Mazda 6: Shipment of sedan, estate seen at Westport

IMG_8889

The yet-to-launch Mazda 6 has been sighted on our soil – not one, not two, but a whole sea of them, both sedan and estate, standing at attention in a container yard at Westport. According to reader YF How who sent in these photos (cheers!), the cars are fresh off the vessel.

By now you know quite a bit about the fresh D-segment contender – variants, equipment, specifications and possible pricing – thanks to listings on oto.my. All that’s left now is the official launch itself, which should be only a couple of months away.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jedi Master on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:25 pm

well hello there beauty, howd you doin’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 128
      • Mazda 6 on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Poor boy who drive his father camry.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
        • Jimmy on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Just let me put it this way: if obvious safety equipments that everybody can see also you omit here and there, I think inside the chassis and structure(where people cannot see or feel except during car accident) there will be even more cost-cutting as you don’t bother about the safety of the car occupants; how much high-tensile steel do you use. Do people feel safe driving your cars?
          Even you big brother with the price almost two times more expensive, –is–, the safety features also kalah kepada M6, this is joker product, I guess.
          RV is about cheating the next person who buy your used car, and naturally this person is poorer than you (and yet you cheat his money with a car not worth so much money, just like what is being done buy wmu). So, the richer lou chean cheats the poorer, this is called resale value.
          Many people spend > one Mazda 6 in 10 days, travelling around, and the trip has good resale value, I think.

• partly.. i agreed with “UMW is a better managed company than Bermaz. Bermaz, is half asleep” statement..

but because it is from samloo.. i didn’t agree at all..

• I assume RV is resale value. RV is no longer the only criteria for getting the right car anymore. Any government policy and economic changes can swing RV tremendously. So enjoy good car first not RV.
        Mazda spares are mainly made in Japan and mostly CBU. Toyota spares are from everywhere and mostly CKD and sourced locally. I have seen the structural design of the suspension of Toyota Camry and Mazda 6. Toyota mostly rod like links suspension for cost saving and maximize profit but Mazda uses dedicated and special design structure for uncompromise performance to cost ratio . Mazda is like a BMW from Japan. Somehow Toyota car is highly over value car for the things you get.

Toyota and Honda should be worry about losing market share to Mazda. Even BMW, VW, AUDI and etc should worry. The way Mazda marketing is like Apple way of showing of the first few iphones where it stirs emotional desire to the idea of uncompromise engineering and synchronize world market launch within 6 months period. This is a tremendous effort especially for car industry furthermore is CBU and with class leading fuel efficiency on par with hybrid. Still with SKYACTIV and at the same time having a racing version of Mazda 6 developed for race end of January. You don’t see this in Toyota or Honda but you get to hear product recall instead in recent years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 3
      • Davinnci on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Eh ah boy, remember install traction control for your Camry. Very danger drive Toyota, got resale value but no life to spend . LOL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
      • stealth on Jan 17, 2013 at 8:49 pm

99.9% here doesn’t agree with what Sam Loo says… better for him to change job to another car dealer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
        • I don’t even yhink Sam Loo knows what he is saying. If he wants us to believe about this RV thingy he wouldhave at least given us some facts and statistics instead of going around Joking.

I really don’t know why everyone treats his comments so Damn serious. To me it sounds like a joke, he is not even trying to be convicing. But without him, the comment section here would be a lamer place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • ryuki on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Sam Loo don’t lie, Toyota don’t have resale value anymore. Ask the older generation Camry owner when the new Camry was launched. Overnight the old Camry lost RM20,000. they cannot even trade in to buy the new Camry. When they tested the look and safety sucks, so they buy something else… true or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • I just had a hard on lookin at the real pictures on m6

• Sam Loo Sam Loo
        always come with RV RV RV
        Nothing wrong to always say ur Toyota is good RV but that wrong to always condemn others car that is not always true..

• Ala this Sam Loo is a real samdol!

