ASEAN NCAP first phase results released for eight models tested – Ford Fiesta and Honda City get 5 stars

aseanncapphaseone

UPDATE: A live demonstration of a side impact crash test was carried out by MIROS on a Honda Civic at the event. You can catch the video here.

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) released the results of the first phase of the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP) at an open day held at its PC3 lab in Ayer Molek, Melaka yesterday. Eight car models were subjected to an offset frontal collision test at a closing speed of 64 km/h, yielding the following safety ratings:

• Ford Fiesta LX Ti-VCT Auto sedan built 2012, MY 2011 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 66%, Airbags: 7
  • Honda City Grade S built 2012, MY 2012 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 81%, Airbags: 2
  • Toyota Vios 1.5J MT built 2012, MY 2012 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 48%, Airbags: 2
  • Nissan March E MT built 2012, MY 2012 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 48%, Airbags: 1
  • Proton Saga FLX+ Standard built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 3 stars, Child: 58%, Airbags: 2
  • Perodua Myvi SX built 2012, MY 2011 – Adult: 3 stars, Child: 54%, Airbags: 2
  • Hyundai i10 1.1 Epsilon built 2012, MY 2008 – Adult: 2 stars, Child: 48%, Airbags: 2
  • Proton Saga Standard built 2012, MY 2008 – Adult: 1 star, Child: 49%, Airbags: 1

The cars were tested over a period beginning November 15, 2012 and ending January 29, 2013. All of them are built in Malaysia, save for the Ford Fiesta and Nissan March, which are produced in Thailand. To be eligible for a five-star rating, a vehicle must have at least two airbags, electronic stability control and a seatbelt reminder, or it will only qualify for a maximum of four stars. Note that ‘MY’ above denotes the safety package introduction year.

results

No doubt you’re wondering why there are two Proton Sagas in the results list. The one-star car (base-spec, single airbag) was tested in December 2012; the three-star car, which was tested earlier this month, is fitted with the latest safety package that includes twin airbags, which will be standard across the range by February or March, according to Proton. It will be called the FLX+.

A bit about the test conditions – it’s based on the 40% overlap front impact crash test regulation of the World Forum for Harmonisation of Vehicle Regulations (ECE: Reg. 94). Two Hybrid III 50th percentile adult male dummies are placed in the front seats, while two P3 and P1.5 (numbers indicate ages in years) child dummies are secured with a Child Restraint System (CRS) in the back seats. The test car then hits a crushable aluminium barrier at 64 km/h and the outcome is analysed.

The frontal occupant protection (adult) rating is derived like so: injury levels on body regions are recorded through sensors and accumulated, then a ‘modifier’ is introduced – this takes real-world situations into account and points are deducted accordingly to result in the final score, which then falls within its rating category.

The percentage-based child assessment result is based on the CRS used in the test as well as the injury levels recorded; being defined as “the level of protection for the child occupant by using the stated CRS model in that car with specified (available) CRS attachment method (for instance, ISOFIX, top tether or seatbelt only). It is therefore important that the respective CRS attachment methods and brands used are made known:

• Honda City (81%) – P3 (ISOFIX and top tether, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (ISOFIX, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II and Baby Safe ISOFIX base)
  • Ford Fiesta (66%) – P3 (ISOFIX and seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (ISOFIX, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II and Baby Safe ISOFIX base)
  • Proton Saga FLX+ (58%) – P3 (seatbelt and top tether, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (seatbelt and top tether, Britax Duo Plus)
  • Perodua Myvi (54%) – P3 (seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (seatbelt, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II)
  • Proton Saga (49%) – P3 (seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus)
  • Hyundai i10 (48%) – P3 (seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (seatbelt, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II)
  • Nissan March (48%) – P3 (seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (seatbelt, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II)
  • Toyota Vios (48%) – P3 (seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (seatbelt, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II)

fiesta1

MIROS is keen to point out that where the collision tests are concerned, the damage to the dummies (and the correlating injuries sustained by occupants) is more important than the damage to the car. So, a car which looks on the surface to be heavily deformed after the crash may not necessarily receive a low safety rating – in fact the opposite can be true, especially when one considers crumple zones and other impact-absorbing structures.

The second phase of ASEAN NCAP will involve side impact testing as per ECE: Reg. 95, and is expected to begin in the second quarter of 2013, with sponsored tests allowed.

A step in the right direction towards safer cars for the ASEAN region then, it seems. Accordingly, the event also saw the MIROS PC3 lab being awarded the title of “First Full-Scale Crash Test Laboratory” by the Malaysia Book of Records.

At the time of writing, video clips and high-res images of the crash tests have not yet been released by MIROS, but we’re told video clips at the point of impact should be made available in time. At this juncture, I’d like to apologise for the lack of a picture of the Fiesta’s interior – out of all the cars there I just had to miss this one; it is much regretted.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• axsatr on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:15 am

“The cars were tested over a period beginning November 15, 2012 and ending January 29, 2013. All of them are built in Malaysia save for the Ford Fiesta and Nissan March”

Save for the should be except for the

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
    • Bimmer on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:06 am

The difference result between Honda City & Ford Fiesta in term of child protection is due to the different CRS used. In that case, it could mean that they are testing for which CRS instead of which car is safer for a child. The advantage of Honda City is you could you a CRS with top tether instead of seat belt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Bimmer on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:19 am

Btw, where is the child inside the Myvi? Why Saga only got 1 star while Myvi got 3 stars eventhough there is more intrusion in the occupant area in the Myvi compared to Saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
        • alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:05 pm

1 star deduction for airbag omission. 1 star for seat belt reminder.

the new Saga FLX with dual airbags has 3 stars, beginning February 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
          • Gabla on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:49 pm

Funny to see that you are blaming the 1 less airbag for the lower score for Saga but yet March can get 4 stars with only 1 airbag. I guess there must be something going on for the FLX+, not just an additional airbag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Kalun on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:20 pm

Don’t be surprise the old 2010 Proton Saga with 2 airbag and esc score 3 Star in ANCAP.

Same speed, same techniques.

• Kenapa Ya on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:30 pm

OK what all these cars can be send for KETUK and sale cheapo..

ACCIDENT FREE…
            (only front side accident free)…

• sonyman on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:25 pm

very simple, who give more money, have better results loh, tested in malaysia mah, apa pun boleh, janji bayar, saya bagi 5 star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 85
    • Bimmer on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:11 am

One more thing, this 5 stars result is only for frontal collision right? Not the overall result just yet right? Since there will be the second phase for side impact testing, I think that there should be an overall rating which takes into account the combined results of frontal impact, side impact, child safety and safety equipment level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:58 pm

I guess there will be, later. ASEAN NCAP should say these are preliminary results, full results will be released once all tests are completed.

• How come vios got 4 stars while not having ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • Jimmy on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Because it has the highest resale value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 16
      • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:10 pm

ESC necessary for 5 stars. 4 stars can without. But the City… Only high spec should get 5 stars. Low spec 4.

• Why saga didn’t get 4 stars?

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:01 pm

At some point the forces that the dummies had to endure must have exceeded those that are needed to achieve a 4 star rating. It could be due to various reasons. Bad seatbelt design, cabin intrusion, missing the airbag/airbag not fully inflated, the way the speed was reduced wasn’t linear enough, so slow down slightly only, then come to a full stop way too fast. Hopefully there will be explanations by ASEAN NCAP, like they do it with EuroNCAP.

• Akira on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:46 am

On the contrary, “save for” has the exact same meaning as “except for”.

Henceforth it is perfectly fine and shall have no need to be changed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Wanabe on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:53 am

In conclusion all these cars are unsafe, at least get a B segment car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • Justina Bieber on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:08 pm

proton saga flx + ?
      proton saga followed by proton saga fl, then flx.

• FLX+ refer to post-airbag ruling Saga FLX.
        Previously Saga FLX Standard doesn’t have any airbag, no it has 1.

• Farhat on Feb 02, 2013 at 2:13 am

So FL was facelift, FLX was higer spec, FLX+ is 2 airbags, FLX++ is 2 front airbags and side airbags, FLX++- is same but with plastic hub caps, FLX+++ is high spec with new radio design from clarion.

FLX +++- has all except no rear head restraints. FLX-1M is no airbags but special blue and red pattern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • _xXx_ on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:16 pm

I SIMPLY CANNOT ACCEPT THE REPORT SAYING THAT SAGA HAS SCORED 1 STAR!
      is there a 0.5 star score in Asean NCAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 41
    • Wanabe on Feb 02, 2013 at 9:53 am

Wonder why there’s no curtain airbag deployed in the Fiesta

• WinJuan on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:23 am

Can someone tell me the difference between proton saga FLX and proton saga? Why one 3 star and one 1 star?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 41
    • WinJuan on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:25 am

sorry stupid question, nvm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • narakka on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:01 am

proton saga got 1 AB
        FLX got 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • The real story is like this. Miros bought the Saga and tested it on Dec 2012. Only get 1 Star. Proton was shocked with the result, thinking that people will stay away from buying the Saga.

Immediatly, Proton improve the Saga safety features and give 1 unit to Miros for free. So, in Jan 2013 Miros tested the ‘new’ Saga and awarded 3 Star.

I quoted from and article from The Star newspaper: According to Proton executive chairman Datuk Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil, the result was “testament of the improving quality of Proton cars.”

