Kia cee’d GT and pro_cee’d GT to debut at Geneva

8423086488_cf18d754b4_o

Watch out European hot hatches – the Koreans are coming after you! The Kia cee’d GT and Kia pro_cee’d GT hatchbacks are Kia’s 2013 Geneva Motor Show debutants, and they’ll be powered by the same 1.6 litre turbocharged four cylinder motor, which producies 204 PS and 265Nm.

Both the 5-door Kia cee’d GT and it’s 3-door sibling the Kia pro_cee’d GT will transmit their 1.6 litre turbo engine’s power to the front wheels via a 6-speed manual gearbox, which will allow them to do the 100km/h sprint in 7.9 seconds. These numbers aren’t blistering high, but perhaps Kia’s making room for the group’s more powerful 278 PS 2.0 litre turbo?

After sorting out factors like looks and quality, Hyundai-Kia is looking at driving feel next, and we should expect more hot hatches like this new GT duo. The company is building a 10,000 sq ft test centre at Nürburgring at the cost of US$7.3 million, which will provide a stomping ground for the Korean carmaker to evaluate its new cars.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kalun on Jan 28, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Nice looker.
    This one is appropriate for Nurburgring tuned ride and handling. Beef up 278ps will be sweet!

Nice hot hatch. Compete with Focus ST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:26 pm

Come on people!!! Vote wisely!!! Then this car will be RM16,888 OTR because no more kroni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 27
      • Gegary on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:18 am

As much as we would like lower car prices, let’s not be disappointed if the car prices cannot be lowered immmediately. Let’s not jump ahead.

This is a long term game. All the damage has been done for FIFTY years. It will take a little while to get everything to normal and fair.

Let’s not forget the MORE important things like the economy, education, medical facilities, roads and public transport. No use if can buy cheap car, but cannot drive anywhere. Better if economy strong! Then you can afford whatever car you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • ben yap on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:28 am

how in the world u get the RM16,8888 pricing? pluck from the sky? come one, that’s even cheaper than a Kawasaki Ninja 250cc.

• joanna on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:30 am

Another govt supporter who love to provoke others with his pessimism attitude. Go play your teddy bear kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • BMW Fanboi on Jan 29, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Please la Joanna, 55 years already I cannot tahan liau. I plead with you all to vote wisely. Belum cuba belum tahu mah. How you know won’t be that price? Give the other side a chance also. Surely after voting wisely, it will be RM16,888. No more kroni, everything solved. Happy happy will we be…… but only if you vote wisely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • joanna on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:57 pm

BMW fanboi a truly hardcore govt supporter try to use sarcasm in his comments. Good luck kid.

• kucing on Apr 08, 2013 at 12:00 pm

in UK, its price is about 22 k pound.

• HYUNDAI FANBOI on Jan 29, 2013 at 5:25 pm

PLEASE LA.
          Are u the govt. supporter we all fear?

• kiah pro-pa on Jan 29, 2013 at 12:04 pm

my vote definitely goes to pakatan..and this car will be my pegi pasar one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Storm on Jan 29, 2013 at 12:47 pm

16,888?? Don’t be ridiculous…

• tokmoh on Jan 29, 2013 at 4:21 pm

€18,888 makes sense la, but MYR?! Don’t be stupiak

• LionelStephen on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Thank you, same mindset about voting wisely! But for the price to come to RM 16,888 OTR is a bit challenging. But definitely will be quite attractive low if all Malaysians vote wisely in the coming GE

• Be realistic, RM100K for this should be fair enough… at least for me.

• MycarMylife on Jan 29, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Before going to the Ring, come and test race with our R3 Satria ( Karamjit) in our rally first then I will believe.

• Damn this is 1 HHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOTTTTTTTTTT Hatch! In love at 1st sight..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • very impressive torque and hp figure for a 1.6 turbo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • crzSupercharger on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:33 pm

meh..my supercharged made in jepun world war II maniac crz can eat this kia alive, no need to cook/smoke/bbq, simply raw kimchi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 81
      • Sam lu on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:39 pm

cheh…my mother’s Scirocco R can smoke your junk crz anywhere anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
      • Kalun on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:59 pm

Come on! You are just making bad reputation on CRZ.
        *facepalm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
        • Very true, make those like me who like the CRZ, looks feel bad. Like GT-Rider is just making a bad rep on the mighty GTR.

• GT-Rider on Feb 09, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Why so butthurt? Just accept that yours can only smoke mine at parking lot

• WOW! Stunning! :D

Honest question – It’s KIA, is it reliable?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
    • in Europe, all KIA comes wt a 7 years warranty…no worries for them and over there KIA/Hyundai’s reputation for reliability have been good for past few years.

anyway in msia, we are still having the Japs mentality. Anyway, if i’m not mistaken…naza kia is giving all new kia’s 5 years warranty, am i right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • Sight on Jan 29, 2013 at 12:56 pm

You can have 10years warranty but if the car keeps giving me problem, I will rather have a reliable car with less number of years warranty than driving an unreliable car everywhere with many more years warranty..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Love it so much i made it my desktop wallpaper! :D

Yeap, i agree that we are still having the Japs mentality. Spare parts wise, is it easy/cheap to find one?

