Aston Martin launches new DB9 – from RM1.7 mil on

DSC_5584a

Aston Martin Malaysia today introduced the new DB9 in the country. The revised 2+2 coupe arrives with a starting base price of RM1.7 million, but with a level of customisation available, one can definitely take things further.

The Virage replacement wears an AM11 6.0 litre V12 with 510 hp at 6,500 rpm and 620 Nm at 5,500 rpm, which is 40 hp and 20 Nm more than in the previous incarnation. Performance specs include a 0-100 km/h time of 4.6 seconds and a 295 km/h top speed.

The 2013 car may look similar in general form, but AM is quick to stress that 50% of all parts and more than 70% of all body panels on this one are new. The most obvious design elements are the more pronounced rear boot ‘flip’, new bonnet structure and front grille.

DSC_5541a

With the new also comes greater vehicle rigidity – VH architecture translates to a 20% increase in stiffness in the coupe, and it’s also a lighter proposition, 15 kg less than the old car. Structural advances are matched by optimised aerodynamics, and lightweight carbon-fibre features on a new front splitter, new rear diffuser as well as the aforementioned bootlid.

On the new items list is a three stage Adaptive Damping System (ADS), with Normal, Sport and Track modes allowing the driver to tailor the car to his personal preference.

Other fresh kit includes new HID headlights and carbon ceramic matrix brakes fitted on as standard – the new stoppers offer better response, longer life and improved performance.

DSC_5680a

The interior features new levels of bespoke refinement – from control switches made of glass and the usual assortment of fine Bridge of Weir hides, there’s plenty of plush on call. As standard, the car gets a 700-watt AM Premium audio system, but one can always opt for the 1000-watt Bang & Olufsen Beosound system for more aural zip.

Standard wheels are 20-inch five spoke alloys, wrapped with Pirelli P Zero 245/35 front and 295/30 rear rubbers, but if that’s not your cuppa, then four other designs – all 20-inchers too – are available as options. Speaking of options, there’s a Volante body style in that mix too.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I.ME™ on Feb 05, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Still as sexy as ever, but I think there should be a apostrophe in that new, the basic architecture is now aging, performance is really lagging behind competitors. But damn does its still look good.

But than again, those are hullava lucky to purchase one should not worry about AES, this model most likey has the “55 mph” speed limiter as its bigger Vanquish brother.

• GT-Rider on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:54 pm

GT-R is still faster lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 40
      • I.ME™ on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:22 pm

No my good sir,

GTR is fast and that’s about it really, this is a long distance Gran Turismo, for unmatched speed/Comfort/Elegance and style. Put it this way, this is the charismatic Agent 007 and your R35 is the ghastly Brian O’Connor. In fact Brian O’conner would skip the porky R35 GTR for the original RB26DETT ‘Godzilla’.

and the R35 dose’t come with a ’55’mph speed limiter,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • Sam Loo (official) on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:52 am

Aston Martin is rubbish. Everytime Clarkson or Fifth Gear test drive it, it breaks down or overheatd in the review. Bad RV also. Toyota has better RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • JeremyNg on Feb 05, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Different class la ….. This is GT car , it don design to take corner fast

• Beng Alex Chan on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:40 pm

u compare your junk to this Mr Bond’s car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • the street is full of gtr. and GT-r is abit of lala compared to this sexy monster. Am and Maserati is built with class. not everyone are able to see it even they have that kind of money to spend. usual ah beng with that kind of money wil opt for ferrari or even lamborghini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
        • Dr Cooper on Feb 06, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Nope, in contrast, ah beng will skip those real design for speed and handling super cars and bought this and hipsterized it

• dude, if u know nothing bout cars and taste just keep quiet. do u think that a typical ah beng with go fast mentality will buy this? he would say:” meh wah, use RM1.7m to buy such a slow car. buy felali better la” (in a broken slang)

• Hadi75 on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:57 am

Stop bragging about your Gtr that your father bought for you la…..

• Dr Cooper on Feb 06, 2013 at 12:45 pm

Please don’t tarnish the legendary GT-R name by comparing it with this just-for-hipster car.

• JeremyNg on Feb 05, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Last few day is Maserati GT Sport , now is Aston Martin DB9 …. both also GT car and I not even afford the tires LOL

• BMW Fanboi on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:10 am

Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
    • En. Nexus 4 Setia Alam on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:22 am

Totally agree. What to do. lets migrate to US la, we can afford this car there.

• PauKaya on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:00 pm

think the vanquish looks better

• Alpha on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Comments to expect from this post (when I post this there was no other comments) ;

-People complaining it’s too expensive.
    -People complaining about the tax.
    -People suddenly gets all political.
    -People who said Preve is better.
    -People who said the RV for Aston Martin in bad.
    -People who claimed they already ordered 8 units of this car.

Comments I’d like to see in this post ;

-People talk about stuffs that’s actually related to the car.
    -People comparing the car with other cars apple to apple.
    -People praising/criticizing the car based on actual facts.

Cheers.

Yes,there’s the irony that I wasn’t talking about anything related to the car in this comment. =P

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 23
    • I.ME™ on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:14 pm

I honestly like to indulge myself with some comments regarding Top Gear, considering they drove across Neveda into Los Angeles and onto what I guess is San Diego, in a SRT Viper, Lexus LFA and (what a coincidence) Aston Martin Vanquish.

I wish PaulTan.org can constantly make a article on Top Gear, but considering there is no official airing of season 19 here in Malaysia, I don’t think that is possible.

