Is this the production next-gen Toyota Corolla Altis?

2014-Corolla-Spyshot-Front

Is this the production all-new 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis? We think so, as the car in these mystery pics looks showroom ready and without any flashy concept car-style detailing.

If this is indeed the production next-gen Corolla Altis, then it’s largely similar to what we had in mind – an image created by the Toyota Corolla Furia Concept from the 2013 Detroit show and the subsequent renderings by our friend Theophilus Chin.

Less showy and flamboyant than the Furia Concept, of course, this white car wears a V-shape headlamp-grille design that we’ve already seen on the latest Toyota Auris hatchback. There’s also neat integration of the LED daytime running lights in the headlamp module. And as previewed by the Furia, the bottom window line has a unique upsweep at the end.

At the back, some would be disappointed that Toyota went one step too conventional here compared to the Furia’s rear end, which had sharp and long wraparound tail lamps, but perhaps more sizable and visible lamps were needed for safety reasons.

The part where the outer edge of the lights merge with the sedan’s character line (gently rises from the front before a sharp plunge) has been retained, though, and a chrome strip has been added above the number plate. Those sensibly sized wheels look quite refreshing, too.

Click here to see Detroit’s Corolla Furia Concept. We’ve attached selected pics of it, plus Theo’s renderings below alongside the two leaked pics. Nice? No? What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kingston on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Let this be true..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 7
    • Vader on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Look great!
      Not bad if come with current dual vvt engine & cvt, but please don’t pair with old vvti engine & 4-speed gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
      • I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Lets hope that UMW gives us VSC/ESP. If they can omit this most basic safety feature in the RM180,000 Camry, a car that is meant to be Premium, I won’t be surprised if they take this safety feature out merely to save on cost and reap bigger profits. All at the expense of the lives and safety of customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
        • gerrard on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Is this one having torsion beam suspension setup like current altis?

If yes, how about a big NO?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Sam Loo (official) on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:44 am

I hope this is true cause sales for Toyota are dropping. RV is also dropping cause the models are either too old or lack basic safety features. We salesman at Toyota are feeling the pinch with the ageing fleet. Please UMW, bring in a refreshed fleet, especially the Altis. Even the current RV of the Altis is dropping like mad cause people know a new model is due.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
        • Fine tune the handling like the luxury car and i accept without VSC/ESP..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
      • i wonder how much is the fc for 1.8 and 2.0 dual vvti with cvt of current altis.

my father’s 1.6e dual vvti average around 13km/l in city plus highway which is good. btw toyota 4 speed gearbox is still available because it is very reliable. thats why it exists for sooo long

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
        • What! Your altis onli 13km/l in the city? Thats same as my hyundai santa fe 2.2 crdi SUV!? Thats very bad fc for a car

• seancorr on Feb 07, 2013 at 4:47 am

Wonder Toyota will match Honda and offer 5 year warranty? On top of the spec they offer in the current Altis, I think they need to add stuff like curtain airbags and keyless entry to match the rest of the competition.

• I drive a 2003 year Avanza 1.3,not good handling but it’s really reliable and last longer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo sux on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Yes…manual window also can last longer than power window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Kamoto Shinji on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Subarashi….Wonderful Design toyota proud of Japan!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • The new Nissan Sylphy are much better than this Altis la; even the Honda Civic too.

http://paultan.org/2012/08/31/nissan-sylphy-launched-in-thailand-new-model-gets-improved-1-6-new-1-8-cvt-from-746000-baht/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • ok ok … Preve is better. hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 119
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:27 pm

Toyota > Preve > Hyundai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 41
      • Mat Global on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:05 pm

No way that Altis better than Preve cfe with Turbo, vsc, cvt -better technology.
        Without Turbo also Toyota Altis and Celica were beaten at Sepang 1000km rally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
        • Mat, what happen to you? All the way pushing for Preve, what the heck? You must be crazy. With due respect, would u please stop this? We are talking about something else here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
      • Don’t syok sendiri putting your Preve along side with others la. Even DRB is hopping on their rebadge City than this crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
    • gen y on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:15 pm

