Maserati GranTurismo Sport launched – RM1.118 mil

GranTurismo Sport-25

Naza Italia launched the Maserati GranTurismo Sport this morning. The GranTurismo Sport, a variant that made its debut at the 2012 Geneva Motor Show, is priced in Malaysia from RM1,118,000.

The GranTurismo Sport is an evolution of the GranTurismo S, but with aggressive looks thanks to “aerodynamically efficient design upgrades” from the GranTurismo MC Stradale. The newest GranTurismo also gets fresh LED DRLs and xenons with Adaptive Light Control, which tracks the movement of the steering wheel up to 15 degrees.

Inside, the GranTurismo Sport boasts sportier front seats and a new rear seat design. The new seats are said to offer better support and comfort, while offering more knee and leg room to all. The adoption of a flat-bottomed steering wheel also helps the cause.

GranTurismo Sport-16

Under that long and shapely hood is the latest evolution of Maserati’s all-alloy 4.7 litre V8 engine, which makes 460 hp at 7,000 rpm and 520 Nm of torque at 4,750 rpm. Compared to the V8 in the GranTurismo S Auto, the engine now makes 20 hp and 30 Nm more, but with no fuel consumption or emission penalties, says Maserati. The benchmark 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 4.8 seconds, while top speed is 298 km/h.

Buyers can choose from two transmissions – a ZF six-speed automatic (MC Auto Shift) or a six-speed electro actuated gearbox with dry twin-plate clutch (MC Shift). Maser says that the ZF auto enhances driving comfort without compromising on performance, while the latter offers a more involving driving experience.

GranTurismo Sport-07

To tame all that power and keep the big GT’s 1,780 to 1,880 kg weight in check, Maserati has thrown in the latest Sport Skyhook active damping system and dual-cast, cross-drilled brakes with Brembo calipers that reside behind those 20-inch “Astro Design” alloys. 100-0 km/h braking is completed in 35 metres.

The GranTurismo Sport’s signature colour is a hue called “Blu Sofisticato” but there wasn’t a blue coloured car on display today. The yellow showcar was very striking though, more so with Miss Universe Malaysia 2013 Carey Ng beside it.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mu honest opinion, this car design look good but to expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
    • I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:56 pm

You Don’t Say…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • KillBox1Alpha on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:17 pm

LOL

• GT-Rider on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:18 pm

Thanks but no, thanks
        Next!!!

• Most important is not just the launch of the car but how many hundreds of AP’s does Naza get free every year. All these AP’s are causing car prices to be high in general. So, it is of public interest for us to know who and how much AP beneficiaries get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Just Another Dude.. on Feb 04, 2013 at 9:33 pm

NO WAI!!

• My dream car!

• tokmoh on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:34 am

No shit sherlock. Welcome to bolehland.

But don’t worry, our govt say our country has lowest overall cost of ownership. Janji dicapati

• I went to Naza Italia last year with my friend as he wants to view and buy a Ferrari there. When I was about to open open the Ferrari door the security guard ordered me to not touch the car. So rude. Also very poor customer service as we were only entertained by the security guard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 9
    • Unfortunately this is a fact. They ONLY entertain Datuks or Tan Sris. When I went there, I was also ignored because I was dressed like a common man. I do not know why Malaysian car companies like to judge the people who walk in based on skin colour and how they are dressed. Let it be known that the very very rich actually dress in shorts and wear slippers because they are so comfortable with themselves. Naza Italia is so silly to piss off so many potential buyers because of their snooty attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
  • Ah Long Kia on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Last time with Genneva can consider la. Now kena raid already by BNM, gold stuck, money stuck cannot liau :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Sgt Scoop on Feb 04, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Hahahaha

• the fact that for this money we could get an aventador elsewhere just reminds us once again the ridiculous tax in our country :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Abuya on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:35 pm

Aku nak beli keta nih. Nak guna untuk gi pasar. Nak buat gi kerja kurang sesuai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • hehe utk pegi pasar rasanya tak sesuai sangat, boot space sempit. paling sesuai utk bawa awek tp sebelum tu kena pastikan awek taraf miss universe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Megane on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:41 am

