Government to unveil energy efficient vehicle (EEV) policy by first half of the year, says MITI

mustapa-miti

Much has been said about making Malaysia a hub for energy efficient vehicles (EEV), and the government will unveil policies on EEVs by the first half of this year, Bernama reports.

Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed said that this would provide good opportunities and a level-playing field for local and foreign players in the industry.

“This is one of the segments that we think is important under the ongoing revised National Automotive Policy (NAP). We have decided this is the segment that we need to open up in the near future,” he said at the launch of KLIMS 13 at PWTC yesterday.

hybrid-logo

He said the government is ironing out policy details such as on technology, fuel emission, standards and quality, adding that Malaysia is the only ASEAN country focusing on the EEV market. From the latter part of the above statement, we know that the government’s definition of EEV excludes small and cheap fuel-efficient non-hybrid cars that Thailand’s Eco Car programme is all about.

“All the stakeholders in the automotive trade have agreed on two things – that we should make the production and marketing of EEV the future focus of the industry and that we should seek to establish a leadership position in the region for this sub-sector,” he said.

The minister said that although the government has not announced the final shape and form of the revised NAP, it will first roll out pre-packaged customised incentives to support the development of the EEV sub-sector. This is all part of the transition period towards the opening up of the automotive market in 2015-2016.

prius-c

“With 2015 and 2016 around the corner, everyone in the motor sector is aware that they have to open up, and all of them are gearing up to face new reality and new competition,” he added.

In July 2012, Honda Malaysia announced that it will be producing hybrid vehicles in Malaysia, starting with the CKD Jazz Hybrid that was launched in November. With a concrete EEV policy in place, the government will be hoping more carmakers follow suit.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PauKaya on Jan 23, 2013 at 4:10 pm

bla bla bla … trust nothing by this government anymore… every day also different story

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 21
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 144
      • remote extender on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:03 pm

how do you know? there’s nothing to compare to. nobody else have EVER took position of the federal throne, only their families, clicks and cronies.

“With 2015 and 2016 around the corner,…..”
        can always extend again and again and again maaaa… 2015 and 2016 around the corner, 20000000015 and 20000000000000016 still far far away. no problem one

“definition of EEV excludes small and cheap fuel-efficient non-hybrid cars”
        in simple english… whoever pay the more pocket money will get included.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
      • Abdullah on Mar 22, 2013 at 3:11 pm

You must be a BN cybertrooper.

• kelvin on Jan 23, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Cannot trust this government too. Now people said the opposition will behave like the current government when they come on power. How do we know? We are with this corrupted BN for all this years.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 14
      • In other words, cannot trust politicians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • PauKaya on Jan 24, 2013 at 6:32 pm

to be honest i don’t like the opposition either. but support the current government, no hope. opposition, at least 50% hope. 50% is more than enough for me.

• Whynot on Jan 28, 2013 at 1:46 am

You can tell by the looks of one’s fung shui face in most of those nasty politicians.

• i told u guys….hater(mostly d*p/k*r supporter n blind supporter) will hate everything their enemy(b* gov n sissy supporter) do…partyless guy like me just read comment, give support n laugh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 24, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Kick out BN this GE-13, let put Rafizi Ramli in place, there are still a hope if this guy coming in ….. for policy changes which is people-friendly ….. let this chap from BN do the talking …… cronies-favor-ism is the ball game !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
  • so this is the main reason they brought lynas here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • lynaskaki on Jan 24, 2013 at 7:41 am

yup, it is very obvious, much later only they will announce proton ev model, so that no one will relate proton with lynas.

• Anyone got any news on whether the all new 2.0L Accord hybrid will be coming to M’sia & by when ?

• If the Jazz hybrid CKD is a sign to things to come……sorry , I hope this plan fails

And I’m sorry I must have heard wrong, “exclude small cheap fuel efficient non-hybrid cars”, they do understand most of us are not cash strap right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Next 10 years, hybrid cars become NORMAL on our roads.

• remote extender on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:09 pm

and hybrid battery failure will become normal in our pomen’s garage.

pomens must learn to repair hybrid’s battery, inverter, converter, charging system, control systems, electric motor while still understand the complex petrol motor in them.

nice. now there’s a whole bunch of other parts that could (and would) go wrong. nice one G! increase tax on fuel efficient turbodiesel and lower cost on complex dual motor system. i’m sure the battery will be even more reliable in our hot and humid environment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • Hybrid failure will become normal. It’s called human evolution. Cars before the 90s were extremely reliable because they were so simple. The Land Rover and Toyota Land Cruiser FJ is said to be fixed with a stick. Electric cars and to some extend, Hydrogen cars will be the future much like the ICE will be everybody in the 19th century’s future.

