SPIED: Audi A6 Hybrid in Malaysia, launching soon?

A6-Hybrid-spy-02
UPDATE: Euromobil has officially launched the Audi A6 Hybrid in Malaysia for RM280k

A batch of what appears to be the Audi A6 Hybrid has been caught on camera while being transported by truck. Eagle eyed reader Derek Liang spotted the covered Audis on the KESAS highway departing Port Klang, and the amount of cars being ferried suggests that a launch is imminent.

How do we know that it is the A6 Hybrid? In one of the pics, the covering is open at the rear, strategically where the “Hybrid” emblem resides. Even without that, the 10-arm turbine design wheels unique to the hybrid model gives the game away.

Now here’s where it gets interesting. The A6 Hybrid is powered by a combination of the 2.0 TFSI engine and an electric motor with 40 kW and 211 Nm. The latter is powered by lithium-ion batteries, and the car is capable of running in pure EV mode for up to 3 km at 60 km/h.

The TFSI engine has a displacement of 1,984 cc, which falls below the 2.0 litre mark required for the government’s 100% exemption for both import duty and excise duty.

This could mean that the A6 Hybrid will be a relatively affordable way into the midsize premium segment, and significantly cheaper than the RM515,000 A6 3.0L TFSI quattro. The dual-powered A6 should comfortably undercut its hybrid counterparts from BMW, too – the RM538,800 ActiveHybrid 3 and RM648,800 ActiveHybrid 5 are not eligible for hybrid incentives as they are built on the 335i and 535i respectively and are powered by the same 3.0 litre engine as their non-hybrid brethren.

Click here to see more of the current A6, in 3.0 TFSI quattro form.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• It will be at RM400k, affordable? my butt, yours too.

It’s £45,000 in the UK -> 220k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 26
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 25, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Don’t mistake “relatively affordable” (as mentioned in the story) for “affordable”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 17
      • Okay, other than not clarifying my point and made it sound rude as well, I believe the hybrid tax has many loop holes. I am not sure how much is the reduction but I am sure that manufacturers cannot offer the tax free price because it will sabotage their other car offers.

For example, price this at 300k, it will destroy their own A4 Quattro sales. Loop hole there? Noted. Fix it? Not.

For the manufacturer like T&H, they exploited this as much as they could.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
        • ulrich on Jan 25, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Only 288k? It’s so cheap, this will sell like hotcakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
          • insat on Jan 25, 2013 at 9:27 pm

yeah it’ll flood the road like myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Except its a much more handsome than the pig from angry birds with wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • this “Name” is starting own assumption again like “mr know it all” .. how pathetic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
          • Better than those we blindly believe everything that the world throws at them. 50 years of promises.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
    • yes and in uk how much is the income tax? keep comparing and u’ll end up driving myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 23
      • Grant on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:10 pm

UK Income tax is affordable for the middle class. The high earners are the ones who are highly taxed (which is the rightly so since they can afford it)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
        • Hellhole on Jan 27, 2013 at 8:50 pm

You forget about the 20 percent vat for every single thing in the UK is it. If u cannot afford it just drive a myvi and be proud of what you can own

• suppose u said petrol/diesel per liter price or price a piece of burger much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Yes, affordable for me not for u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
    • at least cheaper by 130% less tax since no import tax(30%) n excise tax(90%)…oni has sales tax(10%)..i think the price around 150k-250k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • The author didnt mention the price but you started with your own assumption and bashing on it..

How rude and shameless…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Rude I agree, shameless maybe not. I am just stating out the obvious fact that you do not want to believe in. Don’t be naive, there’s no free lunches in Malaysia.

Below there are more post about how it will not be at 300k or lower. Enlighten yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • you easily get convince by a few “here sayer”? it is better to grow up and keep mouth shut until official pricing is released… enlighten yourselves instead..

• crank on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:54 pm

Why are you getting so worked up with this price issue? Chill la bro, just wait for the actual price to be announced.

“Name” has got a point anyways.

