Malaysia’s automotive TIV to touch 640k units this year, about 200 new models coming, says MAA

maa-salesThe Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) recently held a press conference to announce the total automotive industry volume (TIV) for 2012, a record breaking 627,753 units registered. The previous highest number was 605,156 units in 2010. For context, the 2012 TIV for Thailand is 1,291,468 units while 1,026,758 units were sold in Indonesia.

As announced earlier this month, Perodua retains its number one spot with 189,137 units for a 30.1% market share, while Proton sold 141,121 units for 22.5%, which is a drop. They are followed by the non-national segment champ Toyota with 105,151 units (16.8%), Nissan with 36,271 units (5.8%) and Honda with 34,950 units (5.6%). Nissan and Honda swapped places from the 2011 chart.

Volkswagen is the best performing European brand at sixth spot (13,003 units), ahead of Hyundai-Inokom (11,938), Mitsubishi (11,652), Isuzu (10,673, amazing for a one old model brand) and Suzuki (8,087). That’s the top-10 for you.

In the premium brand mini-league, BMW is tops with 6,318 units, followed by Mercedes-Benz (5,905), Lexus (1,471) and Audi (1,414).

Looking forward, MAA says that Malaysia’s TIV is expected to increase 2% to 640,000 units this year. Its president, Datuk Aishah Ahmad, said about 200 new models would be unveiled this year to help achieve the numbers. Yes, 200, as reported by Bernama. “I will let representatives from the car companies announce the car models,” she told the press conference.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Roger Tan on Jan 25, 2013 at 1:51 pm

too many cars on the roads!

Anyone has statistics for the number of cars deregistered/scrapped?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Look at the accident statistic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Kelvin on Jan 26, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Unavoidable when the public transport is below par and the motive is to sell more proton car, because it can’t sell to any country except it home tuft.

• Ah Jib Gor 2.0 on Jan 25, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Just sharing another piece of news to highlight the consequences of having inflated gas-mileage claim in US by car manufacturers, and not intended to single out any particular brand. Wondering if the same could be enforced here.
    “SEOUL: South Korea’s Kia Motors on Friday reported a 6.7 percent fall in its fourth-quarter net profit, blaming a stronger won and compensation payouts to US customers for inflated gas-mileage claims.

Consolidated net profit for the three months ended December 31 fell to 737.5 billion won ($689 million) from 790.4 billion won a year earlier, the country’s second largest automaker said in a statement.

A stronger won took its toll on the bottom line, and the company had to pay a one-off compensation claim worth 200 billion won to US customers following lawsuits over inflated mileage claims.

The US Environmental Protection Agency found that both Kia and Hyundai Motor — which owns a 34 percent stake in Kia — had exaggerated the fuel efficiency numbers on 2012 and 2013 models of cars sold in the US market.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • What a shame… More than a million cars has been sold in Thailand & Indonesia in 2012. And now, we are targeting 640k for 2013… sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 86
    • e.tau on Jan 25, 2013 at 2:28 pm

there are pro and cons on selling more cars.
      pro: we will have more options hen buying the car, but of course with the competitive price if the gov abolish the protectionism policies..
      con: will have traffic jams every single day and worsening air pollution. unless the gov enforcing the stringent emission regulations.

without the infrastructures improvement, there will be more cons than pros… IMHO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
      • Look at it in another way, if the vehicles are bought to replace their old vehicles, which is on old technology and emit more emissions, it is better. It will be essentially 2 new car = 1 old car. If you really want to make traffic jam less, just take away the fuel subsidy, but give us cheap cars before hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
        • e.tau on Jan 25, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Hi, the population is growing and its not just the matter of replacing the old car with the new one. Try to ask yourself, will you be buying cars to your children when they grow up? Ultimately the infrastructures must be improved and better urban development planning. Plan the road properly at the first place rather than expanding or korek here korek there afterwards.

Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • hei…their consumer much bigger la dei…do expect 30million people to out do 80million thais n 200million indos? that ridiculous rite!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • so STUPID la u… Malaysia population only 30mil, Thailand and Indonesia 67mil and 250mil respectively…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Like to like on Jan 25, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Please compare like to like basis. Thailand, Indonesia and Malaysia population. Mind you Indonesia has more than 200mil.. Malaysia is just 10% of that.

