UMW Toyota mulling over local assembly of hybrids

Prius_c

UMW Toyota Motor is currently in talks with Toyota Motor Company over the possibility of setting up a CKD hybrid production plant here in Malaysia, as reported by Bernama. Which model it will be has not yet been decided though, so don’t expect a solid announcement anytime soon.

Speaking at the Lexus showroom launch last week, UMW Toyota Motor President Datuk Ismet Suki said that the set up of a local hybrid CKD base is a big possibility for the company, though it will first have to complete a thorough review of the market demand. Having sufficient volume locally will be a crucial factor in achieving economies of scale, as is the potentiality of exporting the models to neighbouring markets.

Yaris_Hybrid

As of now, there are three hybrid models currently on sale under the UMW Toyota Motor umbrella that are under consideration for local assembly: the Toyota Prius c, Prius, and Lexus CT200h. Judging by their respective sales numbers however, it seems obvious that among the three, the Prius c would be the safest bet for what would be a considerable investment.

Let’s not take that for granted just yet though, as we’ve come to learn that UMW is also studying the local prospects of Toyota’s entry-level petrol-electric wonder, the Yaris Hybrid. A true B-segment entrant to be positioned a rung below the Prius c (with the same drivetrain, no less), perhaps that’s the ideal choice for UMW Motor to take on the CKD Honda Jazz Hybrid.

Camry_Hybrid

Thinking further out of the box, with BMW Malaysia announcing considerable price cuts for their ActiveHybrid models under the expanding Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEV) incentives, feasibly the 2.5 litre Toyota Camry Hybrid would qualify for the same tax break too. While it won’t be fully tax exempt, it remains conceivable that a hybrid Camry, classified as an EEV, can be priced not far above the current 2.5 litre model. A hybrid range-topping Camry, anyone?

What are your thoughts on this? Which model would you like UMW Toyota Motor to assemble here?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• frenzyaustin on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:52 am

Am I the only one think the Camry Hybrid front looks quite nice? Looks big and classy, unlike the Camry here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:51 pm

Preve > Toyota > Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
      • Dear BMW Fanboi,

What I know is that Jaguar is better than BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Gua Caya Sama Loo on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:55 pm

correction:

Hyundai > Toyota > Preve

• UMW should instead concentrate on giving ESP/VSC on its cars than thinking of assembling hybrids in Malaysia. Basic safety features also cannot give, a safety features that is so vital in saving one’s life, they want o to other unnecessary things. Please don’t compromise on our safety. Lives are important. How can UMW or Toyota live with the fact that they are charging so much for their cars and yet compromise on our safety by omitting basic safety features just and merely to save on cost and reap greater profts. Are lives more important than money?

• Kominis on Feb 14, 2013 at 5:39 pm

FSO Polonez > Preve > Toyota > Hyundai

• I.ME™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Its great As long as the price dose’t increase

• Assembled locally but price down for a bit??

• hope price down a lot. unlike d rest of d car where UMW mark up margin so damn high

• alldisc™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:01 am

its not about marking up, but do u think government will allow vios J to be sold abt the same price as persona?

the answer is NO. they will still protect them in national interest.

Vios J will never sell at 55K, unless after tax discounts as per rumoured to take place after april. UMW is forced to take high profit margin, just like Naza with Kia Spectra in 2002 (cost less than 15K CIF in CBU form, forced to sell at 84K)

keep fingers crossed.

• Yes, down a bit, cut many features (like Jazz Hybrid) so that profit margin increases by a lot!
      My friend in UMW manufacturing got his 13 mths bonus in one payout last December and he said that was a poor year!

• sammy b on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Don’t Toyota have a 2.0 assembled in Thailand? They could get full tax exeption if they bring it in..no one in this class has a hybrid yet.

• altimatess on Feb 04, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Well, I would love to see a Camry hybrid but the thing is we all know that the price is not going to be *significantly* cheaper compared with the CBU ones.. so I am not eager to see any hybrid models built locally.

And I’m not sure about the rest, but I feel short-changed and ripped off when they do this!.. sorry emotional a bit..

• vincent on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Hybrid Prius C CBU – 9xk…7 airbags, ESP, etc..
    Hybrid Prius C CKD – 89,900. DUAL airbags, No ESP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • alldisc™ on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:30 pm

it is a very good move if UMWT brings in Prius V, the 7 seater MPV.

UMW was always leading when it comes to MPV with its first budget Unser that took Malaysian by storm. well, not storm actually but it was the only MPV below 100k, challenged by vans like Liteace Premio, Econovan/Spectron, Mazda Bongo, Vannette and L300 Delica.

