Volkswagen Sharan 2.0 TSI Test Drive Review

Exterior-02

To say that the Volkswagen Sharan is spacious does not really give you the full picture of the interior. The amount of glass – forward, rearward, sides and even on top – lets in plenty of light that in turn makes the interior feel airy. Which is much like a properly designed living room, that’s if living rooms had forward-facing seats and four wheels. And the amount of glass in here also gives ample view of the world outside which is handy when manoeuvring this rather large MPV.

Yet, the Sharan does not look humongous from the outside. Volkswagen has done an impeccable job of fitting all that space in a tight package. The Sharan has the squinty headlamps of current generation Volkswagen cars and its roofline tapers ever so slightly at the rear. The Sharan measures 4,854 mm in length, 1,904 mm in width and 1,720 mm in height. It is not until you park it side by side with a Vellfire that you realise the Sharan is slightly longer and broader but not taller, and without sacrificing any headroom.

OK, back inside. The People’s Car people mover can accommodate up to seven adults, and I do mean seven L-sized adults, seated in a two-three-two formation. Notably the furniture consists of individual seats and not the usual park bench. The individual seats also bring their own set of advantages, more on that later. There’s also an optional special headrest that turns the seat into a child seat.

Interior-02

Another thing to highlight is the third row seats – they’re far from useless. Usually, one has to practically assume a foetal position just to fit into the last row. In the Sharan, well, it is still claustrophobic at the back but the legroom isn’t as cramped as you’d think. Still, best used for short distances.

With all seven seats up, the Sharan only yields a piteous boot space. Take down the rear two seats and you’ll earn a more respectable space of 885 litres. Fold the middle and last row, which packs flat, and you’ll extend the cargo hold to 2,430 litres.

Is it easy to fold down the seats? Well, the rear takes a bit more effort than the middle seats. You need to release the seat base first, which is inside, before moving to the boot to pull down the backrest. Honestly, it is quite a hassle.

Interior-04

The real magic here is found in the individual seats that allow you to fold just one seat instead of mashing down an entire bench. This also means that you have more freedom of carrying more things without needing to cull the number of passengers you can take with you. Besides the large space, there are also 33 other places within the MPV in which you can stash your bits and bobs.

With the Sharan fully loaded, the next concern would be power. With a normal load of four people and the weekend’s travel bags/shopping, the Sharan can still be a rapid big thing. Not that it is light, mind; the MPV’s unladen weight is 1,838 kg. Yet, for the 2.0 litre TSI, it is not a big ask.

The turbocharged lump produces 200 PS at 5,100 rpm, so there’s plenty of mid- to top-end speed to be had. The engine also gives out 280 Nm of torque between 1,700 to 5,000 rpm, which gives it plenty of acceleration across the torque band. 0-100 km/h is accomplished in a claimed 8.3 seconds. Far-fetched? Maybe, but mash the accelerator pedal and you’ll squash all doubt that the Sharan is a sloth.

Seat-Config-05

At high speeds, the Sharan feels stable and assured, and not easily swayed by cross winds or the rippling road. The ride is more rigid than the rest of the MPV crop, which are usually of Japanese origin. Still, the chassis is able to shake off all but the deepest bumps and holes.

The rigid suspension also bestows the Sharan with high levels of agility compared to its rivals. Body roll has been dialled back and you’d have to purposefully throw the MPV into a corner to get it to roll. A slight steering input is all the MPV needs to change directions quickly and accurately, even if the steering feels numb.

The test Sharan came armed with the Tech pack that, for RM24,000 more, includes the Adaptive Chassis Control that allows you to soften or harden the suspension to your liking. The difference between Comfort, Normal and Sport is miniscule at best and trying to tell them apart is like trying to differentiate which cup of coffee is mixed with white, brown or artificial sugar.

Exterior-05

Ah, but that’s not the only thing you’re getting for RM24,000. The Sharan with Tech pack (RM269,888 nett) also gets a 300 W eight-speaker Dynaudio sound system, keyless start and entry and Lane Assist, which is VW’s lane departure warning system.

If you don’t want to spend more, no problem. The base Sharan (RM245,888 nett) already has plenty, such as all the important safety aids you need – traction control and anti-slip among others – and plenty of airbags for emergency cushioning for all three rows. The standard spec MPV is also fitted with Park Assist, which automatically works the steering while you work the gear lever and pedals when slotting the Sharan into a parking space.

