SPIED: Renault Megane RS 265, Red Bull RB7 in town

meg-spy-01

Something new is in town, and it was snapped by reader David Foo in PJ recently. These pics show two units of the Renault Megane RS turning into what looks like TC Euro Cars’ PJ headquarters. Plenty to spot here, but we should focus on the black car.

The yellow contrasting paint on the rear diffuser and wing mirrors, plus a Red Bull Racing sticker on the lower half of the front door marks it out as the limited edition Renault Megane RS Red Bull Racing RB7. Besides those already pointed out, the RB7 also gets a chequered-flag pattern decal on the roof and a unique gear knob. Since it’s a limited edition, you’ll get a numbered plaque too.

The F1-themed RB7 is based on the latest Megane RS 265 Cup, which as its name denotes, makes 265 PS, 15 horses more than the RS 250. At 360 Nm, max torque is also 20 Nm up on the RS 250. However, the extra 15 ponies only come out to play when one selects Sport mode, which deactivates the new Stop&Start system.

Speaking of the regular Megane RS 265 Cup, we could be already looking at it. The wheels on the yellow car in the pics are different from what’s on the RS 250. Launch is imminent.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• joanna on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:17 am

If proton can make a car like this.. Meh, jaguh kampung. Proton worshippers, please dislike my comment. Because of this company, malaysians need to pay exorbitant price & taxes for cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
    • BMW Fanboi on Jan 29, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Yes, totally agree with Joanna on this one. Please vote wisely so I can buy this car at RM2,888. You belum ubah, belum tahu mah. Without kroni, sure RM2,888. Please vote wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • yahooooo on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Hehehe i dislike ur comment together with ur typo partner joanna,, hehehehe belum cuba belum tau?? we all tau oredy the family cronism, nepotisme practiced by all pakatan top leader, my vote goes to barisan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
      • yahooo on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Mehh, u sure ka???

• joanna on Jan 29, 2013 at 11:51 pm

Sarcasm? Or a sheer stupidity?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:06 am

Wrong. Proton might very well have been introduced as a scapegoat for insane taxes. Keep in mind that Proton is taxed the same as every other ASEAN produced car, like for example the Toyota Vios. I repeat: Same taxes. The Preve CFE costs like 37k to produce, the rest of the price is _tax_.

The one to blame is the government, for whom the taxes are a huge income they can’t do without (if they would do without, prepare to lose the affordable health care and other benefits… and prepare to see some poor politicians).

• rocco rocco on Jan 29, 2013 at 1:27 pm

If i not mistaken, the RS265 got black colour door handle for all colour option and 6 DRL LED Bulb per side (3 Bulp for RS250). Love this car, even the new batch of Renault production line-up already have big and bold Renault Logo in front of the hood, the Megane still used the same old size.

• Kalun on Jan 29, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Renault Megane RS 265.
    Wait! Let me guess the horsepower of the car. Is it 265 hp?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Are Renault Megane RS and VW Scirocco considered as sports car or just a normal coupe?

• rocco rocco on Jan 29, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Indeed it was 265bhp. this model that currently hold a record of fastest front wheel drive production car at the nurburgring.

• PauKaya on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:10 pm

no price yet?

• llgriver on Jan 29, 2013 at 7:34 pm

beautiful..but megane F1 team R26 is still my favorite of all time

• Sam Loo Original on Jan 29, 2013 at 10:24 pm

No second hand value like other french car. Good for my 2nd hand business.

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:11 am

Nice TCEAS… now could you PLEASE bring in the _AFFORDABLE_ Renaults? You know, that is what the company is known for. Good, safe and affordable cars. The RS line is just a toy for them, something to show off and to brag with. Perhaps create desire for their REGULAR cars.

And don’t tell me you don’t want to hurt the Nissan sales. That’s like saying Zonda would hurt Rolls Royce sales. I doubt it, they are going after very different markets. People who would buy a Clio would probably never even think about getting an Almera. They’d be thinking about the Polo, Fiesta and perhaps Rio. Who would consider getting an Almera would probably also be looking at Vios and City.

Do it, before you close down all the existing Renault SC because you haven’t brought in enough cars to keep them alive!

• zainal abidin on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:44 am

Believe me these Megane RS are fantastic performance cars. Last Sunday we went from JB to Mersing. Cornering and bumpy roads and these Meganes’ with Singapore plates,about 6 of them just ‘flew by’ all Malaysian cars. For those who can afford these cars lucky you. You don’t need a Ferrari with these Meganes’ around.

• seh hoong on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:06 pm

I was told by Renault (TC Eurocars) salesman the ‘regular’ Megane RS265 cup will retail at RM240,888