UMWT again led the market with the affordable mini MPV Avanza. it was in a market of its own for at least 5 years before the arrival of Nissan Grand Livina and later Exora. Naza Citra was an almost direct competitor which slots nicely between Avanza and Innova.

The Prius V will make good sense in a way that Toyota’s MPV are very popular in Malaysia (thousands of grey import Wish/Estima/Alphard/Vellfire on the road) and the fact that being 1.8 litre, it will enjoy the same tax break like the 5 seater Prius and also Lexus CT200h.

• Bimmer on Feb 04, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Add to the fact that ASEAN is the biggest market for MPV outside Japan, it is a no brainer to have a local production hub for hybrid MPV in ASEAN. Afterall Malaysians are willing to pay a premium on MPV compared to other ASEAN countries, that’s why we can see a lot of recond MPVs selling at a high price in Malaysia. Hope someone from UMW is reading this.

• Bakut on Feb 04, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Some folks claim that the reason why Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD less features is due to volume issue. Not big enough to get the same spec as CBU Japan. Very sick joke indeed. Either Honda or DRB taking buyers for a ride here.

Let see if UMW repeat the same trick too!

• How big is prius v? What size?

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 5:17 pm

CKD usually means, no this no that no ESP no 6-7 airbags and the list continues on.
    Range topping Camry, likely zzz because you know le it is a product of whom in Malaysia; I stress again, in Malaysia, perhaps the 1st in the World, no competitors; in this aspects we beat Amerika Syarikat, Britain, China and everbody.

• Jimmy on Feb 04, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Oh BTW has anybody made a comparison between is 250 safety specs vs Mazda6? Yeah, the Luxury brand from Toyota in Malaysia.

• Sam Looooooooooo on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:23 pm

100% => prius

• policeman on Feb 04, 2013 at 8:33 pm

Hope its not going to be like the Jazz hybrid – Slightly cheaper but with many omissions.

• i’d say it is a risky but worthful move to have all hybrids CKD-ed here. since we know honda has teamed with proton, expect honda will have the same agenda.

sales volume wise, ASEAN can satisfy the requirement in 5 years time, i think

• No point we have ckd if the consequence is EXPENSIVE AND LOWER VALUE. The price slightly cheaper but minus so many amenities.

2. Alphard or Estimat 2.5 Hybrid is good idea but I afraid the wise government will never allowed this to materialize. Offering these two popular model mean BAD for AP holders since they already invested in so-called service center behind their showrooms.

The demand for these two Toyota models is so brisk and it’s no brainer why UMW-T not considering to include these model or RHD Toyota Sienna in their lineups. Indonesia, Thai and Singapore all started offered Estima and Alphard since last year and 2011.

Pity to see people still buying these two mpv RM200K-400K but almost no warranty at all for their hard earned money.

• Mr Mac on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:48 am

Then stop changing new cars la….stay with your current car..maintain it well…

complain je tau…nafsu tak mau kawal.

• Brand new Mazda8 2.3 vs 2009 Alphard 2.4X (RM191K VS RM230K)

Why people still love to purchase the reconditioned? Mazda should think about it

• I would love to see a Camry hybrid here on the road. My Prius C is an absolute fuel miser compared to my previous car.

My personal opinion on hybrid CKD, it will be priced lower and has fewer safety features. Perhaps a Yaris hybrid instead of Prius C.

• shawal on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:09 pm

so….. the beemer got its price slashed by RM150k…
    if the camry underwent such price cut as well… we ‘re on to something fantastic here… bwhahwhahwahwhwa

• prost on Feb 04, 2013 at 10:48 pm

No, please don’t CKD
    will end up lower spec for higher profit margin

Also CBU Japan > all

• SaveTheEarth on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:16 pm

UMW please don’t. You are not community serving as a leader in the industry. If there were a hybrid car assemble here. Our safety will be well threatened. Where is VSC? Where is 6 airbags? We buy hybrid car from you because it is made in Japan with complete full safety features. Do you know how many Toyota model failed in crash test, especially ‘Small Overlap Test’. How dare UMW top level management said adding 2 front side airbags for Camry 2.5v is to save a person life however VSC is totally deleted. A nonsense, traction control is the most important feature after safety belt.

• touch.toyota.com/sienna/photo-gallery.html

This is truly Toyota MpV

• unforgiven on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:02 am

Same shit diff day, ckd always more expensive than cbu.

Inspira more expensive than original Japan lancer in langkawi.

Jazz cbu Japan cheaper than ckd jazz.

Low spec ckd to bring down the price for Benz? Please don’t!

• priuslover on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:29 pm

Prius please~~!!!

• PauKaya on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:08 am

i hope election will come and we will see a change of tide. umw to no longer have the iron fist on toyota cars