Hyundai Sonata Facelift officially announced by HSDM

sonata-fl-01

Remember the Hyundai Sonata Facelift we showed you earlier this month? Hyundai-Sime Darby has just issued a press release confirming the availability of the “rejuvenated Hyundai Sonata” and detailing the new features present in the D-segment sedan, plus pricing.

One can recognise the Sonata Facelift by its new front grille which is described as more elegant. New wraparound tail lamps with LED illumination and a new pair of front fog lamps are also included. Exclusive to the 2.4 litre model are “cat-eye shaped” HID headlamps and LED positioning lamps just above the fog lamps.

The LED wing mirror repeaters have been redesigned for a slimmer and sleeker appearance. Lastly, the wheel designs are new, and the 2.4L version now gets 18-inch rims.

Inside, there’s a repositioning of buttons on the centre console and the addition of a “deep blue LED backlight” for better visibility. And as pointed out by some in our original post, the gear knob and shift pattern are also different. The 2.4L adds on dual-zone climate control.

sonata-fl-02

What’s interesting is the addition of a Lukas Blackbox Video Recorder that provides real time recording of the situation in front while the car is moving. In the event of an accident, the blackbox recording can be presented as evidence. This is not a common feature in Malaysia, and the Sonata has to be the first to offer such a function.

Under the 2.0L’s hood is a new Nu 2.0 litre four-cylinder engine, replacing the previous Theta II unit. The Nu’s aluminum block and head contributes to a 30%, or 33.6 kg, reduction in engine weight while still providing comparable strength. The Nu also has an offset crankshaft design that reduces friction between the piston and cylinder wall for a slight improvement (1%) in fuel economy.

Sonata Facelift 2.0L Elegance – RM137,888
Sonata Facelift 2.0L Executive – RM145,888
Sonata Facelift 2.0L Executive Plus – RM149,388
Sonata Facelift 2.0L Sport – RM151,888
Sonata Facelift 2.4L Premium – RM173,888
Sonata Facelift 2.4L Sport – RM176,388

The above prices are on-the-road and inclusive of insurance. Buyers get a five-year/300,000 km warranty and 24-hour road assist service.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ben yap on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:46 pm

5 years warranty/300,000km.

wow! that means one need to do 60,000km per year to maximise the warranty.

Danny, is it 300,000 or 30,000? typo error?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • Its 300,000. Cause Hyundai was initially the only company who had guts to give 5 year warranty as they were so confident of their product.

In overseas 5 years is normal. Sometimes they give 8 years.

Then Perodua, Proton and Honda followed many years later because they had no choice. People found out how they were being ripped off in accordance with International Standards.

Toyota still gives 3 years and BMW ONLY 2 years. Why? It looks like an admission that they have no confidence in their own products and worried about warranty claims.

I do not own Hyundai but praises to Hyundai for starting the ball rolling.

Toyota and BMW seem to be the only cars that are disgraceful. Come on lah, even Malaysian made Proton and Perodua now giving 5 years warranty lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 5
      • Sam Loo on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:58 pm

That is why Toyota sales are dropping. The RV of Toyota is also dropping because UMW cannot be bothered to give longer warranty to their customers. I am a Toyota Salesman and I can tell you, it is difficult to sell 2nd hand Toyota’s now. What is advertised is not what we get.

Alvin, you say “Toyota Camry 2.0 (previous gen) 2010 = RM130,000”

But that is what we advertise. What we really get is RM110,000. So in truth, our RV (Toyota) is now similiar to Hyundai.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
        • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Actually 2010 camry 2.0 now asking 100-110k but used car trade in only 80-85k. Low RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
        • A real case here, toyota camry 2.4V year 2009 is selling RM110K only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Just don understand why do buy a car just care about the resale value ? just buy the car that what u need and what u want…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 7
        • Josh Ling on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:31 am

when next time you wanna change a car, and you are on a rather tight budget, and you wanna trade in your car to reduce the price of the car you wanna buy, then you will know why people cares about resale value so much…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
          • on a tight budget then either you don’t change car, or get a budget car. period

• One thing we have to admit, Hyundai has eaten a huge market share from Honda and Toyota. It has taken only 10 years for Hyundai what Toyota and Honda needed 40 years. One in every car you see now is a Hyundai. Even it tops the list as one of the most reliable cars, in the same league as Toyota and Honda.

