Honda CR-V – ad for fourth-gen pops up on oto.my

crv oto 1
UPDATE: The fourth-gen Honda CR-V has been launched in Malaysia. Click here to read our launch report, and here for a comprehensive test drive review

It looks like the fourth-gen Honda CR-V may be on its way here soon – an ad for the SUV, which debuted in LA in late 2011 and began selling in Japan in December that same year, has surfaced on oto.my, stating that bookings are open for it.

Initially, it listed the price as RM170,000, with 2.0 and 2.4 litre units stated under the engine capacity. It has since been revised to RM153,980 (and the 2.4 is now a 2.5), which coincidentally is the price of the third-gen CR-V Limited that was announced last October, so that figure should be taken with a pinch of salt.

crv oto

The allusion to the 2.4 is interesting. The current CR-V is available here in only in its 2.0 litre form, so will there finally be two engine variants for the SUV? To recap, the K24A 2.4 i-VTEC offers 190 PS and 222 Nm of torque in its domestic form, paired with a five-speed automatic tranny.

As for the 2.0, the R20A i-VTEC SOHC unit has 150 PS and 191 Nm for numbers, virtually identical to what’s on now, but the company has previously stated that the mill in the new CR-V will offer powerful torque characteristics from the low rpm range on, so that should hopefully address the slightly lethargic take-up exhibited by the current vehicle. While the Japanese 2.0 litre model comes equipped with a CVT, it’s likely that the one we’ll get will be shod with a five-speeder auto.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• BMW Fanboi on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 160
  • APA PUN TAK BOLEH on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:12 pm

Rear looks like Bolbo……:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
  • Wanabe on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:27 pm

If you like a high view city sedan car get a CR-V, else please don’t consider it. It has many engine issue and technical problems.

1) Air Cond Compressor tends to malfunction
    2) Suspension ball joint juggles with noise at rough road
    3) Air intake mounted below engine compartment( water enters easily damaging engine during flood)
    4) Real time 4WD not for soft road rather for winter and icy condition
    5) Other SUV outperform CR-V at off road conditions
    6) Engine needs to be rev to at start off, peak torque and hp is high
    7) Overtaking at high ways takes forever and worst even at hilly areas
    8) Excessive road noise and tyre noise ( too much )
    9) High fuel comsuption

Apart from all these
    Its spacious
    Its practical for good carriage
    Its comfortable people carrier

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 15
    • Mat Global on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Malaysian mentality is such that it is always Honda Crv when it comes to high driving.However on closer inspections and test drives i find that it is Nissan that excells in 4 WD suv.
      There is a u.k report that rate even now Nissan Qashqai above CX-5 despite already some years in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • I.ME™ on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:57 pm

CRV has more specs for price than the equivalent X-trail. And X-trail here only comes in 2WD. True, the CRV consumes alot of fuel, but in the 2.0 4WD, it’s still the best. Oddly enough, the Toyota RAV-4 started this compact SUV trend, wonder why UWM did’t bring that to compete with the CRV, probably better if it did’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • I.ME™ on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Not far off the price from the current one, and whole lot better looking from the front, with the rear being a bit weird…… It’s a bit like hunchback Tom Cruise. To me it looks like a bigger, more matured Kia Sportedge. Not that that’s a bad thing, but is definitely not the typical ‘uncle’ looks

Now we need to know is the spec, common Honda, at least 6 bags for the 2.4 and standard VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Jimmy on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Just my guess, safety equipments are 4-airbags, ABS/EBD/BA/VSC. Otherwise, it would have been mentioned clearly and shouted loud. You know le, Honda Malaysia,
      CBU CX-5 yeah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • I.ME™ on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Yeah most likely 4 Airbags[dual front +side], but my fingers are crossed. Honda is not as generous as KIA, but they are not as selfish as Toyota.

CBU CX-5 is a great car, but since I do not yet know the equipment of this Honda, I’ll just compare design. The Interior isn’t really as well design as the Honda to me. And the CRV is an overall bigger car. And at the reported price it’s still cheaper than the 2WD CX-5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • tricycle on Feb 03, 2013 at 12:42 pm

exterior design is fugly. Other than that everything is fine. but i prefer the exterior of cx5.

in terms of compact SUV, everything about the 2013 ford escape 1.6 ecoboost is the best.

bring it to Malaysia, Ford!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Seem like Honda Malaysia doesn’t care about time to market. After face lifted then limited. Mazda seem taking advantage like CX5 & coming M6. Today Malaysia market seem very interesting for consumer except car price !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Lose on Feb 03, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Good car, beats the Korean Junk in any aspect. RV is the most important thing, no RV, throw money into sea better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 55
    • Clueless on Feb 03, 2013 at 1:48 pm

RV RV and RV….
      Only some poor ppl like u care about RV over anything else.
      Korea car r definitely selling well, despite still poor RV
      And also many ppls getting Beemer and other conti. There are a large fraction of buyer which goes for style n practically.

