New Range Rover L405 sighted at JPJ Putrajaya

RANGE-ROVER-L405-2

The fourth generation Range Rover will probably see a Malaysian launch soon, since a unit has popped up at JPJ Putrajaya, presumably to undergo testing for type approval. A tip of the hat to regular contributor Akmal, who has sent in a few pix from JPJ Putrajaya before this.

The new L405 Rangie was first unveiled in September 2012 with three engine models – a 510 PS supercharged V8, a 258 PS turbodiesel V6 and a 339 PS turbodiesel V8. A diesel-hybrid version is supposed to be announced this year. The model sighted at JPJ Putrajaya is the supercharged V8 model.

The current third generation model on sale in Malaysia is available either with a 5.0 litre supercharged V8 as well as a turbodiesel V8. Read more about the fourth gen model here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the price will be off the roof!

• People who can afford it will not think about the price. I don’t get this Malaysian [or PT commentor]trend about ‘Everything else sh**, price first’ and dislike anyone who praises it for anything else.

It’s kinda obvious that a Range Rover will be out of most of our reach. I just like it, but I know I’ll most likely never own one. Is like I like Emma Watson, but I know I’ll never have her.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • Abuya on Jan 28, 2013 at 4:09 pm

Dont talk crap. Either you like or not, bear in mind you only can afford myvi with 9 years installment. Harga petrol naik 5 sen dah jerit2 macam orang hilang akal.

Tak mampu tapi nasihat orang. Boleh blah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 44
        • The last time I said to you, or at least to that username, the world dose’t revolve around you. And like I said, I like cars ad I have no money to spend on 95% of the cars in the market.

NO, I have a 20 year old Saga manual, and I’am loving it every second and have no plans to move on. From the day my two eyes can see the faces of my love ones, I have always love and addicted to cars, and even if in the future I can only have a Myvi with 9 year installment, I’ll still salute a Lamborghini revving down the highway. Petrol prices goes up, than drive less or car pooling or take the public transport.

I don’t go around, jerit2 macam orang hilang akal, every time something good is launch and is not in my reach macam lu punya comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • kelvin on Jan 27, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Only for the cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 20
      • Check yrself in Ferrari club, who are the most driving them. Private and bhd companies owned by non-bumi are also practicing cronism! Worst still double std salary!! Sigh…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
        • so what u trying to prove? non-bumis are more corrupted? what a senseless comments. to be honest, most of them are business man with honesty. i know a couple of great gentleman who buy cars with cash, and own a huge manufacturing factory..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • I think Cayenne is better looking than this car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • hummerrulez on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:17 am

Hummer is here. give way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 28, 2013 at 3:04 pm

The way people talk here, once we all ‘vote wisely’, price will be around RM32,000 OTR because no kroni. But then later after voting wisely, sure People Regret

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • joanna on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:23 am

How you know you will regret if you dont even try? Stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
        • Syabas on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:58 am

sure will regret meh.. just look at selangor how they promised to give free water?

• stupid.. its because the “great” BN is controlling Syabas and ask Selangor state G not to intervene in the Syabas matter. u think Sealgor state G dare? BN is so daring in doin so many dirty tricks. besidea, if u wanna talk bout politics go away. anyways, BN is goina lose Selangor BTW..

• joanna on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:03 am

I live in selangor and got free water for the first 20 cubic meters. Where you live? In a cave next to BN leaders palaces?

• Ah Long Kia on Jan 29, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Exactly. You never try to jump out of a plane without parachute want to talk so much. Try first mah. 55 years ppl using parachute when jumping from plane because kroni supplying parachute. This time round, try first mah without.

• If I can have one car, JUST ONE, for my entire life, with the lifetime cost of the car covered. I can’t think of a better choice than a Range Rover.