So it does not have a DVD player and a 12-inch LCD to go with it, but in terms of everything else, it is hard to fault this MPV. With the Sharan, you’ll own a quality MPV that is not only easy to drive and relatively comfortable, but also has the potential to be the family’s favourite vehicle.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Patnolas659 on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

A good vehicle, again comes with a hefty price.
    Hoping for tax reducement or better abolishment for family car/suv.

Jetta 1.4 tsi engine did so well. 2.0 tsi engine on this car will surely can be driven effortlessly.

Wonder what can be achieved by proton if they were sold to VW. Sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
    • unforgiven on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:14 am

What if after ge 13, there’s a change? Then most ppl can enjoy quality MPV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 27
    • VW Trending on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:19 am

Great review Chris! any review on the new Bettle? Since almost all the VWs have been driven already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:57 pm

One must be having half a brain to pay RM250,000 on a mere VW. In overseas VW is a normal car with no status attached. Unfortunately in Malaysia, VW owners think there is so much status attached to the car as at par with BMW and Mercedes. That is why WV Malaysia is increasing their prices to non logical levels. Bear in mind, in overseas VW is same standard as Proton. Better for you to save RM100,000 by buying a Hyundai Starex if you really want a MPV or a Van.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
        • so what? As long as it has the good quality and masterpiece of engineering. Mind you, VW owns a lot of those best carmaker companies out there. So who the f*ck would care if it is a VW? All they care is what they get from the car, technology and quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • danial on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:14 am

Read this again and again, the quality is there , but it is above other Japs in the same class in term of quality. Read here again

“….At high speeds, the Sharan feels stable and assured, and not easily swayed by cross winds or the rippling road. The ride is more rigid than the rest of the MPV crop, which are usually of Japanese origin. “

• ah beng on Jan 26, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Who says VW is normal car overseas. Pls read the Autocar, Top Gear, Car and What Car websites from the UK. All of them say that the new VWs have better build qualit than even some higher price range cars, including many BWW and Mercedes models. They are certainly in a much higher league than T And H for build quality and technology.

• Yeah..driving a Starex is like driving a bus sekolah…overseas vw is more expensive than Proton, pls give accurate facts loo boy

• Innovator on Mar 09, 2015 at 1:41 pm

Sam Loo
          Only ppl without brains will want to buy 3 yr recond japanese MPV with fake mileage with crazy price of 200k and more. In Europe nobody will pay this money for sub par car in driving dynamics and safety

• in UK they are selling the Seat Alhambra (re-badged Sharan, btw SEAT is part of VW group) wt the 1.4 TSI as per the golf/jetta 1.4 tsi. VW shud bring the 1.4 Sharan and price is cheaper say around SMAX price?? the 1.4TSI 160hp at 4,000rpm and 240nm of torque from 1,500rpm – 4,000rpm is sufficient….both the NA 2.4 liter estima/odysey have lower 230nm of torque at high 4,000rpm++ and yet ppl still bought those underpowered mpv’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 3:39 pm

I drove the similar sized Ford Galaxy with the 1.6 TDCi producing 115 HP. It was perfectly fine on the German highway. Very frugal too. VW has similar diesels.

I think the problem is the price fixing by the government. They decide the price, the importer decides the specs. That way they can keep a safe distance from Proton and Perodua. We can see that B segment cars cost from 70k, quite a lot more than the local B segment offerings. Amongst imported B segment cars there are well speced cars for 70k, and poorly speced ones. Even though overseas these cars also cost the same… At very similar specs. Why wouldn’t Toyota charge less for the Vios, since it is so inferior? They are probably not allowed to. And can make more money this way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • From my understanding, the gearbox is not very reliable on this one, cost a lot to fix n replaced in few years time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Own a VW,RV is quite high and fun to drive but unreliable than T & H…after sale service fail,DSG and TSI hav a lot of problems.my another car is Toyota,only brake fail! anyway i’ll buy another VW again and i’m waiting for the MK7!

• What could possibly the best looking MPV right now. I saw it the other day at Ikano Power Center. It is bigger than it looks ,huge vehicle, make the Alza that I was driving looks like a….Kancil.