I have noticed that the resale value of the Sonata being at par with Camry and Accord. It is pretty obvious that many here create false rumours. Just spoken to many second hand dealers last week and they all confirmed, the 2nd hand value of Hyundai is more or less the same as Honda and Toyota. I think its high time Paultan.org put a stop to negative propoganda of hyundai done in the comments section by unscrupoulous Toyota salesmen.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 18
    • Vader on Jan 17, 2013 at 1:42 pm

opps.. don’t mention the resale value here.. later the Hilux enthusiasm will give nuisance comment about it..
      “listen, listen, listen… let me speak, the Korean car drop 50% value just after one year and bla bla bla..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • Alvin on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Korean brands has come very far today but to say its’ secondhand value is on par with Japanese marque is total BS.

The secondhand value difference between a Japanese and a Korean car is still a staggering 10%-15% at least.

Example:
      Hyundai Sonata 2.0 (current gen) 2010 = RM105,000
      Toyota Camry 2.0 (previous gen) 2010 = RM130,000
      The difference is RM25,000 and we’re only comparing the previous generation Toyota Camry!

Looks like you’re the one here creating false rumours. Hyundai is still a good car generally but the pricing here has been grossly inflated for what’s it worth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 66
      • there is a way on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Toyota Camry 2.0 (previous gen) 2010 cannot sell at RM130,000 la, Toyota Camry 2.4 that can sell at RM130,000.
        U can look around 2nd hand car dealer, they sell Camry 2.0 around 110K only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
      • John C on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Alvin – you need to first find out what was the selling price of these cars before even comparing the resale value. Its a known fact Hyundai was sold cheaper than Toyota, so, are you comparing consistently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • dr advisor punya bini on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:56 pm

You calculate total cost of ownership lah, not only the resale value lah. Itu pumpkins punya advisor yang advise lah

• Ganesh on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:04 am

Don’t talk rubbish Mr Alvin. I just sold my 2010 Camry, excellent condition for RM90,000. Amazing how your figure and the real world figure has a RM40,000 difference. Please don’t mislead people into thinking Toyota has good resale value or better resale value than Hyundai. I even think Hyundai cars have even better resale value because even after using 2 years, the next buyer is happy there is few more years of warranty left. Toyota on the other hand, by time the next buyer buys your car, the warranty already expired. If you see nowdadays, everybody wants second hand cars with still at least few more months or years of warranty left. Gearbox rosak can even cost RM30,000 lah!!! and that is very common amongst Toyota cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 1:01 am

Sonata RV at par with Camry? I think you have to check the currency which the used car fella gave you when trading in. Its probably in Ren Min Bi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
  • Dr Advisor on Jan 17, 2013 at 1:02 pm

1. The Lukas Blackbox Video Recorder could be a double-edged sword if not managed carefully.

2. While it’s good to record road bullies, snatch thieves, car jackings, accidents it’ll be troublesome if the driver was caught overspeeding hence the evidence against yourself instead.

3. New tech launched will be followed by new tech to crack, cheat and reset it. Whoever genius designed it must prepare the equal nutty that outsmart it too.

4. It’s better if got another recording option to record inside the car too and linked real-time to JPJ and PDRM. For your safety not entertainment lah HE HE HE HE HE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
  • Vincent on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Toyota camry 2010 for 130k? Lol! My friend is happy to sell this junk to u if you keen. Used car dealer offer him 110k best price after checking a few.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • It looks like there’s been a major Identity crisis. But because there is no patent of this name, anyone can use it in his or her free will, Iám fine with that . This will be the last time I will use AVH or ‘Alex Vergissmeinnicht H’ for the last time because it has become too popular.