Diesel tech is brilliant, and honestly better for Malaysian. I know nothing on petroleum engineering, so i’ll go with Clarkson’s favorite words: How hard can it be to refine diesel to Euro IV in Malaysia? . But as a re-assurance for our environmental future, electric cars will be far better. I called Hyberids and Diesel to be a stop-gap but not the actual answer.

I read your comment about battery down there. Think of it this way, when the time comes to replace your degraded battery, isn’t it possible that battery tech would evolve considerably when the time comes to change it. Hybrid car 5-year battery to be replaced by a more powerful 7-year one.

It’s impossible to go on with ICE forever. Hybrid car is not the answer but a transaction towards range extender EV and finally full EV. Don’t get me wrong I’ll always prefer diesel over hybrid. But EV, I beleive is the future. And in case you’re wondering, my EV means Electric Vehicle, not environmental vehicle.

• Very hard. I would say impossible, because of cronism and corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • Abdullah on Jan 23, 2013 at 4:55 pm

First it was hybrid vehicles now EEV, this NAP
    will also be a failure.
    Don’t regulate what vehicles the manufacturers want
    to produce.
    Just open up the market! Nincompoop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
  • umnokakipitnah on Jan 23, 2013 at 4:58 pm

does it include DIESEL?..tot the diesel powered cars is as fuel efficient as a hybrid too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • It is but doing that will make them lose a lot of tax money.

• remote extender on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:18 pm

sometimes more if you take them to the highway. as not everyone is stuck in a traffic jam everyday they should include turbodiesel.

the only time a hybrid is more fuel efficient is when you’re stuck in stop and go traffic. even then it makes no sense to buy one if you’re keeping them for more than 5 years.
      mainly because the battery WILL DEGRADE and eventually fail. there’s no battery technology that will last more than 5 years.

taking into consideration all the extra parts and points of failure added by the additional electric motor it makes even less sense to buy a hybrid for prolonged use.

i’m sure someone will chime in about 5 years car ownership pattern in malaysia and all that crap. well not everyone could afford to keep changing cars every 5 years. how about those that can’t afford to change every 5 years? how about people that don’t earn as much as you do, rural living kampung folks?

did i say the battery will degrade faster in hot weather?

• Why they try so hard to proscastinate this matter on our people expense. Haya pay so much for car better buy a house – opps house price also went up so high thanks to foreigners investment of >500k houses no control to stop them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • the hater will still hate it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 30
  • What i wish to see is that no tax for EEVs, make it import tax, road tax, other taxes. We are making Malaysia’s air cleaner for everyone (especially padestrians), HELPING the government to create a greener Malaysia and why would we be taxed for doing so?

• kelvin on Jan 23, 2013 at 6:11 pm

World will be polluted no matter how. Urbanization and less farming. China and India will be the main contributor.

Hybrid and EV car is a temporary solution, which will create a big problem later.

• Farid on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:14 pm

If the policy is already took place on CKD Jazz Hybrid, then why the price is no (slightly) different than CBU Jazz? In fact the spec is less than the CBU.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Don’t be so naive. Nobody will reduce vehicle prices even if the vehicle is original price plus subsidy RM20k from kerajaan, let alone just tax-free. And do you think it will be tax-free?

• BrianXYZ on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Late better than never. Better be good this time.

• Young Padawan on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:24 pm

I am a tree hugger cum petrolhead. doesnt make sense a few years ago. I hate to see the ice cap melting but at the same time i would die for a bloody C63 AMG Black Series. Makes sense now with all the high performance hybrid vehicles. looking forward to cr-z R if any and dream car is of course SLS AMG E-Cell.

• tokmoh on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:27 pm

How about give us euro 5 or 6 fuel first? Some editorial I read in some mag says it’ll take us 10 years to get euro 4 fuel, which i feel is either nonsense or OnG industry really treating us as cows to be so lazy to upgrade equipments for euro 4.

• Fey Roslan on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:28 pm

More hybrid cars will come this year..

• Jimmy on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:34 pm

You can have 0% tax on EEV, I just jual mahal. Banyak examples, betulkah? See their respective prices di luar Malaysia, and the specs.
    CKD Malaysia with 2 airbags + 4-speed + old teq – skyactif – ESP = price of CBU Jepon M6. No need to reduce tax of all, they will not reduce car prices instead masuk kocek sendiri; just reduce the tax of only Mercedes to bring down their prices, then everyone can drive better cars. No pasar/permintaan, they will automatic kurangkan harga.