I wonder why people still buy Alphard and Veilfires when you can have this or the Elgrand, both of which comes with proper warranty and 3S instead of being a re-cond.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 16
    • Jimmy on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:06 pm

I mentioned this before.
      And I said: the best buy 7-seater MPV is this Sharan, although it is supposed to be Mazda 8, which has superrelax ottoman captain chair, were it not because of the absence of ESP.
      Unless you like to be cheated by lou chean recond dealers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
      • As for design wise, The Sharan beats the 8 for being handsome. The 8 may be cheaper and has ottoman chair, but I sat on one and it seems to be devoid of any features, the steering dose’t even have the usual buttons. but I have to agree the Sharan is rather expensive, a Peugeot 5008 or even its sibling the Touran and the Ford B-Max can get the job done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
        • kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Not really. The Alza beats the Touran in terms of space, at least for the 3rd row. Super cramped and uncomfortable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
          • F*** The Alza, my mom drives it daily as I prefer my old Saga. the brakes are the definition of terrible [The ABS bloody failed, there is no way the wheels can lock up with a car proudly dislay ABS at the rear] , the interior is a symphony of squeeks and cracks and it’s impossible to do anywhere near 110kph unless you have Red Baron level of bravery. Shouting is required at 80 kph or above for communication, if it’s raining you can only resort to hand signal. Parking is a hell bcuz of its long wheelbase.

On the positive side, it is cheap, the engine is creamy ,the interior is well design layout and the exterior, dare I say it, sporty. But it’s not for me, I have to admit my habit on driving near 120 kph and braking late, So if you can live through the faults and more, its not a recommended car, service s***, at least in my area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:49 pm

Geez. Learn to read, guys. I said in terms of space. Try both and you will see. While leg room and head room is quite ok in the Touran, you are basically sitting on the floor, with the knees touching your face. The bench barely rises above the floor, forcing anyone who still has legs to sit in a terribly uncomfortable position (the best way is to cross legs Yoga-style).

I have been in many much much worse cars. In the Rusa you need to be the Red Baron to drive above 70. The suspension is more a trampoline, intended to catapult you in the air rather than absorb bumps. The steering gets very light while in the air. It is also very light when driving above 70 or 80, making it hard to drive in a straight line.
            The Hyundai Atos changes direction whenever the road is uneven. I’ve been in a few new Alzas, bought in the last 6 months, and they were fine. Not much rattle and squeeking, the suspension was a bit hard but ok. Was a passenger from KL to JB, the driver drove around 130. Not very problematic or scary. The old Saga was much much louder even at 80 or 90.

But I agree, it’s not a great car. I still prefer my Kangoo, no problem doing 140 (engine is a bit weak, otherwise I’m sure 160+ wouldn’t be a problem too).

• My moms is an early model, I it was ordered about 3 months after the launch. I have to agree that the newer models were better. My friends mom also bought a new Alza, he sat in mine at said it was louder and worse.

You have to be behind the wheel to actually feel it, the steering feels detach from the road [very light] at 100kph or above or so it happens in our Alza, 130 kph is possible with that engine, just a little less confident doing it. I still cannot forgive the fact the wheels locked up (it was hard braking down a hill) add to thet 6 months after we got the car, the rear brakes sounded like the brakes you get from old semis. I have to admit the rear legroom is great, larger than a BMW 7 series LWB when you push the seats all the way back or so an article says. But while the large rear legroom is good, the seats at the 2nd and 3rd row provides zero grip to your body.

My saga, one of the best maintain or so a friend said, dose’t really have much wind noise or road noise but the 4G15 really have to work at triple digit kph, 3250 rpm/5th gear at 110kph. Any faster and the engine screams for mercy. And for that engine is the loudest you’ll hear in a car. But it’s a 20 yr old car, but to my ears, the Alza has worse wind and road noise, when it rains, the roof sounds like its is made of tarpaulin. Lower speed in my Saga [100 kph and below], its low COG and unassisted steering means you are much confident on the road as the feeling is more direct and raw. much more confident car than the Alza, but than again thats a MPV.

I know someone with a Kangoo, gotta ask him how it’s like one day.

• unforgiven on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:09 am

Recon business, AP, under table or unclean money run together very well. Noticed quite a number of police and minister may only shop at recon outlets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
    • For me Mazda 8 is undoubtly the best buy MPV in the market now for under 200k. It’s definitely far more comfortable than this Sharan. Yes power wise lack behind but isn’t a MPV is more of a passengers and family comfort? Power doors and power boot and what more with 5 year manufacturer warranty and maintenance? Just look at the seats compare with this Sharan, without doubt we know who will arrive more fresh.http://www.mazda.com.my/getdoc/48bc1de4-17f8-40f3-a6f9-01a171fbb2c0/mazda8-interior-large3-jpg.aspx. I m enjoying it now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
      • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Yes, Sharan’s seats look, look only, small, and give the feel, I stress again, just feel, cramped, although in reality they are not. Thew worst is the seats of Starex, for primary 6 children only. Can Hyundai do something in the next generation Starex?