Yeah right, when someone pulls your pants down, only then you put on your underwear.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 188 Thumb down 6
          • Bimmer on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:02 am

If you look at the date in the picture, the car is crashed on 29 Jan 2013, two days before the announcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Eyesore on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:52 am

Get ur facts right… the Saga FLx was launched in 2012 with all the safety features in the crash test… of coz its a shock to PROTON cuz the SAGA tested was the first SAGA BLM with 1 airbag which is being phased out in Feb 2013.. So it is not a correct representation of Saga safety ratings… hence requesting MIROS to re-test the actual lowest variant SAGA being offered which is the SAGA Flx Standard… and the you go 3 stars is the correct representation of SAGA safety level… if you care to research, Perodua was selling the 1 airbag Myvi until only recently been phased out.. hence the 2 airbag version being tested. If the 1 airbag version is tested i doubt it will even get 1 star considering how bad the cabin is deformed on the 2 airbag version…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 19
          • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:53 pm

The question is also what exactly was changed. Structural things or only the addition of one airbag. So are higher spec old Sagas 3 stars too?

• the saga tested is the sage FL instead of saga BLM as you can observe from the tali light.really disappointed with the result as i am a BLM owner..

• Gabla on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:34 pm

If you read on another website, it was mentioned that the FLX+ is a variant which has not been released yet. Does this mean that Proton was allowed to submit a yet to be mass produced model to save them from getting only one star in the test?

I thought that Asean NCAP was supposed to an assessment program for cars that people can buy in the market. Looking at the test date which is only 2 days from the announcement date, it seems like it is a last minute effort. Afterall other crash tests before Myvi were done once in every week interval while there is a big 3 weeks gap before the test on FLX+.

• Omg, I knew this Proton is low but didn’t know they are this low.

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:25 am

I thought the main difference of the FLX is that it has CVT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • LNick on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:53 pm

I don’t get why is there so much difference too.

Nissan March got 1 airbag but can score 4 star. This means they test driver only. So 1 or 2 airbag should not matter.

• 1 star saga is the current Saga FLX while 3 star is soon to be released Saga FLX+

• sheldon on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:30 am

they should do a stricter test, like 25% overlap frontal test. i bet even honda city would score less than 30% and saga would probably register negative score. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Dr Cooper on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:12 am

only 2011 volvo (S60) and 2013 Acura TSX survive that 25% overlap frontal test. Even BMW 3 series got marginal..C-class and A4 both got poor

• human on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:10 pm

the upcoming honda accord has the highest rating in the 20% overlap crash.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:03 pm

The 1955 Citroen DS may perform quite ok too. It was also designed in a way so that when there is a small overlap crash the car would change direction and move on. That is what helped the Volvo, and probably Acura too.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Side impact tests are more important for now.

• Abuya on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:37 am

What is MIROS? I only knew 2 things.

1. AES. Help gov to suck money from public
    2. Only focus how to blame driver and car instead of road condition, signage, traffic light or anything that associate with gov. I wonder why they never learn from NHTSA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 87
    • Suzuki on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:20 am

AES is designed to save people lives, not sucking money from public into government.

Please, what if your loved ones hit by a car that beat a red light ? Your love one dies innocently !!

U didn’t try before BUT I DO !!! MY GIRL DEAD BECAUSE OF A BLOODY TAXI RUSH OUT FROM A JUNCTION WHERE IT SUPPOSED TO BE RED LIGHT AND CRASH ONTO MY GIRL’S CAR.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 14
    • frenzy on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:20 am

Ya, penang’s road condition can race rally already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:48 am

There are two things that I’am glad to know, I’ve still got 3 hrs of sleep, and 5 hrs from now I’am driving a 5-star ASEAN NCAP tested car on the NKVE ,not bad for a 5 year old model, whose hatchback sibling got a 5 star euro NCAP.

Thou I doubt this will be the shut the the neigh sayer, considering that the side impact hast been done, and they have high hope to see the city failed in that criteria. I still don’t get why they hate honda that much. The city, for a model that’s has been in rhe market for the past 5 years, is still decently spec and larger than most cars in its segment, while having one of the lowest fuel consumption. For the balance of size, spec, performance and aesthetic, its worth the price. Hope next years city will have 6 airbags.

but, Ppl still like the Vios thou, I don’t know why
    Zzzzzzz…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • Kalun on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:42 am

Vios=resale value.
      City= actually a good car when it first release. Too many competion and Kias.
      Fiesta = excellent car all around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Kenapa Ya on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:20 am

Fiesta Powershift = powershit

as the gearbox tend to falls apart after 1 years..
        go see Ford SC; see how many Fiesta PS falls apart..
        wonder what happen to those who get only 3yrs warranty
        shall die their $$…
        even to those who get 5yrs; but what happen after that :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:58 am

The Fiesta is indeed n all around great car, but there are just a few things why I think City edged out a bit. Chief of which is size, the hatchback version I tested was actually rather small inside, add to that the windows at the rear are difficult to see out. And the number of Ford 3S is low, and spare parts cost(stated from someone having a Ranger)is rather high.

Kia lately are good, but when my dad got the City 2 years back the Forte still had 4 speed auto, the 6 speed was launch 2 months after (2 MONTHS, 2 BLOODY MONTH!!!!). add to that, reports of unreliability and spare parts unavailability(at that time) was enough to drive us away. Other than the Forte, there isn’t much Kias i can compare to, The Rio is rather small, like the Fiesta.

Like I said, not bad for a model that has been so long in the market. The only thing I hate is that 5-speed auto GB. It’s a torque converter, which means all the power of the car refuse to be handed directly to the car, and is rather indecisive, it feels laggy. Thankfully, the Grade E has paddle shift, so manual mode(and experience with manual) comes in handy and thee car really does come together. some people dose’t like the edgy SOHC, I like it cause it reminds me of a race car. Oh I hope the 2014 version will be great.

• Kalun on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Actually, City is not bad but now it do feel it’s ageing.
          Honda keep on facelift the car with no news about releasing a replacement.
          Torque converter is fine but Honda could go for CVT. It do remove the driving experience of the car but more fuel efficient.

Actually, I’m quite insecure about ASEAN made City because it’s not the same as JDM made Hondas Civics and it’s siblings.

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:42 pm

The city has aged but aged gracefully, honestly it still has that mecha look that most young boys liked. Like most of Audis line up and the K5 optima. Though I’am far a Honda sadist like kadajawi down there, but I have to agree that the Honda will fare badly in the side swept due yo the lack of sude airbags, but it was designed back in the day whem 2 was the norm. I’am still no fan of the CVT, the 5 speeder is still giving excellent economy, last time I checked, best in its class (1.5 NA)

The city is basically a Jazz sedan, and it has only gone through the usual single facelift in its lifetime, not like the multiple face lift that the Vios went through. It also has a much simpler line up than the Vios though I really crave a 5 speed manual that Thailand has. The new city will come a year after the new jazz is launch, which is more or less confirm its international launch later this year. So end of 2014. The new jazz will have EarthDream tech, which includes a 6-speed DCT, so hopefully it will dwindle down to its sedan cousin.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Overseas 6 airbags were standard 10 years ago… cars developed for those markets are meant to have so many airbags, if it doesn’t have that means someone wants to save money because Malaysians just don’t care. The Preve was developed with 6 airbags in mind, yet here we get 2 or 4… if Proton is smart they will change to 6 for all variants before the Preve is tested, since they may not get the change to retest again. This 1 star rating can hurt them quite badly with not so well informed buyers.

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:14 pm

I actually like this ASEAN NCAP idea, this means cars are beginning to be crash tested before coming on sale. Before this, most ASEAN model cars just states GOA body and reassurance from the manufacturer as a safety point without being verified by any independent testing tester. It’s surprising that the City, a car with no Euro & American testing faired rather well, and is a no brainer that the Euro/American crash tested could do that well. Not long after this picks up, I foresee manufacturer beginning to increase airbags count to their model.

Anyways Kadajawi, you said u have a 10 yrs old C-segment with 6 airbags was it? May I know which model though i’am probably guessing Renault. And you seem real eager to see most of the cars failed at the side swept. Frankly, I don’t actually care, most of the model bar the Myvi and Fiesta are due to be replaced, especially the two T&H. So i’am more interested to see the safety spec of those car, first up the next Vios due later this year. I believe they will add airbags into the Preve, like the forte, with this they need to increase their ratings bcuz they can’t cheat the consumer anymore on weather their cars are safe, same goes for the Japanese manufacturer. Both the Vios & City are too late in their life for any more updates, so I’ll wait for the next gen.

There is a rant down there saying that cars should be stricken off their star if they have no VSC or EBD. I can understand airbags but VSC. This is a crash test rating, in other words weather you would survive in a crash, where your even the VSC has been unable to prevent. I don’t see how VSC is relevant in the rating, when the car crashes, I don’t see how VSC can help you survive.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:15 pm

@I.ME:
            It is a EU spec Citroen Xsara II.

Yes, I am eager to see the cars fail, because that will force car makers to upgrade their cars, just like Proton did with the Saga. I predict that 1 year after side impact tests are introduced, most models sold in Malaysia will have 4 or 6 airbags. In most cases this upgrade is trivial since elsewhere these models already have that many airbags.

• Jtan77 on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:30 am

Fiesta is the only car in this test which has traction control system and it really works.

• Honda on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Citi 1.5E also has Traction control system since it is embedded into the VSA.

http://www.honda.com.my/technology/technology/

• sudonano on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:43 am

City is better than Vios. At least its got VSA. But the Fiesta was a known winner. 5 star NCAP is not nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:04 am

I think it was the higher City grade E that has VSA only.