• venven81 on Jan 28, 2013 at 8:32 pm

the design of this car is definitely a OK but comes to the performance part, 206PS doing century sprint in 7.9s is way too high. how come? *puzzled*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Kalun on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Bare in mind, 200ps is similar to Toyota 86/BRZ

• yeah, but the power goes to the rear wheels and it’s five-tenth of a sec quicker, and as Top Gear says, all pub brags are won by the tenth of a second or something like that. Amazing thing is, there is this video, by I think Motor Trend or Road&Treck, showing the identical Subaru BRZ doing a FULL-SECOND QUICKER, by changing just the tires and do note, the 86 uses the Prius tires. This being Kia, is cheaper though. AND LOOKS AWESOME.

• look at the torque figures too, not just the hp…wt the supercharger which i’m guessing coming into play at low rev, the peak torque shud come at low rev too (ala vw 1.4tsi twin charger where the supercharger will start at low rev and the turbo will took over at high rev, translate wt peak torque all the way from low rev to high rev)

• Sight on Jan 29, 2013 at 1:01 pm

86 and BRZ is not a turbo charged engine..

• Impressive engine figures, but the acceleration isn’t quite the part yet. But than again, Kia is not known for their performance and driving pleasure. Onto it’s strongest part, The Looks on this can make the Golf Mk VII looks like the aging player that it is, Awesome design, especially that jewel quadruple LED.

But I read somewhere that it’ll cost at 23,000 in Britain, which puts it really close to the 25,000 undisputed champ, the 25,000 Golf GTI. I don’t know Kia has always been about cheaper than rivals….time will tell weather will it be as great as the European hard hitters, and weather it can play Football :) .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:37 pm

I don’t want the brainwashing Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • adam lee on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:40 pm

VOLKS GT..I.DEFINATELY OVER AFTER THIS COME.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • _xXx_ on Jan 28, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Pay peanut gets u monkey designer….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
  • Ken Teoh on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:30 pm

This is something seriously cool , can’t wait for it .

• PauKaya on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:26 pm

really interested to know how is its handling

• Maserati on Jan 28, 2013 at 11:40 pm

Another Korean rubbish….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
  • looking-Good on Jan 29, 2013 at 3:04 am

korean really got heart & passion..
    few years down the road, it may/would compete side by side with the now famous brand.

• I disagree, they are already going toe-to-toe with many establish brands in the States and Europe, they have arrived. The cee’d [Who Came up with that name?]restored some faith I have in Peter S that I’ve kind-of lost in the K9 and K5, which looks like a BMW 7-series and Dodge Dart photoshoped respectively.

• beatnik on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:52 am

This is a KIA that I wouldn’t mind driving..

• Time to replace Golf GTI… hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • well, KIA had move on…proton, u got the handling..now move on pls!!!

• true..proton should now stop their ‘handling by lotus’ campaign..nearly everybody knows that already..

pls focus on interior quality next..

• Anyway its poorly designed. Hey, don’t curse my grandmother, grandfather, mother and father OK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • No Is a great design car, simple and has an identity. But [poorly-design] I.ME , yeah I think my comment to Jilbieber or something like that in the KIA Rio actually made quite an impact . And take my advice and get an identity would you.

• Sam Loo's twin Sam Lee on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:35 am

Aesthetic design with no power whatsoever

and bad RV~

• It has more torque than your dinky Camry that’s for sure.

• I find it weird that Sam Loo’s twin has a different family name, what kind of mess up Family is that.
      Speaking of which, I don’t see him lately

• abahko on Jan 29, 2013 at 3:48 pm

its still KIA

• Sollehuddin Aziz on Jan 29, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Proton should be new “Satria” with 6-Speed manual, 1.6/1.8/2.0 Turbo engine. Really need to be serious if Proton want to be Global Car Manufacturer…They have Lotus, why can’t produce best “Driver’s Car”???

• Sollehuddin Aziz on Jan 29, 2013 at 4:18 pm

typo—
      Should be —> should build

• 4G63T DSM on Jan 29, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Not a big fan of Proton, but they had some gems in the past. The original GTI was pretty decent for a stock car and the current Neo, was a decent handling car but the very numb steering feel muddles it, and ruined by the lackluster campro.

I’m sure the next Neo will have a tuned up CFE. They have Lotus for chassis development only to be let down by the engine and interior department.

As for this KIA. More competition is never a bad thing for the consumers. The rear drive Hyundai coupe 2.0T was quite decent but suspension tuning is a step down from the european’s apparent black magic in getting both handling and ride comfort in the same paragraph.

More things interesting to come from KIA/Hyundai for sure. We can expect the same from these Koreans to constantly improve in each generation.

• einstein on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:19 pm

vote opposition can get cheap car hmmm… sounds legit to me. all hail pakatan! 458 come to papa!

• Liverscotter on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:28 am

Mazda 3 beat Kia Cee’d easily. Kia Cee’d design so ugly better buy Mazda 3