DRIVEN: Kia Rio 1.4 SX – third-gen UB previewed

DSC_7779a

Some cars stick in the mind long after the fact. This one happens to be one of them, but for another reason, which I’ll get to later. But first, say hello to the third-generation Kia Rio hatch, which will be making its official debut later tonight.

The B-segment offering has been spotted enough times, on the road as well as at the COTY2U Autoshow 2012, and its premiere tonight is also no surprise, the fact being made known last week. It’s also known that the UB, which was unveiled in Geneva in 2011, will make its way here in five-door hatch form.

It has grown in terms of size – the new Rio measures in at 4,045 mm long, an increase of 20 mm over the previous gen. It’s also wider at 1,720 mm, up by 25 mm, and the wheelbase has been increased by 70 mm to 2,570 mm. The only reduction is with height, by 15 mm over the older car, at 1,470 mm. As for boot space, there’s 288 litres available for storage.

DSC_7737a

Powering the Rio is a 1.4 litre MPI Gamma mill, and the DOHC with CVVT unit is good for 109 PS at 6,300 rpm and 137 Nm at 4,200 rpm. The G4FA is paired to a four-speed automatic, replete with what Kia calls a ‘manumatic’ manual shift function.

It’ll be available in two trim levels, the EX and SX, and common to both is a good spread of kit. Standard equipment includes LED daytime running lights, electric folding wing mirrors with LED side repeaters, static bending lights, tilt/telescopic steering as well as an Akarmys-enhanced six-speaker audio system with MP3 and aux.

There’s also Bluetooth connectivity, a leather-wrapped steering with audio controls, a rear spoiler, alloy pedals, 60:40 split folding rear seats and rear fog lamps. Elsewhere, the car features disc brakes all-around and EPS.

DSC_7722a

As for safety, the Rio is certainly comprehensively equipped, with Isofix mountings, six airbags (front, front side, front/rear curtain), electronic stability control, ABS/EBD, TCS, brake assist and Vehicle Stability Management (VSM) on the list.

Befitting its higher specification, the SX adds on front fog lamps, a sunroof, a Supervision cluster instrument panel, full auto air-conditioner with an integrated cluster ioniser as well as a Smart Key system with push-start ignition, the EX making do with a standard keyed ignition. The SX also gets five-spoke 17-inch alloys with 205/45 series tyres, while the EX is clad with five twin-spoke 16-inch units and 195/55 rubbers.

Ahead of the car’s launch, there was a preview drive for it two weeks ago. A simple enough outing, involving a day drive out to the Golden Palm Tree Resort in Sepang and back. At this juncture, I have to apologise for the rather small batch of photos (none of the engine and rear seat), as well as limited driving notes about the car, but we’ll get to the reason why this is so in a bit.

DSC_7716a

Nothing much to add as far as looks go, except to say that the UB is a pretty sharp looker in the metal; Kia is aiming its sights at the likes of the Ford Fiesta and Suzuki Swift with this one, and in its SX guise, the Rio should win many new friends based on its flash. It’s certainly eye-catching, especially with those 17-inchers and clad in Electronic Blue.

The cheer continues on to the interior. The layout of the dash bears Teutonic styling hints, which will appeal to those into such fashion, and the plastics are good to the sight, if a little less so to the touch.

Still, the contact points are very well done, the feel of the steering, switchgear and gearshift adding a sense of premium to things. The rear is an acceptably comfortable place to be in; despite reduced leg and shoulder room than previously, space perception is good, aided by improved headroom (45 mm up) and additional distance between first and second row seats. The seats themselves could be a bit firmer though.

DSC_7760a

On to the driving dynamics. In this regard, the Rio doesn’t veer too much away from its ilk, but what’s on should be good enough for most buyers. Korean cars aren’t really renowned for their outright handling in base form, and so when pushed, the Rio’s suspension shows up its soft legs, all the more evident as a rear seat passenger.

Nonetheless, the assisting electronics keep things honest – I only managed to provoke the car once inside a turn, and the Rio kept its composure ably enough, and it even felt impressive doing so. Driven in more sedate fashion, the car does very well.