Anyways as a Korean car, my original statement stays the same, will always prefer the Optima K5 over this. I will never love a specific brand, whatever the other AVH has been renting about Resale value. Hyundai were never about resale value, It is a debate it will always lose to the major Sushi brands. The were always about being different.

I still don’t like the Sonata, i don’t like the fluidic sculpture thingy nor that new rear lamps. In this segment I will always prefer the K5 ,the more expensive Mondeo or the new 6. If the 2013 Accord and its hybrid sibling were to be here, that will be my preferred D-segment choice. They all have great tech and simpler design.

And for the last time, look at the Sonata in the main pics and than look at this guy:
    http://emotibot.net/pix/5369.png
    and see why I dislike the Sonata looks.

AVH out….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • No way to on Jan 17, 2013 at 3:27 pm

No doubt that HYundai/Kia has manage to enhance their design.
    Yes the car seems to be more on the road.
    Reliability is OK.
    BUT warranty and support is still so so; as they dont have/hold many parts stocks and mostly they try not to give u warranty (not as per advertise/gimmick).

frankly their resale still not at PAR with Jap..

eg:
    Hyundai NF sonata 2.4 (make/register 2010) now RM68K
    Hyundai NF sonata 2.0 (make/register 2010) now RM50K
    Hyundai YF sonata 2.0 (make/register 2010) now RM98K
    Hyundai YF sonata 2.4 (make/register 2010) now RM114K

VS

Toyota Camry 2.0 (make/register 2010) now RM115/120K
    Toyota Camry 2.4 (make/register 2010) now RM130/135K

Accord 2.0 (make/register 2010) now RM115K
    Accord 2.4 (make/register 2010) now RM130/135K

anyway; it gives people here some perspective of what to buy..
    its your money; you work hard; so buy what you like; dont need to think about others or resale or etc..
    why do we need to listen or worry?
    we not gonna buy and sell within 1 year or 2..
    surely gonna use around 3-5 years or more…

willing buyer willing seller…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 41
    • True, but I don’t believe those who buy a Hyundai really worry about resale value. It’s all about being different. Don’t listen to the faux up there about some Kimchi superiority.

If you want to live a dull and mundane life but maintain some finanacial structure/insurance for your next car, get a Camry. If you have no worries about your life’s direction and want to be different and unique, get the Sonata [But seriously, K5 is waaay better looking]. If you want to maintain some balance, better RV than the Kimchis but better looking and drive than the Camry, get a Accord, but wait for the 2013 which is rumored to be due in May.

In the end is your money and decision, and we can’t criticize that and only give opinion which differs from one individual to the next.

Damn hard to get an interesting name.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
    • there is a way on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:36 pm

I am not korean car owner. I always buy Japanese cars.

But I can see Toyota Camry 2.0 (make/register 2010) now sell at Rm110K and Accord 2.0 (make/register 2010) now sell at RM109K on the net which is I think on par wt Sonata YF (make/register 2010) which sell at 98K/100K.
      Why I said on par? Coz Sonata YF 2010 originally cheaper around 10K compare to Honda/ Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • John C on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:51 pm

No Way To – you need to first find out what was the selling price of these cars before even comparing the resale value. Its a known fact Hyundai was sold cheaper than Toyota, so, are you comparing consistently?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • No way to on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Same price brand new.

Previous generation Camry
        2.4 is RM170K
        2.0 depending on spec start RM140K

Accord
        2.4 is RM168K
        2.0 depending on spec around RM140K

and Sonata (before face/butt lift)
        2.4 is around RM165K
        2.0 depending on spec around RM140K

go figure :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
        • John C on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:39 pm

No Way To – you still can’t get your facts correctly. 2.4 Hyundai before facelift was 163k, including insurance, but your Accord price of 168k is without insurance. Accord with insurance is 173k! Go figure (before you come here and faaaaaart!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Jan 17, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Halo…dun bluff la!! Check your facts b4 you start spewing rubbish!!!