Btw, u car dealer for T or H?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 24
      • I.ME™ on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Hey, there are many people who care about RV, not just poor people. RV is considered a ladder towards owning a better next car. there is large majority of people who still cannot afford a conti. Thou I agree Sam here is exaggerating most of his facts, but you just can’t go and say ‘poor ppl like u care about RV over anything else.’ I know alot people who still can’t afford even a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
      • hindo on Feb 03, 2013 at 8:28 pm

u never been a real state of this situation i guess, i been own a Citroen ,then i consider sell it …guess what dont talk about RV, even it hard to sell off.

• Mat Global on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:02 pm

To some extent can agree with S.L on this.But why can’t u just say no RV throw the car into seawater better.

• Sam Loo on Feb 03, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Showing the Hilux to kimchi owners that realised that they bought a cabbage happens to be pretty rewarding nowadays

• No 7 car seat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Volvo-ish tail light.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Mazda CX5 is giving Honda a run for its money. Hope the CKD od Mazda CX5 will not skim on spec, like how Hoda’s Jazz Hybrid does…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Monday Blues on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:11 pm

At last, the new faces of CRV is coming in! The real competitor to CX-5..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • I.ME™ on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:42 pm

I don’t think so, to me it’s targeted at two different customers. The CX-5 for those who are single or a small family and the CRV for those who has a family. Don’t know weather the typical Aunty or Uncle will appreciate the sharper sportier design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Sight on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:43 pm

I don’t understand why only single or small family should get CX-5 while family, I assumed bigger family should go for CRV. CX-5 is a bigger car than this new CRV in every aspect. This hunchback CRV only looks big but actually its still the small old CRV.

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:29 pm

You have clues in some of your many comments.
        Go to see & test drive CX-5.
        Skyactive vs hybrids.
        CRV? Where is she?

• Mat Global on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:20 pm

2.4 or 2.5 engine is near ideal for Honda Crv. Definitely not a 2.0 engine, is damp slow.
    It will be much better with CVT transmission.

• Lenny on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Wow, I’m just about to put my money on sportage, now I gonna wait and see for this one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • Hang tuah on Feb 03, 2013 at 2:57 pm

Rather get Mazda CX 5……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
  • definie on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:23 pm

2.4l is for those who don’t really care about FC, same goes to sport cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • littlefire on Feb 03, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Getting higher CC does not meann they dont care about FC. Sometime the road you travel like hilly roads or picking up a lot of people / stuff in your SUV, may need that extra torque to help push things up.. In the end, the FC may be even better compare to the underpowered spec if taken the same condition..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Hassan Nawawi on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Definitely a family car, my experience say passenger wise still for small family i.e. 3 kids max for comfort. But cargo space has been the best point. With small kids, i even manage to ferry around 2 strollers, bath basin. The only thing I dislike for this design base on review, space underneath dashboard. The fact that current model has space between drivers and co pilot make sense and practical.

• Chow1 on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Mazda 6, CRV, Camry or new Accord?

• I.ME™ on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:53 pm

IMHO, Is Mazda 6 or Camry in this comparison, if you are wanting a D-segment, which the Mazda 6 will come out victorious. CRV is if you want a large high family SUV. The new Accord is not here yet, so is better to leave that out of the comparison, unless is more or less confirm the same price, VSC, and 6 airbags, than the Accord is a preferred choice for me.

• Mat Global on Feb 03, 2013 at 4:08 pm

Having owned more than 20 brand new cars big n small incl. Bmw..Hondas..and 4 wd suv, i choose Proton Preve turbo as a must have car anytime for a thrilling and pleasure driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 57
      • yeah.. in ur dream

• Sound more like 20 new hot wheels models and one preve to me…

• mak global on Feb 04, 2013 at 4:32 am

I have request for pics, or it didn’t happen

• Mat Global on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:24 pm

If you are keen enough you can conduct a search at JPJ tracing owners of plate No KU9999 (Bmw 318i) and spouse RB 99 (X-Trail). The Proton Preve cfe No. is BLT 8080.
          Pictures are impossible to produce as some cars were already under scrap and the no RV could have ended in the sea.
          Owner then works as bank branch manager (Pbb) and spouse is a grad teacher.
          Please treat all the imformations you may have obtained as Private & Confidential.