Pace-wise, the Gamma mill isn’t racy, and lags a little off the blocks, but once it gets going the response picks up. It also sounds zingy when pushed, but otherwise noise and vibration levels on the whole are good. The ride is a bit on the firm side with the 17s, but not jarring. Presumably, the EX and its 16s would be better in this regard, but I never got to it, because a golf buggy put paid to everything.

DSC_7781a

Ah yes, a golf buggy. Arriving at the resort and lunch, the cars were being lined up, so I decided to take the opportunity to take more photos. As I was snapping away, a combination of ill-luck saw one of the resort’s buggies accelerating into me, the driver blissfully unaware that my bulk was in his path. The photo just above was taken seconds before the eventful event.

I’ll save the details of that fateful encounter for another time and place, but the short of it is that having a buggy run you down and then push you along isn’t a very pleasant experience, as you can probably surmise. That poleaxe job pretty much ended the drive for me, as well as for my camera. The term ‘suffering for your art’ has never sounded more apt. Thankfully, it didn’t turn out to be ‘dying’.

Hopefully, we’ll have a more thorough look at the car sometime soon, and issue a more complete report on it. I might even be the one to have that go, you never know. I mean, the Rio and I are interminably intertwined – I’ll certainly never forget her or that day. In any case, I’m a sucker for punishment. That I’m heading out the door after this to cover the launch says it all.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Grant on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:55 pm

This car is very handsome. Wow!!
    Well done Peter Schreyer!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 14
    • hooo….i wonder how proton to price their hatch…from current preve sedan price the hatch will be price around rio price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 10
    • it’s 12km/L in city use.

• MycarMylife on Jan 31, 2013 at 3:11 pm

Hyundai and KIA have been sued in the states for underdeclaring their fuel consumption figures to show its fuel efficiency .
        I doubt we in MY can be accorded this kind of justice ???

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:06 am

Joanna, going to vote wisely or not? If you don’t vote wisely, this is the car for you :)

• Black Dog on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Anthony, is that the new reg plate series for Wilayah? Starts with ‘W’ and the ‘A’ at the back?

• Paul Tan on Jan 31, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Those are trade plates. Test drive plates for unregistered cars.

• Natasha on Jun 14, 2013 at 10:55 am

the man has ‘transformed’ Kia. before he came in, no one would look at a Kia car let alone buy it but since his arrival, things have changed. their designs are better than the japs’. quality wise….still early to tell though, even with the Forte.

• Justin on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Let the price do the talking! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • ...Bieber on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:23 pm

If the price does all the talking, the Preve and Myvi win it hands down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • If the price does the talking, than Preve and Myvi already won.

PS: I’ve wrote 3 comments 3 hours ago and all are still under moderation…..sigh, gotta spend less time here then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • naza, hope that u improve ur CS and spare part availability with every new car launched
    dont just sell car

one thing prevent me to consider this car is due to the reputation of naza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • fr0sti3 on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:19 pm

W0000T FIRST!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 86
  • Manoq on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Habis la Honda Jazz lepas ni. It will either be Fiesta or Rio. For more prestige, the market would go for Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 27
    • Kalun on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Jazz do feel outdated already. But people still choose Jazz because of it’s hybrid powertrain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
      • True….The hybrid. But as a Honda supporter, the CKD is truly disappointing. In the UK, the 5-speed manual Jazz is one of the few cars Top Gear actually gave a full score 20/20. The new one will be out around Q4 this year.

• Honda jazz Hybrid CBU was a great car, 6 airbags , load of features and peddle shift. The CKD, well Is the complete opposite. But than again the jazz is an aging model, there will be a new one coming end of this year. The normal Jazz is still a great car, and as someone who drives the near identifical Honda City, its has a great driving dynamics and smooth highway cruiser, brakes are the great(okay I have’t driven conti yet).

The problem, price. But it’s a CBU, but I’ve sat in polo and fiesta, and both have a smaller interior space than the jazz, and the polo is more expensive and has less features, not to mention it has a rather dull interior design compared with the jazz, better quality though. The reason there is so little jazz on the road it’s because of its sedan sibling, the city….. Cheaper, still good looking and near similar price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • alldisc on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:24 pm

and the fact that the Jazz has a really large cabin in its segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Honda jazz Hybrid CBU was a great car, 6 airbags , load of features and peddle shift. The CKD, well Is the complete opposite. But than again the jazz is an aging model, there will be a new one coming end of this year. The normal Jazz is still a great car, and as someone who drives the near identifical Honda City, its has a great driving dynamics and smooth highway cruiser, brakes are the great(okay I have’t driven conti yet).
      The problem, price. But it’s a CBU, but I’ve sat in polo and fiesta, and both have a smaller interior space than the jazz, and the polo is more expensive and has less features, not to mention it has a rather dull interior design compared with the jazz, better quality though. The reason there is so little jazz on the road it’s because of its sedan sibling, the city….. Cheaper, still good looking and near similar price.