• This cominng sunday on BBC Knowledge on hypp tv unifi will air Season 19 Top Gear!

• I.ME™ on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:05 pm

sigh…..I don’t have Hypp TV nor Unifi in my area. I’ll just indulge it on the net than.

• Sam Loo on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:23 am

I’m sure Top Gear will give a review on my new 2.5G Toyota Camry in the 19th season.

High RV for TOYOTA !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • sudonano on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:17 am

Ah, Season 19, Episode 2!

• malaysiaboleh on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:26 pm

lol i prefer proton preve than this junk…even preve is better what..RM 1.7 million only got 1 aston car..with that money i can get atleast 20unit of preve u know? which 1 do u choose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
    • Heskey on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:30 pm

honestly paultan.org will be a boring place if people are only talking about the 3 points above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • yes, i totally agree with you. some ppl are just too bland to look at themselves. who do they think they are?? everyone have the right to buy AM? im not agreeing to high tax in malaysia, but please stick bak to car related comments..

• Mat Global on Feb 05, 2013 at 10:38 pm

No exposure and not within means to own, and blank about the model- have nothing to comment. Never a pretender and always honest and frank.

• jolly_idiot on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:47 pm

I wish to comment as what you wanted. But this car is far too away from most our affordabilty. Most of us including me not even had a chance to drive it or even sit in it. What you expect we can comment?

For those who can afford it might not even care on this paultan blog or even not bother to comment. These price of cars are only for a very niche layer of people.

I doubt you can comment better to the facts of this car. Have you drove one of it? What comment can you give?

• CARtoon on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:18 am

Very well said. Sadly this has become a forum for everything under the sun. Freedom of expressions come with cost after all.

• OneOne-7 on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:23 am

Finally someone with a proper head. This is expected in Malaysian forums. It’s basically what makes Malaysia, Malaysia.
      On topic, it’s great to see the new DB9. Those subtle changes made quite an impact when compared to the old one.

• Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:31 am

This is what makes us Malaysians different or special from the rest and may it continue for a long time. If I went to other overseaas forums and made comments like these, they’d think I’m weird.

• Annoynimouse on Apr 25, 2015 at 8:11 pm

Agree. It’s one thing being special. But being special by way of showing one’s stupidity doesn’t bring any good to the country.

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Wow…gear shifting is all push buttons ?

That’s really cool.

• MrPoppyplants on Feb 05, 2013 at 8:54 pm

DB9 needs a more prominent replacement/successor.

The design of the DB9, albeit looking timeless and gorgeous, needs a better update than this. DB9 has been around for almost 10 years now.

• Blackjkx on Feb 05, 2013 at 11:00 pm

One of this for sure will be mine within 5 years,in 2017.Amin Ya Rabb Almin.

• Personally, I do believe Aston Martin is unable to evolve/grow past Ian Callum and Henrik Fisker’s design. Look at this new DB9 and the new DBS; compared to the ‘love at first sight’ impression from the 2004 DB9, the new cars take a while to grow on you.

Still a good looking car though.

p/s: note the horrible Rapide S, AM might be on a downward trend with its design.

• Kalun on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:06 am

I do agree with you but bear in mind, Aston Martin DB9/DBS are ageing. 10 years old car. But for a 10 years old car, it’s still quite refreshing and beautiful to look at. Vantage is an old car too. They should refresh the looks of Vantage. The front looks outdated already. Design approach is different from its siblings.

How about the new AM Vanquish and One-77?

• mercedes benz lover on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:31 am

interior looks kinda outdated compared to competitors… the interior is so 2005….at least update the steering with the metal thingy ( i am not sure what is it called but its very popular with new cars )

• I saw persona/saga/neo design steering!

• alex chan on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:59 am

yup..u are very genius…same design..both of them are round

• Abuya on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:19 am

Oh, cantik Aston Martin ni. Nak beli sebiji, senang nak beli rokok kat kedai, x yah menapak jauh2. Tapi nak bawak budak gi sekolah tak leh. Ada 2 pintu je, payah

• Visitor on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:38 am

Q – Let me introduce to you the new DB9, price tag £351000. Ehem, ehem, now pay attention, double-oh-seven!

James Bond – No guns and missiles, Q?

Q – Oh, shut-up!

• when i saw a guy driving a brand new AM, my heart will melt..how envy i am…but not guy driving a GTR. It is a show-off, the engine sounds really cheap. I know it’s fast, but do ya think he can pass 90kmh at jalan Ampang any time in a day???

• Hadi75 on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:59 am

Old design but still beautiful to look at….plus nice engine sound…

• anti sakai on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:07 am

for anyone who keep saying GTR is junk, cheap sound or what..only one word for them.. JEALOUS

• Most petrolhead doesn’t hate the GT-R, we admit its amazing performance instead. What we hate is bunch of people who keeps worshiping the GT-R like it’s the greatest coolest most amazing car in the world.

• Hahaha on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:10 pm

It’s funny to see how ppl criticise GTR while they only can afford a proton

• anti sakai on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:53 pm

the they upload the video to youtube say, “… vs nissan GTR

• ae101 on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:16 pm

PT reader real funny la. Talk cock really number 1. I know a lot of kids dont even have car but talk like expert car reviewer. Why want to compare a GTR with this? Nissan never mentioned their car is for classy nor rich folk riders. GTR is meant for time attack and those who admired jdm modifications.