Finally you got it right

• Wow…1st glance … front looks like honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 69
    • ahhh, sudah laa…..x boring ke komen front looks like honda la, ferrari la, kia la, bla bla bla…we influence each other and some tends to deviate..it’s norm la…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 9
    • powershot on Feb 06, 2013 at 5:42 pm

no kidding. on first glance i thought the article was about a facelifted honda city. I was wrong when I noticed the toyota logo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 21
  • ben yap on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Engine will use the same as the current altis with a 4 speeder for the base model.

as u know, toyota strategy mah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 48
    • junsu on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:43 pm

altis already used 7 speed cvt gearbox..unless the 1.6 model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • Totally agree. I think that trusted (Toyota terminology for old) 4-speed auto is gonna in be there. And for sure no VSC too cuz they think profit matters more than your life! So hard to chose nowadays, the dodgy quality Civic or the museum grade Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 12
      • dodgy quality civic?yeap,i agree…my dad cars got problem power steering,pop out dashboard vent..not to mention rear wheel bearing problm(this one just after 3years)..fuuhh..power steering,honda sc never rectify it till the warranty out!now gotta pay rm2-3k if im not mistaken just to repiar that bloody thing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • Sam looo on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:19 pm

wow..fantastic..bommbastic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 17
    • linmi on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:36 pm

Wait interior…it will bomb u again
      Toyota craftsmanship is best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Chow1 on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Not bad. Save money to buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
  • sedusax4 on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:20 pm

The rear quarter of the car has an awkward shape which reminds me of a flower pot, not sure if its the effect of the camera lense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
  • so now,toyota desgner start to wke up!gud job..guess kimchi giv them a hard time on design~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 10
    • forte citizen on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Design still can’t beat Kia K3 lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
      • never mention or intend to say this one is better or worse..just an opinion with neutral mode..

• Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:02 am

Trade in value also cannot beat K3. 50% value off within a year !

• Davinnci on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Nice! If with VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • VW_fans on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Cool!!!! it looks sporty. That’s right Mr.Toyoda,it should be design such way! forget those uncle looking blend dull design.
    But I seriously DAMN DAMN hope……..UMW Toyota consider bring 2.0 Manual version to Malaysia market. Don’t reply us “market demand is not there”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
  • kiah pro-pa on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:25 pm

if pakatan rakyat win, without a doubt this will be my pegi pasar ride..yeah..vote for pakatan pleassssssssse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 60
  • Grant on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Got good RV or not? :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 30
    • if u want a good rv the only thing u should buy is honda civic..trust me..n thats the reason i dont have 1..boring..ttup mata,campak batu confirm kene civic~its everywhere :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Bongcs on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:07 pm

wait i ask Sam Loo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:40 am

If someone really care about the RV, and none-stop keep talking about the RV, then please try not buy the car but buy the gold.

• Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:04 am

I only encourage more Malaysians to buy new kimchis, simply because I will make more money trading in used ones.

All you need to do is point them at the Hilux

• indomee on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:39 pm

For the 1st time a toyota look sportier then a honda. For this case altis vs civic. The latest civic bear too much 90’s design language. No break through at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
    • I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:48 pm

I’m more of a Honda person, but I agree. This is definitely has a better improvement in design than the Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • sudonano on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Looks nicer than the Civic too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
  • Gokul on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:44 pm

I believe Sam Loo got something reasonable to brag about now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:05 am

Not really, if more people buy this new Corolla, it will mean that less will buy kimchis.

This is bad for my business

• I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:44 pm

It’s still distinctively a Toyota, but my goosh does it look good, in those angle at least . Must see the entire car to get a good idea weather is it really handsome. But this is a leap in design for Toyota, well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Toyota Design more or less is the same. Good example is the new Toyota Camry & Vios…Less innovation.
    Hyundai Elantra much better than Altis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 41
  • Out look not bad, hope it powered by at least current Dual VVT-i + 7CVT or more advance tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • sepul on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:55 pm

rear look too similar to current camry

else it look good.. alot better than the current altis

UMW should bring the auris

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • imprez on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Inspired by Lexus ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • mystvearn on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:13 pm

Very nice looking car. Reminds of current Accord. Toyota should just take the Lexus IS 250 design and put it on all their road cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Nice! on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:15 pm