Peugeot gives a lounge at Subang Skypark also no good; Mazda is better than Toyota.

Ok la Sam. You buy Toyota la. Nobody’s forcing you to buy the beautiful Mazda. Typical T salesman.

• i drive a camry now…but i hv no doubt Mazda’s resale value will go up in near future, given by what they do in terms of innovation and quality…The bottom line is : if the new generation mazdas manage to do well globally, this will boost the confidence of local distributors to invest more, (showrooms, 3S centres, dealers) , thus creating confidence among consumers, and the RV will not b an general issue. Hyundai is a good example. Imagine mazda is as big as say, Nissan locally..im sure many toyota, honda buyers will flock to mazda showooms..
        Recent local newspaper reported that Mazdas hv been stolen from showrooms showing that there’s good demand for the brand..

• will you choose still toyota if mazda is also managed by UMW or equally well managed company?

• Yeah…Bermaz is half asleep, going to wake up but UMW is also half asleep, going to sleep…that’s the difference…Toyota can produce any piece of junk but Malaysians will still buy it, so why put in effort?

• Nissan must learn from Mazda. Learn how to launch latest models. Praises to Mazda for launching this car and delivering to Malaysians so fast. Nissan how? Launched in Singapore today, but launched in Malaysia three years later

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
    • Errr….. Are you sure that is was only 3 years later and not longer? :-P

• Nissan is like that on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Blame it on TCM or Nissan, they have different way of marketing.

Their line-up mostly are CKD just like Toyota/Honda but only CBU 3 exclusive model (Murano, Elgrand, Fairlady) from Japan.

Mazda/Suzuki/Mitsubishi on another hand mostly CBU their car from Japan or Thailand.

Just look their line-up in other asian market except Singapore. Also same or less line-up than us exception of Nissan March.

In-fact Nissan have offer more line-up than any other Japanese car marques over here.

• Striker raul on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:48 pm

I wonder if some bond was tied to tan chong and car manufacturers. While nissan is doing fine, the way i see how motor image is screwing up sales of subaru in the asia pacific region is saddening. The fat son glenn tan if im not mistaken is a big buffoon.

• kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 6:06 pm

TC is also screwing Renault :( That brand has great potential, but they are not even trying.

• I don’t think it is Nissan’s fault but Tan Chong Autos. I agree, the Sentra has been in the market for what I think it’s a decade. The Almera, which replaces our Sentra, is launch 2 years After the international launch, as opposed to the normal 1 year from Honda or Hyundai. But 2 years is a major improvement over the super-late launch of the X-trail.

Now is this any better than P1, which replaces it’s models like every 8 years while still keeping it’s predecessor in the production line for a grand total of 12 years in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • ntah.. on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm

what are you rambling about? people are talking about nissan late launching car.. merepek pasal p1 production line what for?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Nah It’s just a little add on. A company that is 25+ years old has such poor R&D. Is still under the same topic of ” late launches”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • Nissan is like that on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Their compact sedan class (Sunny/Sentra/Pulsar/Almera/Latio) is a mess because Nissan always lap the replacement model over the year.

In some country Sentra/Sunny is replace by Sylphy.

And Latio is replace by Latio.

• Jimmy on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:45 pm

Telinga kuali, heard of this before?
      Telescopic steering also absent in high end products of this Japan company.
      Have you learned about the safety features in Infinity, I think they are all better than this economical M6 2.5L.

• Jimmy on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:48 pm

I, L, T, H, N, K, Hy, S, M all try to sell silver at gold price if we use M6 2.5L as yardstick.

• yea, let mazda replace nissan as the “3rd” biggest in the japane big 3 in malaysia..

• Alan Lee on Jan 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm

i saw new CX-9 in the pix too….

• Oh no, I thing I am going to sell of my Old Mazda 6 and get this one

• Davinnci on Jan 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

Before you sell, a bunch of new Camry had been enter second hand market

• Good sushi.