• I think there is a clear difference in population between Malaysia and our neighbors.61 million and 233 million(4th largest in the world) for both Thailand and Indonesia respectively. This compare to 27 million for Malaysia, from my knowledge.

And our neighbors aren’t exactly poor, so more people with the capability to spend = more cars

• Kalun on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Oh please. You are one of those who buy alot of cars and never use it.
      There is a flaw in some countries with low tax cars country like our neighbours except for singapore. They buy alot of cars because:
      1. It’s cheap
      2. The road tax is cheaper than premium cars
      3. Fuel are subsidise.
      4. Showing off attitude.
      5. No Carbon tax method
      6. No car owning limit in the country.

The impact of these are:
      1. Traffic Jam
      2. Pollution
      3. Not enough parking space
      4. Cars are more than human in the country.

How to solve this issue:
      1. Give Quota/limit the number of car per family (depending on number of people in the family)
      2. Limit the number of cars to the city by adding electronic toll. ( charge RM 30 per toll except for taxi and any public transport).
      3. Road tax pricing for Premium cars and non premium cars same. Except for lorries.
      4. Tax rebate for EV and Hybrid
      5. Carbon tax all cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • buy proton last on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:17 pm

compare their populations with ours la…..but u r good at statistics why dont u calculate the ratio….with 28 million ppl in msia n 640,000 cars sold!

• Compare the population and how big the both country compared to malaysia..

• toyoda on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:36 pm

in indonesia a total of sale not only a car but lorry,bus,mini lorry etc

• Pls check their population and compare with us. Baseless comment!

• Brayokmok on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:58 pm

Bro, Indonesia has more than 200m people, Thai has about 70 m or more and we only 28m. Too difficult too think?

• question for you, how may people at indonesia and thailand compare to thailand? so u will understand why the number of car at malaysia not large compare to them

• Riyadh95 on Jan 25, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Dude, are you aware of the population size of Thailand and Indonesia compared to Malaysia ??

• look at proportion. malaysia (30 mill), thailand (65 mil), and indonesia (>200 mill). in other words, malaysian bought more cars than the thais or indons.

• b sensible on Jan 25, 2013 at 2:17 pm

arrrr….toyota is not far behind..just 35,970 behind 2nd place proton…in 10 yrs time or less than that, proton likely to lose the no.2 medal…unless…they hv better models offering value for money…and not always looking for market share alone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
    • but 40% of toyota sales come from pickup truck hilux..n proton has non in light commercial vehicle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • here the link..
        http://i1238.photobucket.com/albums/ff488/zaman_chem/Screenshot_2013-01-25-15-03-58_zps7c186749.jpg

• Kalun on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:54 pm

True story.
        The only competition Toyota has in pickup truck region is Isuzu.
        To me, Isuzu is extremely impressive on market sales. One product only make it best selling. Just a big wow. Seen more Isuzu in Borneo.

• MoFaz on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Malaysians assume that Perodua is “Toyota” also la.. so they already surpassed Proton.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Pontiac on Jan 25, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Pls improve the road, widen the road and and maximise usage of traffic police before expecting any high car numbers in the near future. I dont want malaysia to be like indon and thai always jam sana jam sini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • Public transport will still need to be improve. The new MRT line coverage is wider, but not finer.

• we are almost there bro, i feel like the jam is gettin worse day by day. Even weekend we have rush hour nowdays. haha

• Can anyone list down the 200 new models?

• i think 30-50% model might be hydbrid or EV related car….this might be due to EEV policy coming up..plus more eco car even though not fall under EEV

• what catching my eyes is 200 models.. wow..

• Just widening/building more roads will not be able to keep up with the increasing traffic volume when you run out of space. Govt needs to decentralize commercial activities cos everyone keeps migrating to Klang Valley for work… Population now too focused in just one (or just a few) areas of the country, that’s why so jam…

• Expatriate VN on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Yes, 200 new models, as reported by Bernama!!!!!!

