Rolls-Royce Wraith – shadowy side profile shown

rolls-royce-wraith

Last week, we learned that Rolls-Royce will come up with a coupe version of the Ghost called Wraith, an old name first used in 1938. Today, Goodwood published the first official image of its new model, which will be launched at the Geneva show in March. We’ve brightened the shadow part of the pic for a slightly better view – click to enlarge it.

“The graceful silhouette gives expression to a bold and thoroughly contemporary luxury motor car. Flowing lines hint at the extraordinary power and dynamic promise of the most powerful Rolls-Royce in history, yet also highlight design cues that can be traced through the model generations,” the press release reads.

“Rolls-Royce Wraith evokes the pioneering spirit and lust for adventure that drove company forefather the Honourable Charles Rolls – the consummate gentleman racer. But like Rolls, Wraith will also be steeped in the trappings of luxury and opulence,” it adds.

Rolls-Royce says the Wraith will be the most powerful R-R in history. For the record, the Ghost‘s 6.6 litre twin-turbocharged V12 makes 570 PS and 780 Nm of smooth torque.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kowreck on Jan 22, 2013 at 8:56 pm

OMG THAS is SEXY!!!!!!

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 23, 2013 at 12:07 am

Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Mr Mac on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:28 am

u memang kerja provocateur kan? preve not even in the same oxygen with RR…saja buat kacau kan..hahaha

• Looks promising, still has that Grand and Socially powerful presence that all Rolls Royce has, a sense of occasion.
    Reminds me of the 08 Bentley Brooklands.

• Jimmy on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Gentleman sports car. Can be built into the fastest in the world if the boss really want to.

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 22, 2013 at 10:39 pm

XJS?? Lol

• belakepare on Jan 22, 2013 at 11:05 pm

super duper rich sport car. others can dream

• American muscle silhouette disguise in British artistic perfection, packs with German intelligence.

• Now I’m expecting Sam Loo to bring up his RV rhetoric.

If you buy a Rolls-Royce, RV is a non-factor.

• Jaybond on Jan 23, 2013 at 8:40 am

Rolls Royce has finally saw the need to challenge the Bentley Continental GT. Strangely, the side profile of the RR Wraith reminds me of the 1970s sports GT cars…

• kingston on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:22 am

looks promising for rolls!Can’t wait for it.

• boring n useless question: guess which malaysia politician will b the first, second n third to own this..?

• It’s not a sports car. It’s a grand tourer.

• Woh topoh on Jan 24, 2013 at 6:37 am

Looking at this sexy car,I miss my SLK(small, little kancil). Hehehe….

Paul, this is my opinion, I think super rich person who afford to buy rm1m and above car have no time to surf your website. So I recommend to you to concentrate posting on car below rm500k such as bmw, Mercedes, Ford, Honda Toyota proton produa kia etc. for superior/premium cars I can do it once a while.

• Anon Kneemas on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:07 pm

They can decree ‘Wraith’ all they want but the initial styling impression and proposed concept is more appropriately ‘Camargue’ (the fastback profile suggests). Nonetheless, this would be an epic car, the Ghost underpinnings and BMW powertrain is already up to task so it’d be interesting what kind of sport tweaks they can come up with. Either way, RR will sell loads to the middle east, Russia and China, I reckon.

• Yippa! on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:43 pm

I remember that light!

I Hope Mr Bean not fall on that car.