• Ken Fong on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:23 pm

I test drove the Mazda8, Peugeot 5008, Ford s max, Volvo XC90 and Toyota estima before settling on the VW Sharan. What made my choose the sharan despite the higher price? Excellent drive , solid German build, 5 star euro safety rating ( which the 8 does not have ) , my kids fight for the built in car seat all the time and love the sliding doors. We have taken numerous long distance trips with 6 people and a full luggage load and I had no problems overtaking on the highways. Honestly, you will not find a better 7 seater around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Interior Sharan, exterior Galaxy. Though the Sharan is very business like, very serious and tight. Not bad. There is also the C4 Picasso, which is a good looking car too, albeit smaller. And of course the S-Max, though one may say that’s a wagon on steroids.

• bright on Jan 18, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Amazed that this car actually has auto-park feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • thequestion on Jan 18, 2013 at 11:06 pm

definitely best MPV in everything else except its ugly look..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Sharan is cantiq, clean, neat and more elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • MrCounterstrike on Jan 20, 2013 at 8:23 am

How about Vellfire/Estima/Alphard. They are even uglier than this MPV.

But I agree this is a the best all-rounder MPV and definitely gives value for money compared to the overrated recon Alphards and Estimas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Jilbaber on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:02 am

To be frank Estima look nicer than the Sharan but that what’s its all good at..I don’t look Vellfire and Alphard as same league as Sharan IMO they’re in different level and yes they look even uglier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Should have at least tried using the Park Asist once to parallel park. I would love to hear how it manages to park such a huge car compared to the Focus which also has a similar system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:51 pm

auto park is for ppl with low level skill of driving, and should they be allowed to drive on the road as well? on sundays, maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 4:06 pm

What does parking skill have to do with driving skill? For a car of this size it is useful.

• Iniesta Leong on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:20 am

Good Mpv, powerful engine, I ll buy this rathen than those recond from jap make

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 26
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 19, 2013 at 10:16 am

Kaki botol, can you afford it or not?

I also can said Boeing 787 got problem, and now it is better for me to buy Airbus 320 …….. in the form of souvenir from AirAsia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Some of us who can buy Mercedes every single year still put comments on Proton, Suzuki etc. None of us knows about you, but you have the right to submit your comments, just make sure the comments are not too fanatic or sound Ah-Beng.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Vincent on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:24 am

I sat on my friend’s Estima, seriously I don’t understand why people still dying for Estima, the Rm200k recond MPV just feels cheap and it doesn’t makes me feel worth paying RM200k for it. Set aside the power, the safety features was not there either. Honestly, I don’t think it worth that much, Toyota is just relying on their ‘brand’ to sell in Malaysia market where some older uncles still thought they are the best car in the world. Sorry Toyota, ain’t work on me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:49 am

They don’t need you. Still got a million uncles like to buy 2nd hand alphard/vellfire at 200-300k++. Then they always cut in front of you in junction giving you that cocky face and forcing u to jam brakes. Then give you the “get out of my way” face!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 19
      • dreaming of maserati on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:32 am

Exactly…they think they are grand but everyone knows that those are just 2nd hand overpriced junks. At this price range ppl can buy brand new vw sharan, mazda8,ford smax etc…all with 5 yrs of warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:31 am

But VW DSG kwai tai, and maintenance over 5 years will cost easily RM20k-RM30k.

Thats why Toyota Alphard and Estima rules the large MPV market.

Hang On, Toyota also rules the B,C & D segment.

Hang On, Toyota also rules the large SUV segment, with Cygnus, Land Cruiser.

Hang On, Lexus is also the leader in medium / large Luxury SUV segment with RX & LS series.

want more??????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 97
      • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Not true, owners of recond Ninja Kings serviced at private dealer SCs, ask them what happened to them.
        If SCs want to cheat your money, they can say this or that major problems (in fact minor but you are laymen).
        You asked them why so fast got problem while it was < 3 years with < 50K milage used up, they said because of the recond status.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Because many people are not rich enough.
        If you have reached that point, you want brand new X6, brand new S-class, brand new Range Rover and brand new Porsche/Ferrari, which are within the limit of some of us here.
        Remember what I said: car loan must be maximum 3 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Authorised UMW SC now takes CBU cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Sam a/l Loo on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:39 pm

WTF is Kwai Tai?
        Alphard auto door fail cost 20k to replace. Harrier always g/box failure cost more than 20k. Now nobody dare to buy harrier anymore. ( lexus RX series)
        Perodua/proton rules B segment.
        Honda Rules C Segment.
        Toyota only rules Recon car market as used car dealers make maximum profits selling these old junks at super high price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • Sam lu on Jan 20, 2013 at 8:47 am

Yes,sui kuan and kwai tai estima vellfire alphard.Junk is junk,Das auto sharan is the best buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
        • Harrier always gbox failure? Cost 20k? Hmmm being reading a lot of absent minded feel good comments. Whatever type of vehicle you drive, it has it purpose base on your requirements. Just take good care of your ride.

