GALLERY: The Maserati MC12 that lives in Malaysia

Maserati MC12-01

This writer was at the recent Maserati GranTurismo Sport launch when he got distracted. Not so much by the beautiful models, or even Miss Malaysia Universe 2013 Carey Ng, but by this car.

Those who have visited Naza Auto Mall or Naza Italia might have seen it before, but for everyone else, you’re looking at a Maserati MC12, one of only 50 units to be sold to customers worldwide. Yes, this is a super-rare machine that’s highly collectible. It was pre-sold for 600,000 euros a unit from 2004-2005, and is worth much more now.

The road-going MC12 was created to homologate a racing variant that went on to compete in the FIA GT Championship, marking Maserati’s return to racing after a long absence of 37 years. That explains the MC12’s race car appearance, although Maserati used the Enzo Ferrari as foundation.

The MC12’s rear-mid mounted engine is a 6.0 litre V12 related to the Enzo’s heart. It makes 630 PS and 652 Nm of torque, chanelled to the rear wheels via a six-speed semi-auto gearbox with flappy paddles. 0-100 km/h is done in 3.8 seconds while top speed is 330 km/h. Interested? Here’s one we found on sale.

Like the Renault Sport Spider we showed you yesterday, sometimes car launches can yield more than just the launch car!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Oh this is beyond reach for many Malaysian

• I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:49 pm

We must find out who owns this car and also ask MACC to investigate whether this car has paid the necessary taxes and dues. If the buyer can pay 600,000 Euros for this, if he has worked hard for his money, I praise him. But it is a good idea MACC look into this purchase because with taxes included, this car should cost RM10 million.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • PauCharSiew on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:17 am

I feel sad as i believe this car deserves more than just being a showroom decoration. This really isn’t the right country for it with our hot weather and bad quality roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • taboogen on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:17 am

go ahead and live in India or China lah then… read the link in the post.. even in california the mileage is just 1k plus…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • blackbox on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:56 am

What to do with India and China?

• PauKaya on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:20 pm

having been to india and china, i can assure you that along with hong kong these cars are bought just for show. India’s roads are even worse and there are no roads to really fly, the only place where one can go and use their car properly is the f1 circuit. Same goes to china, while china have rather large and smooth highway, their anti speeding cameras are so advanced there’s no way you can escape from the law.

• zamer on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:23 am

agree..eventhough it is super rare and pricey, naza should bring this to the track once in a while..
      sad to see a mean machine been put to sleep..

• carnoisseur on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:30 am

yup , this car is actually seated upstairs and i have taken quite a few photos with her . Its not one to drive around but more of an art work

• einstein on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:52 am

should take out the drive train and leave the chassis for diplay.

• The one for sale in California is pretty cheap!
    Well this car deserved to be driven even with bad road conditions in Malaysia!

A friend of mine owns one – http://arthomobiles.fr/MontreuxGP12/montreux12.htm

• surely out-dated design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • the eye on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Slower but prettier than Veyron.

• azrai on Feb 07, 2013 at 8:30 am

Looking at the colour scheme I guess it is going to Istana Serene, Johor it seems.