• sudonano on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:23 pm

That is correct. Only the higher grade. Fiesta i think it is standard right? Even on the base 1.4LX. Winder why they never upgrade the 1.6 S Hatch to 7 airbags…

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:24 pm

Maybe they already have? To be honest I have lost overview. Pure chaos… they should simply make 7 airbags and ESP standard on all variants. That they can advertise with. Ford. No compromise on safety. Any car, any spec.

• sudonano on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Will be easier for us. Safety equipment should be standard on all variants. Keep the variants to allow us to choose if we want leather or bluetooth, just like in US

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:25 pm

My 10 year old C segment car has 6 airbags. These days 6-7 should be a standard in the B segment. Elsewhere it is, even in a Toyota and Honda.

• driver on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:35 am

seriously.. before getting excited with anything, my first concern: how do MIROS calculate the star rating? no clear info!!!

customers need to be informed clearly on how it’s done.. especially the point deduction thingy.. is there a possibility that 1 point could make a different between a 4 and 5 star rating?

I like the idea of having a crash test, but would suggest that instead of using STAR.. be more precise, and use PERCENTAGE instead. say for example.. Ford Fiesta = 90% crash compatible

enough said..

• Are you sure your car has VSC built in? Only recently Honda fitted the City with VSC. I don’t think any City older than 2 years has VSC in it.

In the Euro NCAP and ANCAP, any car without VSC does not qualify for 5 stars.

• tishaban on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:21 am

Quoting from the article “… damage to the dummies is more important than damage to the cars….”

As I read this I’m struck by the fact that we asians are way too ignorant of science and far too obsessed about money that we care more about our wallets than safety.

• Mr Mac on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:43 am

abolish those money sucking machine like Toll and AES, ridiculous PDRM summons then we will not be obsessed with money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 56
      • tishaban on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:21 am

Mr Mac if you’re talking about AES the project sucking money then I agree but how does that affect you personally that you care more about money than safety?

The AES locations are mostly well publicized, slow down and you won’t get a summon.

How often do you get ridiculous PDRM summons? Every month that you have to spend money on summons instead of a safer car?

Money is not everything and safety is not everything but the balance should always been on the safety side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
      • what? on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:24 am

always somebody else faults…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • negara lain pun ade toll,aes dan saman gak..kalau tak ikut peraturan mesti la kena…

• Note that only the Higher Spec Honda City comes fitted with VSA/ESC, not the lower spec, so ordinarily the lower spec will not qualify for a 5 star, hope Honda will use the rating responsibly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:22 am

The car used is the lower spec grade S [Check pic no.3] . And this is a crash test to test the survivability of the car in the worse case scenario. VSC is a safety measure that helps you avoid said scenario.

• vios_fan on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:40 am

Vios is powderful car, no electronic stability control also got 4 stars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 43
    • toyota pay under table money of course lar. thats why Miros cannot be trusted. i suspect ASEAN NCAP also money rigged one .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
    • Suzuki on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:22 am

True, my Vios got hit last time and still fine despite need to change all the side doors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
  • Toyota Vios worse than Proton Saga? At least it has enough resale value to pay the hospital bills…

(Sorry, this was sarcasm)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
    • kalo dah tota lost, resale pebendanya lagi :-)
      hospital bills? hhihihi..itu pun kalu masih hidup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Hyundai i10 only score 2 star for adult occupant just because it don’t have side airbags compared to European spec which have side airbags which score 4 star for adult occupant.

• airbag important criteria for that car maybe due to that car with that size, only with and without airbags makes huge diff for the survivability of the occupants during the crash

• see & talk on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:17 am

Not only UMW suck, Sime Darby did the same to us.

• so now Hyundai Malaysia is misleading the buyer for the i10 4 star rating…..haih feel like cheated with my purchase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • koozold on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Can we report to consumer that they used wrong information?

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:31 pm

Don’t think so. The i10 was tested as an A segment car, and it was tested 4 years ago. Now, with stricter standards, it was tested in the B segment category (again stricter standards). If you test a car that got 5 stars 10 years ago again, it will probably have 2 or 3 stars.

• Kenapa Ya on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:25 pm

the first 1000 unit of Hyundai i10 back in August 2008 are CBU from India.
        and those batch were tested and get 4 star Euro NCAP.

however the one sold after that in Malaysia re made and assembled by Inokom here locally.
        hence…
        go figure…
        Cheap Knock Down….

• farghmee on Feb 02, 2013 at 8:47 am

I’ve once asked the salesman on this i10 spec, but he couldn’t give the answer.

I might be wrong, but these stars & % are premature data, rite?
        U’ll need more tests to conclude “overall stars”.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:33 pm

I think EuroNCAP tested the i10 as an A segment car, while ASEAN NCAP tested it as a B segment car.

• writer on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:13 pm

there are no specific segment in either EURO NCAP or ASEAN NCAP. all the vehicles is the same minimum speed and same setting to be crushed towards an offset deformable barrier.

• dugong on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:06 am

i wonder why they did not test a popular car like the viva? did not get even 1 star?
        why test march when its hardly even sold?

• Brace yourself, proton bashers are coming for ya. waw city is impressive. see city always make a good buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Wait until they test side impacts. The City won’t be that impressive anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:36 pm

It will fare less than the Fiesta, that part is agreeable. But since you said this, would’t it be a real surprise if it scored better than expected, let’s say 4 star?

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:37 pm

I don’t think it would get 4 stars for the side impact. Maybe overall.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvkliIf0f-I
          There you can see a car without side airbags in a side impact. As you can see the head smashes right into the window/B pillar/other car. That can’t be healthy.
          Now watch the same car, same test, but with side airbags. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKnGans-JD0
          Huge difference. I wouldn’t be surprised if without the car gets a 1 or 2 star rating for the side impact.

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:22 pm

Like I said wouldn’t it be a surprise. The city window line are quite high, so you never know. Maybe i’am too much of a Honda guy and that I just came back in that very car, but I don’t want to expect any failure, considering there are many owners of those cars. You may say that it is awakening to them to change car, but some just cant afford another car. So to expect failure considering its not tested or proven is like expecting someone’s life to be risked. Is not confirm yet, but I hope the best.

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:17 pm

The Toyota Prius was tested with and without side airbags in the US. Otherwise the same car. The one without did very poor, the one with did well.

• Anonymous on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:09 am

Let’s wait until what phase “our” car(s) will get 5-star…

• Davinnci on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:09 am

Toyota vios only qualified for 4 stars, is because it doesn’t have VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:43 pm

I don’t think so. The Vios received a 13.61 out of 16, City 15.44 and Fiesta 15.73 out of 16. Clearly the Vios is in a different league. The lack of ESP would have stopped it from getting 5 stars IF it had a high enough score for 5 stars, but I don’t think it had anyway. Need to read through all the ASEAN NCAP material to check that, but can’t be bothered to do so. Btw. the new Saga did much better than the Toyota/Daihatsu designed Myvi. Hm.

• Anonymous on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:11 am

And, will these results make the high Resale Value cars become low Resale Value then…?

You decide, life or money….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Can happen, yes. Hopefully. I’ll be laughing then, been predicting this for a while. Resale value isn’t set in stone.

• Waste of sponsored car…. Nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • Good Result for Ford Fiesta ! just like their slogan , GO FURTHER !

Ford Fiesta LX Ti-VCT Auto sedan built 2012, MY 2011 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 66%, Airbags: 7

Ford Fiesta (66%) – P3 (ISOFIX and seatbelt, Britax Duo Plus), P1.5 (ISOFIX, Britax Baby Safe Plus SHR II and Baby Safe ISOFIX base)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Ford salesman detected. but i still give thumbs up!

• Kenapa Ya on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:28 pm

For safety accident yes.

BUT Ford powershift gearbox all / mostly here got problem..
      Go to SC and verify..
      Many had to changed clutch and some thingies related to the gearbox..
      imagine u drive and your gearbox DIE.
      but at least u can feel first hand on the crash when people bang/crash you (accident free)….

Also the engine is freaking noisy and wonder how other brand 1.4, 1.5 and 1.6 cars are more silent and regine…

• Here in Malaysia tax is so high that people cannot afford to buy that 5 star car. The government has given you a choice whether you buy P1 or P2. If you want more stars you pay more tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:46 pm

The Fiesta is 70k, right? Vios and City more expensive, but those are the cars most people buy. When they could easily buy the Fiesta.

And don’t tell me the City is as good as the Fiesta. Only in frontal impacts it stands a chance against the Fiesta. And only in high spec would it get 5 stars.

• Marvin on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Here in Malaysia tax is so high that people cannot afford to buy that 5 star car. – Why? The government really cannot make it possible for its citizens to buy safer cars?

The government has given you a choice whether you buy P1 or P2. If you want more stars you pay more tax. – If P1 and P2 is not in the picture? Can we get more stars with less tax then?

• the looser = korean, pls dont buy kia and hyundai. Only 2 star.
    even proton has got 3 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 34
    • put in kia rio n elantra to see the result.. y bully korean by testing their smallest i10?

if wanna compare with i10, put in viva n alto to the test la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • dugong on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:08 am

i10 is A-segment hatch. you can compare with paper door viva which will get 0 star.

• Beng Alex Chan on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:32 am

Ford Fiesta getting 5 star!!Why??bcos it has 7 airbags.Unlike those junk which only have 1 or 2 airbags..If you r smart,u will sure choose Fiesta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • frenzy on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:25 am

But City have only 2 airbag, adult occupants rated higher?
      Why don’t a car fit in 20 airbags? Because number of airbags =/= level of safety

• What if you suffer from a side impact?