Drive sanely, think of the pedestrian, think of those cyclist and motorcyclist, be responsible. Its just a vehicle, could not replace life. So use your money as you wish. Go buy a vehicle that u can afford to repay. And lastly stop writing something that u have zero knowledge on or based on hearsay.

• Sohai-Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:58 am

Hang on, your toyota loss to my Z4 on resale value. Aren’t my Z4 supposed to lose more money.
        Want more….MONEY!!! Go to a better used car that not cut your throat!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:55 pm

the cars are relatively cheap, the taxes for used imports are also relatively cheap but 2 main factors for the excessively priced Estimas and Alphards are the hefty profit margin and AP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Sam lu on Jan 20, 2013 at 8:35 am

This is what we call Das Auto,or people’s car.High quality and affordable.Unlike those junk Estima Vellfire Alphard.See those fugly looking car also lost our appetite.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Das Auto means The Car. They want to stress that VW is the definition of a car, it is that good. In Germany for example the C segment is named after the Golf, because it is the benchmark against which every other C segment car has to be measured. Like back in the day when every phone tried to be the iPhone killer, and they all failed.

Vellfire, Alphard (seriously, what’s wrong with the naming department of Toyota? Vellfire? Hellfire? I don’t want to burn in hell. And Alphard… Al fart. It’s the Al fart.) and Estima are overrated and overpriced. It’s not that they are bad cars, but for some reason people are willing to pay too much for them (also for a lack of competition). It’s time that Renault reintroduces the Espace/Grand Espace and Ford introduces the Galaxy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • listen listen listen on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:54 am

the seat is ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:37 pm

True, except the colour combination.

• Sam lu on Jan 20, 2013 at 8:52 am

Yang penting it is good to drive,and reliable also,unlike those sui kuan rekon toyota MPVs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • teelim on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:33 am

At least can choose black only.

I am also puzzled why they bother making such an ugly colour combination…

• Powerful engine…but ford has smax in their arsenal…paul n co should do comparison between these two plus odyssey rb3 absolute…

• smax compete wt the Touran…..Sharan competitor is the Ford Galaxy not the S-Max

• Paul Tan on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Actually the Touran competes with the C-MAX. Sharan competes with Galaxy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Right, and the S-Max is something odd in between. About as expensive as the Galaxy, less spacious, more sporty, better looking. S-Max and Galaxy are based on D segment cars, Sharon too. C-Max and Touran are based on C segment cars.

• clarin on Jan 20, 2013 at 9:05 pm

btw the sharan & galaxy, sharan sliding door is more practical than the galaxy/smax normal doors.

• VW_Dillema on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:55 am

“With the Sharan, you’ll own a quality MPV that is not only easy to drive and relatively comfortable, but also has the potential to be the family’s favourite vehicle.”

I supposed to be a happy “future” owner of VW & upon reading the statement above “should” make me happy & decisive!

BUT there are a lot of ppl complaining VW SC, faulty DSG, this lah that lah, makes me “confuse, even in paultan latest posting “VW is no.1 European brand in Malaysia”, there lots of members complaining.

KIndly Paul, could you please reply me:
    Is it advisable to own a VW? Is it so SUCK their SC? or is it more problems compare with T or H brand?
    Please Please share your info

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
    • Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:33 am

Sui Kwan, Kwai Tai and low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
      • Cari fasal on Jan 19, 2013 at 3:49 pm

liar where got low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Sohai-Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2013 at 1:06 am

Sui Kwan, Kwai Tai and low RV: This few lines is for those uncle who cannot afford to own a CONTI car. Is an excuse for Sam Loo so that he wont feel so low in front of his friend that own a better car than him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Sam Loo on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Used VW not as profitable as kimchis, but its slowly catching up.

Kimchis do not have the DSG phobia, just low self esteem for their owners when driving one

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:42 pm

You are probably not ready for it yet at this point in time, just my little guess. Think thrice.
      Not many people have the ability to marry modern sweet cantiq girls who are 10 years younger than them.