• VW interior is all about solid and classic yet simple design but not too much or over done …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Mozilla Chrome on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:26 am

Dont forget about Suzuki Swift..it’s still good even introduced late here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • I’ve always said Kia is better looking than most of the competition, and this no exception. Awesome design in and out and the cheapest car with LED DRL, though there are still things that can be perfected, the C-pillar is kinda weird looking and the Air-cond vents screams Civic EK[coupled with that dashboard arrangement]

It won’t really pleased the boy racer in me, especially with the similar priced Suzuki Swift around. But this is not a sporty car, and with specs and features like that, it more than compensate the laggy ride. 6 Airbags and all-round disc…..Awesome!. But the question is, is it better than a Fiesta? At around 7k premium, the Fiesta is really the benchmark, but lets down with small sized and small windows (lotta blind spots!!).

BTW Anthony, how is the acceleration of this car, compared to the bread and butter Vios or the Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Hybrid fan on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:00 am

Honestly I don’t think we need the LED DRL after all. Malaysia is a hot country n we receive much light everyday unlike certain countries with gloomy climate. Hence having d lights on everytime we take d car for a drive may waste d battery energy tho not much, but still.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
      • I like DRL, they look classy if don right. And when they are at your blind spot, I find I’ve noticed cars with DRL better. So it’s also a safety feature. There are few problems with the Rio that I’ve yet to sort out, the C-pillar looks big and the window looked small. I’ve sat in a Fiesta Hatch. The problem with that car was it’s blind spot, could’t see much out rear, and the space was…..small. I don’t know how big this car is or weather it has the same difficulty to view out, but I’ll be at the Curve tomorrow where the launch is……I think

• Kalun on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:41 am

DRL do needed when there is sunlight glare. Sometimes, can’t see upcoming car on the road when their lights not on.
        Nearly knock one last time.
        That’s why I switch on my lights after 6 pm. (during sunset)

• Vader on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:36 am

Do you know what DRL stand for, is daytime running light, it mean the light is purposely turn on during daytime. It is nothing related whether our country receive more or less light averagely per day.

• hoi protong on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:31 pm

preve mana?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
  • Maserati on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 162
    • either u blind or what,im not a big fan of kia,but do admit,interior looks premium for a b segment car..i think a bit better than fiesta,outdated jazz..well..i guess u just a jap fan boy and Korean haters~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Masakroti on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Yo bro Maserati.. Long time no see you bashing Korean Car.. Where are your partner, Sam Loo and Hyundai De La Junk?? Wow, it nice to see you got low rating comment.. Why dont you try to design your own car, the interior, exterior, as well as the engine also.. I want to see how much you can sell it…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
    • David D on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:25 am

Haha, can’t sell well? I went to take a look at it before the launch yesterday, and guess what? The first 400 units have been accounted for, and i’ll need to wait at least 3 months to get one. Don’t believe me? Go to the Kia dealership in Bandar Sunway and the sales manager will tell you so.

Secondly, you know bloody nuts, as this car hasn’t even been driven by us, the normal public, and you come out like some goddamn psychic. Dude, your opinion is nothing but crap, judging by the downgrades to your comment. It’s pretty good for what it is already, for heavens sake, and credit is given where its due.

So, if you don’t have solid proof of this Rio being lousy, get lost or we’ll come back mashing your comments to kingdom come. Stupid, pathetic guy who thinks just because he’s got two Mercs in his driveway and tries to act stupid here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • Wow the lambasting is serious. 400 units accounted for, That’s the same story with Fiesta and Elantra when they were launch, and they are doing fine. I won’t say much until I’ve seen the product but most ppl I know usually avoids buying any cars until at least year after its launch, just to get some initial customer feedback.