This is how Bernama add up its mathematics: –

A) Juara Kampung No. 1
    1) MyVi 1.5 MT
    2) MyVi 1.5 AT
    3) MyVi 1.5 Extreme
    4) MyVi 1.5 Sport Edition
    5) MyVi 1.5 Sport Extreme Edition ……..
    …… 20) MyVi 1.5 Lagi Best Edition ….

B) Jaguh Kampung No. 2
    21) Preve 1.6 MT CFE
    22) Preve 1.6 AT CFE
    23) Preve 1.6 MT CFE Bold
    24) Preve 1.6 AT CFE Bold ……..
    25) Preve Butt-less 1.6 AT CFE …….

Then come Toyota, Honda, VW, Nissan, Merz, BMW, grey import, etc, etc, add up to 200 new models!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 19
    • haha…that one same model diff spec la gok..diff model preve, exora, saga etc..still want to bash ayo dei macha..

• Mozilla Chrome on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:47 am

Why thumbs down him? He just being sarcastic. And I think he got a point there if you know what he means.

• vee-oh on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:36 pm

200 new models on the way??aiya need to hold Mirage booking

• Alahai on Jan 25, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Where is KIA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Black Dog on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:19 pm

There’s so many Kia Forte on the road yet Kia sold less cars than Suzuki?

Something fishy going on?

• that bcoz…here its call Naza Forte not KIA Forte so it fall under Naza

• KIA is number 18th if u want to know

• 13k of vw sold…no wonder i’ve been seeing lots of vw esp the Golf TSI & GTI…even in nbourhood, along my row of abt 12 hses, there are 4 golfs already (3 tsi & a Gti)…yeap, Golf is the real practical icon from VW not the Beetle for ordinary folks.

Looks like Msian are in love wt the golf too, why don’t VWM bring in the golf wt the 1.2Tsi, 1.4tsi non twin charged and maintain the 1.4tsi twin charge (Spore offered all 3 version and for the coming Mark 7 with the TDI Bluemotion too!)….i can see more take up for the Golf.

• Kalun on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Bring in Golf GTD

• yup, spore will be getting the golf tdi too for the coming new golf Mk7 (their road tax are based on CO2 emmission starting in jan 2013, hence diesel will have an advantage wt lower co2 compared to petrol…can foresee that SG will be flooded wt oilburner like Europe & UK..trouble day ahead for the Japs petrol bias autos but the european & korean will surely sells better)….surely they will be getting the GTD once the golf mk7 is release prob along wt the GTI

• 16 new models evry month? non from proton and perodua xD. 16 is a lot, cant wait. please maa keep your words.

• u must include bajak, van, lorry, pickup truck n busses oso…TIV include those type of vehicle

• Proton tak harap sales volume. They are BMW of Asia. Did BMW sell lots of car? No. That’s why Proton don’t sell much cars. Their market are niche, premium, high-tech & performance oriented company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • Are you serious??

• Expatriate VN on Jan 25, 2013 at 5:13 pm

Yes, no need volume, they just craps on “Lotus Handling”, “BMW of Asia”, “Global Small Car”, “Asian Car”, “National Car”, etc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • 200 new models? Sure or not? Or bernama’s failed mathematics count like this – preve hatch 1.6 MT basic spec = 1 model, preve hatch 1.6 MT high spec = another model and so on??? If thats the case then failed english too, its perhaps 1 model, 2 variants!

• Pat San on Jan 25, 2013 at 5:17 pm

200 new models coming….this will be good for potential new car buyers. More to choose from and hopefully the prices can be lowered starting from this year……

• Jimmy on Jan 25, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Audi please pick up more.
    VW hope to see you become the top in sale non-national car brand in Malaysia. By then, please don’t strip down your car safety specs ya, otherwise our anak cucu will have no money to buy cars with ESP. All non-premium car makers in Malaysia would like to see our response to cars without ESP, if it is good, then ESP will disappear among cheap cars in Malaysia, including Accord 2.5L, Teana 2.5L etc. We want good safety specs for everyone, in cars below RM100k.

• Grant on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:23 pm

We sell a lot of cars but the roads are not enough. We should build those double or even the triple tier roads that run on top of each other like in Bangkok. Sure will solve the jam for a while.

• Limsze609 on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Keep bringing third world technology and dump it in malaysia. Safety last, profit first. Dumb MAA. Useless, brainless. Shame on u guys.

