Hyundai i10 Colourz officially announced by HSDM

Hyundai_i10_Pink_Front_01

Hyundai-Sime Darby has officially announced the limited edition i10 Colourz, which we showed you here last week. The Colourz, available in both 1.1L and 1.25L guise, is all about the colours – choose from Lavender Pink, Passion Purple, Tangy Orange, Aquamarine Blue, Peach White, Ice Silver and Carbon Grey.

Paint aside, the i10 Colourz is enhanced with a front bumper garnish, a skid plate and new skirting. There’s also a set of newly designed alloy wheels.

Inside, if you pick the 1.25L, you’ll get leather seats and leather wrapped steering wheel. The seats come in two-tone colours – black and orange (for Tangy Orange and Ice Silver body colours) or black and red (Lavender Pink, Passion Purple, Aquamarine Blue, Peach White and Carbon Grey body colours) with matching stitching.

Other interior upgrades include a rear centre passenger headrest, a mirror fitted to the driver’s sun visor and an optional GPS upgrade for RM2,200. The i10 Colourz also gets a newly designed luggage under floor tray.

Hyundai_i10_Pink_Interior_07

Interestingly, there are some safety upgrades as well. This latest i10 receives eight-inch rear drum brakes in place of the previous seven-inch items, while a rear centre seatbelt with Emergency Locking Retractor (ELR) replaces the old static belt. The driver’s seatbelt has also been upgraded to an adjustable anchor type.

There’s more. The little Hyundai now has manual headlamp beam level adjustment as well as a pair of rear fog lamps. Instrument cluster brightness is now adjustable and deactivating the front passenger airbag is now possible with an on/off switch. Those with young children would be happy to know that ISOFIX child seat anchors are present.

This i10 Colourz 1.1L is priced at RM51,388, while the 1.25L will cost you RM56,000. The first 500 customers to place their booking will get one-year free insurance and road tax.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader on Jan 29, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Luckily warna-warni suitable for small car.

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 29, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Which would you buy at approximately the same price range? Just a show of hands please :

Click Like for – i10
      Click Dislike for – MyVI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 58
      • joanna on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:08 am

This time no sarcasm eh from this hardcore supporter of government’s oppressive auto policy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • yahooo on Jan 30, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Sarcasm??or plain sheer stupidity??
          I add the plain word there, sounds nicer hehehe

• Petrolhead on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:29 pm

I’d rather get the Mirage for 5 reasons:
      1) It looks better
      2) It is bigger
      3) It is much powerful
      4) It has a keyless entry with push start button
      5) Lastly it has a proper Mitsubishi badge on it, not some Inokom badge..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
  • bring in the new accent/verna please..i cant believe there is no news about the new accent/verna until now here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • darker marker on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:09 pm

girls would love the colours…..

I doubt guys would buy the car becoz of the choices of colours offered…

• Black Dog on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:06 pm

I would recommend girls buying pink or other girlie colours especially with this car.

Those smash-and-grab and other crooks will have a field day identifying their victims. I’ll let my daughter drive an old SUV, if possible!

• Black Dog on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:07 pm

I would not recommend girls buying pink or other girlie colours especially with this car.

Those smash-and-grab and other crooks will have a field day identifying their victims. I’ll let my daughter drive an old SUV or truck, if possible!

• tokmoh on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:30 am

Where got, those isolated case only. Our home minister say crime rate is low, PM also say we are safest country in Asia, so bersyukur! Balas balik budi setelah janji dicapati!

• Abuya on Jan 29, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Mana mamat I.ME tuh. Hah, keta ni sesuai untuk dia. Ukur baju di badan sendiri. Tak yah komen keta kat bawah tu, Lamborghini Gallardo. No money no talk. Thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • Sigh……….That’s why I hate this Malaysian is “It’s all about the money” attitude, it has almost become a sin to actually like a car that you cannot afford. Saya tak Komen keta kat bawah, Lamborghini Gallardo, kerana saya tidak ada apa untuk cakap.

People are different, I too find silly that some people can lust after signature football Jersey and golden bags with the initial LV. But that’s their messed-up mine, and since this is my messed-up mind, and my comment, I can use it however biased I want, as long as we (okay honestly I failed) try not to insult anyone.

• Abuya on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:21 am

Ok, sorry for all i ever said. Yeah, you right. I just believe that all car being develop by a bunch of people so-called engineers and R&D and…. of course only be proceed to production subject to approval by CEO and BOD. And they have a reason regarding their selection. So who are stupid right now.

To us, let me ask 10 people. Which food they like. Will same each other? No! Same goes to our comment about car, price, comfort and etc. And we have own reason for that. Again, who are stupid right now?