6-7 airbags should be the bare minimum.

• ae101 on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:25 pm

duhhh, fiesta too small for family la. you want your whole family squeeze inside the car or opt for city or other larger car?

• Sam Loo on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:05 pm

I believe Hyundai Starex suits you the most. You may squeeze more than a soccer team in this luxurious van.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:50 pm

The 7 airbags won’t help in the frontal impact. The Fiesta is simply well made and strong. Just look at the photos, it can take faster impacts too. The additional airbags will help in side impacts, except for the knee airbag.

• Side airbags is important too… sometimes the occupant head might hit the car window during frontal collision..

• Asean Ncap not reliable on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:32 am

Not excited. All car crashed picture have similar effect only… I wonder how they tested it.. prrffth.

The hyundai i10 looks just similiar to Myvi.
    Proton Saga also looks just similar to vios or City..

how can i trust your test? by testing just 1 vehicle.
    low budget test, and it shows low reliability results.

well, at least it has proven to me that all car crashed just similarly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 60
    • rally_fan on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:46 am

you must be the foremost authority on crash testing. just by looking at pictures of crash tests, you can evaluate and judge the results.. maybe if you did some reading and research, you’ll find out how the testing is carried out. but since you’ve not shown any initiative to do so in the first place, i’ll help you out with the link: http://www.aseancap.org/protocolfile/ASEANNCAPAssessmentProtocol10Updated263.pdf

• Kalun on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:48 am

Go test yourself on the road lah! If you think it’s not reliable.
      Of course I wouldn’t recommend you to crash your car onto other people’s car at 80kph.

• what do u expect? crashing with explosion like in james bond movie?
      wake up bro

• Hadi75 on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:18 am

So knowledgeable about crashtest…go work with them la…

• Why don’t you try to crash your own car and rate it with your own observation. The only Question is, will you survive?

• Why don’t you smack your head to the wall and see if it is realiable or not.

• MITI lover on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:37 am

listen listen listen… we must be proud that our myvi and saga (which is the people’s car in malaysia) could score so high, at 64km/h collision.

we must be proud of our product. even Tuns and Tan(Sri) is also proudly driving malaysia products. they have absolute trust in malaysian product and place their life in it (by driving it).

support P1 and P2. support malaysian product. you don’t like can go venezuela.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 20
  • Nathan on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:42 am

Thank you Proton for being the benchmark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Wow. Can I say this is a waste of time and money. Would anyone be upset with that. I am assuming European ncap is not relevant that is why we are doing our own test or they were not stringent enough or maybe there are different spec for malaysia. Hmm maybe i am just ignorant. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • e.tau on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:18 am

unless the cars are imported from europe, otherwise those localy made will have different standard interms of material use.. cost is the one of the main OEM concerns to maximize their benefit.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:55 pm

The Vios was never tested by EuroNCAP. Same goes for City, Myvi and Saga. The Fiesta could be different from the one tested by EuroNCAP. The i10 received a very different result here compared to there.

• toyota vios only 1 star more than saga flx, and worse child protection. And they say proton is made of milo tin. LOL at the toyota fanbois

Now, flame on y’all, im just gonna enjoy reading

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • Hondasalesman on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:12 am

Horayy for honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Honda City Owner on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:00 pm

Hooray for Honda for achieving 5 star rating in the ASEAN NCAP for Honda City. I drive a 2009 Honda City and I must say I feel secured and safe driving my 5 star ASEAN NCAP Honda City. It has everything -safety, spacious interior, ultra big boot, fuel efficiency, powerful i-VTEC engine, sleek and aerodynamic looks. What more could I ask for in a RM85K car? Beats dugong Vios anytime!

• Maserati on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:36 am

Haha, it just proves, its not the number of stupid airbags u put into a car. Its how the car is designed. And look at how the i10 performed?

As usual, Jap cars are the safest with the exception of the fiesta. Of cuz, Fords are well known to be built tough. Unlike some Korean crap that looks tough, but in reality is worse of than a Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • lol.. so u happy with one of ur jap car being 5 star so u use this test as a standard and generalized based on this? jap car are safest coz city got 5 stars in this test and korean are crap cos the only car tested is i10?

wow.. this also proves that u are crap too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Don’t you know that i10 scored 4 star adult occupant in Euro NCAP just because it has 4 airbags? Compared to ASEAN NCAP 2 star with 2 airbags.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:58 pm

The i10 was tested as an a segment car there, and b segment here. That should explain the difference, because the side airbags are only important for side impacts. They may not even deploy in frontal crashes.

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:20 pm

The i10 and the Fiesta/City are leagues apart in price and safety feature. The Forte or the Elantra is a better comparison.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Obviously airbags at the side will only have benefits in the case of side impacts. Test that and the City will perform poorly. I hope they do so soon.

• Dr Advisor on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:37 am

1. This is a very interesting test results. What and how we’re gonna use this test data? Yes, the application and implication part will be very interesting story too.

2. How about car with lower star get punished with higher car tax excise duty? Then, Ford Fiesta should get lower price as reward for being better safer car. While Proton, Perodua should be punished with heavier tax lah.

3. Insurance companies would use this test data to determine car insurance premium rates too. Safer higher-rating car should be cheaper to insure and vice versa.

4. MIROS have done a very good job here anyway. Hopefully MIROS can conduct Fuel Efficiency Test as well (or other govt agency JPJ/PUSPAKOM/Jab.Alam Sekitar?) Only then it’ll be complete comparisons: Safety Test and Fuel Efficiency Test. When combined both tests, car buyers finally can see the truth: which car is the safest and most economical fuel efficient engine. In USA, every new cars displayed sticker of fuel efficiency results and crash ratings made mandatory info to car buyers as final buying guide.

5. Finally MITI must be pressured to use both test results to reduce car price (for safer, fuel-efficient cars) or increase car price (for dangerous, fuel inefficient car). Current method by MITI of deducing car price & car excise duty based on engine capacity is now deemed outdated, irrelevant and obsolete. MITI must wake up and better give fair car price approvals.
    Eg. Ford Fiesta, Honda City = Lower car excise duty less 50 percent
    Eg. Proton, Perodua cars = Higher car excise duty. Kasi hantam these junk cars. HE HE HE HE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 8
    • sudonano on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:58 am

AGREE AGREE AGREE. Then we can use safer cars. more people can be saved. Road tax also should be based on CO2 emissions. Cause like some cars ie: Prius 1.8 has lower emissions than Altis 1.8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • wait till new gov formed, submit the proposals to them.
      as a new kid on the block they will more than happy to implement as token of appreciation to their died hard fans.
      do it man!(both voting and new implementation)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Peyno on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Agree w u bro… Bash proton n perodua coz higher tax .. Unlike ppl who bash proton n praise perodua, at the same time talk about tax, protection, anti nsp bla bla

Rupa2nya perodua salesman
      Prffthhh

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:45 pm

research had proven that many collisions occurred due to human error in judgement. like driving with excessive speed in corners. or driving with almost bald tyres. overtaking at blind spots/double lines. or following the car in front without proper clearance.

in advanced countries like UK, drivers who involved in accidents are penalised with heavy insurance premiums. and more excess so that he will be extra careful whenever he gets behind the wheel.

we should not put the blame totally on car whether it has 9 airbags or 2 airbags. its the attitude that has to change.

in malaysia a careless driver and a careful driver will be paying the same premium to insure their cars. a little unfair, aint it?

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:50 pm

Don’t you lose your NCD or something when you claim insurance? It is not as “good” as the system in Germany (where for every accident free year you get a few % lower insurance rates, while for every accident the % rises badly). But at least it is something.

• are rating base on airbag only? not fair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 36
    • Kalun on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:52 am

What do you expect? That’s how the Euro, Aussies test their cars. That’s why Aussies cars has more airbag and ESC in their cars.
      Because they have a larger brain than their asian counterpart. All asian think is RESALE VALUE.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • ochimusha on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:55 am

ncar rating,,evaluate base on dummy injury maa..
        in order to get great result of dummy injury level, all system such as restraint system must in perfect condition in order to absord crush load maa..

• i’m just say about what happen base on picture there. The star doesn’t represent about quality or whatoever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • Eyesore on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:45 am

Actually all crash test was evaluate based on dummy injury… all the safety items in the car is to minimize injury on the driver and passengers… if you can design as vehicle that can minimize injury (or no injury at all) without having airbag or any other safety assist… that car can get at least 3/4 star too… However since its kinda impossible, those safety features are made necessary in order to score higher rating. And the best way to minimise injury is to prevent accident from happening… hence the max stars usually goes to cars with accident prevention tools such as ABS, ESC, etc…

• Tracks on Feb 02, 2013 at 11:52 am

Excuse me. This is a crash test. Meaning evaluation conducted on the extent of damage or injury to the occupants in an event of a crash (impact / collision). Airbags (SRS) & Seat Belts are known Passive Safety System whereby its primary function is to reduce or minimize the impact force encountered by the occupant in an event that a collision is unavoidable. Hence, additional STAR is provided is the vehicle is is equipped with required Passive Safety System.
          ABS, EBD, BA, ESC & etc are known as Active Safety System whereby its primary function is to enable the driver to avoid a collision. therefore it is actually not accounted for the evaluation.