Comfortable enough for your family over the potholes, Enough gadgets to keep the tech savvy happy, decently quick enough for your normal highway commute and overtaking, great off-road for the occasional mudslide AND 900mm warter wading capabilities for the floods that will hit. In other words perfect car for Malaysian, and the handsome looks is just a Bonus. Only a fool will buy a Cayenne in Malaysia with that money, Oh wait…… [wink*]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Jan 27, 2013 at 10:38 pm

And to most people in Malaysia, Range Rover is perceived as equivalent to Mercedes, 900K vs 900K.
      In addition, the owners are perceived as elite more than just ordinary rich businessmen. This is not something Ninja King can give you, it just give you the height with impression of being big (so don’t bully other road users ya).

• Jimmy again, sorry, but I don’t get it, what’s a Ninja King and what’s ‘height with impression of being big’

The new Range Rover is lower than the last one, but I think that’s because it has a lower roof. It could be true that the owners are perceive to be as an elite, the type that goes around in a Bentley or 911 Turbo. To me, the Range Rover is a step higher than any Merc or Beemer SUV, It’s a whole class above the normal Teutonic marques, or at least in Malaysia.

I think I made a mistake by saying is perfect car for Malaysian,it should be ‘it’s a perfect vehicle for Malaysia’, with that kind of capabilities. It’s just too expensive, and a quick check on Google, spare parts are off the roof!.

There are few things I dislike about this model. The fake side-grill, and the footballer-mobile status [I’ll always avoid cars favored by rappers and celebrity ball-kickers], I think the Range Rover has lost it’s purpose, it has went for more for style instead of functional, not to say it has lost it, but would you drive this car into the rain forest? The late Spen King, father of the Range Rover, criticize those who drive SUV into cities, saying that the Range Rover were never intended for status symbol. But sadly, that’s what it’s become.

• Speaking of Bentley while going off topic a little, it is now confirm that a 2.2tonne ,600 bhp+ Bentley Continental Speed, can make an impressive rally car.

• PauKaya on Jan 28, 2013 at 12:05 am

dear sir, have you actually ever owned a Range Rover? I too prefer the Range Rover in terms of its looks and its interior. But you really need to own one to know just how unreliable it is compared to a cayenne, not to mention the car doesn’t even feel anywhere as powerful on paper and its really really thirsty.

• I think you wrote this Before my reply comment to Jimmy here is posted, yeah I know alot about the unreliability of the Rangie and the spare parts cost thanks to my cous in the States. He said it would have been his choice if not for those issue, so his family settle for something German.
        It’s a shame really, quite a great car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • PauKaya on Jan 28, 2013 at 4:53 pm

i too hope that the new rangie can make a difference. My only grips is a rather silly and personal one where I feel the interior is a bit too luxurious. If i bought one i don’t think I would ever drive it off-road. evoque on the other hand is bloody beautiful and is supposed to be reliable having Ford parts and all… while there aren’t many major scandals i have heard rather unhappy owners quickly disposing their cars

• as an owner of old and current rangies i can confirm that range rover’s reliability has really gotten alot better ( better than my bmw). Plus land rover malaysia customer service is top notch, basically they will change something even before you know there was a problem with it. unlike bmw where you have to harass them many times before they get into it.

• PauKaya on Jan 28, 2013 at 4:56 pm

bmw is just plain stuck up these days. sales are too strong. however no company is too big and in say 5-10 years time they could easily be in trouble, then probably BMW starts treating customers rightly. Rather interesting though that sime darby has interests in both BMW and Land Rover Range Rover

• *yawnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • wow…scarycar

• Maserati on Jan 27, 2013 at 9:25 pm

Boring, like anyone is going to buy this car. Maybe 1 in 10,000,000 ppl will buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Dude, obviously u r naive enough to not see many RR flooding our roads. Oni ppl with good taste will choose RR. RR is being called the ‘ferrari of SUV’. Porsche Cayenne is nthg compared to this. Usually ah beng will choose to drive Cayenne in Malaysia. No need to talk bout ML, X5 or even Q7.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • Jimmy on Jan 27, 2013 at 10:42 pm

Largely true. Porsche is perceived as higher class only in its sports cars, I mean use Mercedes as a standard comparison point.

