BMW Group Malaysia posts record sales in 2012

dr-gerhard-pils

Another car company that reached an all-time high in 2012 is BMW Group Malaysia, which posted record sales performance last year for its brands – BMW, MINI and Motorrad – cementing its position as the top premium automaker in Malaysia.

BMW Group Malaysia delivered a total of 6,988 vehicles last year, consisting of 6,318 BMWs, 341 MINIs and 329 Motorrad bikes, an increase of 13% compared to the total of 5,604 vehicles delivered in 2011.

“Last year was a historic milestone for us due to the solid performance of the group and we managed to meet and exceed benchmarks in all areas of our business. With new vehicles and activities lined up for 2013, our main aim will be to reinforce our position as the number one premium automaker here in the country,” said Dr Gerhard Pils, CEO of BMW Group Malaysia.

Wheelcorp-BMW

Contributing to BMW’s performance is its network of dealerships which has grown steadily to 24 outlets throughout the country (16 BMW, four MINI, four Motorrad). Throughout 2012, BMW introduced new 4S facilities in Setia Alam, Kuantan, Butterworth, Kuching and Kota Kinabalu, a new MINI centre in Bangsar and a BMW Motorrad dealership in Kuantan.

“As we enter our tenth year of operations here, our main focus will be to continue providing our customers with the complete premium ownership experience of owning a vehicle from the BMW Group – from market leading products and substance to the ultimate premium service experiences delivered from the latest state of the art dealerships,” added Dr Pils.

BMW isn’t just breaking records here – senior vice president for Asia, Pacific and South Africa Hendrik von Kuenheim visited Malaysia last month and told us that the Munich-based carmaker is well on track to achieve record sales globally and regionally. Click here to read more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tokmoh on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:16 am

Julian Lee’s turn to feel banggala

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Cari fasal on Jan 22, 2013 at 2:55 pm

BMW best ride and handling :)
      get one to feel.

luxury, passion and awesomeness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Kenapa Ya on Jan 22, 2013 at 7:10 pm

Yes luxury/prestige (AGREE to some extend)

But reliability???
        http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/car-news/consumer-news/62383/german-cars-among-worst-engine-failures

• Buy a Mercedes then.

• Kenapa Ya on Jan 22, 2013 at 11:21 pm

same; unreliable germanic crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • Stick with your bicycle then.

• MrBmw on Jan 24, 2013 at 8:34 am

Agree with Name. The fella who say Merc or BMW is crap clearly never own either one of these marques before.

My family haven’t own a BMW, but we used to have a Mercedes and it served us well for 15 years without giving any major problems until we sold it off this year.

• Gavin on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:49 am

http://paultan.org/2013/01/22/bmw-group-ma…-sales-in-2012/

BMW Group Malaysia posts record sales in 2012

http://paultan.org/2013/01/21/umw-toyota-a…-sales-in-2012/

UMW Toyota achieves all-time record sales in 2012

http://paultan.org/2013/01/18/volkswagen-a…nd-in-malaysia/

Volkswagen achieves record results in 2012, becomes top selling European brand in Malaysia

http://paultan.org/2013/01/15/perodua-sell…ith-30-2-share/

Perodua sells a record 189,000 vehicles in 2012 – retains market leading position with 30.2% share

http://paultan.org/2012/08/22/honda-malays…h-in-july-2012/

Honda Malaysia sales hit all-time high in July 2012

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • tokmoh on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:52 am

meh…proton better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
  • NISSAN on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:58 am

Di mana P1 performance report in 2012?

• Congratulation BMW Malaysia.
    And thanks for bringing in great cars, in record time, into Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • klata-klata on Jan 23, 2013 at 1:26 am

Thanks for bringing in the Diesels.
      I got myself a 320d.
      If you drive below 3300rpm, which I do almost all the time, the 320d is actually delivering MORE POWER than the 328i.

POWER is proportional to TORQUE * RPM, and the 320d gives 380nm up to 3300rpm compared to the 350nm from the 328i. You can feel it, and still get twice the mileage for your Ringgit.

• Chow1 on Jan 22, 2013 at 11:28 am

Property sales gain goes to Germany already.