• einstein on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:14 am

fuiyooooooo! mare le nie..

• What? 4-Speed Auto? Definitely the engine will scream at high speed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 61
    • alldisc on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:28 pm

all 4 speed automatics or 5 speeder, or 6 speed, or 7 speed and 8 speed automatic gearboxes has a drive ratio called overdrive. for 4 & 5 speed auto, its the last gear. for 6,7 and 8 speed auto, normally the last 2 gears.

so dont worry, car manufacturers are a lot smarter than you think and you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
      • Kimi Raikkonen on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:54 am

Alldisc: You sir, need to be refreshed. An overdrive is just a fancy name for the top gear of a car.

A 4-speed auto still has ONLY 4 speeds. The 4th gear is the overdrive itself and what it means is that the maximum speed of the car is attainable in 3rd gear. Although cruising can be done in 4th. Now, how is that more fuel efficient than a 5, 6 or 7 speeder?

I have to agree with Sam, the engine will scream at high speeds. Having driven a Myvi for the past 5 years, I am sufficiently irritated that I do not have a 5th gear as overdrive. So, I am stuck with a 3+1 gear. Not a true 4-speeder.

Frustrated.

• buapler on Oct 25, 2013 at 1:15 am

bro, “overdrive” means the ratio of the gear is less than 1:1 i.e. 0.8xx or 0.7xx. a 4-speed gearbox has the top gear as overdrive, so does any other gearboxes, except E36 BMW manual transmission which had a direct 1:1 fifth gear. 5- and 6-speed gearboxes gain in the sense that they have CLOSER ratios which gives a more linear and stronger acceleration. For someone calling himself Kimi Raikkonen, your surely don’t know nuts about gear ratios, much less the car as a whole. GET YOUR FACTS RIGHT BEFORE OPENING YOUR MOUTH

• previous version of camry also got 4speed..but y no fuss?only happen if its kia or hyundai is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • rally_fan on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:36 pm

looks like a contendor.. btw.. your last shot before the buggy ran i down looks good.

• Anthony, hope you are OK with no injury. Take care buddy. God bless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • Sorry, I did’t read the part where you got knocked by a buggy. Hope you are well and whatever injuries, may it heal soon.
      To Kent: You restored some humanity in the PT comment section, this is no sarcasm, Thank you.

• Extremist on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Probably the cheapest car in Malaysia which offers stability control?

Regardless of the car’s segment, currently the cheapest one is Proton Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • anbaDSP on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:55 pm

HABIS LA PREEVE HATCHBACK…LOOK AT THIS CAR DESIGN…..WHY MALAYSIA CANT PRODUCE THIS KIND OF MODEL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • dirtyoldmen on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:47 am

Q: WHY MALAYSIA CANT PRODUCE THIS KIND OF MODEL…
      A: BECAUSE HEROES LIKE YOURSELF ARE NOT RUNNING PROTON

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • King Cobra on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:03 pm

Well,will book a test drive soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • 1.4 EX RM 73,888 (OTR)
    1.4 SX RM 79,888 (OTR)

For me , sad figure … Nothing to Surprise …

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • Lets see how much the price is..If it is more than 80k, then eat my shit. 1.4L should be less than 70k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Lose on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:22 pm

hoi, this car no RV, cannot buy cannot buy, need to save money for my uncle pants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
  • artworks on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:23 pm

109hp? output is over-rated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Its RM73,888 for the 1.4 EX and RM79,888 for the 1.4 SX in Peninsular Malaysia .. Worth it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • kiah pro-pa on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:26 pm

17 inch in 1.4 car?the rims must be very-very light then!good job nazak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Hmmmm….i wonder what happened to those Kia haters??

• nasurudin on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Koreans engine just cannot tahan our climate. and the fuel consumption is horrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 51
  • summersky on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:50 pm

Give us 6 speed la pls! 4 speed outdated already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • omg_why? on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:13 pm

Why are the wipers on the left and the lights on the right?!?! Kia too lazy to swap them for RHD markets?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • omg_why? on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:16 pm

oops terbalik

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:36 pm

Different area, different style. You get used to it. Besides, I see the wipers on the right and the lights on the left, as is typical for contis…

• Very tired after work.Cannot go to the launch event at The Curve MD.BTw it is a good car but only 4 speed auto…

• Beng Alex Chan on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:21 pm

Yes that is.This is we call Korean quality.Unlike those junk fugly low quality vios almera city.If you are smart,u will definitely choose this Kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 33
  • sudonano on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Ouch. Buggy running you and your camera down sounds nasty. Looks like you will need to get your lens realigned. Hope you are okay.