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Still young. You can post the above comments if you have at least 6-figure monthly income with banks sponsoring your Mercedeses.

• Sight on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:22 pm

Anymore BMW or 4WD posters left? Love to have one in my toilet.

• ahboi on Feb 03, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Volvo rear lights.

• Cx5 is much better spec than crv. Leather, sunroof, 19″ just to name a few. One thing I don’t understand why it takes Honda 1.5 years to launch in Malaysia while cx5 is launched worldwide concurrently? Don’t we deserve more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:37 pm

Most importantly the safety specs. And the rigidity of skyactiv. And in case you care about FC.

• gen y on Feb 03, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Meh….

• BeemerFreak on Feb 03, 2013 at 5:39 pm

1 year too late, why cant honda malaysia be like mazda, launch the car as soon as the global launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • lovetodrive on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:11 pm

When will this CRV lauch in Malaysia? Still considering whethet to take CX5 or this CRV

• derek on Feb 03, 2013 at 7:53 pm

ME TOO, comparing CX-5 with CR-V

• Mat Global on Feb 05, 2013 at 3:22 pm

Just come to know that ckd of CX-5 Will roll out come this May.may be worth to wait and compare by that time.

• Mat Global on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:08 pm

If available and within the same price range i will go with Nissan Juke.

• Sgt Scoop on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:23 pm

I’ll be interested in seeing the specs. I almost bought a CRV in 2011 but opted for an Accord as the CRV was so basic inside. It’s a great vehicle and a huge seller globally but Honda Malaysia have to up their game a little. 6 airbags, VSC, leather seats and bluetooth controls on the steering wheel are the minimum standard for any vehicle over RM150K.

• sudonano on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Wonder how it will stack against the new Santa Fe. Or the CX5.

• Average Joe on Feb 03, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Wonder if they will have a Hybrid version?

• CRV was never built for off road capability. Its for family use and if u need to carry huge item.
    If u want to go to rough road condition, dont buy CRV. Under extreme env, cx5 or xtrail also fail.

I still like Ford Escape. Top seller behind CRV. Cx5 is stylish but still not many buy it.

• Mat Global on Feb 03, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Nissan X-Trail with sophisticated 4wd options can never failled unlike Crv suv which is more of
      ‘Schools Utility Vehicle’.
      Even when one drives under 2 wheels drive option if roads situation demanding, the sensors is able to detect and 4 wheels drive system of X-Trail will comes in automatically.

• handsome on Feb 03, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Fortuner VNT Rules !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • i already saw my neighbour’s new crv brunei plate..hmm..design abit weird..same perception on the last gen too

• Ekspresi Ruang on Feb 03, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Malaysia always slow poke. I saw this in Batam, Indonesia last month.

• miriboy on Feb 03, 2013 at 8:49 pm

brunei already have this car last year and why is malaysia always late?? :(

• The rear is so XC60. Haih what a bummer

• zebulun on Feb 03, 2013 at 11:10 pm

ugly as shyte.. looks like a head with exploding brain

• So-hai Sam loo on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:57 am

Saw it in bangkok, nothing to shout about!

• miskin on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:19 am

macam lampu belakang volvo xc60 pom ada…….

• blackmarket on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:45 am

Hi Volvo

• ben yap on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:55 am

it is not slightly lethargic. it’s very lethargic. i drove it on long haul and it has problem overtaking from slow speed.

• G3 Honda CRV is better that this.

• the current crv 2.0 offering on 191nm of torque is too gutless for an SUV. While the 2.5 offering 222nm torque have bttr torque, ….Honda Msia shud consider the diesel 1.6 idtec sold in UK/Europe instead which churn out 300nm and very good FC too!. Tuned it to suits our crap euro2 diesels.

• Anand on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:19 am

latest hyundai santa FE coming soon…but dono when…gud looking SUV…anytime better than CRV..

• ben yap on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:24 pm

it’s seriously underpowered and i’ve driven it before. need to prod it hard to get it going.

• nekajis on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:33 pm

nice

• wilpuiyo on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:10 am

but metekaji is mereng inseng….durk the crampi while drek or wespor…so dunnu whay it tork nork go…