• Sam Loo Jr on Jan 22, 2013 at 11:35 am

So Proton, Nissan, Benz and Kimchi must be losing market share.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • Lol.. I’ve seen a lot more kimchi on the road than in the previous years.. lost of market share.. lmfao..

• As the demand for Korean cars increases, the RV for those cars will increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • F30 Rust Line on Jan 22, 2013 at 11:50 am

record sales?

please get the CEO of BMW MY to solve the issue of rusted seats in F30 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Proton_Auto_windows. on Jan 22, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Stop complaining the Rusted Seat Feature in new F30/F10 !! just spray some WD40 every few weeks on affected area. It’s very premium brand u have to understand, owners will get used to it very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Are you dreaming? your car is VW lah.

• Hi Gavin,

Not about who is the winner…but something to do with te\he fact that ALL companies hit the record (as compared to their previous performances).

• Ijan Hassan on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Who said malaysia is poor country?… Hehe

• in fact, Malaysia is one of the wealthiest country in this region if weren’t for our crappy Government. Dont need to talk about Singapore, even Singaporean were saying how rich Malaysian are, can buy houses, cars, and also alot more things. of course, Singapore is good because of many foreign investment.

• Fredo on Jan 22, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Hopefully, with this achievement, BMW Malaysia could improve the quality level of its new product too…and not to forget after sales service too….

• awesome.. its good to hear that BMW is making a good business here.with almost 7000 cars. i think its way more than singapore.

• i hope that translates to more ppl have jumped to next higher income bracket already.. a great step towards high income nation.

• As i mentioned before, malaysia is already in higher income nation group if weren’t for our crappy BN led G. suck all d mone n bring it outside, for back-up when they lost in the coming GE.

• Jimmy on Jan 22, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Congrats.
    Merc is still 1st choice in the minds of most people.
    Anyway, BMW vehicles are mostly lebih cantiq daripada Merc; no competitors for X6 yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Avenger on Jan 22, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Saya agak kecewa dgn BMW ni….pelanggan beli kereta mahal tapi banyak defect…yg lebih mengecewakan….BMW dah tahu F30 ada masalah kerusi berkarat….tapi still deliver pada pembeli tanpa memberitahu atau memperbaiki kecacatan dahulu….lepas itu…sampai sekarang tak ada pengumuman untuk memperbetulkan keadaan….saya rasa lepas ni saya akan fikir tiga kali sebelum membeli BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Cari fasal on Jan 22, 2013 at 2:52 pm

like u own one..
      all rumors..
      where got..
      mine all perfecto :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • Avenger on Jan 22, 2013 at 5:12 pm

What is your phone number….please come n check my 328i which I took delivery in September 2012 from AB Glenmarie….rusted seat front passenger n driver seat….then please take picture n bring the matter to AB….see whether u can solve it….for your info….i never lie…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Fredo on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:35 am

I feel u bro. worst is, they just sand down the seat and re-spray for those complaining about the rusty seat frame…n some others not really sure if they ever changed it with a new an improved one.
          How about your steering rack? got knocking sound when driving over hump or rough surface or not? thats commmon too

• Kenapa Ya on Jan 23, 2013 at 1:36 pm

sure or not u all buy new F30?
            where got issue..
            fore sure u buy recond/local car..
            thats why got issue..

:)

• Fredo on Jan 23, 2013 at 4:12 pm

go check out BMW Club Malaysia forum lah…do your research, dun simply say or assume!

• Sam lu on Jan 24, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Yes Kenapa Ya is right,the problem is from the junk recon unit which they simply build it.Original units from Germany never have problem.My 328i is problem free until now.German technology.

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 22, 2013 at 7:36 pm

So when is the news for Audi and Mercedes sales coming out?

BMW doing really well opening more centers… Audi should learn a thing or 2.

• Mercedes sold morethan 8000 car last year. but it includes Mitsubishi Fuso sales. if compared with passenger car only, BMW win all the way. merc sold oni 5000+ passenger car last year.

• Motorhead on Jan 24, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Own a merc diesel. Done nearly 400k km. No engine overhaul yet to date. Parts are also cheap compared to BMW. Normal service cost me less than Rm 200. My friend owns a bmw a year later than mine has changed engine once due to overheating and now has auto transmission problems. He now drives a Hilux and leaves the beemer at home.