• Overpriced and under spec, engine and gears wise. Would opt for a Fiesta anytime at that pricing. Especially the face lifted version which is coming soon!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 19
  • not-a-camry on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:41 pm

Hey Camry… look here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • bystander on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Really a good looker in flesh, the lights are crazy…I’m so tempted to booking 1, but i did expected the pricing closer to 75k….

• dodgeviper88 on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:54 pm

really impressed with the static bending lights. don’t think others in this segment has this feature.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Malcolm Lim on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Yep..not sure if there’s any jap car in malaysia that has that kind of tech yet?

For those who want to know more about static bending lights (it’s a safety feature BTW):

http://kia-buzz.com/all-new-optima%E2%80%99s-lamp-system-for-enhanced-safety-and-design/

• rickyll on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:57 pm

A good designed car with all the safety features one would hope to get. But the prices are still a bit on the high side considering the Forte EX costs around 80K. I bought a Forte SX three years ago which is still running like new even after clocked in 75 kilometres. My two complaints about the Forte are the sluggish pick up and the noisy 17 inch low profil tyres. By the way, the Gamma engine is aged, Kia should upgrade the powertrain. I may get one for my daughter, this time around I would definitely opt for the EX model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Mulyadir Fitri on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Except for the 4AT, everything about this car is exceptional. But then again 4AT is not bad if they can keep the FC in check. 6 airbags and stability control even on the basic spec car? The people’s car maker title should go to them. Will go for a test drive once it’s available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Bongcs on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:14 pm

I wonder how much will the Preve Hatachback price at ?

• Grant on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Overpriced as usual

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
      • kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:57 pm

What? You want Merc S class for Toyota Vios money? A C segment car, for less than B segment money, and that with the same tax rate as competitors produced in Thailand and Indonesia get? Proton does not have any tax advantage over cars fully produced in ASEAN countries. NONE. Proton, Perodua, Toyota, same tax rates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • Grant on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:19 am

Get your facts right. Proton DOES have tax advantage over cars produced in ASEAN. Malaysia is paying a settlement every year to ASEAN for not fully opening its markets to ASEAN built cars because its protecting Proton and it supplier base.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:24 pm

Sorry to hear what happened during the drive dude… so long as you’re manbags aren’t unharmed!

• Limsze on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Too expensive… Whats the price compare to neighbouring countries? Why la must be that expensive. Come to think of it, all good cars is expensive in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • ghost rider on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:42 pm

What?? No manual?? If manual about 60+ then I would have considered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • kiah pro-pa on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:45 pm

looks like the k3 will be price above 90k..and the 2.0 must be over 100k..oh my..the price for koreans getting higher and higher and one day will level with the japs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Not bad for the price, but I don’t understand how people say it is good looking. It is not hideous, I give you that. But the rear is stolen from old Seats. Front is just weird and overdesigned.

The “I want to be a BMW, but they’d sue me out of existence” “tiger” nose doesn’t help either. (Skoda does the same thing, just that they only have the upper part of the nose. Are designers running out of ideas?!).

I can list many better looking B segment cars.

Alfa MiTo. (147 too, but that one is out of production).
    Renault Clio IV.
    Skoda Fabia.
    Ford Fiesta (have to see the facelift in the flesh… so far I’m not impressed).
    Fiat 500.
    Opel Adam.
    Opel Corsa.
    Citroen DS3.
    Fiat Punto.
    VW Polo.
    Honda Jazz.
    Maybe even the Honda City.

Somehow the Kia is trying too hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
    • everything was stolen..even the round tyre (sarcasm)..

we live in a world where we influence each other..u so original ka? grow up la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • My comment is BACK….yay(forever alone)
      Anyways, I like reading your comments kadajawi. They are constructive and makes sense. But anyways I do agree that the rear end does look familiar, and the dashboard is a modernize Civic ES. But there are alot of cars that you listed that are a) not on sale and b)way off the price range.