• kadajawi on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Huuuh? Now you blame MAA? Ford offers safe cars for 70k. What do people buy? Dangerous ones for 150k. The average buyer doesn’t care about safety, and there is more money to be made with unsafe cars since you can safe a few bucks when leaving away all the safety features and using lower quality materials. When people gladly pay for that, of course this will continue.

Toyota even REMOVED ESP/VSC from the 2.4V because there was no demand for that feature.

Well spec’ed and modern Toyotas don’t sell very well, only the lousy ones are popular. Not even Toyota can be blamed for this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Grant on Jan 26, 2013 at 2:54 am

Its not to say that they don’t care for safety, but their money can only stretch so much coz they want to get a non-national car. So their budget only permits them to get base spec Toyota or Honda etc which lack the necessary safety features. Don’t blame the consumer. Its the policy makers who come up with all of the restrictions to protect P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Pontiac on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:35 am

U noob or what? See what mazda have given to us? Even basic spec got 6 airbags. Dont balme the gov to protect p1 or p2. U seems not to know economics are. These people are the main contributor to our automotive industries. Once colapse our economy will colapse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Grant on Jan 27, 2013 at 10:44 am

Dude, there is no need for insults here. You cannot even spell the word knob properly.

You know what I said is true. I must have touched a raw nerve here. Do you work for P1 or one of P1’s suppliers?
            P1 is the reason we Malaysians cannot buy the cars of our dreams and you know it. With the all the taxes and restrictions in place, so many models cannot come into our market on the pretext of not wanting to destroy P1’s sales. Get your facts right. If your beloved P1 collapses, our economy won’t collapse. Our economy is not automotive dependant. Are you that dense? Only the men behind P1 will feel the pinch. Note the word pinch not loss.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • KLIMS 2013 is gonna be legenwaitforit daryy!!!!

somebday stole my Haha screen name -_-

• more cars = more traffic jams
    last year, i can go out 7.15 am, this year 6.45 am, next year… 6.15 am
    build more roads and hire more traffic police not a good solution because we have been building so many tolled roads but still traffic jams
    any other solutions… cannot ask MAA for the answer

• Pontiac on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:38 am

So still wanna vote pakatan to reduce car price and oil price?? Expect it to be much worser jam.
      Gov have done what it should be done like decentralising hot places such as putrajaya, nusajaya, cyberjaya etc2. But still people are going in to klang valley. Why? U ask them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • Grant on Jan 27, 2013 at 10:51 am

You must be one of the AP Kings seeing that you don’t want car prices to come down. Please let everyone to be able to own a car. I am sure you have seen people carrying their babies on motorcycles. WHY?? Coz cars are so damn expensive here!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • toll is another crappy thing but considering too many vehicles nowadays. i don’t know whether the new MRT, LRT, Rapid or commuter network can solve this problem or not. Because, our Malaysian mentality, ” Why should I travel via public transport?? I’m not that poor, i’ve my own Golf GTi!!”…for example. Believe it or not, this is the answer i got from my colleagues. If you ride a motorbike to your work place, that’s not a symbol you are poor! Just helping the traffic more smoothly and avoid wasting of time on the congested road!… This is our most Malaysia mentality~

• k-poop on Jan 28, 2013 at 1:31 pm

I remember a quote which says a developed country is not a place where the poor have cars, it’s where the rich use public transportation. Surely we arent there yet with this kind of mentality

• Grant on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:42 am

I wish we were there as well. I would love to use public transportation if only it could connect the entire Klang Valley properly. I’ve used the buses and trains in Singapore and it was brilliant. I didn’t need a car.
          Our new MRT doesn’t address the problem properly. For instance, why was Old Klang Road left out of the MRT planning.

• 200 new models in 2013?
    don play-play la…

• amirad on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:33 am

Here’s another point of view. Whether proton exists or not, car prices will always going to be sky high. Proton was created so that average people can afford to own cars. Proton is not the reason for the high car prices, in fact proton is the saviour for average people who wants to own cars. Take an example of big bikes. What’s the reason for high big bike prices? Protecting who? Surely not Modenas.

• GoNe'o' on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:35 am

Dumb ass….pro gov ass hole.