Porsche Cayenne Turbo S – 550 hp, 750 Nm, 4.5 sec

Cayenne Turbo S-03

With the amount of eye-catching cars and concepts from Detroit 2013, one could be forgiven for not noticing this one. Making its motor show debut, the Porsche Cayenne Turbo S is now the range topping Cayenne, sitting above old king Turbo, and it packs quite a bit of extra firepower to justify the position.

The Cayenne Turbo S makes 550 hp from its 4.8 litre V8 engine, 50 horses more than the Turbo. Similarly, torque is up by 50 Nm to make 750 Nm of twist. Naturally, this means extra performance – the mega Cayenne does the 0 to 100 km/h sprint in just 4.5 seconds (0.2 sec faster than Turbo) and maxes out at 283 km/h, 5 km/h higher than the Turbo’s best effort.

Amazingly, despite the added performance, Porsche says that the Turbo S’ NEDC fuel consumption of 11.5 litres per 100 km is the same as that of the Cayenne Turbo, so it’s win-win at both ends.

Cayenne Turbo S-02

Like the Turbo, the Turbo S rides on air suspension and active PASM damping control. Then there is Porsche Dynamic Chassis Control (PDCC), which reduces the roll angle in curves to “practically zero”, improving agility and comfort. Porsche Torque Vectoring Plus (PTV Plus), which is also standard, works together with an electronically controlled rear differential lock to improve traction. The Sport Chrono package is standard, too.

Exterior features such as the air inlet screens, headlight housings and mirror parts are painted in high-gloss black. The standard 21-inch 911 Turbo II wheels were exclusively designed for the Turbo S; their inside surfaces are also painted in high-gloss black.

Inside, bi-colour leather packages in new colours and colour patterns can be had. There’s also a carbon interior package, as shown here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Dr Advisor on Jan 18, 2013 at 4:22 pm

1. This new Cayanne truly an engineering masterpiece. I know because I got one the earlier version with cream beige leather interior. Absolute luxury down to its fine leather stitching and craftsmanship.

2. Driving this impeccable piece of machine is all but pure guilty pleasure and it’s amazing considering the company that produced it dare to moved out from its purist way of creating only sports car variants before namely the 911. Yet they still the carry the same adrenaline rush for this SUV.

3. One can expect the loud but cultured growl of the turbo engine and believe me it’s still quite enough inside to enjoy driving it. Mere words cannot describe it. Be a crony and get one. Fast.

4. Hopefully Sime Darby group can invite me for the official launching here as my midas touch will help the sales to soar up. Any product under my endorsement will always be a big hit. Just ask Genneva Gold lah.

5. Malaysians should enjoy their life and what better car to buy than a Porsche. The extra hard-earned (or crony-sponsored) Ringgit you have to spend will be worth it. Believe me when I tell ya..He He He He He

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • there is a way on Jan 18, 2013 at 5:03 pm

I prefer buy Land Rover Evoque than Cayenne which no less masterpiece wt half price. Can buy merc, bmw or other car wt other half of money.
      Although, 2cars wt same price of 1 car; visually normal people will see it richer. hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
      • The Evoque is significantly smaller than the Cayenne. Different segments here.

• The Evoque is a great car, but it is in a totally different segment from the Cayenne. you’re better off with the new Range Rover for the Cayennes price, 900 mm water wading capability may come in handy during monsoon. And better ride comfort for Malaysia’s road

• PauCharSiew on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:10 am

Love the evoque? Nice eh, was so easy to part with your money. But it was hell! Extremely unreliable and its really at the end of the day a very pretty freelander overhyped by the british press. You would feel much happier in any korean or japanese suv.

• dah lama dah on Jan 18, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Sudah la Tun M. Duduk surau mengaji lagi bagus. Kroni Fraser and Nash apa cerita? Duit sudah juta2 kasi, berapa EV prototype sudah siap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • I don’t know why, probably political influence, but there has been an increasing number of Cayenne on the road. Yes it is fast, yes it is hullava lot better looking than the last gen, yes it is a Porsche.

But for its price, why not the outstandingly brilliant Range Rover? That’ll be my choice still for a expensive SUV. The only Model in the Porsche range that I’ll buy(in my dreams) is those that has a rear or mid engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Chicken soup on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:13 am

Not as outstanding as you think. Range rovers arent the most reliable things out there. And it gulps fuel as though there were a free flow of fuel out there.

• Panahmerah on Jan 18, 2013 at 5:05 pm

Only for those with lotso money to spend & wants something….
    reaeally expensive for show, something way bigger than a car to carry their hand phones, super-duper fast to get into traffic jam… oh also petrol station (again!) and ultimately to get from point A to point B.

• PauKaya on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:25 pm

imagine those who bought a cayenne turbo and this came out…d/oh!

• The dude is here on Jul 01, 2013 at 12:40 am

For 1.33M Malaysia government and minister should stop this BS pricing and let the citizens enjoy what other countries in comparison could. Local car company just rebadge garbage cars for all average citizen to use. Tired of this current political BS.