And “Maybe Honda City”? Well is your opinion. I like the city and find it to be sporty looking for the price you’re paying, admittedly that it has wheels too small for its body and the roofline is too high. But the simple design makes it quite a looker(in Malaysian roads). simplistic and correct proportion. Not as well spec or handsome as some Koreans, not as easy on the cost of ownership as a Vios, not as good quality as the Fiesta or Polo, but the correct balanced of all. And since my dad practice car pooling these days, I get to use it more over the Saga for my daily commute.

And since I’ve just criticize on some aspect of the Kia, and brag about the Honda. I’am expecting this to be heavily disliked, but is worth replying it to you……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • 2 words.. ford fiesta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
  • obsever on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:23 pm

well.. korean is slowly capturing with its design and specs. They aiming be level as jap cars. Wait and see when ppl started to accept the car and slowly price will accepted as well. Price will comparable with quality. DOn’t surprise in 5 years time, korean car will be same level as jap, then again they will tried to go in prestige market challenging those high luxury car. You see how ppl started to accept samsung brand in the electronics products.
    But pitty our Proton, the market is just too strong for them.
    If Kia can really invest little money on service and support. I bet they will be very welcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Mathias on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:25 pm

That is definitely a car I would buy if i happen to live in Malaysia.

Finally a car that includes all the safety features I expect to find in a new car. The buyers should indorse the fact that Kia is not reducing the safety features for the ASEAN-market as the others carmakers do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • gkj76jk on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:45 am

I would call a reverse camera a safety feature, having gotten used to the one in the Forte, but sadly this little bro doesn’t have one.

• with 466,826 units sold totally will kick jazz , swift, fiesta and preve..:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • curse the government for the ridiculous price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • gkj76jk on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:48 am

Don’t just curse, get yourself & your buddies to the polling station and kick the asses out next month!

• nighttrain on Jan 30, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Dang! I was hoping for the new KIA Forte to be under 80K.. No chance in hell then.

• dreaming of maserati on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:26 am

is this CBU or CKD?

• Maserati on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:47 am

David D,hahahaha..typical crap story i hear from salesman whenever a new car is launch.OH,first batch already sold out,400++ over bookings already,have to wait 3 months to get ur car.

Always the same old story.U wait lah,after 6 months,they give 10k discount cuz cannot sell.So overpriced for a KIA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
    • David D on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Stupid isn’t the best word to describe you. Ignorant and pathetic is best. I said so because i HAVE SEEN THE SALES MANAGER IN BANDAR SUNWAY MYSELF, and clearly saw the waiting list, confirmed or not confirmed. First batch is almost accounted for, whereas you’re still here, still trying to flame a fire out or nothing.

Discounts? All car dealers are offering some sort of a discount now, but not Rios, Civics or Almeras. New products, limited stock, high demand. That tells us something.

And the car not selling well? Oh, your rubbish cars like Fiesta or Forte are selling way better than your pathetic mentality might think. Nowhere near the big Jap brands, but definitely an improvement nonetheless. Don’t get me wrong here, as personally, the Honda Jazz is a fantastic car as well, but the spec list and the higher list price, considering its locally assembled makes me squirm at dissappointment.

At last, as a person who drives Jap and Korean makes on a daily basis, i would say that are both on par. Deal with that, and if you wanna fight back, i would safely say, you are losing a battle among us rational commentators against ignorant bastards like you, who deserve a big smack to the face for being such a bloody childish adult.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 60
  • Dr Advisor on Jan 31, 2013 at 8:48 am

Kia Success Story So Far
    1. I’m very proud of KIA success story. Looking at this new Rio proves that cheap compact car can be so nicely designed. To claim that cheap car must be ugly is a myth. It is a far cry from the KIA that you used to know in late 90s and early 2000s. Lightyears of difference. It’s even surprising that KIA able to turn around its fortune and design prowess in less than half a decade.

2. I still remember how VW chairman in one of the European carshow stepped inside the new Hyundai (KIA twin) and tried the steering telescopic mechanism which is seemless to adjust and shouted at his chief engineer how Koreans able to designed it while they themselves and BMW, Mercedes unable to do it. Looks like the Korea education system finally outsmart the Germans, eh?