2010 Sonata YF 2.0 starts from RM 135888
          2010 Camry XV40 2.0E starts from RM 144900

That is exactly RM 9012 more!
          Where got same price? If RM9k is nothing to you then u can bank in to my account la. No wonder you are called “no way to” bcos u failed badly in math!! Only thing no way is a 2010 camry 2.0 no way can get trade in for 110k.

http://paultan.org/2009/09/02/toyota-camry-facelift-now-in-malaysian-showrooms/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • That stupid 140k accord dont even have push button, sunroof, or side mirror repeaters…and, do u want to compare the engine output? Overpriced when new n 2nd hand…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • Ganesh on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:20 am

I just sold my 2.0 Camry for MR90,000. Where are you fetching these figures from? Rambutan tree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Ganesh on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:10 am

You are talking rubbish, For a 2010 Camry, the maximum one can get is about RM95,000 I just sold my 2010 Camry 2.0 for RM90,000. Aiyoo, this site is full of Toyota salesman trying to pull fast ones on people. Please do not mislead people lah. It is a joke to say you buy 2010 Camry at RM139,000 a whole 3 years ago, use it for over 1200 days ie 3 years, and then sell the car for RM120,000. So only lose RM20,000 kah. Are you high on drugs or what?

Hyundai cars seems to be more in demand as I noticed potential buyers want peace of mind knowing there is another 2 or 3 years warranty left on the car.

• facelift? on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:09 pm

err facelift?cannot see the diff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • ntah.. on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:31 pm

lucas blackbox video recorder? almost every korean driver have that in their car cos their driving skills like crap.. haha
    anyway, nicely speced and quite a number of variants means more variation. but dual zone climate control for 2.4 model only? that’s quite mean..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • thequestion on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:28 pm

I agreed..not only on climate control but at least HSDM should equipped 2.0 Executive plus with what 2.4 have… most likely sales will boast on that variant..

• PauKaya on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:53 pm

a facelift that nobody asked for…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • korean car buy cheaper, japanese higher, then on par, ha, if on par, got ppl buy korean 2nd? i doubted, patient, earth dream awd plug in hybrid soon,july

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • Jeff lim on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:11 pm

No way to = blind basher! Back in 2010 new camry 2.0 costs 149k now 115k, new accord costs rm143k now 109k while sonata high spec costs rm136k now 99k! So 2nd hand value sure depreciates accordingly. So its true! Sonata yf now very close to japanese cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:44 am

any car more than 100k depreciates heavily. any car more than 200k, even more.. but any car 300k and above… all hell breaks loose.

but any one who can afford 100K++ car will worry little when it comes to depreciation.

• Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:11 am

Trade in value not equal to selling value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • buy proton last on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Im gonna buy this facelift sonata…look gorgeous from every angle! To hell with all yur personal opinions n RV forecasts….the fact of the matter is u guyz just talk craps abt latest hyundai cars but u never own one…drive it first la then u know how crappy T n H cars are!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • loo says on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Very little demand on 2nd hand korean car. After 3 years need more than 60% depreciate. Also no class compare to camry n accord. Image much better when u drive camry n accord. Korean will still lower image especially u r biz man compare t n h. Sorry i m not korean basher but is the fact. Period :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
  • kenny on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:37 pm

I agree accord or camry will lift better personal image compare sonata or k 5 . Thats true . Of coz a new bimmer is perfect lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • blacky on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:55 pm

copy new camry grille…..the chrome on the bonnet wuahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Jeff lim on Jan 17, 2013 at 10:31 pm

This article failed to highlight that the new Sonata 2.4 now comes with 6 airbags, dvd av navi, paddle shift, Advanced traction control called vsm! Camry 2.5 lacked all these.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Sam Loo Jr on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Yes…Camry have poor RV like koreans. Thats why you should buy Vios TRD!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • enoughisenough on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:48 pm

I bet some of the people here doesn’t even own a car but talking figures and resale values. What a bunch of Nosey O’ Donells !!!
    By the way, I really really admire this car. Love the new facelift, love the great warranty package they offer ..!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Jilbaber on Jan 18, 2013 at 6:45 am

Danny Tan please do review on the NU engine variant..