Everything have constrain. If we ask car manufacturer, most of them likely want Toyota quality, design by Ferrari, powerful engine like Rolls Royce, cheap like instant noodle and much2 more. But all that package is hard to come. So they have to work within their budget and resources to cater potential buyer and bring company profit.

• I really don’t see how this relate to your “no money no talk comment”. and I’am sorry when in the world did I ever relate you with the term ‘stupid’.

Yes, we all have our own preferences towards car, some like Hyundai for heir looks, some like Toyota for their easy maintenance cost. Some like Ferrari because it’s a well balance car, some like Lamborghini because it’s mad. and yes, same goes to our comment when it comes to cars, we have different opinion, and realizing this can you stop perusing me since the Toyota-BMW collab article (if you are the same person) and telling me that I praised too much for something I cannot afford. It’s my own messed-up mind, and I’am not insulting anyone, merely giving my opinion cuz I’m bored.

Everything have constrain, true, especially when it comes to purchases, but there should not be a constrain when it comes to liking a car, a person in a bicycle can still love a Pagani Zonda even though he could only afford a bicycle.

• limited edition, body kits, facelift bumpers/grille – thats what freaking malaysian manufacturers / assemblers like to do, and its not free – costing the consumers few thousands extra. why can’t they use their profits to subsidize the cost? or if indeed want the consumers to pay, then install some useful stuff, like additional airbags, isofix, etc.

• buy proton last on Jan 29, 2013 at 9:51 pm

This poor man’s mini cooper just gets better….

• powershot on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:14 am

the poor man’s mini cooper is the suzuki swift. i’m not sure what this is

• 4g63t dsm on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Poor man’s mini is the Kelisa.

Ticks all the right mini checkboxes. Small on the outside, big insides, economical and surprisingly spunky to drive.

• sudonano on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Guys a few corrections,

1. There is no leather on the steering wheel. Same as the Normal High Spec one.
    2. In addition to all these changes, the light controls and wiper controls have swapped locations, so it now follows the Continental style, which is lights on the left stalk and wipers on the right stalk.
    3. A chime that reminds you if the rear foglight/main headlights are left on with the driver door open and ignition off. This was not in the old normal model. I assume a key reminder chime is also now fitted in the car.

Checked out the car in the Glenmarie outlet while waiting for my i10 to be out from service. Pretty good deal for 56k, it nearly is at the level of the Myvi EZE Elegance 1.3. Just that the normal HU has no Bluetooth and no steering wheel controls.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • 4g63t dsm on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Wtf would they swap the indicator stalks for??!!

The “continentals” were just too lazy to redesign switches for RHD….

…and the first to jump into the silly wagon was proton.

• sudonano on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:35 am

I found it odd too. Unless Inokom got the contract to make the Europe bound cars? Cause prior to this, Inokom only made for Malaysia. Hyundai India made for India and the world. Probably cause the India plant might be maxed out, so they got Inokom to do it, and to streamline and cut costs, swap the sides since the Europe market for this is big?

• Sam Loo on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:12 pm

Sudonano…Im sadden to know that you bought i10 previously…should consider the resale value as Hyundai’s have low resalue value and expensive spare parts, in future go for Toyota’s, good customer service during vehicle servicing and high resale value. By now I bet u already learn your mistake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 41
    • sudonano on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:35 am

1. Fix your English. It is so powderful. Really. Use apostrophe when needed.
      2. Resale value. That’s a load of baloney. Buy a car as an asset is it? Of course a car is a liability. it will lose value. A 2012 Vios dugong retains 88.9% of its value(2012 going for 81k, from 92k ~ TRD spec), while a i10 retains 80.3% of its value.(42900 from 53k, also 2012 one)

• sudonano on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:36 am

I’d rather lose 8.6% of the cost on a safer car. Speaking of safety….

3. Safety. Toyotas sold in Malaysia do not comply to the ratings given in the NCAP. Camry in the US comes with 10 Airbags+VSC, Malaysia? only 4. On the other hand, the Euro NCAP tested i10, Tucson, Santa Fe, and Veloster have similar specs with the ones sold here. This proves that the Hyundais beat Toyota in the safety game. Even the Sonata and Elantra has similar safety features as the ones sold in USA. Vios? Is it even tested? For 90k for the TRD, I’d rather take a better handling, more powerful and safer Fiesta.

3. Spare parts? Toyota spare parts are not cheap either, unless you use those fake ones.

4. My Toyota, Thai made, also has its fair share of issues. 3 times suspension fluid leaking, leading to uneven tyre wear leading to skidding, but saved by VSC. CD changer busted, power folding mirror busted, beige colour interior on door plastics peeling off, Power folding mirror busted on one side, engine now noisier after 70000kms. Even my 80000km Santa Fe Diesel did not do that. I agree UMW knows how to repair a car better but its not that Toyota is perfect.