• Quattro on Jan 27, 2013 at 9:47 pm

Wow that’s also in the UK. The retail price in the States is nearly half of that.
      Over here the A6 starts at $43K –> MYR 130K
      I own a 2.0 TFSI powered car and I can vouch for it’s performance, reliability and fuel efficiently is above satisfaction compared to other japanese powerplants.

• Toyota could also have their Camry Hybrid powered by a 2.0l engine and enjoy waiver on excise duty and import tax. I’m sure the sales would be much better than 2.0 or 2.5 Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Fahmi on Jan 25, 2013 at 8:02 pm

If i’m not mistaken, the Camry Hybrid only comes with 2.5 litre engine with electric motor (H.S.D)…

• If its sold below RM250k, I am buying one :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • There is a very high chance it will more than RM 300k , way beyond most people I know off . so I’ll just wait for the hideous but awesome Accord Hybrid plug in, if it ever comes. Anyways good move for them to bring this handsome sedan into Malaysia.

• charming on Jan 25, 2013 at 6:56 pm

If i am able to buy a car around 400k, i dont mind the fuel consumption of the car.so putting a battery to a luzury car is not practical.dont forget also the the cost of changing a battery after few years will make u headache.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • jilbaber on Jan 26, 2013 at 8:55 am

why do you think most million dollars celebrities in US drive Prius or FCX when they have battlion of supercars in their garage…. it about image dude, low CO2 emission, environment friendly la kononnya..
      and demographically AUDI is targeting the same for our market

• tan sari on Jan 26, 2013 at 4:04 pm

I don’t think it is image for the rich celeb to drive EV in USA. To me, they are just showing that they care for the environment (show only), if they really care, why do they still have many fuel guzzling supercars??

• jilbaber on Jan 26, 2013 at 7:55 pm

That’s exactly my point

• kadajawi on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:07 pm

That’s image, no? Also, maybe they bought the supercars before they got eco conscious.

Besides, there’s nothing wrong with owning a super car. If they mostly drive the hybrid/EV, they are still doing something good for the environment. And once in a while they take their supercar for a ride, for fun. But only once in a while, not all the time.

Ps: EVs and hybrids in certain states enjoy advantages such as special lanes only they can use, special car parks only they can use (in the best spots, including free charging), etc. In London you don’t need to pay the congestion charge, which is quite high. I think bus lanes can be used by them too.

• Objectivity on Jan 27, 2013 at 2:23 am

A Prius burns only half the petrol consumption of a normal car. Have you given a thought about KL air quality if all the cars on the road are hybrids?

Plus, some performance vehicles have started using hybrid systems. Having an electric motor is really great at improving acceleration and pickup. For those vehicles, the fuel efficiency is only an added bonus.

• Nice job, audi, grab this hybrid tax exemption before it expired soon hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • PauKaya on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:11 pm

if the car can be priced right i can imagine many of the modifications shops bringing in s or RS bodykits.

• Kalun on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Bring in the A3 hybrid here. Sell like hot cakes.
    A3 hybrid with 1.6l direct injection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • silver on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:14 pm

before you change the battery most ppl would have moved on with another car….

• Lisa inn on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:18 pm

A quick check at audi malaysias website says the launch is near the end of february

• Blaze on Jan 25, 2013 at 7:23 pm

..got a text msg from an audi salesman. It will be at 288k.

• They don’t want to sell A4 anymore?

• Jimmy on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:18 pm

From my point of view: RM288k is a difficult price, because of ‘Audi’ and hybrid status, I mean both.
      At RM220k, I am just not interested to import and sell, if I were tauke of Audi Malaysia. Of course at this price, it can potentially attract many Jap D-segment shoppers and VW customers.

• Jimmy on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Surely topping up another RM90k to get an E-class is not a problem for you if you can easily afford RM288k car. Therefore this car is likely only for those who can barely afford RM288k but want a bigger car.

• Kantoi the hybrid emblem..

• neutral on Jan 25, 2013 at 8:34 pm

very interesting….288k is a good price…250k even better!