• don jelly cos ur car no airbag la..
      as a consolation u can hug a pillow in front of u when u drive

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:11 am

I don’t think so, 6 airbags are useless if the body dose’t hold. City have G-con and Vios has GOA as I know of.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:07 pm

GOA just a marketing term. The Avanza also has GOA, but did very poor in China, even though the Chinese are not very strict.

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:05 pm

GOA is not marketing term. just like euro ncap or chinese or even japanese ncap, toyota has its own way of defining car safety.

they take into consideration safety standards from many regions and they set to a certain standard. many regions have different standards as they are looking at the most type of collisions at that area. example, euro ncap emphasizes on pedestrian safety for the same reason.

read more about toyota’s GOA which began in the late 90s
          http://www.toyota.co.za/ContentPage.aspx?PageId=122

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Again, how can the Avanza comply to GOA standards (which are Toyota internal only) when it is clearly a lousy car in terms of safety? The Avanza performed as bad as the Proton Gen-2, or those countless rubbish backyard made cars from China. Maybe their standards are extremely low, then the car can pass. But that means it is useless.

• dugong on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:27 am

GOA is not a marketing term…..its a marketing gimmick.

• sudonano on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:50 am

Something is not right here, The Myvi’s A pillar and door is so bent that it whould require someone to extract the victim out. Yet its rated at 3 star compared to Saga and i10.

Plus why don’t they include in ESC test?

These I feel is not equivalent to Euro NCAP’s parameters, cause in Euro NCAP they have pole test, side impact test and ESC test. Having ESC is one half of the story, but how it works is another half (see the Jeep Grand Cherokee moose test here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HJ538H_KZCI)

• istvan on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:26 am

this is just phase 1. i believe there will be more test in next phase, including test you said.

• sudonano on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:26 pm

I hope so. Cause looking at the current state of the Lagi Best Myvi, it doesn’t look very promising.

• Grant on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:50 am

Well done Toyota and Honda.

BTW, why is the ASEAN-NCAP less stringent than the EuroNCAP? Is it because our lives isn’t worth as much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:10 pm

This is just phase 1, the next phase will include side impacts. They have just started, give them some time. Just ramping up.

• Grant on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:50 pm

This could be quite sometime yet but will the next phase include pedestrian protection/safety in the overall rating as well? I believe even local cars like Preve have already packaged their bonnet for pedestrian impact.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:57 pm

I think pedestrian protection will still take a while. To be honest cars in Malaysia are so far behind that pedestrian protection should be our smallest concern. First care about the people inside the car, then we can consider those outside. Also if someone wants to rob/kill us, we don’t want a car that protects the robber when we run over him, we want a car that makes sure the person won’t harm us ;)

• Cheese on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:01 am

How come Hyundai i10 get 4 star at Euro NCAP but only 2 stars at ASEAN NCAP?

• i guess is because the variants sold here come with less safety features

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:44 pm

The side airbags don’t have any benefits in frontal crashes, so that is not the reason. The i10 is simply an A segment car and was tested as such in Europe, while here it was set against B segment cars. That is unfair.

• Every region got different safety kit ooo

• Dr Cooper on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:16 am

i10 on Euro market got FOUR AIRBAGS while us got only TWO

• Cheese on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Less 2 Airbags will make 4 star becomes 2 star, then if take out 5 airbags from Fiesta(become same 2 airbags like City and etc) will make it drop to how many stars?

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:47 pm

That is nonsense. Only 3 of the airbags in the Fiesta will have deployed, since it was a frontal crash. The side airbags don’t help there. The Fiesta is simply a good and safe design, with a very stiff body that is designed to stand higher impact speeds too.

You will see the benefits of the additional airbags in side impact tests.

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:10 pm

asean ncap is based only on offset fron collision.

euro ncap has many tests including other than offset collision are front direct impact into deformable barrier, side collision, pedestrian impact and perhaps rollover test. points are averaged to become its total score.

• beatnik on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:06 am

No matter how junk is the vios, it is still better than saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • No, look at the test again, saga got better child safety rating. And to get 4 stars, the car should have electronic stability control. Now, something wrong here. Vios should get 3 stars only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • no need to talk logic and reason with vios’ fan.
        they dont have big brain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Honda on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:02 pm

4 star doesn’t necessarily need stability control. Unless for maximum rating (which is 5 stars), stability control is a must.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:58 pm

It is 2x as expensive. For 2x the money I don’t expect a bit better, I expect a much better car. I can live with a very cheap car that isn’t extremely safe. But if I pay so much, I want good protection.

• dugong on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:32 am

vios is just an overrated expensive junk with low safety. you are better of with a saga. ppl buy to show off the badge only. its no better than a saga at half the price.

• Come on…
    All other brands sent their cars built in 2012. Proton have to purposely send their Saga built in 2013 for the test when they have a yard-full unsold Saga at their backyard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Peyno on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Based on result Saga flx better thanmyvi
      U bash saga n praise city, fiesta.. Yet ppl know u just a perodua myvi salesman.. Sales byk tapi x pernah profit
      Baik jual sampah
      Prffthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Protonailing & losing money, everybody knows it.
        Perodua not making money, only you saying it.
        When no more modal to argue, mislead others with your imaginary fact. Oh yeah.

The 2013 saga made for the test achieved 1 big fat point in child protection again myvi. BUT IT STILL LOSE OUT TO MYVI IN SALES. hahaha… must be the brand. Tutup saja la. Despite all the technological advancement you have you still lose out. The public really hate this brand.hahahah

• Absolute Rider on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:09 pm

From the news, we all know that Proton also send the 2012 Saga besides the 2013 Saga FLX!

Do you know how to read? It even provide photos for both models. You know the different? or you can’t even differentiate both models?

DAMN! no wonder you keep bashing the same thing. BLIND BASHER!

• It is because 2012 Saga is the Saga that public buy. Not the Saga that built specifically for the test.

• Absolute Rider on Feb 02, 2013 at 5:44 pm

NCAP test the car NOT SPECIALLY BUILT FOR THE CRASH TEST. It is the same as production model for market!

You don’t know about it, don’t talk!

• For a company that survived (and yet is dying) on tax regime, what else is impossible? hahahha….

• ‘For a company that survived (and yet is dying) on tax regime, what else is impossible?’

don’t you think the above statement suit P2 also? last time P2 nautica did not sell well and been phased out very quickly because of the price right?

• You have just answered your question? One acted fast to end the model when they are not selling. The other just clinging on it and build to fill up their yard because of pride. And now even come out with a variant for it.

• ‘One acted fast to end the model when they are not selling’.

easy easy only for them because they has no R&D in such model, so if not sell just phased out. sound irresponsible to the buyers of nautica.

• Guilty? Compared to selling thousands of car with 1 star rating? And sending modified yet-to-be-launched car for Miros testing. Don’t twist the fact. They are caught with pants down. This is a hot topic among auto bloggers now.

Between these 2 brand, P2 is the lesser evil. That’s why they are selling more. If they are allowed to have sedan, P1 will doom faster. Of course if no tax regime, both will not survive.

• That’s business. What is the point continuing model that’s not selling? Pride? just like Proton? .. That’s business. They didn’t say they will stop supporting the model, so what is so irresponsible to the buyers?
          In business, we sell what the market wants. Not what you want to sell. As buyers, they don’t care what and how much effort you put in to manufacture the product. If the product sucks, it suck.

• hohoho, easy to say when you only assemble others model and rebadge right? no investment what so ever only stick the P2 badge. when not selling just phase out. feel no guilty.

anyway when you said tax regime early, don’t you think that applay to P2 also? i will certainly buy fiesta with 5 stars and 7 airbags than myvi anytime if not because of tax regime, you know…..

• fast on rolling downhill on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:19 am

seems saga shell still intact as ford and Honda eventhough the price is half. Proton should look into equipping more airbags and safety gadget to save more malaysian on the road. If we die, we cant buy anymore your next car. Pls give us safe car. Copy paste what ford put in their fiesta..simple…or else we malaysian will buy other brands even at 2nd hand option !

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:51 pm

I think what may have happened was that the front of the Saga is too soft, with a very stiff passenger cell following it. That means the impact isn’t slowed down much in the beginning, and suddenly the car stops, meaning high G forces. The goal is to prolong the time over which the car slows down, and to keep the forces rather smooth. So there is no peak that can hurt the passengers.

• jelly on Feb 01, 2013 at 9:33 am

Take note the vios used here is j spec which is the rubbish spec should be performing better if g spec is used instead..wonder why baseline spec used

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Normally low spec are tested to make sure the result applies to everyone. Also what safety features do higher spec Vios add? Alloy rims or body kits won’t make the car safer lor…

• dugong on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:35 am

so TRD badge and bodykit can safe you better than airbag?

• Sejak bila Honda City jadi 1.6cc pulak?

ASEAN NCAP oh ASEAN NCAP.

• I dont regret owning H city, safest, class leading on FC, spacious with 508 L boot size and stylish. RV also wont drop much once im ready to change for a Conti car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:40 pm

I’ve just drove from Rawang to Subang on the City and I have to say it’s a good car for the price you’re paying. Safest? maybe, but the Jazz brother did get Euro 5-star. Class leading in FC? In the NA 1.5, hell ya, beats even the Alza. Spacious? In it’s segment yup. And Stylish? for a 5-year old model to stand out in the crowds of handsome Koreans, yup. To me it looks like a budget sport sedan(wish for a bigger wheel though)

It’s not without flaws, In auto mode, it’s laggy, the engine is harsh when pushed and the wheel noise is terrible. But it’s the most balanced car in the competition, and I do hope the replacement to be outstanding. And yes, it’s a ladder to a conti car.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Sorry, but the Fiesta is better. It is safer in frontal impacts, and much safer in side impacts. It has a stronger engine, a better gearbox, better handling, in any way shape or form it is a better car. Except for the looks as sedan.