• Davinnci on Jan 17, 2013 at 1:56 pm

This car is Owesome! New engine, Chasis. Gearbox, lighter weight, you can’t imagine it is lighter 300pounds compare with previous model mazda6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • True,a super awesome car…Can’t wait for its official launch.But it is couple of months later,means we have to wait till March.

• Chow1 on Jan 17, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Nissan thinks Malaysia is a stock clearance country? Launch the new Sylphy now!

• It’s like multiple clones of Mila Kunis all lining up in order.
    Anyways I hope all those 6 find new homes and owners.

• kisashi on Jan 17, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Way to Go Mazda! Show em’ how Malaysians are worthy
    of spanking new models & well specced cars! Zooomx2

• encik boss on Jan 17, 2013 at 3:25 pm

waah~ *drool*

• Drchankl on Jan 17, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Well done Mazda! This is what I call sincerity towards consumer in Malaysia! Who in the right frame of mind would actually buy Camry now? I guess only ill informed uncles and blind supporters of Camry would still be boastful of resale value as compared with this superior specs Mazda 6. What a beauty

• Camry is the distance replica of Lexus and people feel good of owning it. It has the business look if cannot effort luxury version of merc; bmw, &…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • TopGear on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:34 pm

nice… hope Mazda can increase the number of service centres, and build bigger /comfortable Service/spare parts centre… one day mazda will over take the H, and T…

• arcana on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:22 pm

argh…it pains me to see such a looker but i cant afford one due to other commitments…..dang!
    hopefully all those tech will come to their smaller mazda 3 and i can change mine!…..sweet 6 indeed.

• amirad on Jan 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Can’t wait to see the car in flesh. The new 6 is a cracker; specwise and looks.

• Actually I think the new Camry is a better car, this new m6 design is abit outdated jus like the Hyundai fluidic language.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 40
  • why i cant see any 19inch rim ?

Mazda 2.5 is 19 inch rite..

• arcana on Jan 21, 2013 at 8:44 am

While 19 inch is a looker, its a pain on the pocket. I wonder how much it cost to even replace a single tyre. Even most luxury contis only stick to 18 inchers with a few exceptions on high end products.

• Arun 12B on Jan 18, 2013 at 12:12 am

even if u compare Mazda 6 with new BMW 3 series. M6 win the race.

Mazda 6 – 2.5 VS BMW 320i 2.0

Price – 181,000 (Mazda 6) – 238,000 (BMW 320i)

M6 sunroof – BMW none

M6 11 speaker – 6 speaker BMW

M6 GPS – BMW none

M6 Reverse camera – BMW none

M6 189 HP – BMW 184 Horse Power

M6 Kerb weight less than BMW 320i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • PauKaya on Jan 18, 2013 at 1:22 am

bmw has been making rather underpowered cars for years but people buy them anyway, especially malaysians and singaporeans. why? BMW WOR…BRAND EHH

• paparadzi on Jan 18, 2013 at 1:38 am

As per your comparison:
      “Mazda 6 – 2.5 VS BMW 320i 2.0”
      In this case the BMW wins. Here in Malaysia the bigger c.c. will only attract more road tax, which is not good.

I agree with the rest of your points.

• SLSC-Loo on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:04 am

I beg to differ that mazda 6 will be better drive than bmw 320. Don’t forget the current bimmer is running with a turbo. This helps a lot in driveability with the huge amount of torque at low rpm. That’s why a 2 litre NA engine can’t be compared to a lower cc car with turbo in term of driveability.

• Leonon on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:14 am

Well, I agree with your points above.. but you only seem to point out the areas where Mazda 6 excels over the new BMW 320i and conclude that Mazda 6 wins the race?

What about torque figures?
      The BMW has 270 Nm @ 1250-4800 RPM
      whereas
      Mazda 6 has 256 Nm at 3,250 rpm

0-100km/h acceleration: BMW at 7.3s while Mazda 6 at 7.8s

And the list goes on…

Both are good cars but of different segment.

