Mazda 6 estimated price list released by Bermaz

155005_10152482859380195_1421613341_n

An estimated price list for the yet-to-launch Mazda 6 has been released by Bermaz, stating prices of RM160k for the 2.0 sedan, RM188k for the 2.5 sedan and RM192k for the 2.5 Touring estate.

There seem to be some omissions in standard equipment versus that in the extensive kit list we showed you earlier – traction control, DSC and the i-Activsense safety package are among those not mentioned here. Whether or not this is an oversight will be revealed soon.

We’ve driven the new Mazda 6 already, so stay tuned for the report.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Davinnci on Jan 30, 2013 at 2:39 pm

A good car with multiple gadgets!

• Officially replacing the Optima K5 as my favorite D-segment saloon. Although I admit 180k is rather steep for the 2.5 version, but is the one to go for the I-ELOOP braking tech. Great job Bermaz for bringing in great spec ,so quick. Though I was never the believer of the whole Korean-will-kick-Camry-sales thing, this is a clear and present threat towards the Camry 2.4V. though, I still think they could have better Interior to go with the Stylish exterior.

BTW, can someone share some insight on the running cost of a Mazda? I heard is rather high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Currently, the camry is a 2.5 no more 2.4…, both the 2.0 and 2.5 of camry and Mazda are similarly priced, ie more expensive than the Honda and the Koreans. I guess Mazda/bermaz is not rushing to make it big in Malaysia. But at least the Mazda is better in technology and drive and imported from Japan.
      Anyway, the above are estimated pricing only, I’m quite sure the real price will be lower at the official launch..

• Hope so. Yeah my mistake with the 2.4V, still thinking of the old model that I quite like. on to the 6, as far as looks go, this triumphs everything out there, clean simple but yet striking lines. But like I said, Interior could be improve on. This and the new Accord 2013 is one of the few cars I’am looking forward this year. If comes with 75% of what America is giving, the Accord could seriously fight the 6 over here.

• ThinkFirst on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:38 pm

I.ME

I am an owner of the current Mazda6 2.5, the cost is similar if not lower than Toyota. I use to owned an Altis 1.8 and my average service and maintenance cost is around RM 400-500. My current car only around RM300 – 400 for the last 3 years except for major service.

• Thanks for the info. I spoke to someone who has a 2 in their family, saying the cost of running and spare parts are higher than the usual bread and butter cars.

• BMW Fanboi on Jan 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Please vote wisely. Belum ubah belum tahu. Kroni kroni kroni. 55 years. This Mazda RM9,888. Kuasa rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • Masked Ryder on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Same price with Camry but light year ahead in term of technology & design.

• altimatess on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Very exciting.. cant wait to hear your test-drive reviews, any idea when this baby will turn up at the showrooms ?

• engdau on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Bermaz might take out some features away for malaysia market. Poor thing for us! Such as 19″ tyres of Mazda CX5 has been downsized to 18″.

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Thank god they “only” use 18″. Looks isn’t everything, you know? Better handling, better comfort, better acceleration and top speed… Smaller rims have many advantages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • ben yap on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Bermaz moving backwards just like T&H? Increase price, reduce specs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Omissions of standard equipment for vehicle debut in BolehLand is already consider normal. Nothing to shout about. Most probably due to our tax structure. Manufacturer was force to omit in order to meet the permissable selling price or otherwise in not viable to sell to gain balance between volume and profit. That is only my speculation since I am not the owner of any automotive manufacturer.

• Jimmy on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:38 pm

Bad news really, if safety equipments are forced to be omitted.
      Likely the tekanan / pengaruh daripada orang-orang besar di belakang. Typical of ……. ……..
      Siapakah dia orang-orang tu? Mereka memiliki kompani kereta apa??

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:51 pm

I totally disagree. The Ford Fiesta in Germany costs around RM 40k. But it is empty and has a 60 HP engine. Manual gearbox. Probably not even air con. If you want the same specs like in Malaysia it drives the price up to 70-80k. And that is with a 19% tax on the car.

The VW Touran here is a mid to high spec Touran in Germany, same with Polo, Passat, Focus, Mondeo. The Citroen C5 here is a very high spec C5 in Germany, only they get that magic carpet ride suspension. The regular C5 only has a conventional suspension (IIRC you need to top up like 40-60k just to get to the level where you get this suspension.)

Even the Yaris typically comes with 60 HP or so, but here it has 100+ when it is sold as Vios. However otherwise the car is stripped down to the bare minimum, but that is probably more due to the greed of Toyota and their unique position of being able to sell anything in Malaysia, as long as it has the Toyota badge. Horse cart also can sell as car…

• remote extender on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:26 pm

not to mention the selling price have to go through MITI approval.

if it’s too low to affect out jaguh kampung, then must force them to increase price. must listen to goverment maaa… no listen i take mic from you.

• goguncas71 on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:11 pm

If tax is the issue, why is nobody asking why this CBU Japan car is priced not much difference from the CKD Camry. Is the import tax that high or is UMW ripping us off?

• Who in the right mind will still buy a Camry, Accord or even Passat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • b sensible on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:49 pm

still think…the premium car is a personal choice…the big 3 stated above can still maintain the market share…just the matter of how far will be the market share increase…meanwhile…madza still need to give the BEST package apart from the features like warranty, free service to beat the big 3!

• Well , I’m the optimist, so Camry is for those who wants to have a gurenteed easy running cost, and I’m not sure of the current one, but the previous ‘handsome with VSC” Camry feels like its disconnected from the world, in other words, excellet NVH, not a noise, apart from the slight engine purr. Passat are for those that one German, excellent quality. So the odd one is the Accord, which is no surprise since its due to be replaced by the 2013 model, and if our version is as speced up as the International one, than it may give the Mazda a worthy fight, looks better in my eyes, PHEV aside.