Also I thought the center seat in the rear is useless. Very uncomfortable (old City, don’t know about new one).

But amongst the Japs, apart from the hybrids, the City is a good choice. Still overpriced though.

• I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Have to disagree some parts, the interior is smaller and the blind spots are terrible(hatchback). So unless you’re single or a college student, is not an ideal car. And than again if you’re a college student , you have to fork up the high cost of replacement parts. I know people with Fords, and the replacement parts are not cheap or easy to come by.

The city is a better car if you have a small family. yes I agree, ford is safer, but the city frontal impact is only marginally less than the Fiesta, though II have no doubt it would perform less against the Fiesta in a side swept. But the interior is roomier, and easier to maintain. Don’t get me wrong, if Ford boost the 3S and maintenance cost, the Fiesta would have been ideal. And the City is not a better car than the Ford unless you have a family, it is simply a better balance all-rounder.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:15 pm

The Fiesta is still safer. Frontal impact a bit, side impacts a lot. Better sell the City before they test side impacts.

• Just be careful when parking. Its hot among car thieves.

• And i have safely bring back queen size bedframe from ikea using City. Practical u know.

• this is BS, the i10 is euro ncap 4 not some shitty asean rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
    • Honda on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:06 pm

i10 sold in Europe got 4 star EuroNCAP.
      i10 sold in Asean got 2 star AseanNCAP.

Simple as that.

• Cheese on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:54 pm

How about City at Euro NCAP?

• Honda on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:20 pm

There is no City data in EuroNCAP.

However, for Australia NCAP, City without VSA got 4 star and City with VSA got 5 stars

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:32 pm

The i10 is an A segment car and was tested as such in EuroNCAP. Here it was tested in the wrong category. But it shows that a good rating in the A segment doesn’t mean so much in a collision with a bigger car.

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:13 am

Walau, my vios protection against child is lower than saga????wat the hell selling at 80k plus. City seem good. Fiesta never judge the book by its cover.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Huh? The Saga castrates you in an accident, so it prevents you from getting children?

Kidding. Yes, the Vios is expensive for what it offers, but at least the frontal impact protection is still better than the Saga. Not sure if it is worth the 40k extra though for not so much more in protection. The Vios also lacks proper systems to fix child restraint systems, that’s probably why it did poorly. However to achieve these results you need to use a good child seat that matches the size and weight of your kid, and use it properly. Your child needs to wear a seatbelt in the child seat. If your kid is running around in the car I consider you a child murderer. The safest car in the world won’t help you in that case.

• David Lingam on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:17 am

Malaysia has strict rules on speed limits, AES get introduced because of safety but most local car here average has lesser air bag than others country do? I heard Proton from Australia has more air bag or safety features than its motherland? Correct me if I am wrong….

• c14man on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:54 am

Because Ozzie life more precious than malaysian’s life.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:18 pm

No. Aussies and Europeans base their car buying decision on the safety. A car that isn’t safe they won’t consider. Malaysians so far only looked at resale value. That’s why cars in Malaysia are behind cars overseas and in Australia. ASEAN NCAP could change this.

• Because they won’t be able to sell the car in Australia if it lacks 6 airbags and ESC.

The el cheapo Corolla variant sold there has a full complement of safety features (6 airbags + ESC).

• ya, asean life is cheaper than euro life:(

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Because Asians are more interested in resale value and brand. Asians simply prefer to buy cars that are less safe. Hopefully ASEAN NCAP can change this, and also drive up resale value of safer cars.

• Peyno on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:43 pm

If malysian happy with 1 airbag vios j spec, max 2 airbags entry level japs car.. Why we need 6 airbags?? And proton preve give us 4 airbags is good enough for malaysian

Blame to malaysian stupidity
      If malaysian bycott n dont wanna 2 airbags car… For sure they will add on airbags with less price

• sonyman on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:11 pm

i believe many malaysians buys a car without knowing what is an airbag and its purpose, that is to protect ones life. again, malaysian buys a car for transport, not knowing the dangers on the road or what will save your life in an accident.
        malaysians also buys a car based on what their neighbour buys and their friends opinions.
        thats why u see so many macidi, toyota and honda.
        also malaysian will buy a car if the service center is next to their house.
        lastly, malaysians generally value money more than life.
        but those who reads paultan, f&f and automotive sites are the exceptional bunch. we kynow what we want conti, he will say, siau ah no resale value. sad sad,never mind uncle and auntie will die soon anyway

• rosdi on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:18 am

Where is Preve, and Exora Bold? These are the two latest cars from Proton.. have they really improved their cars?

• Wait for second phase.

• Eyesore on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:39 am

Well MIROS choose the lowest variant of the best selling model for each manufacturer…. not really based on the car segment…. So for Proton is SAGA, Perodua is Myvi, Toyota is Vios, Ford is Fiesta Sedan, Honda is City and Hyundai is i10….

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:23 pm

This round was B segment (+ 1 A segment car). Makes sense, as it is the most common type of cars. Next round is MPV and perhaps side impact for B segment. I guess after that it is C segment, so then the Preve is tested.

We should however seen Preve results soon, when the Aussies release their results.

• Dr Cooper on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:19 am

Mind those city owner , the city the tested is S spec version..those who own E don’t get cocky..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • I.ME™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:52 pm

What are you trying to imply?
      both grade S & E are the same car with the E having VSC.

• Only the one launched in 2012 comes with VSA.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/20/honda-city-facelift-launched-now-with-5-year-warranty/

If you purchased yours before June, you don’t get VSA.

http://paultan.org/2008/10/13/2009-honda-city-in-depth-details-and-specifications/

• Welp.

The results are identical for both variants. It’s the same freaking car just that one has more or less features and are priced higher or lower.

• rosdi on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:20 am

Does this test takes ABS and traction control into account? If it does not, it should because these two could be the difference between a collision and no collision.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:27 pm

ABS is standard. ESP is the feature that matters now. TC is not important in Malaysia, unless the car has like 300 HP or more. In a normal car it only is important on ice and snow. It avoids wheel spin when accelerating. Not safety relevant for us.

• rosdi on Feb 01, 2013 at 8:37 pm

I agree on ESP, but I have to disagree TC when you say is irrelevant to us. TC does make a difference on wet slippery road.

• PauCharSiew on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:43 am

disgusting malaysian cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • c14man on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:53 am

Poor malaysian’s life are worthless.. Dirt cheap. That’s why we are left to drive low safety rating cars. (sarcasm)
    Why are malaysians being forced to buy low quality cars? Why can’t it be open market where manufacturers compete on level ground? Those who bought a car in the mid 80’s will know foreign car prices (almost) doubled after the introduction of P1.
    If there’s one reason I’ll vote wisely in coming GE, opening the car market is the only reason I need.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:39 pm

They are not forced. Why do they buy Vios instead of Fiesta? Camry instead of Passat, Mondeo, K5, 508 or C5? They have the choice, and they pick the less safe one. The market decides. In other countries people wouldn’t even consider buying a Malaysian Camry. Even if it were much cheaper. That is why in other countries the cars are safer.

• PauKaya on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:26 am

if you live in a small town in the middle of nowhere you are almost forced to buy a toyota or honda as there aren’t any good peugeot or ford showrooms/service centres. Even if there is one you are limited to one place and if that certain place is of poor service you are kind of screwed up.

• If we have the same ratio for number of service centers for each car brand, then you will see a fair competition and see the real results. Big IF.

• roxas on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:57 am

LOL ! ridiculous, stupid evaluation. makan duit again ? look at the myvi, the roof is already out of shape, front seat is out of position and windscreen glass? in real situation u will be dead. and the i10 scores lower than this burger?? and who is the ASEAN ncap/MIROS crash expert? well if rating based on safety equipment, i hope hyundai will do something then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Honda on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Readings can gives us more knowledge.

http://www.globalncap.org/News/News_archive/2012/Pages/ASEANNCAPlaunchesitsPhaseIcrashtestprogramme.aspx

• “MIROS is keen to point out that where the collision tests are concerned, the damage to the dummies (and the correlating injuries sustained by occupants) is more important than the damage to the car. So, a car which looks on the surface to be heavily deformed after the crash may not necessarily receive a low safety rating – in fact the opposite can be true, especially when one considers crumple zones and other impact-absorbing structures.”

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:48 pm

We don’t know what happened inside the i10. Maybe the airbag wasn’t full enough and the head of the driver smashed into the steering wheel. Maybe the engine pushed itself into the foot area. Also keep in mind the i10 is A segment, and here it was tested to B segment standards. To get a good B segment rating you need to fulfill higher standards. That will explain the differences. The forces on the passengers were simply higher.

However at an even slightly higher speed the Myvi is probably deadly, since the car is collapsing at this speed already. The Fiesta looks like it can stand higher speeds.

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:18 pm

other hidden factors are crumpled floorboards, causing pedal movement towards driver during hard breaking.

serious injury could occur to driver’s legs/knee. proton waja failed miserably in this area.