• HONpengDA on Jan 18, 2013 at 6:08 am

2013 honda accord will beat M6 handsdown! R.I.P camry n sam loo too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • gOOsh on Jan 18, 2013 at 7:23 am

ni yg buat saya teruja nk test drive…

• Berann on Jan 18, 2013 at 9:46 am

Camry better? must be joking. Ugly with low spec and high price car. Even a forte 2.0 97K got better specs than 181K 2.5 Camry..haha. Looking forward to this new M6 :) Can only afford 2.0 :(

• Too bad Malaysia do not hv environment tax exemption. This car Co2 emission is very low & on par or lower then hybrid car. In Japan & europe, Mazda 6 is enjoying the environment tax exemption. Guess our road tax system shld revised base on CO2 emission & not on CC of the car.

• YF How on Jan 18, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Black interior.
    Really tempting every time seeing the car! Hope it will arrive showroom soonest.

• gOOsh on Jan 18, 2013 at 3:14 pm

if 2.0L trim level same as 2.5L, i’ll probably buy…
    like the skyactive tech wth CBU summore… :)

• Farhat on Jan 18, 2013 at 6:51 pm

I saw 4 Beetle 2.0 Turbos… But not the 1.2L that VW promised it would be delivered to me this month or feb…:(

• Farhat on Jan 18, 2013 at 6:52 pm

…within the sea of Maz’6’s and others..

• YF How on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:13 am

Beetle 2.0 turbo . Yes. It’s at the other yard. Plenty of em. 18′ rims n black color!
      Nice!

• Arun 12B on Jan 18, 2013 at 9:09 pm

ok guys :)

nyway BMW say can service 20,000 once ony. but only black oil u must change it every 10,000. if not u gona spoil ur car ony. fully sinthetic oil can tahan till 10,000 ony. many of the BMW users dono bout it :)

• Arun 12B on Jan 18, 2013 at 9:12 pm

dono why in the pic thr is no 19 inch rim mazda 6. waiting to test drive the 2.5 M6.

I saw in you tube on new M6 review tat M6 have more road noise :(

• YF How on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:11 am

2.5 is in the photos too.
      Its Rear facing the camera in white. Same row as the wagon units.

• Mat Global on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:07 am

I dun understand why Sam Loo comments on 17/1 were badly rated with 100 thumbs down as i see it his remarks are not too far off,except for his overrating for T makes.
    On RV i tend to agree with him as i am also in used car market.
    But bear in mind that Mazda now have a very good sets of wheels and their car are respected around the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • jason on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Although the RV for the M6 is slightly lower than the C or A by a few thousand ringgits, I believe that the tech of the car that we would be enjoying over the years would have already made up for the lower RV.

Sunroof, paddle shifters, full nappa leather seats, high tensile steel, better audio, 18″ (and now 19″) rims (including the spare wheel), full CBU… it’s already worth much more than the stupid prices the A and C are fetching for..

• Abg Long on Jan 21, 2013 at 8:48 am

this mazda6 is pretty hot.. must go for a test drive.

• paul tan's reader on Jan 24, 2013 at 10:29 pm

What I can afford is still Mazda 2 M/T
    Compare with my sister’s Toyota Yaris M/T, the M2 gear pedal is more easy to kick, tak payah la

• Mazda2 M/T? thats sounds great. but i belive its nt available in M’sia.

• I tested 1st gen mazda 6 in 2004, the power got nothing to shout about but handling was amazing; I then tested 2nd gen 2.5 in 2008, handling was less than 1st gen but still best in class and I bought it without 2nd thought; and I cant wait to register a 3rd gen, I believe it will pass my own test drive although some reviews say the handling is less amazing than 2nd gen. This is the confidence that mazda 6 gives to customers. No comment to A and C as every car has its characters that suit diff driving behaviours… and not mine for time being.

• Many thanks to YF How for sharing the photos! They are very well taken!!