VIDEO: 2013 Toyota Avalon is one good looking sedan

The Toyota Avalon is certainly one of the best looking Toyota sedans that I’ve seen recently, and it’s also one of the first cars to debut with a refined version of Toyota’s next generation front face, which has since been implemented on cars like the new Auris, the new RAV4 and the Corolla Furia concept.

The Avalon sits in a segment that’s not generally sold in Malaysia – it’s a size up from the Camry. Such a car would be priced in the RM200k segment where compact luxury executives like the C-Class are sold, so naturally it wouldn’t make sense to introduce here. It’s competitors in the US are cars like the Ford Taurus. A car in that segment was once sold in Malaysia – the Hyundai Azera.

Anyway, if you haven’t got enough reading about the Toyota Avalon with our debut story, here’s a series of videos that Toyota USA has uploaded to their YouTube account. You’ll find one of them above, with the rest of them after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BlueV12 on Jan 24, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Wow! That’s one good looking Toyota..if only ours looked that good..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • Looks like Japanese r back now,u can see the new Mazda 6 and this car r good looking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Shrek on Jan 25, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Make that “Toyota is back” , Mazda has always been daring when it comes to design.

Don’t get your hopes up to much though, the next Camry or Altis will look as boring as ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • agree with you
        Japanese car back in business.

• Petrolhead on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Let’s go places!

• Petrolhead on Jan 25, 2013 at 12:03 am

But I have to say that the front looks a bit like the Veloster’s. Anyways.. a great design by Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Expatriate VN on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:16 pm

In US, this car sale for USD 28 to USD 36 K. If it ever come to Malaysia, likely the selling price at around USD 100K (RM 300K).

For Malaysia Camry selling as high as USD 60K! In US it is start from USD 22K to USD 28K.

Let us view and dream this car in PT Blog only. Unless BN is kick out post GE 13, we have hope on Rafizi Ramli to make this dream come true!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • kangaroo on Jan 24, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Bring it on, I would rather get this than the rusty f30 or c-class! It’s totally mind blowing decent, do we still need a Lexus then?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:11 pm

And being Fung Tien, DO NOT have to worry about kwai tai, sui kwan and low RV

• Sam Lee on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:23 am

what lenguage is taht? which planet u come from?

• Sam Lai on Jan 25, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Cinapek is speaking mandarin – ‘Feng Tian’ means Toyota in Madarin.

• If I remembered correctly, the initial feng tian translated into Japanese, is Honda

• Sam Liu on Jan 26, 2013 at 12:56 am

‘feng tian’ is toyota, ‘ben tian’ is honda

• ^Oh okay, yeah ben tian is Honda, but I did’t know fung tien is Toyota…..thanks!

• Sam Look on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:41 am

I know “Ben Dan”

• Jimmy on Jan 24, 2013 at 1:54 pm

First, it is going to be RM400k, equivalent to E250, in Malaysia, looking at the behaviour of … .
    Second, even at RM400k, there will be no-skyactif-no-ESP+4-airbags-only vs M6-2.5L; ‘E-segment’ lose to D.
    Can somebody educate us on is2.5 vs M6-2.5 in terms of safety specs?
    Please sokong more the persons that treat you worst, go ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 45
    • Your post is very confusing to me, M6 is the BMW one or Mazda 6?

But anyways your comment sound very angry. Firstly the last time this segment was sold it was the Hyundai Azera (but I’am pretty sure there was another Chevrolet in the same segment sold here). It cost somewhere around RM200k. There is no guarantee or proof that the Avalon would be at RM400k. the difference in price is Waaaay Off. UMW is greedy, but not Stupid. Prices between Toyota and it’s cheaper Koreans are only an average of 10K deference, and Lexus and German are around 30K. 200K is waaaay off.

Secondly, the only production plant of the Avalon is in the USA. They used to built in Australia but now they mainly focus on Toyota Aurion (A better spec version of our Camry). There is no made in the USA car coming into Malaysia as far as I know off, and the Avalon is not produced in RHD, or at least this 2013 version isn’t. The second generation version was sold Japan, RHD market. If it were to come to Malaysia it will be CBU from the US ,which would be impracticable, and the base spec Avalon gets 10 airbags ,ESC, EBD and BLIS just to name a few.