• I don’t think is called ‘Ferrari of SUV’, as it’s not fast nor sporty. But I know that the Rangie has always been called ‘King of SUV’. I believe the reason people choose a Porsche Cayenne, over here at least, is the sheer unreliability of Range Rover in the past, spare part is still too damn high. My cousin in the States says the Range Rover would have been perfect if not for the notorious breakdown issue or the high cost of parts.

• sudonano on Jan 27, 2013 at 11:41 pm

But based on the runaway success of the Evoque, I think it must be pretty reliable.

• The Evoque is mostly sold on it’s looks and design. Which in every way is outstanding. But for reliability, I don’t know, I don’t own one and I know no one else with it. PauKaya here has a better insight on this problem.

• plus Evoque is cheaper compare to other RR model

• PauKaya on Jan 28, 2013 at 12:08 am

“the sheer unreliability of Range Rover in the past” …. correction. Still is UNRELIABLE. And its not just limited to the current Range Rover stable, the current Land Rover stable is just as bad.

• Well, I put in the past, in hopes that this new Range Rover can make a difference. It’s been like 3 months since it’s international launch.

• bro i didnt make up the “ferrari of SUV”. ok, mayb its call “Rolls Royce of SUV” its just an adjective being used by British car journalist mainly to bring out the idea that RR is actually fast and luxury in its class. nthg can be compared.

• i guess those thumb-down are being given by ML, X5, Q7 and Cayenne owners. Opps, did i piss u off? but what i said is very true. RR is something unique in its own class. other rivals are too universal.

• skiborne on Jan 27, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Malaysia will be receiving it that soon? suprisingly i havent even seen one over here in UK. hope paultan will take a test drive and review this one

• Anon Kneemas on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Haven’t seen one in north east USA either, I suspect first batches all went to Russia, UAE, China and Beverly Hills. I expect Kim Kardashian and Paris Hilton to be wrecking one soon on a reality tv show near you hahahaha.

• what kind of testing does the JPJ people do for each new car models prior to approval for launch/sale in Malaysia?

• car like this is like an accessories in our life..
    u can afford u buy it..if not still u can have a comfortable life..why do u want to have a luxurious car but miserable life…not worth it

• Limsze on Jan 28, 2013 at 2:20 am

Fuel hungry monster. Anybody knows the fc for this kind of monster?

Agreed, it was for cronies and those filthy rich.
    If you want comfortable ride in all conditions, this is the one. If you want to save the environment, this is certainly not one of them.

P/s stop bringing in cars for idiots. We malaysian need more cars that ia cheap, reliable, with full safety features specs.

• skiborne on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm

not as thristy as before, this is 420kgs lighter than its predecessor

• hadi75 on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:06 am

Like especially the diesel version…but too expensive to own here in malaysia…..

• Modesto.hann on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:12 am

Buying this car, u pay for tax to government and high exchange rate from pound to ringgit. That’s all.

• vee-oh on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:01 am

handsome car, maybe next month i can afford one..the toy scale model it is

• Its too big, thirsty and un necessary.

• skiborne on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:21 pm

not as thirsty as the previous model as this is 420kgs lighter

• alldisc on Jan 29, 2013 at 6:06 pm

extensive use of aluminium that is, just like its sister Jaguar car

• Rakyat on Jan 29, 2013 at 1:57 am

Will the hybrid version be tax free?

• Maserati on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:15 am

Alot of RR on the road? Lol, u gotta be kidding. The most common RR is RR evoque. That one oso actually gotta be lucky to spot it. This Big RR will be super rare!

• nope, oni the supercharged is kda rare. yet,in my office area i’ve spotted 2-3 supercharged V8 RR.and around my area there is one RR sport driven by a tudung lady. dam hot.. when u go bangsar and drop-by KL during weekends u will see alot. needless to mention the RR Evoque. tats a feminine SUV.

• Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:00 am

Every Malaysians should drive one seeing how our road conditions are.