• momok5900 on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:20 am

you want cheap but spacy : Proton la
    you want less migrain : Perodua la
    you want easy service : Malaysia car
    you want to keep your car in bengkel : Korean car
    high resale value : Honda,Vios
    dont like Japanese babe: Ford la….
    rich guy : dont bother with these cars la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • cadangkan supaya asean n-cap utamakan side impact jugak….sebab kat malaysia banyak banyak accident side impact terutama keluar simpang……. kalau best lagi tambah lagi rating impact dengan lori

• vincent on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:46 am

EuroNCAP shows i10 achived 4 stars and Vios only got 3 stars. How come in Malaysia i10 only 2 stars where a Vios gets 4 stars? I really doubt the how the test is run, I believe the Vios in Europe even equipped with 6 airbags as it is the requirement in today’s car.
    i10 is a subcompact car and should be compare among Kelisa, Savvy. Not to compare it with bigger boys like City or Fiesta. Otherwise a 4 stars Vios will end up 2 stars if compare to a Ford Focus.

Another question is: Does it mean the Innokom built i10 is not up to the safety standard compare to the one from Korea?

• European version of i10 have 4 airbags while here only 2 airbags. The result is they lose 2 star… :(

• The Vios isn’t sold in the European market. The closest thing you can get to a Vios in Europe is the Toyota Vitz.

The i10 is 4 stars in Europe as it has two extra airbags.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:52 pm

You are right. The i10 is a class below the other cars in this test. However this gives us an insight how the improvement is from going from a to b segment. How they can be compared, how much a good rating of an A segment car is really worth.

The additional airbags won’t benefit frontal crashes, apart from the knee airbag.

• From the pics i think i10 is better than Myvi. Can see the Myvi A-pillar bent – the passengger cage not able to withstand the impact. The door oso effected in Myvi… why i10 only got 2 stars???

• roxas on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:33 pm

myvi not only a pillar bend, look at the roof ! i really wonder wat standard this is. im sure i10 body is better

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Shorter crumple zone. Thus the forces on the passengers are stronger. That’s all. Look at the smart fortwo. You wouldn’t want to sit in one when it crashes into some big car, right? Yet the body is extremely stiff. They have crashed it at 120 km/h, and it didn’t deform. Problem is, the driver deforms with such a deceleration.

At higher speeds the Myvi is surely deadly. It is JUST enough for this test. Any faster and the Myvi driver is squeezed to death.

• sudonano on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Exactly. Top Gear shows how Euro NCAP does it here.

http://katzefox.multiply.com/video/item/6

POint is there is something not right. if the A pillar gives way, your whole dash goes into your face. And that can be the end of your neck. If you are lucky, you will not snap your neck, but you will be trapped inside.

• CrashDummy on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:52 am

Sometimes we wonder how all these expensive NCAP test results will benefit current and future owners. As someone commented, what are the real world benefits?

There is already a huge database [at least 7 years worth] of actual damages to both vehicles and limps in the insurance industry. Why aren’t this data being put to good use?

From a very rough survey the last 2 years, our list of the 5 most dangerous models to be involved in an accident are:

1. Perodua Viva
    2. Proton Saga [all versions]
    3. Proton Gen2 [all versions]
    4. Perodua Kancil
    5. Toyota Avanza

Our wish is that the industry make available safer cars and those who choose so can enjoy lower insurance cost. Its a win-win situation which the industry has so far chosen to ignore.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:09 pm

The benefit is that by knowing how safe current cars are people can decide on their car based on that. It is easier to compare also. As a result less safe cars will suffer from poor sales, so car makers will offer better cars to improve sales. At least that is how it worked in Europe.

• sarcastic on Feb 01, 2013 at 11:53 am

hmm.. will viva even get half star?? see also know disqualified..

• ipoh zai on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:08 pm

proton pay alot money for this, so it showing more star than vios… haha…. (kidding)

• Simon Ng on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Getting a car with good ratings is one thing. The protection is only limited to a certain level. The driver’s mentality is another thing. How many times we have seen adult carrying a child sitting at the front seat while the child leaning against the dash board? Or having five or six kids cramp behind sedan outside of a school?

I sincerely hope this list does not distort what it takes to be safe on the road.

• Someone with 5-6 kids shouldn’t be driving a 4-door sedan but thanks to ridiculous taxes, many MPVs are out of reach to some.

• when the prevee going for the test? will be interesting to c how the results?

• moving in the right direction. Many cars here are not sold or have different safety specs in Euro,US or Australia and as such have no proper safety rating here.
    Hopefully MIROS follow the standards set by EURO NCAP /Aust NCAP strictly to maintain credibility. If not people will lose trust on these ratings and the whole exercise will go to waste.

• unforgiven on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:01 am

Very true, don’t get into political, must maintain credibility

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Q36_r5Fol8 why the Japanese version of daihatsu received good rating and our perodua to perform well can anyone explain

• unforgiven on Feb 01, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Wait, are you guys happy with 4 stars or 5?
    Why don’t we give a change so that everyone is able to enjoy cheap and safe cars? 5 stars car below rm 50 k?

• breezehaw on Feb 01, 2013 at 1:00 pm

World no 1 car menufactrer Toyota just selling high in quantity not all their models design is good. that’s why Vios got 4 stars

• Extremist on Feb 01, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Since the AseanNCAP is currently only conducting the front collision, here I compiled some results of EuroNCAP front collision. The result is only for CHEST injury for front driver.

Hyundai i10: WEAK
    Nissan Micra: ADEQUATE
    Toyota Yaris 2005 Hatchback: ADEQUATE
    Ford Fiesta: ADEQUATE

The AseanNCAP results does match with the EuroNCAP result quite well.

http://www.euroncap.com/tests/hyundai_i10_2008/323.aspx

• 4 airbags vs 2 airbags

• alldisc™ on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:25 pm

hyundai i10 is a micro car where the driver seats close to the steering wheel and hence chest injury is likely more.

fiesta, micra and yaris are all in supermini categories which in hyundai term is equivalent to i20 models.

• Mooncake on Feb 03, 2013 at 11:15 am

That’s just an excuse not to do well in safety. If Hyundai is committed to safety, they can do it regardless the size and category of the car. Let’s face it. Hyundai wants to minimize R&D cost for a small car, hence you get unsafe i10.

• Angelo Blanco on Feb 02, 2013 at 2:31 am

Unfortunately, structure wise, Yaris is not exactly the same as Myvi.

• potong dan madey bagai pinang dibelah dua on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:06 pm

proton memang tutttttt! buat kereta kualiti rendah tapi jual harga macam mahal gila! madey ko memang tuttttttttttttt!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • AhBeng on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:19 pm

How come they test the Honda City with high spec. The base spec City didn’t even have ESC. Something smell fishy here. SPRM did you hear me ?

• Extrimist on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Nothing is fishy. It is clearly stated in the report.

http://www.fiafoundation.org/Documents/NCAP/asean_ncap_result_handbook.pdf

• bangi on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:17 pm

read first the handbook before post your comment….dont always listen to hearsay…read..read..read..and analyse first..dont be like ‘org lepad kedai kopi’ ..always pointing to other person..

• esc or vsa in the city has nothin to do with these ncap rating, its an active safety, to avoid accident, this rating is for passive safety, so it doesnt matter

• Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Why G allow proton to sell unsafe cars? Anyone still want to buy proton saga?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Rakyat on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:37 pm

It is confirmed that the metal used to make proton is Milo tin!

Pros of using Milo tin:
    1. Safe cost
    2. Recycle material

Cons of using Milo tin:
    1. Low safety rating
    2. Easy to rust

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Myvi worse lor…

• Please aske POSCO and JSSM if they recycle tin milo to make the coil..confirmed stupid rakyat

• Ah Beng on Feb 02, 2013 at 1:33 am

Why people call proton cars are made of Milo tin? It’s because it’s not safe. How many people who have accident in proton? Even cronies don’t want to drive them. Think lah before you make your comment, smarta$$.

• Extremist on Feb 01, 2013 at 3:58 pm

The official test result (without the Saga FLX+) can be accessed here:

http://www.fiafoundation.org/Documents/NCAP/asean_ncap_result_handbook.pdf

We can see the risk injury at head, neck, chest, abdomen and many more. Worth to check.

• sudonano on Feb 02, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Thank you for putting this here. They should improve the ASEAN NCAP site. Its not working properly.

• Leonardo on Feb 01, 2013 at 4:35 pm

It is confirmed that MyVi is using Aluminum cans for some body parts:

Advantages of Aluminium can:
    1. Lightweight
    2. Recycable

Disdvantages of Aluminium can:
    1. Very low safety ratings
    2. Can collect only after football matches outside stadiums

• vee-oh on Feb 01, 2013 at 5:17 pm

these tests if do during kancil era, will be very easy to calculate the score..its 0 star

• aduss on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:08 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DUspIO-QobY

• Myvi test result is really terrible as compared to the 05 sirion tested in europe n in japan. This just mean myvi made here does not meet the actual specifications. For a 2012 to get that kind A pillar almost snaping off, whole cabin is unstable, very unsafe car. It will be worst if it hit a camry or accord, absolute no chance of driver survival.

• Angelo Blanco on Feb 02, 2013 at 2:26 am

There are certain things that Perodua didn’t tell Malaysians about the structural differences in Myvi and it’s siblings in Japan.

• Dec last year, avanza n myvi hit me front back. avanza in the middle the front bumper tore off, rear door bend into 3 rd row seat n myvi radiator leaked. City only got crack on rear lamp and scratch on bumper. Im lucky cos rear passenger not injured.

