Audi A6 Hybrid teased, launching next month?

Q5 Home Page landing page 704X214

Something powerful is coming soon, entices Audi Malaysia through its website. A couple of telltale signs – the A6 in the teaser image above and the recent sighting of a transporter full of covered cars coming out of Port Klang – suggest that the car in question is the A6 Hybrid.

As befits a teaser, little is divulged save for a launch date in late February (not long now!), and that the car provides “the performance of a six-cylinder with the fuel efficiency of a four-cylinder.”

A 2.0 TFSI (displacing 1,984 cc) working in tandem with a 40 kW electric motor means that the A6 Hybrid makes the cut for the full import and excise duty exemption – will it be competitively priced to match?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• VW_fans on Jan 25, 2013 at 8:52 pm

Serious 2.0? Then sad case for those 328 series buyers or C 250 class. Within the price range, most high income uncles gonna get big car, little price. Alright G, now u r semi-on the right track NAP, kudos keep it up!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • mark forever on Jan 26, 2013 at 12:13 am

is expecting at to be priced at RM250k.++
      in comparison, Audi A6 2.0 non hybrid is priced at RM350k.

• Where you got RM250 K figure? Why should government or DRB sell it at RM100K cheaper than non hybrid version? What reaction of previous Audi A6 2.0?

Having said that, RM250k A6 Hybrid will make A6 new buyers delight. Why should anyone buy Camry 2.5?

• I think your argument is invalid, RM75k is still quite a stretch evven for those who can afford a Camry. Furthermore, Camry maintenance and running cost is much cheaper, This being German and Hybrid, who knows how much more expensive the parts and service are…

But who wants a Camry 2.5 when there is the Mazda 6……that sounds more like it.

• it possible to price RM250k…since there is no 120% import(30%) n excise(90%) tax

• YC Wong on Jan 28, 2013 at 8:36 pm

NOT RM 250k, spoken to the salesman today, 99% (1% being not sure until official launch) will cost RM 288,000 Good accessories lists, and that the A6 2.0 will no longer be offered in Malaysia.

• I will get one for my maid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • voter on Jan 26, 2013 at 7:42 am

It’s dirt cheap like viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Kalun on Jan 27, 2013 at 11:57 pm

Bring in the VW Jetta Hybrid equipped with 1.4 TSI + Emotor, DSG.
      US selling price for low spec RM 78k come here probably rm 90k++

• Audi Owner on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:30 am

They cannot !!!!Because the right hand drive jetta hybrid is not out yet

• Theoretically the hybrid should be cheaper than the gasoline. I don’t think Euromobil will follow the rule of thumb

• Amir Sufyan on Jan 25, 2013 at 10:35 pm

For the rich to njoy premium hybrid

• Sattian on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:09 pm

around 250K…not bad

• Hooray! Price it wisely!

• I think this represents everything that is wrong with the taxation system atm.
    Why should the system benefit someone who can take out 250k? If I can afford 250k or more, I clearly do not need any tax exemption.
    Instead of exempting hybrid cars, they should exempt C segment or smaller cars that belong to non luxurious brands.
    Or any tax exemptions should exclude luxurious brands. Govt should help ppl be able to better afford cars but not luxurious cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
    • Nicely done audi, u bring hybrid car n waitttt oooh it is less than 2000cc,, wahhh now gov have promotion ur car entitled for tax exemption…. Luxury or not?both requirement above met n fulfilled, so then exempted, why care bout luxury or not?

• What’s wrong with the taxation system is ppl like you don’t need to pay taxes. Where else the middle to high income feed 90% of the citizens who aren’t tax payers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Jimmy on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Think back. Most of our moneys are partly contributed by the hard work of our employees and customers, be the contributions direct or indirect. I pay 100% tax and I still voice out for many people who earns many times less than me who don’t pay much taxes. Don’t be selfish ok like BN ok. Help the common people. Let them have better/safer cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Why would u assume I am not paying tax. This once again shows the kind of society that Malaysia has become. Selfishness and greed.
        Where in the world should any govt be helping rich ppl as opposed to those that needs it.
        Isn’t this why there is such thing as progressive tax, the more u earn, the more u pay.
        A small basic car (eg preve, vios etc) is a necessity and thus should not be taxed. But I don’t see how ppl buying expensive Audis should be tax exempted as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • Hellhole on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:04 am

Why should a vios be considered a necessity. A Perodua VIva is a necessity. Public transport is a necessity. Anything above that is a luxury.

• Bengong on Jan 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Why want to make noise, if you can buy an A6 below $280k then just shut up and buy it if you can afford. If not just stick to your old Datsun 120Y

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Very well said, agree with you totally

• johnny on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:33 am

stan.. uve got a point

• droll on Jan 26, 2013 at 3:05 am

i place my bet on pricing – rm288k.

• i guess savings from tax exemptions may not be fully reflected in selling price.rm250k i would say is highly unlikely.if euromobil really pegs it at that price,how are they going to sell a4 1.8t now retailing at 235k,not to mention a4 2.0t unless they are bring hybrid version of a4 too.

• if it’s priced at rm 288k with full spec i.e s line would b as generous as they would go.maybe it’s rm299k.haha…

• unforgiven on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:50 am

CT 200 h is not cheap in M’sia as compare to US and Aus pricing. So if this is selling approx USD 57k, just do your maths.

• neutral on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:14 pm

perhaps its just UMW trying to screw the malaysian consumers

• Limsze on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:24 pm

I dont understand why something that is good for the environment, save citizens money, must cost more.

Good stuffs are for those filthy rich dudes. Less safety, less environment friendly (obviously majority on the road) and third world technology, few years back technology are for good citizens whom to them didnt deserved a good and safe cars.