• mark forever on Jan 20, 2013 at 3:11 pm

2 ugly:
        boring exterior, boring interior.
        such plain old bumper design.
        such souless exterior design and so old fashion in interior design.

so 1990s. now is already 2010++… 2 decades ahead.
        This car will meke me look older by 20 years!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • no worries about the 6 speed dsg which came wt this Sharan/Gti…etc, only some issue wt the dry clutch 7 speed dsg in the 1.4tsi & the passat 1.8tsi….

• overpriced, small and looks stupid. you call this spacious? have u ever stepped in to a real large mpv? wwell step into citroen c8 or fiat ulysse or pug 807. thats a real big ass mpv with respectable look and good pricing in their era.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • thequestion on Jan 19, 2013 at 10:52 am

I stepped on C8 before..saying it bigger than the Sharan is quite mislead..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Same class of cars, similar size. Direct competitors, although your examples are the low budget version. Something like Hyundai and Kia in terms of brand and pricing. Which isn’t bad, but the Sharan and Galaxy will be a bit more premium.

• Sharan does not have spare tyres or repair kits but instead uses ContiSeal tyres. Is it any good? At least S-max and 5008 have tyre repair kits.

• Recond cars low mileage brothers, that’s why many peoples like it. Below 10k kms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Believe me, don’t be fooled by the mileage, it has been tampered. Those AP holders are not angels, they want to cari makan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Ha ha ha, I like your words they are not angels.
        Becareful also test driven cars sold as brand new.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Jan 19, 2013 at 1:00 pm

true. just plug into a computer, key-in any numbers you like and voila!! low mileage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • ahlibaba on Jan 19, 2013 at 10:55 am

Yet to see anyone said better buy Exora Bold prime captain seats. Also turbo and way cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Kaninabei on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:01 am

VW just cannot tahan our extreme weather. Get the car into any traffic jam with a standstill of about 3 hours, everything will fail. Overheating, ecu breakdown, batter life shortens and worst , engine burst into flame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:32 am

In local terms, it does sui kwan and kwai tai lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • kadajawi on Jan 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Are you sure? VWs are tested in Death Valley, in heat chambers etc. They are popular in Spain, where temperatures can easily exceed those in Malaysia. I’ve experienced 40°C there, and that was near the French border. In the south it is worse. Every summer the whole of Germany used to drive to Spain for holiday, resulting in huge traffic jams where people would stay for hours or even days. Summer can be 35+°C. You think only Malaysia got hot temperatures?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Actually, our weather isn’t extreme.

All car manufacturers test their cars in various conditions (including desert) to ensure operation in various markets the car will be sold in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Sam a/l Loo on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Some ppl never travel anywhere b4, they thought malaysia is the hottest in the world. really katak under tempurung…
      To these ppl i advise you to keep your mouth shut, then no one will know that you are stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Medic on Feb 27, 2013 at 9:55 am

Really ar?You’ve probably been watching too much Bollywood movies.

• Bona Boni Bonu on Jan 19, 2013 at 11:19 am

Hi,

I was wondering what you (Chris) think about
    this Volkswagen Sharan vs. the new Nissan Serena vs. Mazda Biante vs. Mazda 8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Sharan, if you are ready for it. R-class is just not cantiq.

• Chris Ng (Member) on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:00 pm

I have not tested the Serena, Biante and the Mazda 8 yet so I cannot tell you what I think. I probably will never be able to test the Biante since it is not officially imported by Bermaz.

• LISTEN !! This car is damn FUGLY, same standard with Innova.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
    • Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:49 pm

This is the feel of most people, most not all, who just upgrade their vehicle from national made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • actually, no matter Japanese, American, or even European car makers, they all have secret weapons yet to release to asean market. they can give the same brand name in different area by different specs. they always claim that due to gov policy, weather condition and etc. they like to dump obsolete tech with rebadges to these markets as we are cheap and affordless to their latest tech products. there is no real global car. so those uncles who knew this tricks will definitely buy recond car even they are used and expensive. this is always a money game.

• Jimmy on Jan 19, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Fortuner and Harrier are of different quality and techs. CBU vs made-in-outside-Japan. So please choose Mazda 6 over those CKDs/made-in-Thai with minimal safety specs; similarly CBU Merc/BM over CKDs.

• kadajawi on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:58 pm

The Fiesta comes with similar specs here as it does in Europe. Actually the Fiesta here is higher spec than in Europe, last time I checked they can’t get it with the PowerShift DSG, while we get it. Most Fiestas overseas are probably being sold with less powerful engines (around 60-90 hp usually), manual gearbox and not many other features.