• kadajawi on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Reading through the PDF that was posted here I’m a bit confused. You need a minimum of 14 out of 16 to get 5 stars, plus ESP. But they say the Vios and March could be eligible for 5 stars, if they had ESP? How? Even the Myvi would be eligible? Seriously? It clearly only gets enough points for 3 stars. In fact it is close to a 2 star rating! (The Saga is close to a 4 star rating). They should stop copy and paste…

The first Saga they tested was quite ok for the driver (leg room not as good as Vios, but the rest comparable), but since the passenger didn’t have an airbag the passenger dummy went straight into the plastic infront of him. That is, well, deadly, and as such the result was so poor.

Tests seem to continue in Q2, with 2 tests in April, 3 in May and 2 in June. 7 more cars then… but where are the side impact tests?

• sonyman on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:47 pm

i think you better stop reading because the more you read the more rubbish you will find, i know you and i are conti lovers, heck u the french guy, but these test ,it wont prove much time being, just a show off we can to safety crash test, the results dont bother, because the test never meant anything, just enjoy the jokes here and drive safe, as long as you know the car you drive is a good investment to you and your family.

• farghmee on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:19 am

i really like ur comments kadajawi :)

• ahnadino on Feb 01, 2013 at 6:49 pm

This crash test are under malaysian standard that why the result in such a way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • bangi on Feb 01, 2013 at 10:08 pm

oh man..u got 10 years old mind…keep reading and gain some knowlegde about crash test…let me know if u pass your spm..

• kasut hang on Feb 01, 2013 at 7:07 pm

madey mesti tersenyum lebar tgk saga flx potong dia dpt 3 bintang

• Hope to know this test result for ALmera too…

• Nice

• presna on Feb 02, 2013 at 4:34 am

This Asean NCAP programme is a great thing for everyone concerned…

now if only the government would ((at least)) make it mandatory for car companies to insert the ASEAN NCAP crash test results in the car brochures, specifying the exact model that they’re selling here….. instead of current practice of ‘some’ sales-rep just crapping about how the cars they’re selling did so well abroad in EU NCAP and all (even though the model and the features are different from those tested in EU and the ones being sold here…….)

p.s. I know the NCAP programme is still in its infancy, but it would be great if the mandatory listing is made sometime in (near)future…..

• fuel cell phone on Feb 02, 2013 at 7:42 am

i ‘hope’ every mass produced car like
    p1
    p2
    toy
    hon
    nis
    mit
    maz
    kia
    hyun
    vw
    pug
    etc., will get all their models tested, except for import models tested by other equivalent standards

• Joker on Feb 02, 2013 at 8:59 am

The credibility of the whole study and body is highly questionable.

• Rakyat on Feb 02, 2013 at 3:51 pm

Agree, if dare put P1 & P2 under EURONCAP test.

• Wow, looking at the my wee hell of a wreck, shouldn’t it have lower stars?

• Mooncake on Feb 02, 2013 at 6:12 pm

I laud this move and it is much overdue for cars produced in this region to have an official NCAP rating. But, I strongly oppose to any car makers trying to sponsor efforts like this as it is going to severely distort the results. The Ford Fiesta child protection is appalling on ASEAN NCAP but 4 stars on EURONCAP. What’s going on there? Honda City seems to be scoring like nobody’s business. Looks like it’s safer to drive a City than a Focus? Should we be smiling?
    http://paultan.org/2012/11/07/honda-malaysia-miros-collaborate-for-asean-ncap/

• kadajawi on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:26 pm

The child protection score mostly tells you how good a child seat you can mount, and how well you can mount it. If you don’t use the best you can in that given car, the score is unimportant.

Also I doubt the City will be safer than the Focus, in the side impact test it will fail badly, unlike Fiesta and Focus. Luckily for Honda they so far only tested the things where the City is decent in.

• safety first always on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:09 am

What a shame!! Really wonder what Proton BLM’s
    design criteria was then…

• Mywhat?? on Feb 03, 2013 at 10:30 am

Myvi is the best selling car in Malaysia for many years, it’s also one of the least safe cars on the road. Please explain Perodua, you owe us that!

• Sam Loo on Feb 03, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Kimchis can have as many stars as they can buy, but still, they will have no RV at all

• Blaze on Feb 03, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Quote. ” . To be eligible for a five-star rating, a vehicle must have at least two airbags, electronic stability control and a seatbelt reminder, or it will only qualify for a maximum of four stars”. Well i think this is not going towards the right direction for us to move forward. How come a car with 2 airbags got a score as good as 6 airbags? Such move will make car companies here more excuses not to equip their models with top priority in active and passive safety features. Ford might reduce the number of their airbags since the Fiesta will still be awarded with a five stars. How about when they conduct the side impact test later? Will they award another star rating for side impact? What is the point of spending lots of money in having such facilities and conducted all the testing and the end result is that cars are remain the same. What they should do is to make the government to play their part in probably giving some tax incentive for automakers who equip their cars with more safety features. I sincerely hope you guys who attended the media briefing raised this issue to them.

• Ah Beng on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:39 am

This shows the G don’t care about your safety. They allow any car to be sold including those 1 star proton saga and tax heavily on cars that are safe? Talk about logic.

• If the local variant of Honda City is put to test in Euro NCAP or ANCAP, it will get at most 4 stars because of the lack of airbags. The only car which can get a full 5 star in EURO/AU NCAP is the Fiesta.

Also to all Honda City owners, this test does not mean ALL Honda Citys are 5 star. Only the variant which has VSA can quality for a ASEAN NCAP 5 star.

Nevertheless this is a good start, all car makers should at least come out with a variant with 7 airbags and VSA.

• Bakut on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:53 am

Why Proton sending the new FLX + for testing ahead of launching?

Or Proton knew earlier that current Saga getting 1-star rating only?

Hmmmm…Something is fishy here. Either MIROS or Proton not telling the truth lah.

• Ah Beng on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:33 am

Before ASEAN NCAP no one knows that it is 1 star mah(who in Malaysia don’t know it is made of Milo tin?), so don’t tell rakyat the truth lol.

• Bakut on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:01 am

Looks like Proton getting special treatment than others?

Allowed to send better spec Saga just to hide embarrassment getting 1-star only?

MIROS credibility being challenged here!

• Ah Beng on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:25 am

Does proton power windows work after crash?

• Beng Ah on Feb 20, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Window glass was broken, work or not working doesnt mattery anymore :)

• P1 Salesman on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:11 am

Why do people want to invest in a 1 star proton saga?

• RedBeanBun on Feb 06, 2013 at 12:55 pm

cos we have no choice as this is the cheapest car available..

• P2 Salesman on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:00 am

Stop complaining that viva is made of paper and instead wear helmet when driving the car!

• shoku on Feb 06, 2013 at 12:40 pm

for saga blm can refer to s16 test by ancap http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=382

but s16 has 2 airbags..saga blm only one

• why no KIA models especialy the hot selling KIA forte there?

• Abdul Salam Khan on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Gees, guys you don’t have a Tweet button! Go get a Plugin folks!!!

• carreviewsncare.com on Feb 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm

I am glad I driving 4-star scored safety car. I shall be able to sleep peacefully :)

• saga ngv on Feb 12, 2013 at 9:27 am

Mana result viva? Masa development sistem utk crash test ni berapa biji viva dan alza dah test.takkan tiada resultnya?

• half_Blood Prince Perak on Feb 13, 2013 at 3:18 pm

This major test should make it regular, parents should consider before buying a car to their children.

• koboi on Feb 16, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Worth a laugh.. lol
    Most accidents happen r not just front impact but side crash or 45 degree side crash and even roll over..
    Or u may refer this www.iihs.org

• factstell on Mar 14, 2013 at 9:01 am

Much talk about Proton Saga is tougher than many Japanese cars. These people criticising so called Asian Japanese cars but what does the results shown to now ? Talked bad about Perodua cars being milo tin cans and what not. Look now their results here.

• asdsad on Mar 21, 2013 at 2:08 pm

this paultan forum and lowyat FnF is full of kadajawi comments.

dude, can you do us a favor? open a blog and rant there? why must i see your comment everywhere?????

be fair, ok? a few comments is alright, but do you have to reply to EVERY comments??????? i’m sick of your renault old car story. enough is enough. i know you just love proton, so go get one and have a life. stop roaming in car forums of malaysia and COMMENT in EVERY single one of it.

be fair, its not your own play ground, go open a blog, to test drive all the cars in the market, and one day you can be like paultan.

for the moment being, tone down. its more than a year since you show up in msia and pollute us with your comments.

• Raymond on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

I partially agree with the NCAP test results. NCAP rating should be standard across the globe for all consumers to have an exact picture of the vehicle’s build and quality. How car a car with dual air bags rate highly. Today we look at the Euro NCAP that cars having 5 stars are fitted with at least 5 air bags to 7 air bags.
    Collision testing are based on:
    a. Frontal Collision
    b. Side Impact

Follow a single world standard to inform consumers and not our ASEAN NCAP rating which the ratings are our own standards.

• Raymond on Mar 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

I partially agree with the NCAP test results. NCAP rating should be standard across the globe for all consumers to have an exact picture of the vehicle’s build and quality. How car a car with dual air bags rate highly. Today we look at the Euro NCAP that cars having 5 stars are fitted with at least 5 air bags to 7 air bags.
    Collision testing are based on:
    a. Frontal Collision
    b. Side Impact

Follow a single world standard to inform consumers and not our ASEAN NCAP rating which the ratings are our own standards.