• Waiting for Q5 Hybrid on Jan 26, 2013 at 3:13 pm

According to somebody in Audi, price will be most probably RM288k. First 20 units already pre-sold. Next shipment in March.

• ya,ct200 is considered pricy.audi’s pricing in msia is rather competitive as compared to lexus,mercs or bmw.

• The only reason ppl buy the luxurious brands is for the prestige and brandname (We maalysians want face). Is a BMW or a Benz really worth paying 2-3X the price of a Toyota or Honda? Yes, they are better cars but value for money? NO.
    So if audi decide to price this cheaply, it will just cause themselves to become a less premium brand in Malaysia. Ppl will associate the brand cheaply, and the ppl with more money will cont to buy BMW and Benz and avoid Audi since perception is that it is a less branded name. This will inevitably hurt sales of other models as well.
    Of coz, the the upgraders from T&H and Volkswagen will be happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • hope they not follow UMW. In US, CT200 only a few thousand higher than Honda Insight, but sell almost 2x here. Why? I think G should look into it, the tax saving should go to consumer, why become extra profit for UMW??????

Any hero wanna complaint this to Consumer dept?

• KillBox1Alpha on Jan 26, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Audi cant even keep up with the servicing of the existing cars they sold…and now hybrids ?

Open more centres Euromobil!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Romeo Dan on Jan 27, 2013 at 12:16 am

Give Stan a break, the only reasons why we have all these taxes in our country is to protect the interest of Proton & Perodua…if not all of us will have the luxury to choose freely what kind of cars we want to drive. In order to be competitive n progressive on a level playing field, putting all these unfair taxation schemes will not make Proton & Perodua grow…

• Jeremy Clarkson on Jan 27, 2013 at 11:41 am

Audi A4 2.0 TFSI – MYR 309,800.00
    Audi A6 2.0 Hybrid – MYR 250,000.00 – 300,000.00 ???

Euromobil Sdn Bhd and YOUR GOVERNMENT is not that stupid. It won’t fit. It won’t make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Painter on Jan 27, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Ok, since it qualifies for full import and excise duty exemption, less compare this with the US which also charges tax for automobile purchase.

In the US, it cost USD 57,000 for an A6 Hybrid, which translates roughly into RM173,000

Let’s see whether Audi Malaysia can sell at this price or not. If they can’t, this confirms my suspicion that car dealers are enjoying the tax exemption all to themselves. And squeezing more margin out of us, the consumers.

Paultan and other medias such take this opportunity to ask such questions to these people.

• You cannot compare with the states where cars all come with basic kit and specs and ppl need to configure to add more stuff.
      For the 57k in the states, u are going to look at halogen lights, manual seats etc etc etc.. So it most certainly is not going to be that price when u consider all the add-ons

• dugong on Jan 27, 2013 at 6:09 pm

so prius is high spec and got electric seats too?

• Painter on Jan 28, 2013 at 8:10 am

Of course i can compare US and Malaysian version of A6 Hybrid. How can the two not be alike?

Just look at the base price in Malaysia before you add in all those kits and special leathers.

• Hellhole on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:08 am

Agreed. A base audi a6 in the UK costs 30,000 pounds. A fully loaded version costs 67,000

• There is still 10% sales tax to be imposed on the hybrid car below 2000cc…

• unforgiven on Jan 28, 2013 at 12:46 am

Go check out the price for Lexus CT 200h, it’s less than usd 40k. Do the maths to match the rm 170k pricing in M’sia. Damn cronies!

• Brayokmok on Jan 28, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Yes , the new G (if any) will not have any cronies. Please trust me, please…

• Harga murah sikit komplen. Mahal komplen. Susah la ni macam.

• Can Manufacturers come out with ‘dummy’ hybrid to fool the brady Illicit TAX !!
    Well, just like G1M plate number; alot registered in Langkawai n brought to Main land with the loop 0…less traceable unlike KV….

• Top Gear once propose (sarcastically) That is powered by a great big V8, but has the electric motor of a blender, so you can proudly say “It’s a hybrid”

• 1st batch rm288K
    2nd batch rm308K

due to the fact, Malaysian consumers don’t allow A6 to be priced lower than A4, thus giving them higher profit margin. YES !

• Waiting for Q5 Hybrid on Jan 28, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Ya laa …. Politically, I’m not exactly a BN supporter, but it seems that this website is mainly visited by the Opposition supporters whose mentality is that whatever the other guy is doing is wrong.

Like what M6 wrote above, murah pun you complain, mahal pun you complain. What do you actually want?

Don’t mean to sound arrogant here, but I think many who commented negatively are not even potential Audi buyers anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Brayokmok on Jan 28, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Adakah ini bermakna hidup kita Akan lebih berbahagia, Ramli? (From Film Penarik Beca- P Ramlee)

• hopefully this beast can sell at RM 290-300K. i think it will be a good buy for most Audi buyers. it can actually serves as an alternative for those who wants a bigger car at A4 price range.

• just called Euromobil to reconfirm. RM 288k price tag, but the salesman like not interested in doing business. doesnt want to talk and have that “if u want to buy ok, if you dont want to buy i dont care” behaviour. horrible experience Audi Euromobil

• Replied mk : maybe hybrid car less commission for them leh …they rather sell 1.8 a4 earning more

• there will always b a handful of unprofessional sales person from luxury brand i.e mercs,audi & bmw.
    lexus could b an exceptional case.franlyly speaking,
    euromobil dun’ve tat many professional sales staff.
    brand is selling by itself.haha…

• hey guys, just to ask anyone interested to get a6 hybrid?me here got 2 confirm buyer including me,if any of u interested to book can PM me at 012-9512911, becoz i got an interesting offer frm my sales adviser if v can buy in bulk, wating period is around 2months plus…