Now don’t be a big cry baby and even before someone dream of this car in Malaysia you start crying unfair. I really don’t think there is a market for the Avalon, contrary to what Alpha down there thinks (no offence Alpha). And therefore I can’t even imagine Toyota selling this car in Bolehland. Can’t you just appreciate it this car’s design, If you have’t seen the previous gen Avalon, it was only a bigger Camry, this is a whole styling leap for Toyota, and that is what matters here, to know Toyota still capable of producing non-uncle cars. Especially the Interior, thats one nice Interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • Anon Kneemas on Jan 24, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Absolutely, this car wouldn’t appeal to the Malaysian market who at that estimated price point would almost certainly default to their peer-approved ‘conti’ brands. Also the full size class dimensions of this car would be too awkward for our streets.

The new Avalon is targeting that small segment between the Camry and the Lexus ES, I think they want to refer it as a luxurious full size rather than an entry-level luxury car or something like that. Whatever it is, the new Avalon is edgier than past generations because I suspect the intended audience (think Florida retirees i.e. Japanese Buick or car rental fleet sales) is getting tech savvier (despite Toyota claims they’re thinking of targeting a more youthful segment i.e. not going to happen).

Also Toyota has big plans for the livery business. As many know the venerable and ubiquitous Panther platform Lincoln Town Car is dead and despite FoMoCo’s efforts to market the new cross over Town Car (nee Lincoln MKT), the livery business is not too thrilled about it. Toyota is hoping the new Avalon will fill in the void in this segment so the next time you land at LAX or JFK and order a sedan service to town, there’s a big chance you’ll be riding in the new Avalon.

• Alpha on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:49 pm

None taken. It was just an idea. And yeah, it’s very unlikely to be brought here as you mentioned as it was only made in LHD. And even if it’s going to be made in RHD form, it’s not going to be sold here as the costs to bring the car from the US is going to be higher.

• Alpha on Jan 24, 2013 at 2:19 pm

I see possibilities of a full sized sedan from a non-premium brand to be sold here.

If you noticed, no big cars are sold in the range of 200k to 300k here. All we can get are small premium sedans like the C-Class, 3-er, A4, VW CC, S60 and such. And maybe the new Subaru Legacy.

If someone,let say, Toyota can sell the Avalon here with a price of 220k or so, I believe there will be buyers. Especially people who are looking for a full size sedans but aren’t interested in the small-ish interior of the small premium sedans mentioned earlier.

The gap between a small premium sedan (C-Class,3-er,A4,etc) to the big premium sedan (E-Class,5-er,A6,etc.) is too big which makes the parallel imports option seems to be more attractive. If a non-premium automakers take advantage of this, I believe it’ll open a new segment of cars for Malaysian to choose from.

But if you’re gonna sell a big Toyota sedan in the 200k+ range, please don’t be too stingy with the specs list la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Current Camry looks hideous Too much chrome too woo the Uncle and Ah Pek…This is way much better than Camry with smallish headlights and not so ‘at your face’ grill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • UMW will never bring in this.

We only deserved overpriced fugly empty Vios, stripped Camry and etc.. Just take a look at their 2012 sales record, it prove that most of the Malaysia consumer really need is really just the badge.

Yes, Tax is introduced by G but we also need crony to make thing worse by earning big fat profit. Condition could only be worsened these same team of people remain as our G after next GE

Time to Change! Else, you can bid farewell to bright future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 9
    • Rukawa on Jan 25, 2013 at 9:43 am

even if UMW brings this in, it would most likely be lower grade, with things removed and cost-down version.

• people on Jan 24, 2013 at 3:18 pm

‘good toyota going bad’!!! astonishing!!!
    so Korean anythng to offer?? your power train is just so so, toyota currently inproving their design tremendously, quality let people judge…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • have to say, that’s better looking than the optima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
    • and after looking at this and referring back the Corolla Furia concept, i have a feeling the next corolla design will be based on this.

even the rear lights is similar

toyota please make it happen

• if only we can get this car for our camry price…

• Really wish this would be on Malaysian road though obviously no one will buy it. Good looking, non-mundane Toyotas are extremely rare. Toyota launching the 2013 Avalon is a Black Swans event, unpredictable. Who would have thought that Toyota would abandon its ‘uncle’ image for a sleek looking big sedan, with a 6 speed auto with paddle shift.

