Pioneer launches 2013 ICE range – Perfect Fit offers OEM look with navi, 5.1 sound for VW Polo, Camry

DSC_0134b

Last week, Pioneer launched its 2013 car entertainment range in Damansara. There were plenty of new ICE products from the Japanese brand, including digital car amps, new A-Series speakers, CD receivers and a range of multimedia receivers. Pioneer also launched the Perfect Fit navigation system with 5.1-channel AV entertainment – this series caught our eye, more on it later.

Car stereos are so much more than CD/Radio players with USB/Bluetooth these days, and the Pioneer launch was rather eye-opening for yours truly, who is not an ICE junkie. Pioneer’s five new multimedia models – AVH-X8550BT, AVH-X5550BT, AVH-X2550BT and AVH-X1550DVD – feature “true connectivity” with compatible apps that can link your iPhone or Android phone with your car stereo.

DSC_0153b

The new AppRadio Mode, previously known as Advanced App Mode, allows users to view compatible third-party smartphone apps directly via the head unit’s touch screen – the popular Waze app is one, as shown here. Other apps include those for navigation, Internet radio, and social media. Besides apps, music and videos on your phone can be played via the head unit.

Pioneer was also keen to highlight its Mixtrax App. The latest version has a Mix Creator function that simplifies the process of creating a nonstop music mix, club style. So while the DJ at your favourite club mixes on his Pioneer deck, you can do something like that in your car.

DSC_0138b

Here’s something more mainstream – the Perfect Fit series, made to integrate nicely into your car for the OEM look. The range comes with built-in GPS navigation and upgradable 5.1-channel with Dolby Digital Decoder, without messy cabling.

Navigation is powered by Papago (version X8.5) so the maps come with 3D, junction view and split view. For the 5.1 upgrade, just add an amp, subwoofer and centre speaker to your car’s existing set of speakers.

There’s also Bluetooth, and if you have a compatible device, you can wirelessly stream (A2DP) and control audio (AVRCP). Currently, the Perfect Fit range has one for the Volkswagen Polo (AVIC-F7121, RM2,999), previous-gen Toyota Camry (AVIC-F7111, RM2,599), new Camry (AVIC-F7202D, RM2,999) and a generic 2-DIN unit for RM2,399.

DSC_0130b

This could be a perfect fit (sorry!) for Polo Sedan owners who want to upgrade their tiny RCD 210 player to one that offers a more “full-spec look”. The same goes for Polo hatch owners who want more colour in their car. In any case, you can now retire that unsightly portable Garmin and its dangling wire.

For more info and specs, head to www.pioneer.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• MR.LEE on Jan 21, 2013 at 10:12 am

Those who bought the Kenwood OEM for VW are banging their balls now

• Why would they bang their balls? Avoid Pioneer ICE screen like plague. Their CD player is good but not in-car screen display.

• bystander on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:23 am

the Kenwood unit *seems* to have slightly better specs, and the 3k+ pricing includes a reverse camera as well. It also looks abit better than the Pioneer.

on the other hand, wonder why they only mention for Polo and not for other VWs…strange

• babygal on Jan 21, 2013 at 5:47 pm

These pioneer still dun support chinese/jap/korea character display mp3 tag support???

• No to Japanese Car on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:15 am

mmmmmm The girls look hot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Will it void the car warranty?

• nongkrong on Jan 21, 2013 at 11:58 am

I’LL EAT THE CORN OUT OF HER SHIT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • gr34ts4g3 on Jan 21, 2013 at 12:33 pm

I thought Pioneer is the red one. My eyes just stick to the chicks. lol

• Painter on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:33 pm

Any idea if the units sold can fit the slot in previous-gen Toyota Fortuner?

• nabill on Jan 21, 2013 at 1:38 pm

I agree…pioneer hav good sound quality bt their touch screen interface vrry slow n unresponsive…

• Andrew on Jan 21, 2013 at 2:33 pm

When can I get 1 ?

• United States of Malaysia on Jan 21, 2013 at 7:30 pm

How come these HU manufacturers never come out with local car perfect fit

eg: proton/perodua

• Why not adopt android firmware for the head unit? Everything in one…almost unlimited. Better opt for clarion android head unit

• I agree that Pioneer and Alpine make good (some great) HU… But I have to give credit to Kenwood as well for coming out with one model which is a perfect fit for Toyota – DDX630. Almost all current Toyota models (with 2-din slot) can be fitted with this model.. And can be controlled using steering button (if any). Cost about RM1600-1800 depending on whether with Bluetooth or not. Don’t have to splurge on Kenwood GPS as Papago x8.5 is readily available at cheaper price (approx. 1k).
    I’m using on on my Estima and I have no regret on my decision, the video was crisp with great colours. The HU changes its colour once in a while. Comes with a remote control as well..

• paparadzi on Jan 21, 2013 at 9:24 pm

The AVIC-F7111 seems like a good fit for my 2008 Camry, but upon further checking, there is still no RDS.

Any “perfect fit” system with RDS for the 2008 Camry?

• Please paultan. If i want to look for girls i would already go somewhere else. Please no more photos of hot girls here. Make your site appropriate for all age.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • Desperiiittt on Jan 22, 2013 at 9:40 am

Euu..ketiak ala buluuuuu

• of course la they need to put girls, all men like girls what? see hypertune, used to be a good car magazine, now it’s just an advertorial magazine with a lot of scantily dressed models. but hey, people still buy them

• MOTORLAND on May 08, 2013 at 2:18 pm

I think its a right move in car audio world. Pioneer has taken a very good decision of making OE-FIT multi media players.
    Pioneer players are known for their user friendliness.
    I think this concept will be a big hit in the Asian car market.

• Fazil Puteh on Oct 26, 2014 at 7:11 am

Where your agent in north malaysia