Peter Schreyer to head Hyundai, Kia design centres

peter-schreyer

Hyundai has announced that Peter Schreyer, president and chief design officer at Kia, will now head the design centres of both Korean companies in an attempt to streamline resources, create synergy between the two sister brands and strengthen competitiveness through qualitative growth.

Schreyer is tasked with leading a long-term design strategy, overseeing Hyundai Motor Group’s design resources, and cementing Hyundai and Kia’s differentiation strategies according to their respective brand directions.

“Strengthening our fundamentals, especially in the area of design, is imperative to secure long-term competitiveness,” said VC of Hyundai Motor Group’s Korean R&D centre Woong-Chul Yang.

“Design is not just the most visible aspect of the car, but it’s an area customers have a strong emotional connection to. It is at the center of our efforts to enhance our brand value.”

Aged 60 this year, Schreyer was once head of design at Audi and Volkswagen where he was responsible for cars such as the original TT, Passat and New Beetle, but he is perhaps most well-known for his association with Kia, where he penned the distinctive ‘Tiger Nose,’ giving a face to the brand. Most, if not all, modern Kias owe their aesthetics to Schreyer and his team.

Recently the Bavarian-born designer was appointed a president at Kia, becoming the first non-Korean to hold the position in the company’s history.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• works on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Hyundai/Kia and south korea ministers have a vision to conquer world market…our ministers and our automotive company only can conquer malaysian market..pity us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
    • People wouldn’t buy P1 & P2 if they are affordable.
      This is the fact and thank to high tax.

• KiaDai on Jan 18, 2013 at 1:29 am

His resume must be sick! Was the head of design of VW, Audi. Now Kia(and president) then comes Hyundai. I wonder how is he going to decide whether Kia or Hyundai’s cars to look better in his designs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • ben yap on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:45 pm

he should head toyota design center. gone are the days of old uncle cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo on Jan 17, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Malaysia was prime in being the automotive manufacturing sector for the whole Asia. But because of the stupidity of the current government, they lost it to Thailand. Thailand automotive sector was nothing before and Malaysia was leading the race. But then, because of stupidity and corruption, everything went kaput. It is a matter of time before all our CKD plants close down and everything is built in Thailand for the whole Asia and the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Yes! No more Sam Loo the RV guy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Am I on Mars?

Sam Loo NOT talking about RV?

Hallelujah!

• Annihilated on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:22 pm

lol..u just remind me..
          I have not heard the sentence below:

“I’m on cloud 9, the team made it today. We are the best of the new comers!”
          -guess who?-

.. despite finishing 20th and 21st..

• Well that’s really some good news for the Hyundai/Kia empire. As for Kia, it seems its design has gotten softer and rounder[K7 & K3], instead if the edgy, sharp design that I come to love about KIA [k5, our current Forte, sportedge]. It’s still stunning, but not my cup of tea. It also lost some of its Korean originality by becoming significantly …….conti.

Hyundai on the other hand, judging from the Santa Fe & I30, is slowing abandoning its ridiculous fluidic design for a more sharper variant of the same concept. But the HDC-14 concept made me worried of Hyundai design direction.

The Americans have already beginning their counter-Korean strategy with dramatic styling change, the new Fusion and Chevy Impala are the start of this trend. The Honda Urban concept and Toyota Furia are also showing the Japanese are serious about the image change…. The controversial IS, Q50. and the 2013 Accord are the genesis of a possible Japanese renaissance, although the latter is not really a serious attempt, but a sign nonetheless. So hyundai/Kia has to keep going to stay in the design lead, looking forward on what to come.

• Thats my fren….is the beauty of competition, to be relevant….u got to up yr ante & improve or be left behind….wtout competition…u know ler…blah3…in the end, we consumer will benefits wt bttr product & cheaper price

• Agreed completely. Over here ,with the Myvi ,Mirage and the surprisingly spacious yet ugly Almera going for less than expected, you can’t but help feeling Proton is finally feeling the heat. Expecting some changes with the
        Preve hatch.

Higher up in the segment , Honda (lets not talk bout that hopeless Jazz hybrid CKD)is starting giving more standards on their CRZ and Civic because of the Kimchis onslaught. Ford is also starting to give once-Europe only features in their cars. Though Honda is not on par, it is still a visible improvement. Now only UMW Toyota stands in the way, but who knows……

• sudonano on Jan 17, 2013 at 11:24 pm

If I’m not mistaken they call the design of the new Santa Fe Fluidic Sculpture with Storm Edge, so the lines are sharper, but still has a fluidic sculpture theme, if im not mistaken.

Quote: Based on a new design concept the company is calling ‘Storm Edge’, the third-generation Santa Fe is designed around the fluidic sculpture ethos that has driven the company’s most recent product line revisions.

http://www.expertreviews.co.uk/car-tech/1291042/all-new-hyundai-santa-fe-storm-edge-teased

• khairil on Jan 17, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Jeff goldblum twin brother

• Jimmy on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Kucing bulan yang pandai tangkap tikus pun dipilih.

• PauKaya on Jan 17, 2013 at 6:44 pm

i wonder if he knows how to lead a cmpany…or he is really just a figurehead

• kicap on Jan 17, 2013 at 7:54 pm

how much his salary u think to hold many position in the company?

• Insider on Jan 03, 2014 at 6:00 am

P.Shreyer earned 800000 EUR per year as a Chief Designer. Now, it’s a very good hidden secret :)

• Malaysia should learn from Hyundai and Kia. Those two used to be ugly and way behind Proton. But now u see? They can produce cars with styles.. Proton ?? erm, u still need to buck up. Please put aside “bumiputera or only malay can lead proton” that kind of mentality.

• SLSC-Loo on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:32 am

Check out the youtube movie on birth of kia optima (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqHsAs5UDRU) where they interview the designer. Like the editor says “No amount of money that the korean pay to Peter is enough for the brand transformation of KIA”. Not surprising, they promote him to head the kimchis brand of the success he did for the car manufacturer. Good job Peter.

• Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:46 pm

I can’t brain, he is trying to becoming a Korean and brainwash the world with Korean cars playing K-Pop inside.