Mazda to build transmission plant in Thailand

skyactiv-badge

Mazda has announced that it will construct a transmission plant in Thailand’s Chonburi Province in response to increasing demand for SkyActiv-equipped models.

To be located about 5 km away from the Mazda-Ford JV facility, AutoAlliance Thailand (AAT), the new ¥26 billion (RM8.8 billion) plant will supply SkyActiv-Drive auto gearboxes for SkyActiv models produced at AAT and other Mazda facilities around the world.

The annual production capacity will be around 400,000 units, with operations set to begin in the first half of the fiscal year ending March 2016.

Mazda board chairman and CEO Takashi Yamanouchi said the Hofu, Japan plant (in Nakanoseki District) would, however, remain the chief production facility for transmissions.

“Mazda is establishing global production footprints in order to achieve our goal of an annual global sales volume of 1.7 million units by fiscal year ending March 2016,” he said. “(The Chonburi plant) will establish a production system capable of responding to the changing demands of our customers in a flexible and timely manner. We will make use of the knowledge and experience gained through AAT to ensure the success of the new plant in cooperation with the people of Thailand.”

In accordance with the decision, a new affiliate company – Mazda Powertrain Manufacturing (Thailand) Co Ltd – is to be established.

If Chonburi sounds familiar, it’s because Mitsubishi makes the Mirage there, at the Laem Chabang Industrial Estate.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Kelvin on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Ok. Never mind we has Proton using country billions to construct a plant to assembly Campro technology engine. One of the top engine specially made for Malaysian only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:23 am

What a disgrace. If Malaysia was properly managed and corruption controlled, Mazda would have chosen Malaysia. Malaysia used to be the CKD hub for the whole Asia but with all the stealing and plundering and corruption going about, Thailand has built their auto city on the quiet and attracted the majority of the car amnufacturers to open up CKD plants in Thailand. Give it 10 more years, all the CKD plants in Malaysia will shut down and move to Thailand because of the better governance. Then, we Malaysians will have to go back to buying only CBUs like the 80s.

• You really want to tell us that there’s less corruption in Thailand? ;)

• tokmoh on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:51 am

If action speaks louder than word, Mazda’s decision is quite telling of who’ve been more successful at attracting FDIs, aye?

• klata-klata on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:28 am

So easy to compete against Malaysia today; just like taking lollipops from kids.
        Thailand can do it, so would Indonesia. Myanmar will follow soon in future.

• MycarMylife on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Listen, listen, listen listen ,listen MAZDA we MY also have problems too like the animals so PLEASE come and set plant here in MY, not Thailand , Libya or India , pleeeeze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • LionelStephen on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Mazda replied “No, no, no, no, no! Your Msian Government tax the cars so high high, until many potential customers do no choose Mazda but choose Proton. Business like this cannot continue lah. So, have to choose Thailand which is more friendly to auto industry mah ~”

• VW_fans on Jan 30, 2013 at 4:43 pm

Sayonara RM8.8Bil …….. we Malaysian gonna miss u terribly even though we really welcome u but very unfortunate we are stuck with some useless policies :( here

• ben yap on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:07 pm

to me skyactiv is just a hype but nothing great or revolutionary though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Kalun on Jan 30, 2013 at 6:48 pm

To me, VTEC is just a hyped but nothing great or revolutionary though.

Sounds familiar? Don’t be a cry baby.

• crank on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Yea, that is why the skyactive engine runs on a higher compression ratio and yet able to use ron 95 and has a good fuel consumption.

• gOOsh on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:24 am

i think mazda is innovative to produce their skyactive powertrain and drivetrain by optimising their current product and facilities; thus more cost efficient… they either can opt their sister’s ecoboost if they want to…

• qwerty on Jan 31, 2013 at 9:28 am

Mazda never says it’s revolutionary, but is indeed an evolution of the internal-combustion.

Using a 12.5:1 combustion ration on a non-direct injection engine is cool enough. Check Wiki if you wanna know more. The SkyActiv is good.

• Make the price cheaper and u got your target achieve.

• Bimmer on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:18 pm

Thank you Dr. M…

• remote extender on Jan 30, 2013 at 5:22 pm

listen listen listen mycarmylife… mazda kennot come to malaysia because nobody wanna listen to manufacturers. bmw tried and nobody gives a crap to what bmw is saying.

in malaysia they just pull the mic right from your hands if you’re talking facts.

• typical
    u want mazda to setup plant here,make sure min wage is much less than current RM900,which is disastrous for their profits

have u ever check how much is the min wage those japs give to thailand people to work at their plant?so much less than RM900,thats why the japs happy to setup plant there

• klata-klata on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:37 am

Check your facts first. Thai factory wages isn’t very much different from Malaysian. It is not just wages, but the whole attitude and protections to P1 & P2.

They could have gone to still lower cost centers such as Indonesia or Cambodia and still enjoy the ASEAN FTA.

• Yet again we missed the Foreign Investment…..8.8 million this round. No thanks to NAP, P1, and the cronies!

• darker marker on Jan 30, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Pity, Malaysia not attractive anymore…..

Seems like JAguh kampung still syoik sendiri…

• Afnan on Jan 30, 2013 at 8:46 pm

Again thanks to tun mamak aka father of thai automotive

• A friend of mine beat up his girlfriends; pour water on them BUT they kept sticking to him n coming back to him ?????

Now the real thing:- Thai has political unrest n floods but the EEV guy stands no chance…
    BE Changed to change!!

• hakim on Jan 31, 2013 at 10:08 am

Listen, the reason is purely economic. Thailand labour is cheaper than malaysia. there is no minimum wage 900/month in Thailand.

• bryan on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:11 am

U r such typical ah pek businessmsn who always think about ur own profit. Come on everyone also need to makanlah.
      Think the reason is more than this which is included the facility n infra, govt policy, and the eco system.

• Thanks to Proton, lot of Automotive makers stay away to set up their plant here. As Malaysia we lost a lot of Job opportunities and a lot more… Hopefully after the election, the right ppl will do the right things!

• dr ong on Jan 31, 2013 at 2:00 pm

paul i think it is rm 1 billion for the mazda AT investment?