• no global car at all. if F-150 can come to our market, why Ford is bothered to lunch the “new” Ford ranger?

• then you will be b*icthing about how huge the f150 is and the big engine capacity, also the fc.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 19, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Sam Loo,
    LISTEN, LISTEN, LISTEN …….
    Listen, Listen, Listen …….
    listen, listen, listen …….

When I talk u listen, don’t tokok too much!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo on Jan 19, 2013 at 7:09 pm

DSG is the nail in the coffin for VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Night Hunter on Jan 19, 2013 at 7:52 pm

At such high price, I’ll opt for the S-max if the need arises…. More powerful, better composed handling…
    But like they said, size wise, Galaxy is a better rival for this Sharan…

• No need argue! Only UBAH can let us buy reasonable price car. All Malaysia car price is super overprice! We pay double triple for “super low” spec n quality car!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on Jan 20, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Not really. When it comes to Japanese cars, yes. Pay double the amount in Europe, for much lower specs. Contis are usually similarly priced and similarly speced, when you compare Europe with Malaysia. The Passat here is a high spec one in Europe, which means it is also quite expensive over there (almost as expensive as here). Touran, again, pretty good specs, similar price like in Germany. Same with Fiesta, the specs here are higher than they are even possible in Germany, the pricing is similar.

Japanese brands simply take Malaysians for a ride, that’s all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • iniesta leong on Jan 19, 2013 at 10:17 pm

I cant afford to buy now cause I just bought a B7 few months ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Toffeeman on Jan 19, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Sharan in Spore costs around SGD220k and a BMW 520 is around the same price whereas in Malaysia the latter costs at least 100k more. The features given by VW is very generous. I thought its value for money and I don’t think VW will be so generous once the MPV becomes popular in our market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • indian vs chinese vs malays. on Jan 20, 2013 at 2:09 am

haha what are you? a frog under batu cave? let me list u alll the best selling mpv here to make sure u never missed that our mpv segment is oledy fofular:
      -alza
      -ekxora
      -innova-tive (oh the irony)
      -avanza (yeah, ‘advanced’)
      -estima (*yawnn)
      -vellfire/alfat wwhatsoever
      -tens more model that i cldnt list it all here

• littlefire on Jan 20, 2013 at 9:00 am

Listen Listen Listen, dont compare others country especially Singapore with us. How about compare other oil producing country car price?

• Toffeeman on Jan 20, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Actually you need to read the statement carefully. When the reference is made to Singapore it’s not about how the price compare to Spore’s price. The point made is that across the causeway, the Sharan is priced in the same class as the BMW 5 series. Whereas in Malaysia, its significantly cheaper than the 5 series and this implies a pricing strategy by VW to gain market share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • Matkoolkawanku on Jan 20, 2013 at 10:16 am

Somehow the interior quite familiar with volvo xc90 which I love

• Brayokmok on Jan 20, 2013 at 12:28 pm

It is much cheaper than Vellfire 3.5 which is 400K++ new . I just bought VF 2.4 and satisfied the overall performance , much better than estima which I used for 9 years wo major problems. Everybody knows this Sharan is a very good MPV, the only problem is again the RV and service…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Cheaper to buy, but cry when you sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo Jr on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:21 pm

VW RV seems to be better than toyota. For example:
        2005 VW Golf Gti New 200k Now selling 102-115k ( RV Drop by 45-48%)

2005 Toyota Camry 2.4 New RM 175k Now selling only 60-65k ( RV Drop by 63-66% )

So actually the Camry owner is crying and not the VW owner. This is just example,i know some ppl will flame me for comparing a c-segment hatch and a d-segment sedan but its just an example. In fact toyota got advantage due to lower starting price as cars 200k and above tend to “freefall” in RV.

• Mat Long on Jan 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm

i laugh when i read this review. My name is Sharan. From my point of view, this is good MPV. Too expensive and cannot afford this. For those who bought this, will never leave a comment here. They busy to find money to pay the extremely high overprice installment. For rich people ok la. For those who comments above, they probably dont own this car. They busy surfing and give bad comment to be famous. Stop comment, go and buy one later can comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Jan 20, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Impulsive kid. Too judgemental. BTW, some of us here can buy a few Sharan with cash every year. And I used the word economical instead of cheap, in case people misunderstand it as referring to the design and quality.
      Too busy working 16 hours a day finding money is not rich ok. His money maybe more than some of us here.