Great Job Toyota !! Can’t wait to see more of your future product design. Though I still wish you develop a better transmission for your cars.

• ferodo on Jan 24, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Chinese will like this because the name sounded like Abalone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • Sonyman on Jan 24, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Hey Sam loo, this Toyota got good resale value ah? Can buy a not? Hehe,
    Nice design, but how come copy ford mondeo front grill ? Not follow new Lexus design meh?
    Umw bring. This in? How much. They wanna sell? 400k, for Toyota, most uncle wll say, ” Siau eh, wa beh masidi kah ho. ”
    Hehe, perception again, if They sell at 200k, BMW, Audi, merc, will bantalh Kau kau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • Cant compared with those premium brand Audi,BMW and Merc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Nothing beats German Engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Yeah nothing beats German engineering when it comes to number of visits to service center. Ask most German car owners how frequent they visit service center for breakdowns and repairs.

• Most of them hav extra cars and very rich…breakdowns is quite normal.

• Definitely not some who owns VW like Polo or Jetta. I have known a friend who gets 9 years installment for his Jetta and still struggling to pay his installment.

• Chow1 on Jan 24, 2013 at 7:28 pm

USD30k – 40k in USA.

• Random on Jan 24, 2013 at 7:35 pm

Then they troll Msian buy equipping the 4 speed torque converter

• Toyolta on Jan 25, 2013 at 10:07 am

6 speed auto for high spec and 4 speed auto for lower spec.. just like Camry…

• Sgt Scoop on Jan 24, 2013 at 8:47 pm

Would Malaysians buy a 7 series or S class competitor for a 3 series or C class price? I think so.

• grill looks like hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • louis lee on Jan 24, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Headlamp. 2006-2011 honda civic headlamp mix with 2005 BMW 5 series LOL

• Malaysians are fond of looking for any remote similarities on a car to different cars it seems.

• amirad on Jan 24, 2013 at 9:58 pm

If this car is designed and developed by Americans and Europeans, is this car still considered as Japs product. We all know that most successful auto manufacturers are multi nationals. Just engage the best people in the business.

• Beemer on Jan 24, 2013 at 10:53 pm

Throw away the fugly Camry! Bring this instead!!!

• Leong on Jan 24, 2013 at 11:16 pm

I see peugeot gaping mouth…

• I call this the Honda-Ford-Hyundai face!

• Hiroshi on Jan 25, 2013 at 12:39 am

Toyota Avalon don’t even sell in japan, it target US country mostly, Toyata make a huge effort on recent year improve so much ..

• Just not happening in Malaysia. In fact, Toyota spent so much effort to unimprove the car spec.

• this car as shown in us website cost 31k usd -40k full spec…hmm

• Yawn – The lamest sedan on the market, Toyota continues to design sedans for boring old men. I really don’t know how this company survives. Hyundai is sprinting forward, while Toyuckta stumbles backwards with ugly cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • Sgt Scoop on Jan 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Toyota sold 105,151 units last year. Hyundai-Inokom sold 11,938.

• Unfortunately this car is far too elegant for you to be compare with the Hyundais..

• Gavin on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:48 am

Aston called ford called toyota to return the grille to aston.

• why look like peugeot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • NISSAN on Jan 25, 2013 at 12:50 pm

the front face also show in current Wish.

• It really is a nice looking car, especially when you look at how ugly our new Camry is!!!!

• kadajawi on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Hm. Best looking Toyota sedan? That’s not really a big achievement, is it? The front is a bit odd to me, other than that though not too bad. Though I can easily name 10 better looking sedans on sale right now (let alone older ones). But good effort there from Toyota.

• Jimmy Ng on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:03 pm

This car is quite popular with retirees in California. No offense to Avalon lovers.

• sarawakiana on Jan 26, 2013 at 6:31 pm

The name spoils it, at least for me, reminds me of expensive food instead…SORRY…