Petronas Motorsports launches Talent Development Programme 2013 and presents this year’s drivers

01-2013-Talent-Development-Programme

Jazeman Jaafar, Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah, Mohd Ramdan Mohd Rosli, Farique Hairuman, Dominic Ang, Melvin Moh, Afiq Ikhwan and Nabil Jeffri – you may have heard of them, some are already household names while others are simply becoming rising stars. The boys are our homegrown talents competing in some of the highest levels of motorsports, and in some cases, have dominated their respective series. They are also this year’s 2013 Talent Development Programme line-up.

This year, they’re taking a step further. Jazeman Jaafar, who is unfortunately not present at the event, will move from the British F3 International Series to the World Series by Renault, which is recognised as a feeder series on the ladder to Formula One. Jazeman will be racing for Carlin Formula Renault 3.5.

The Programme also has two more single-seater discipline drivers. Afiq Ikhwan and Nabil Jeffri have moved on from the JK Racing Asia Series. Afiq will be driving for Meritus GP Team, competing in the Formula Masters China Series. As for Nabil, he will be competing in the ATS Formel 3 Cup (German F3) for Team Eurointernational.

02-2013-Talent-Development-Programme-2

Petronas Syntium Team, which dominated the Super Taikyu Series, will continue their winning ways. Drivers Farique Hairuman, Dominic Ang and Melvin Moh said that they would continue to fine tune their skills and improve themselves throughout the year. When asked if there are plans for the team to race in Le Mans, they replied that, while there are no official plans, they would very much like to participate in the world renowned race.

Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah, who raced at the 2012 Malaysian MotoGP as a Moto2 Wildcard Entry, will be polishing his skills at the Campeonata de Espana de Velocidad (or Spanish CEV Buckler National Motorcycle Championship). He will race for Petronas Raceline Malaysia. The other two-wheel racer, Ramdan Rosli of Petronas Syntium Moto Yamaha AHM team, will remain in the Petronas Asia Road Racing Championship and also compete in the Petronas AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship.

“Malaysian motorsports has reached a stage where we are now beginning to reap the harvest of many years’ worth of effort. And we at Petronas are proud to have played a key role in this growth, not only through our partnership with strategic championships but also through our direct involvement in the growth of these talents. The business of grooming talent is not something that can be done in just a few short years. The formidable line-up you see before you has been nurtured over several years, with a lot of planning on our part and a lot of hard work on the part of the drivers and riders,” said Anita Azrina Abdul Aziz, General Manager of Petronas Motorsports.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Gabla on Jan 23, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Sadly in Malaysia there is no real grassroot motorsport events and motorsport is an exclusive sport for kids with rich parent.

Unless your father is a Dato’ or higher, your motorsport venue will only be the public road which will put everyone’s lives at stake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Exactly..I have seen rich kids get to join “Ferrari club”, etc… This provides them better opportunity or channels to get involve in motorsport.
      Well, not all “talents” are from upper class families, but a huge majority, yes.
      So this is a richman/kid game at the moment, in our country..

• carfanforlife on Jan 27, 2013 at 10:40 am

If you can drive a car, why not try autocrossing (GRA)? It’s cheap and fun, no danger to others, and best of all – you get noticed.

• Anonymous on Jan 23, 2013 at 10:10 pm

There are real channels for that. Real talent. Real Events. You wouldn’t know, because it’s not really covered by the media.

The simple proof are these talents. Look at their portfolio and you’ll see events in Malaysia you have never heard of.

While some may used their political ties, some of them did not.

What would you say if one of them is a real talent, but is no son of a Dato’, someone with political ties, or earn as much?

Wouldn’t you want to support them as fellow Malaysians?

Here is the thing. At least one of them is.

• sambalbabi on Jan 24, 2013 at 5:12 am

despite the vast profit coming from sarawak/sabah Petronas OPUs, any sarawakian/sabahan kids in the motorsport recruit? i don’t think so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • PauKaya on Jan 24, 2013 at 6:31 pm

meh…bunch of rich kids

• Syazwan on Jan 24, 2013 at 8:32 pm

wow I guest from the picture above all are rich kids!

• Silverspoon on Jan 25, 2013 at 9:48 am

Well who says rich kid cant drive?
    Im proud to be one :)

• carfanforlife on Jan 27, 2013 at 10:42 am

Well, enjoy it and hope you are grateful for what you have. May you do great things in the future for the nation.

• Yea, sex drive…

• Kent Chan on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:12 pm

I race in MME, S1K and MSS “with my own money”! I modified my track car “with my own money” I learn racing and went to motorsports school in Australia “with my own money”. I want to thanks my friends helping me in motorsports. But I do need support and sponsors to futher my motorsports experience and level! I wish I will race with world top drivers and top race series. If I have this opportunity I will do better!!! I Will Do It!!!

• Hafiz on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:26 pm

I hope that this event will be held again this year.. (2016 or 2017)