• polo saga on Jan 23, 2013 at 5:37 pm

dun worry, the government will be changed out soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 13
  • along on Jan 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Show the policy first, then talk…

As of now, this is no substance and it is the same as NAP = No Automotive Policy…

So easy to treat this kind of flip flopping and lip service… just maintain your current ride and boycott buying new car for some time…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Whatever NAP policy that comes out, it must benefit Proton first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • “He said the government is ironing out policy details such as on technology, fuel emission, standards and quality, adding that Malaysia is the only ASEAN country focusing on the EEV market.”

Fuel emission, standards and quality? Haha, as if we are already there….the Minister forgot to add this – Malaysia is also having low quality of fuel.

“We know that the government’s definition of EEV excludes small and cheap fuel-efficient non-hybrid cars that Thailand’s Eco Car programme is all about.”

So interesting that the Govt decided to exclude this group of cars…why? Well, if they are included, then their selling prices will probably drop to 40k (Mirage is 60+k) which subsequently will send Proton and Perodua bungkus their operations!

Indeed shit load of crap. Hope its sayonara to the Minister after PRU13!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • Abuya on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Low quality fuel? because you ask cheaper fuel
    Thailand and Malaysia is different country. Thats why if you insult king, you wont be kill like in Thailand
    Looking for cheap car? Stupid. Free car more better
    Your shit also crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 48
  • Not excited about the announcement. We public have to still buy expensive hybrid cars. It’s not fair!

A decent hybrid cars should not cost more than RM70k. But like at the price that T and H have: range of RM80k to RM100k. It’s ridiculous and most Malaysians cannot afford to buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • tungguu on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Malaysia is a country…to buy efficient cars..we have to be rich…so people who r poor have to make do with high FC cars…people who r rich..enjoy 1000km mileage per tank diesels…and hybrids n so on…

• skiborne on Jan 23, 2013 at 9:23 pm

how can they implement such things when nearly all of our cars are inefficient

• yaya, middle income ppl will benefit most, ppl who can afford jazz hybrid cbu benefited the most, after discount is rm 88k oni, but the maintenance is super dammmmmnnnnn low, go 240km for rm18 oni, possible, roadtax is rm70 oni, safety 6 star(driver), 8 airbags, vsa, paddle shift, rain sensor, at this price tag, walao,battery jangan susah lar, if rosak dun use oso nvm ger, can jalan, but 1.3 oni lor but now no stock dy, forced to buy ckd, at the same price summore, haih, but heard that honda is goin to do sumthin on ckd, more discount maybe?

• I’m not sure the goverment knows that many countries have very up to date green automotive policies. since we are good in copying (eg: Inspira), why not just copy what is good for Malaysia and implement it without much excuses and schedules push out. also, our malaysia only understand hybrid but there are other clean diesel technology out there too. I believe the goverment still living in Katak Dibawah Tempurung and narrow minded. what about 2020 illusion?

• Sunriver on Jan 23, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Good Segment and good polcy to put in the NAP. Unfortunately, our policy makers missed the boat by 3 or 4 years. As all the major car producers already setup and upgraded their production line to cater for the production of EEV.

The facts are sourced from Automotive Manufacturing Solution website, just google it & go to the archieve section.

That is why people, most of the car manufacturers will not rushing like there’s no tomorrow to Bolehland to setup EEV production line as they’ve already set it up in Siamland…

• Limsze608 on Jan 24, 2013 at 12:42 am

Another bullstars…

• b sensible on Jan 24, 2013 at 12:45 am

aiyooo….go hi-tech on motor vehicle using hybrid…so those cng vehicle is not hi-tech enough? wake up! just ask how many can afford hybrid compared to cng? and now eev pula?

• Painter on Jan 24, 2013 at 1:31 am

It’s probably the right time to focus into energy efficient vehicles and reduce the import and excise duty significantly. It’s simple logic that if the gov can reduce fuel consumption among users, less subsidy will be given, and therefore offsetting the loss of revenue from those automobile taxes.

Would love to see Cadillac ELR hit our shores in RHD. 1.4 litre with range extender engine. Beats Lexus CT200h anytime of the day.

• Most of us know well this is just a seasoning prior election. Msia has lost the opportunity more than ten years ago to Thailand and Indonesia. They would rather sit do nothing and pleasing themselves while rakyat seeing neighboring countries prosper. How many job opportunity created in the ASEAN Detroit hub. Just imagine if happen in Msia we won’t depend solely on natural resource income only. Sad sad sad…

• RedBeanBun on Jan 24, 2013 at 8:11 am

any revised NAP is useless, its time to open up the market…

• I think everyone in this forum can spend a little bit time to study the car policy by Taiwan goverment. Every car assembled in this country will be consider national car. They have also great intensive for the car achieve environmental standard.