3. I wondered why we failed to emulate the Korean engineering prowess despite the Look East Policy being implement for well over 20 years sending our students to Japan, South Korea and still we lack good engineers everywhere. Maybe we should imposed stricter rule for students that used oversea scholarships from migrated until they reached 65 years old lah.

4. Speaking about this new Rio, yes the car is very cheap actually far less than that RM73k price announced. It should be priced RM10-15k lower. However, MITI decided to approve Rio’s higher price than Preve, but it’s all understandable. MITI policy is always to protect Proton and ensure other brands more expensive regardless the size segment.

5. NAZA will always make money anyway, even if the Rio price is lower. But they couldn’t complaint much if the price is higher which is more profit margins for them too. I think they’ll sell more new Rio than Preve. The fact that Proton being late to bring Preve Hatch got only themselves to blame while NAZA snatching much earlier Rio sales. Early bird catches the worm. In the end it is Proton screwed Proton. HE HE HE HE HE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • MITI supporter on Jan 31, 2013 at 11:35 am

must listen to MITI maaa… no listen i take mic from you!
      don’t want to listen what are you doing here, go to venezuela laaaa..

• nazana on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:39 pm

If Naza gonna make money even if Rio price lower, then why on earth they give us this under-spec Rio when they can just put a full-spec Rio and price it higher then Preve? Its obvious Naza is also Greedy

• CarDude on Jan 31, 2013 at 12:01 pm

my fav part of the review is the Buggy run down.
    Get well soon.

• Hippo on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Don’t be like that la dude. The writter got knocked down by a buggy and his expensive camera gone.

Unforgettable but in a unfortunate way. Sorry friend, hope you are fine and continue giving us many more car reviews. Next time make sure the golfers know what is going on.

• Sorry to hear about the accident. Hope the buggy wasn’t damaged! Hahaha…Seriously, hope you are OK. This Rio is really quite a looker, unlike the previous generation. Another round of applause for Peter Schreyer!

• gmorque on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:07 pm

belt driven or chain driven?

• buy proton last on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:06 am

Yaaaa! Keep bashing each other’s comment for god’s sake…i just went to see the real thing….test drove it….n guess what….just put down my deposit. If the fussy, quality-conscious europeans n americans hv very little complaints abt this car why should i listen to the bashers here who speak nuthin but craps n never driven one yet!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • any customer feedback/complaint after it launch since Feb 2013

• Went to check out this Rio when I was shopping for my first car in Saudi. The model is offered on 3 options, the basic one starts from SAR44k with steel rim, mid option from SAR50k (the same EX model) and full option is SAR55k (SX model). I believe you can calculate on your own the RM equivalent. There is no tax here. However all cars are offered with 1.4 liter only, I was hoping to see at least the full option with 1.6 and 6 speed.

The sedan is also offered in Saudi and price difference is only SAR1k extra for sedan for all 3 options. Being a family man decided for sedan until my wife stepped in..never ever bring your wife for car shopping coz you ended with something else…

In my case I ended up buying the new 2014 K3 Cerato (Forte in MY) 1.6 with 6 speed auto. Yes 2014 model is already available in Saudi for Kia and in fact Mazda 6 2014 is available too. It is a very handsome car compared the current Naza Forte. Price? Went for basic which is ok for me at SAR57k. In case for Rio and Cerato here only full options will have ABS but at least driver’s airbag is standard. Should be getting mine by next Thurday.

And price for basic K5 Optima? SAR65k only…mid option K3 2013 model is SAR64k. By the way the financing rate is only 2% flat per year….

• the car is good but what about after sales service and spare part availability?

• myvi owner on May 19, 2013 at 12:32 am

Any Rio owner wanna share their review / experience so far? Besides Rio, im looking at Peugeot 208 too..

• I am currently driving one Kia Rio SX model. So far the car is good. Feel like drivin a continental car while on the road. Only downside is less pick up power when go up the slope. Thinking of changing to 16 inch rims instaed of 17″ as the car is only 1400 cc. I previously driving a myvi too. :)

• Catherine on Mar 19, 2015 at 3:42 pm

Have been driving the EX version for a year now. No complains. 9.9L/100 km. Combine driving in the city. Uphill and downhill daily, daily jams as well. I always drive according to the speedlimits. Perhaps I am no speed demon so I am fine with the KIA RIO 1.4EX My regular speed is between 80-100.