Plus, if you don’t know, this i10 is a fantastic handling car. Find me a supermini that can handle as good as this? Yaris? Nope. Don’t believe me? Go read the auto news by everyone, including Paul Tan.

• sudonano on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:37 am

Thus, I rest my case. Never regretted buying an i10. Will I buy another Hyundai? Yes, but not in Malaysia.

By the way, I never made any mistake, you did, that is you have no citations. Bad bad bad. How did you survive college and uni?

And also, the AA of UK rates the average depreciation to be about 10-40% at the end of the first year, so it is not too bad. http://www.theaa.com/motoring_advice/car-buyers-guide/cbg_depreciation.html

Sorry I had to break it into 3 parts, it was too long, so the server kept kicking back. :/

• joanna on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:14 am

This car is very cheap in other countries but when it comes to this Bolehland, the price will be very unacceptable..basic price around 25k only, after tax it skyrocketing to 50k..need to make 9 years loan just to pay the tax.
    Government hardcore supporters please dislike my comment. Thats your job right? Plainly supporting every damn policies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
    • sudonano on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:45 am

Agree. What to do. Make sure you put the cross mark the correct box on the paper in March ya! :D

• yahooo on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Sarcasm? Or plain sheer stupidity??

• dreaming of maserati on Jan 30, 2013 at 12:35 am

Sudonano…I’m happy to know that you bought i10 previously…should not consider the resale value as Hyundai’s currently have reasonable resale value and reasonably priced good quality spare parts, in future Don’t go for Toyota’s, poor customer service during vehicle servicing, long queue and long waiting hours like in immigration office and Toyota got high resale value is only a myth but you still are shown the hilux by used car dealers during trade in. By now I bet u already enjoy your ride.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • yup, go read the review from UK mag about this i10…very good rating amongst the mini/city cars. Most of them mentioned good handling & good to drive. I’m surprise indeed considering our Msian perspective regarding most korean cars.

• Haters will be haters, when the first I10 came out, I was sold on its cute, innocent looks. It’s not a Malaysian perspective but rather there is 2 significant group. The Korean lover and the Jap lover. Both are the most annoying ppl in town, they lock-on to the other’s liability and refuse to let go while failing to mention their own Achilles heel.

I like the Koreans for their effort and style, but driving pleasure and efficiency isn’t up to par with some cars yet. While I like the Japanese ownership-cost and reliability but It has lost the style that it once has, becoming more of a appliance.

• sudonano on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:22 am

You know I have been trying to say exactly what you have said, but somehow either Chrome/Safari or the server keeps pulling up an error that I cannot even comment. Hmm..

Yes I agree, Toyota is slow. So they do fix a problem, agree, but tell me, why does it take them from 7.30am to 5pm just to change oil and oil filter in a Camry? Hyundai 2 hours kautim. My good ol’ mechanic 1 hour kautim.

I love my i10. Really do. Though I wish this model came in last year. I prefer the leather seats over the normal fabric one. (Have to be very careful not to spill Sprite! :O)

• i still think the previous pre-Faceliift is better looking. And the Mirage is a better buy…..IMHO

• Longoi on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:24 am

wow !! fantastic car ! when come the offer price? hee..

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:58 am

wow! Got manually adjustable headlights! It’s amazing that some cars these days still miss that absolutely crucial feature (though the question is if Malaysians even use it… not used to it I guess).

• Review by Whatcar UK on the Mitsu Mirage

http://www.whatcar.com/car-reviews/mitsubishi/mirage-hatchback/summary/26164-5

The Mitsubishi Mirage is hard to recommend when the competition is as strong as it is.

Review by What Car UK on the i10

http://www.whatcar.com/car-reviews/hyundai/i10-hatchback/summary/25771-5

The Hyundai i10 is one of the best city cars out there, and it’s also one of the cheapest to buy and run. It doesn’t get much better that that for buyers on a budget.

Go Figure Guys

• based on whatcar review….btw i10 & mitsu mirage, the i10 is way better that the mirage. Hmm, based on above comment…most msian still have this Japs mentality while most ppl from developed nation (North american/europe) have move on…

• silver on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:04 pm

the only good thing about hyundai was its looks some might like it some might hate it but the i10 what went wrong with the designers. I hink most ppl would think of this car as ugly..

• hoyei on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:07 pm

ooh i regret bought i10 early bcoz i love this so much. love i10 :)