed, Malaysian Ford Ranger is the best pickup all rounder leaving all stylish Japanese pickup behind. Have various type at my company and I take ranger all the time.

• jayloo on Jan 18, 2013 at 1:01 am

i disagree, land rover defender is the range rover of pick-ups. haha. u have forgotten that it is on sale here and assemble at kulim

• Akira on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:19 pm

“… automatic shutters in the wheels are hidden to improve style at rest/low speeds…”

Lol, “improve style”. That’s entertaining. Good show Danny :D

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:51 pm

I think I’m missing something here, how is that entertaining?

“automatic shutters in the wheels are hidden to improve style at rest/low speeds, but automatically close at highway speeds to improve aerodynamics”

• Akira on Jan 18, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Sorry, I guess I quoted your sentence too long for my earlier comment to make sense.

It should be like this then “… automatic shutters in the wheels are hidden to improve style…”

No offence intended, I was merely expressing that if you read the sentence just up to that point, there’s a little humour in it.

Sorry for the mix up.

• fast on rolling downhill on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:22 pm

TRANSFORMERS !!!!!

• sepul on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:22 pm

you don’t want to change those rims..

when will all production vehicles get these concept car flashiness? hohoho

anyway, WOW!

• ben yap on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:27 pm

so ah beng the interior…. sucks weii….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
    • BlueV12 on Jan 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm

We have a typical uncle here!..support Japanese uncle cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Seriously on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Take my money already! I’d be happy if they can just bring in the Raptor.

• comrade on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:40 pm

how about a smaller version to replace ranger…

• kereta lembu on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Mother of Trucks! Looks BRUTAL!

• Macho ,big ,brutal…
    In other words, very American. If only there is a Raptor version of this concept.

• The exterior theme looks like a beautifully crafted ice block. Icy cool despite its fierce face

• Still-waiting-for-my-Wildtrak-from-Sime on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Any chance of Sime bringing the F-150 or this replacement model here to Malaysia? They’d be pleasantly surprised at the suppressed demand for these trucks here.

• ford DID brought in F150 previously but i think only 1 unit…it was in Ford showroom in jln tun razak, same row as US Embassy…..price tag was 450k…so if SDAC bring in…..can most of us afford it??? prolly 500k min…

• doohhh on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:15 pm

iron hide transform!!!

• Robert on Jan 17, 2013 at 5:56 pm

Driving a Raptor Truck in Europe for some time now. A great truck, but I’d swap it for this one in a heartbeat. No wonder Ford is #1 in trucks: they are the ones who understand that truck is a masculin word. If you’re in need for some TLC: go to GM or RAM. If you need to get the job done: this is your truck. Where can I send my check???

• jayloo on Jan 18, 2013 at 12:58 am

in west malaysia, they prefer the gayish mitsubisho triton or the resale value ah pek choice toyota hilux. i personally think d-max is better thatn those 2 best seller…

• sexay!!

• a must own pickup

• Nice, looks like a matching vehicle for Isaac Clarke in Dead Space or something.

• Jolly_idiot on Jan 18, 2013 at 9:26 am

Fxxking serious series

• Abg Long on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:07 am

looks so macho!

• Hadi75 on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:07 am

Damn nice!!!!! Bring f150 here, i may sell my navara for this….errr maybe not…keep my navara and buy this also… :)

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:10 am

I love seeing all these concept cars with the tiny, evil looking headlights. It’s like a game of chicken between the car companies as to who will introduce them first.

• Shut up
    And take my money! ;)