• mihokanno on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:00 am

Just sold my father Camry 2005 2.0 at rm 47000,my family will no go for Toyota anymore expect their introduce the better feature at New car.

Toyota have a good resale value—– rumours

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:06 am

If your 2005 Camry had taken a swim before in the last flood and smells like a sewage treatment plant, then that explains the low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Josh Ling on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:38 am

i love hyundai’s cars design and the technologies used, but in malaysia hyundai cars are really not my cup of tea. the spec is way lower compared with other countries (especially the pre-facelift models, and elantra md), the materials used are rather disappointing in some models, and the ride and handling are just so-so.

i don’t know if this is exclusively the problems with hyundai cars sold in malaysia or other parts of the world too, but for a huge car manufacturer like hyundai, they could and should have done much better than the offerings available in malaysia. i am frustrated rather than dislike, because hyundai has the ability to do much better job.

• FluidicSculpture on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:10 pm

If you all want to compare RV, compare by percentage. You have to remember, higher car price mean higher car loan which also translate to higher debt. You save on RV, you lose out on other places.

Some of you are getting good price for trade in when you are changing for a new Japanese car is because a lot of these cars has high overtrade/margin to superficially inflate your trade in value. Hyundai has such models too, but generally our dealer margin is quite thin due to the fact our car are mostly CBU unit or fully imported to assemble.

I am a sales in Hyundai, and I won’t deny RV isn’t as good as Japanese car when you TRADE IN, because many used car dealers still keeping a conservative mindset about Korean cars, but it’s proven that if you sell directly to buyers, the latest generation of Hyundais are fetching very good RV. Pre-owned Sonata YF High Spec was sold at RM128k, and many offer price for first batch YF at used car are around 110-115k.

RV is overall averaging out across the second hand car market, meaning cars that used to hold really high RV(Vios, Myvi) are going lower and many others that used to have terrible value are catching up. On average now all cars abide to the common calculation of 10% drop per year above 3 years.

5 years old Vios depreciated 7k in a period of about half a month. I know, how do I know? A lot of people trade in Vios for Elantra, my dealer end up having to push Vios away at a loss now, nobody wants it despite us trying to sell them off lower by 1-2k market average.

• FluidicSculpture on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Forget to add, Pre-owned 1 year car, and first batch means July 2010’s car.

• therealmaserati on Sep 12, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Before u even compare resale value, go drive a sonata and see hw it goes la. Its absolute crap! For those who like to see paper output and those hp figures, in real life it feels nothing like what they put on their spec sheet.

And the handling and refinement of the sonata is bullocks.

Had a go in the 2.0 sonata and its a piece of crap. Engine feels so weak and the refinement is no whr as good as a Honda let alone toyota.

I dont understand hw u guys even bother comparing Korean cars with Jap cars.

Japs cars are leagues ahead of the Koreans when it comes to the finer details.

All u guys see r spec sheets details which are not realised in real world driving .

I would get an Accord or camry anytime over this piece of junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • katak on Sep 13, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Fact is, it is hard to find one selling toyota

• katak on Sep 13, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Fact is, it is hard to find one selling toyota/honda to get a hyundai/kia. But it is easier to find people selling hyundai/kia and gets a toyota/honda.

• dev68yoga on Nov 03, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I just bought a second hand Hyundai NF 2.4 (2006) for RM33K.The used car sales man said the car has 8 airbags.He said dashboard got 2 and followed 2 beside front windscreen; 2 on center and 2 beside rear windscreen.However most of the cars of this model i’ve seen only comes with 2 airbags.So my question is; did this model come with a 8 airbag variant.The car overall is comfortable/very spacious & powerfull.