• crank on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Passat yes. Camry HELL NO!!

• Wau ! The OTR price close to camry 2.0G ! Potential buyer really have another good option to choose. Just wonder how the new accord going to position it. Let watch the safety package first.

• seancorr on Jan 30, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Jonathan, when you drove the car did you notice the Lane Departure Warning or the Rear Vehicle Monitoring system? If those were in the car you drove then I think the whole kit is coming to our cars.

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Hi Sean, it wasn’t me who drove the car, so I can’t tell for sure. Our report should be coming soon, so we’ll find out then!

• seancorr on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Oh okay, I went into the Lowyat forum to have a look around and there’s a pic of the interior showing that almost all the specs we saw are available except for tyre pressure monitoring system among the others.

This means good news for us Malaysians since tech like these aren’t even available in the C Class, 3 Series and the A4!

• Davinnci on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:52 pm

Lane departure warning will show in your dashboard, left hand side.

The RVM will blink beside your side mirror. Until it gone far away from your blind spot

• mclaren01 on Jan 31, 2013 at 4:53 pm

new ford mondeo 2013 (maybe will come to bolehland in 2016)will give torque on your staring to get back correct lane. Sime darby should bring this car as early as possible. It’s one car with great design and performance. 2.0 ecoboost give more horsepower than 2.5l.

• Good car with not so good price… sigh as usual…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • PauKaya on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:04 pm

just launch the car already!

• I must say Mazda is one of the exciting brand and making huge progress last year. Let’s not kill the mood

• Hiroshi on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:32 pm

ehmm…japan price include tax.
    2.0S – RM 85,000.00
    2.5S – RM 101,600.00

• tishaban on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Along with house prices, it looks like car prices are going up as well. 160k for the 2.0 version is pretty steep, several years ago the base 2.0 version would start at 130-140k but I can’t argue that we don’t have choices now with Mazda and VW at the same price range as Toyota, Honda and Nissan now.

Hope our salaries go up more over the coming years :D

• kadajawi on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Over at lowyat there are photos of the actual cars, taken by employees. So they were able to figure out what features are there and what features aren’t. At least to a certain degree.

• Davinnci on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Camry ? Don’t compare Camry with mazda6, they are not the same category anymore.

Camry please go install VSC 1st

• Same category lah, vios, preve, forte, city all same category

• Jimmy on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Yup, shameful. Not a proper ‘Camry’. Don’t know if Malaysia is the 1st in the world.
      Please do not omit safety equipments ya Mazda6 Bermaz; if really really necessary, then consider to omit sunroof, auto rain sensor, paddle shift and perhaps cruise control.

• Clarence on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Any idea of the compression ratio? saw decreased to 13:1, so we have to spend extra $$ for RON97?

• dugong on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:24 pm

time to get the 2nd gen Mazda6 :)

• Davinnci on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Tis is 3rd gen mazda6

2nd gen merely sold out due to price slash

• seancorr on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Anyone knows the running costs of a Mazda? Service intervals?

• Jilbaber on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Owwhh I hope that standard equipment & features list will continue to second page…stability control should not be missing from the list

• RM160k for 2.0 minus features found in 2.5 is too much for us to support this exciting brand. At RM160K the Japanese already in VW Passat category minus the Continental brand decent and wide after sales network.

RM150k is the most for a CBU specced dowj Mazda6 2.0. The Japanese ¥ also depreciated and I can’t understand why we should compared with the cocky Toyota? Safety-wise poor Camry is ok since the brand is so appealing for those looking for the attribute (decent resale value and reliability).

Priced this Mazda6 2.0 sensibly is key to beat Camry. Better wait for Honda Accord 2.0 PHEV if Mazda still slap the RM 160K for the strip down model.

Why on earth we should subsidized 2.5 buyers if the distance between these two models is mere RM20K despite higher tax for 2.5? 2.0 buyers was given penalty for opted for the smaller engine car.

• brgFx on Jan 30, 2013 at 10:02 pm

Is this car equipped with vortex generator? I really need it when heavy raining

• Hi, Anyone care to share if the current M6 2.5 bumpiness?
    I am concern about 19″ tyre will create bumpy ride on Malaysia road condition…

Thanks!

• Dr Mamak on Jan 31, 2013 at 1:32 am

Hallo, it’s Mazda6 not Mazda 6

• Henry on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:32 am

The Japanese Yen has gone down by almost 25%. I hope Japanese brand distributors will reduce prices accordingly. From the massive discounts they are giving to clear 2012 stocks you can gauge the kind of profits they are making. Don’t blame everything on high taxes. There is also the huge profits they are making.

• mclaren01 on Jan 31, 2013 at 5:04 pm

Mazda need to learn how to do marketing from Naza kia. We can see advertisement for kia rio even before launch it. But very rare you will see advertisement or promotion for mazda car. How can these product can reach most malaysian. I can 100% sure most ppl out there are do not about this new Mazda 6 and whats it’s plus point. All aunties and uncles will know Camry and Accord and Teana only. Teana is better sale as the price is cheaper compare other competitor. The interior is good and feel luxury.

• Just wondering, how is mazda after sales service in East Malaysia (Kuching). Those who have experience please reply :)

• Had Skoda Malaysia bring the latest Skoda Octavia 1.4tsi or 1.6tdi with RM140k-150k or lower; I’ll go for the Czech.

The problem is: Mazda and Skoda share the same roof before they aparted.