Awek tahap miss Universe? …hmmm even Marion Counter pun belum sampai tahap Miss Universe …ops sorry that’s his wife hehe

• Ah Beng on Feb 05, 2013 at 1:35 am

Looks better than proton preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • Rinnegan on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:39 am

@Ah Beng,
      The fact that you are comparing a Maserati with Proton Preve (duh!) underlies your fetishness with Proton,…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • tHe^CuLpRit on Feb 05, 2013 at 4:13 am

waiting for Sam Loo’s assessment on the RV before I make a decision…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Gavin on Feb 05, 2013 at 7:50 am

Seems to be these car prices have also decreased, i thought these were always like 4-5 millions, now at 1.18 mil, seems affordable

• dude, RM4-5 million is a no brainer. but at RM1.12M seems affordable for the elite group. i tot this will be sold at RM1.6 – Rm 1.7 Million initially. well, good move Naza for bringing sexy beast into Malaysia.

• your bro on Feb 05, 2013 at 12:19 pm

im rich but i prefer to dress normally, casual. RM1.6-RM1.7 millions is nothing but i still support protons and peroduas!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
        • lol.. lamest joke of the day. u r rich but u prefer to drive proton and perodua?? no one in the right mind will do it. stupid.

• syed mokhtar did it.. billionaires only drive proton perdana..he must be really stupid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Aniki on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:51 am

Still wondering how a country can enforce speeding law if a fast & furious machine keep on imported into that country. Every country also facing this issue but they still allow wealthy people to buy fast car and speed like no tomorrow and sucking money from poor people… Malaysia boleh! =.=

• tokmoh on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:45 am

With a special tuning by Top Gear, this car can be tuned to have a super blistering quick 55mph top speed.

*watch latest Top Gear Season 19 episode 2 to know what I mean* :P

• mercedes benz lover on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:40 am

actually the poor suck more from the rich , the rich provide employment , the rich pays more taxes which in return would goes down to help the rich from government handout,subsidies,infrastructures and facilities

• Sharkbait_Hoohaha on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:09 am

Am I the only one here who think that the design/styling of this car is quite…old-fashioned?

• mercedes benz lover on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:41 am

thats because its just a minor facelift for a 6 years old designed car

• batumudo on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:37 am

F458 distance cousin

• Where to put the front plate?

• in the category of sport car with such price tag, 0-100kph in 4.8s discourage me to buy one.

• alldisc™ on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:46 am

this is the toy for the super rich to buy and play and for the super rich to make more money by selling.

• Tak suka B.N. and Inspira on Feb 05, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Who is capable to buy? Royal family or White colar like us?

• none of the average income earner can buy this la.. not even in overseas. yeah, in uk i might seems cheap. but i have a UK fren, he said, unless u r a celebrities or football stars. u will never come close to this kind of machine. usual UK ppl will buy normal brand like bmw or audi. the most common is VW.and mind you, most of them are bare specs without LED and electronic seats.

• Boikot DAP/PR/PAS on Feb 05, 2013 at 3:33 pm

You think they can only sell cars based on your earnings?? Wake up bro! if you cannot effort, buy honda cup lo.

• Abg Long on Feb 05, 2013 at 3:41 pm

rear light looks like Lotus..

• this is the car to get if u wanna impress a particular ‘out-of-your-league’ girl you having dreams about. but first u have to settle the small matter of rm1.2 mil…

i cant help but think guys buy hot cars to attract hot chicks. since most wont be driving the cars within 50% of capability anyway. just my two cents

• hot car on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:25 am

Obviously you have not owned any hot car before.

This powerful car with furious engine is shiok to drive. You feel satisfied everytime you get in there, and wanted to drive it more, regardless if there is hot chick around or not.

• From rear three quarters, it looks like jap or American muscle car? Yucks

• mercedes benz lover on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:46 am

disappointed with the facelift , they should at least update the rear light with more detail.. anyway recond goes for around 600k for a 2007 model. i guess ill have to wait for 2 more years before i can afford one

• How much is needed for this beast’s downpayment??

• howlan on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:07 pm

this car so-so because no interest and no money as well. I opened this articles coz of the girls. meh….