• Smart strategy by audi. They will attract ppl who can afford to spend 200k+ but think spending it on an a4, 3-series or c class as bad value because of gov tax.
    For the same price why don’t they go get a bigger car like the a6 hybrid. These ppl are additional customers for Audi. Audi also does not lose profit from the lost sales of a4, they move the a6 hybrid instead and it may give them an even bigger margin. Don’t forget that a huge chunk of the a4 price is tax that doesn’t go into audi’s pocket.

• kadajawi on Jan 25, 2013 at 11:41 pm

They won’t price it below the A4. And maybe not even below the standard A6 (or they remove all the kit first). A 200k A6 hybrid? Dream on. That would not only kill the sales of the A4 and A6, it would also badly hurt VW Passat sales.

Look at Toyota. The Prius C could be sold for less than the Vios, but they price it above the Vios. Because if they won’t, their cash cow will be brought to the slaughter house. Though maybe not, since many here seem to be afraid of anything that is “modern”.

It takes a car maker like Tesla to offer an affordable eco vehicle, because they don’t have to worry about hurting the sales of regular cars. Because they don’t have any!

• 1 more point. RV for those fella who just bought the A4 sure can jump from cliff.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • kadajawi on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:12 pm

I think A4 buyers already accepted their fate when they signed the contract.

Besides RV can always change. It already does, in the D segment cars are usually sold for similar amounts. Yes, a Camry will get you a few % more than a Mondeo, but the difference isn’t as huge as people think. Basically if you want good RV, stay in the B segment, and get a Vios. Everything above that, forget about it. You’ll lose money.

• Looking at all the hybrid cars on sale now, anyone will be dreaming if u expect it to undercut the A4.

Best example is lexus C200h. 170k for v basic kit (eg halogen lights) and 200k for kit expected of a premium brand. Such price is pretty much in the range of a premium hatchback.

At best it will undercut the A6 2.0 by 10-20k and priced close to the Q5. Though, they may place it at a premium level above the 2.0 and price closer to 400k but below the 3.0 515k. (Like how civic hybrid is more expensive than civic 1.8 but cheaper than civic 2.0)

Anyone working in a premium brand company will know that these brands will always try to make sure that no matter what, they need to price their products at a level that retains the perception of the luxury or else lose the prestige or desirability.
    No point driving up the sale of the A6 and lose sales in the A4,Q5,Q3 or even the A5.

• I think this represents everything that is wrong with the taxation system atm.
      Why should the system benefit someone who can take out 250k? If I can afford 250k or more, I clearly do not need any tax exemption.
      Instead of exempting hybrid cars, they should exempt C segment or smaller cars that belong to non luxurious brands.
      Or any tax exemptions should exclude luxurious brands.
      Govt should help ppl be able to better afford cars but not luxurious cars. We need to help ppl owning myvis, preves, vios etc and lower their burden. Not to reduce tax so ppl can just go buy BMW or Audis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • Jimmy on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:15 pm

True, to help more common rakyat. Your voters deserve cars with better safety specs. And you are protecting …… only, sure everyone is marah.
        Even at RM288k, I am not keen to buy this car. So what Stan said is right. Many of us do not need tax exemption. Please help the common rakyat.
        But then again, how to make sure tax reductions translate into benefit to rakyat, especially with the greedy brother out there who has always been the bad example and lead the greedy games; benefit from tax reduction (CBU Thai changed to CKD Malaysia) masuk kocek sendiri, increase price and potong ESP some more.

• LNick on Jan 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm

You are missing the point, the tax exemption for hybrid is to encourage hybrid fuel saving vehicles. Not to help the people afford better cars.
        Policies that exclude brands is unfair.

• kadajawi on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Well, yes. Frugal and clean cars (why does a B segment car need to have 100+ hp? 60-75 is enough) with good safety equipment should get tax benefits. You could say per airbag 5-10% lower tax, ESP lower tax, auto braking and lane departure warning lower tax. Good fuel consumption and not so powerful, lower tax. Want performance and luxury, pay for it. You don’t NEED it.

Basically a Fiesta with 75 hp low tax, Fiesta with 120 hp higher tax. No need for so much power to go from A to B.