• I wish Paultan.org and other car forum leaders in Malaysia do more in advising the gov. Gov also need to tap into real expertise in automotive to steer country to the right direction and not just protecting our national car but compete at higher level. Kiasu company will always perform average only. I really feel that gov is blind to all this technology. We are just wasting time here commenting for siok sendiri.

• Ponti on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:29 am

All talk talk talk like they know what is economy. But they dont.

• c14man on Jan 24, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Hybrid? Turbocharged smaller engines?
    Honestly i’d rather go for NA engines. Old school, higher tax you’ll say. But there’s less parts, less mechanisms, less failures, more reliable.
    Mind you these are the crucial mechanical parts of the vehicle and when something goes wrong, your car just wont work.
    Unlike DRL, dimming rear view mirror, GPS, reverse cameras which are non crucial, nice to have extras which the car can still move without.
    By the way, I’m commenting as a day-to-day average joe who earns an average pay living in bolehland. (emphasis Malaysia – where loans goes up to 9 freaking years!!)

• MYFOOT on Jan 24, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Open Up? Open Up My Foot…….Believe me, everything will be opened up for the one and only SYED MOKHTAR.
    He will probably have the monopoly on bicycles by then.

• along on Jan 24, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Still thinking about EEV policy… OK, we build factory in Thai buy and u can take you sweet time ti iron out policy that pleased the cronies…

Toyota to build new Thai factory, eco car coming soon

Even as we read about Malaysia trying to establish itself as a hub for energy efficient vehicles, our ASEAN neighbours are busy raking in further investment from carmakers. Toyota, the biggest carmaker in Thailand, has announced plans to invest 12 billion baht in a new factory at Gateway 2 in Chachoengsao, Bangkok Post reports.

The factory, an expansion of Toyota’s existing plant at Gateway, will be fully operational by the third quarter of 2013 and have an annual capacity of 300,000 units a year, said Kyoichi Tanada, president of Toyota Motor Thailand. The first model to roll out from the new facility will be a new eco car.

Market leader Toyota is late in the eco car game, and has seen Japanese rivals Nissan, Honda and Mitsubishi enjoy strong sales with the March, Brio range and Mirage, respectively. Better late than never, they say.

Tanada also revealed that Toyota’s first Thai facility in Samrong, Samut Prakan recently kicked off assembly of the popular Hiace Commuter High-Roof van (yes, the standard tourist van, usually with funky cabins) after a capital investment of 1.5 billion baht. This means that Toyota Motor Thailand will no longer need to import the van from Malaysia.

The Samrong facility also makes Hilux pick-up trucks with a capacity of 240,000 units a year. Gateway in Chachoengsao is responsible for all passenger car models (230k capacity a year) while a third factory, in Chachoengsao’s Ban Pho district, does both the Hilux Vigo and Fortuner SUV with a capacity of 230,000 units a year.

Toyota Motor Thailand forecasts sales of 900,000 units this year – 500,000 for local consumption and 400,000 for export.

• Expatriate VN on Jan 24, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Correct, correct, correct …..
    Listen, Listen, Listen …. x 11
    Sorry, sorry, sorry …….
    Talk, Talk, Talk ……

• paul tan's reader on Jan 24, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Kill NAP first is better than talk eco this, efficient that, blablablah. Big MEH for that rubbish

• Nonsense on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:30 am

Baah… I still remember this same guy last year told us he’s going to announce the NAP in April, then postponed until July, postponed again until September, yet still nothing. During Bajet2013 Najib said no to reduction in car prices, so the story of NAP had changed to ‘EEV cars’ only. And now, it’s even NOT included fuel efficient petrol or diesel cars ! Different story every time. Enough with this GE gimmicks. You think we’re idiots?

• Jibby on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:35 am

GE propaganda spotted here.. All talk only. Even talk is flip flop.

• robot boy on Jan 25, 2013 at 8:55 am

if Malaysia wants to be the hub and be the best in EEV cars, it has to 1st pacify all the cronies and CONsultants and kick them out. then we can sewe positive results.

• Im telling u guys, malaysia wont open up the automotive industry and be an advanced automotive hub in this region as long as BN still continue to rule.. BN politicians always talk, even automotive also want to politicization. realli no hope, U r not patrotic if u dont buy proton. yadayada.. wtf.. talk only no action, when neighbouring country is executing all sorts of policy just to make their economy thrive. i do not wish to see when 2020, its our neighbouring country than became high income nation while we still stagnant. we have been stagnant for many years.

• sarawakiana on Jan 26, 2013 at 6:56 pm

This is call zero sense of urgency. Which in a way we will be benefiting from it in other way, there going to be less car on our road in years to come…

• Whynot on Jan 28, 2013 at 1:54 am

Do you know that we can make ethanol fuel out of our ordinary white sugar? Even at home! It is a cleaner fuel and can be mixed with existing petrols!