• teelim on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:24 am

Funny there wasn’t any mention of the folding mechanism of the middle row seats to allow entry to the third row.

I think its one of its best features, allowing easy access to the third row even though it is a 2-3-2 configuration (definitely better than its competitors)

Sample pic (taken off the internet)
    http://www.discovery-mpv.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/sharan-side-entry.jpg

• You got the point! Actually countries like Kazakhstan have extreme weather conditions:
    +40C in summer and -40C in winter
    Imagine an engine that has to run in a climate hotter than Malaysia in summer and colder as Sweden in winter. ;)

• see & talk on Jan 21, 2013 at 3:24 pm

see this… http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-news/consumer-news/62383/german-cars-among-worst-engine-failures

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:56 am

“Honda scooped the gold medal – the study found that just one in every 344 Honda engines failed, compared to one in every 27 Audi engines. Despite its recent recall woes, Toyota came second and Mercedes managed to outperform its fellow German brands with a respectable third-place finish”

• WhoDat? on Feb 19, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Who the “***” is “Warranty Direct”? Sounds like a used car dealer in the UK. How reliable is their survey? If its AutoExpress own survey, maybe people will stop and read the story!

• Ken Fong on Mar 01, 2013 at 9:32 pm

I test drove the Mazda8, Peugeot 5008, Ford s max, Volvo XC90 and Toyota estima before settling on the VW Sharan. What made my choose the sharan despite the higher price? Excellent drive , solid German build, 5 star euro safety rating ( which the 8 does not have ) , my kids fight for the built in car seat all the time and love the sliding doors. We have taken numerous long distance trips with 6 people and a full luggage load and I had no problems overtaking on the highways. Honestly, you will not find a better 7 seater around.

• moshahriz on May 11, 2013 at 2:34 am

Proud owner of sharan tech spec, got 20K discount for 2012 “clearance” model :) This is a long term buy, so GTH with RV!

The RNS510 plus Dynaudio is worth it with crystal clear DTS sound. Just hacked the unit to enable video in motion, now can watch DVD while driving (for my kids of course). The KESSY keyless system is excellent, can keep the car key in my pocket all the time. Lane assist is annoying but useful during long highway drives. DCC chasis control would allow me to choose sporty handling (suspension & steering feedback) if i’m driving alone & feeling naughty… Or extra comfy when travelling with family. Auto park assist can be scary sometime, but it works all the time. And I can go on forever talking about this wonderful MPV…

Overall it’s a technology marvel, solid build & powerful machine that can carry 7 people comfortably, including those big luggages for balik kampung. For me, a definite 5 star.

• loo sw on May 14, 2013 at 8:00 am

bought a tech spec sharan on march 2013. excellent MPV. very satisfied with it. better drive than all japs MPVs. powerful engine, stable, smooth, solid build. To me, a definite 5 star as well.

• Woei Ann on May 19, 2013 at 7:58 pm

Hi Moshahriz, can you give me the shop contact no that hacked the player. Thanks.

• moshahriz on Jun 24, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Hi Ann, it was a DIY project. I would neither share any website nor do it for anyone else. Just Google “RNS510 VIM ISO” and follow the instructions on the threads. The end result is satisfying but here are the risks:
        1. Your may void the warranty
        2. You might “brick” the unit
        3. It is illegal (and dangerous) to watch DVD while driving

All you need are the ISO file, a CD-R, CD writer & lots of guts! All the best :)

• Azman on Nov 22, 2015 at 10:41 pm

I am desperate to enable VIM in the unit. My daughter said it is a deal breaker. Can I get your advice? I just bought a 2012 Sharan. Thanks.

• kentc on Jul 25, 2013 at 2:25 pm

I own a i10 1.25 kappa (Colourz).
    Most of the review said it can run 500km (city), 700km (highway). 5.3L/100KM.
    ALL BULLSHIT, I NEVER HIT 480KM with city drive or highway. There is no way.
    My city drive only get 400+-km.
    The fuel consumption is bad than my 8 years honda city. (I can get at least 470KM for 35L with city drive & 550KM for highway).
    The small car like i10 is not really fuel efficient, but it is better than Myvi la.

• Own a 2012 Sharan-well built and solid with enough space. Handing wise i prefer the Ford S -Max.
    Both models well ahead of the so-called premium Toyotas MPVs eg vellfire

• panjang on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Can the new Honda Odyssey be the competitor for this car? Price wise the Odyssey win, but performance wise of course Sharan is faster with smaller engine