• Rakyat on Jan 28, 2013 at 2:22 am

G give tax exemption also banyak complaint, you like to give free money to the G meh? The taxation system shouldn’t exist in the first place, whether poor or rich people should not pay a dime to the greedy G! What’s wrong with poor people owning safer cars like Audi or BMW?

• droll on Jan 26, 2013 at 10:00 am

govt is using old system of basing everything off capacity of engine.

• remote extender on Jan 26, 2013 at 4:37 pm

well can’t expect less from the same people that have been running the same system from the last 50-odd years.

same old, same old. old one don’t go, new one won’t come… same old, same old.

• Adullah on Jan 26, 2013 at 11:19 am

It won’t be cheap even without duty because
    Dr M son is in MITI to control the price.
    If you want cheap cars vote out this government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • Jimmy on Jan 26, 2013 at 1:18 pm

You blamed MITI solely, I blame both, the other party being the greedy car distributors. Look at the prices of our hybrids from Yat Pun.

• accordmania on Jan 26, 2013 at 3:31 pm

it is confirmed at rm295k, got the price from reliable source

• satrian on Jan 26, 2013 at 9:42 pm

i just checked with my previous Audi salesmen…..Rm280k without insurance and r/tax…..regret buying A4 few month ago…….BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME….

• people!! Audi salesman here. confirmed its 280k and there will be plenty stock when launched!!

• A1 Ayamas on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:08 am

The price will be around 288k confirm, they are bringing in 1000 cars so book now ppl ! Kill all the competitors that’s for sure !

• ashworth on Jan 28, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Price around rm290k. This will supercede the a6 2.0t…so a6 will only be 2.0t hybrid or 3.0t…apparently hybrid spec will be equal or better then 2.0t

• PauKaya on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:28 pm

it better be good spec. cause otherwise theres prolly rm 80k gone into thin air.

• lover on Jan 29, 2013 at 12:44 pm

if below 280K…Audi, u got me in the buyer list !!

• think.again. on Jan 30, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Me too… if below 280K, I will be another proud owner….

• b sensible on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:59 pm

i always think hybrid technology should be cheaper and be available to the masses. as the reality hybrid vehicles are only popular in japan & usa as their people can afford it but not 3rd world. there’s is nothing special on hybrid it won’t help to clean the polluted air if most people are still using conventional fuel. the gov shd give exemption to cheaper technology like cng / lpg powered car…isn’t that a better solution than expensive hybrid?

• Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:51 am

If below 80k, every rakyat with proton will be an owner and dump the rubbish preve.

• Kumar on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:03 am

close the bloody proton and perodua and cronies BN companies then all of us can enjoy luxury of life.
    this useless proton and perodua and mahathir really reprived the nation when it comes to automobile.any nutcase not supporting me on this matter you can go and join mahathir.

• A friend just signed up for one last weekend. price is 288k. Audi promised a 8 year warranty for the batteries. apparently he is on waiting list already , no.60, wow

• Inside news is the A6 hybrid is coming with high specs like reverse camera MMI navigation and LED headlights with sunroof at 288K.
    Crazy but true. Booking one for sure, too good to be true. Same specs car in UK going for GBP 50+K
    Go figure.

• Kevin on Feb 13, 2013 at 11:44 pm

hey danny, im a 16 yr old boy. I heard from SOME ppl abt the a6 audi. apparently they r only bringing 40+ units in. Due to the tax ,emission and all the other stuffs apparently they said it will costing less than rm300,000. last but not least the 1 hybrid is on the road before the launch

• hey guys, just to ask anyone interested to get a6 hybrid?me here got 2 confirm buyer including me,if any of u interested to book can PM me at 012-9512911, becoz i got an interesting offer frm my sales adviser if v can buy in bulk, wating period is around 2months plus

• Hi Jay, I am interested to join the band wagon. Will PM you.

• hey jay, do you mind letting us know the offer with bulk purchase? i have a feeling it is a fleet purchase discount which can get complicated because buyers must technically be from the same Co. Cheers