In anyway we look at this car, it looks nicer an the civic.. Awesome design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Nice! on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:16 pm

In anyway we look at this car, it looks nicer than the civic.. Awesome design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • KIAsu No KIAsi on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:17 pm

This is going to be another world best seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • gOOsh on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:28 pm

if T… monyet pakai skirt pon cantik…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 21
  • ah lee on Feb 06, 2013 at 3:43 pm

u all think this altis better than civic ar? dream on la brother..vtec will make wan tan mee out of this 4 speed uncle car..all u toyota lovers are salesman..go sell car la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 42
    • Altis using dual-VVTi mah. Not the Camry mah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Sorry, VTEC is rather rough, I drive the smaller 1.5 VTEC half the week, but I’ve sat on a Civic (previous gen though) and the engine is really rough. I like it because it reminds me of a sports car, but to those who likes comfort (and there is a majority of them), Toyota VVT-I is more suitable.

The current Civic isn’t in any way a improvement over the previous car in design and tech. It’s a bit like the current Camry. This car, if it’s the Corolla, is not only a improvement, but a whole lot better design IMO, and I am the type who likes Honda more than Toyota. The new Honda Accord and CRV are an improvement, not the Civic, it’s best selling model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Sometimes I confused. I am a T-hater or T-lover?

Perhaps, we like Toyota just we need better specs from World No 1 automaker?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • bcoz T knew,whuteva they put on the car,ppl especially diehardfan will buy it…no matter what the specs..rite?thats y when u become obsessed,fanatics…u’ll lose a lot..sounds like politics huh?

• Toyota is improving. Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Toyota is improving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Toyota Banzai on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Toyota always innovates & improving.
    Soon Toyota will scores 10 stars rating on ASEAN NCAP.
    No needs VDC, 2 airbags more than enough.
    Most important to buyers is Super Resale Value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • this will be 2nd best selling non-national car after VIOS.
      Toyota no need to seek new car owners, new cars owner automatically visits toyota showroom buy his/her favorite toyota car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • pojie on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:53 am

This is the type of buyer Toyota is making huge profit from, the type who’s obsessed with RV and little care of their lives and that of their loved ones. Congratulations Toyota Banzai for making your life sounds so cheap.
      By the way, what on earth is VDC?

• zebulun on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:23 pm

curve and lines all over..no design theme.. looks crap as always

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
  • Thinking of buying altis now. Dont know whether to proceed or wait. Any increase in price, ah?

• Sam Loo (Official) on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:28 pm

This is a good car and well, high RV too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
  • looks better than its elder brother Camry :)

• forte citizen on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Forte better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
    • Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:07 am

Forte is always better to the used car dealer. Trade in ultra low and sell at minimum 40% profit

• nabill on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:50 pm

Smtime i wonder y toyota tries to redesign their cars…no mater how ugly and uninspiring….thy will sell to their targeted customers(above40) in bucketloads….thy hav dis segment in their pockets virtually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Omg My old toyota altis resale value gonna dive deeper..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • rally_fan on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:57 pm

diesels are making a comeback in Japan apparently.. who knows.. we might get some japanese “asian” diesel cars in future….. at the moment, they only have diesels for their euro-market cars.

• Rakyat on Feb 06, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Still prefer f30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • Sam Loo on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:30 pm

With this, surely TOYOTA RV will go up up and up !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Sami Loo on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Up your ass Sam Loo. Do not conclude anything until T officially announce the actual spec and chassis.

• Sam Loo on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:50 am

Yo Sami,

I know lar about this how? Because I work for Toyota… U know nothing.

• subaru ….

• PauKaya on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:11 pm

subaru and toyota should come together again. dump a boxer and awd into this and make this the new impreza

• duane on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:47 pm

New altis doesn’t need VSC at all. Toyota’s superb handling should do the job. ABS will be optional too, better for profits. Perhaps drum brakes will be standard too.
    For the local market, UMW will claim that 1airbag is good enough, body is strong enough to withstand impact…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 23
    • pojie on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:59 am

Haha. I adore your sarcasm bro!

• duane on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:11 pm

Nothing justifies removing bare essential safety features such as VSC or airbags. Kinda tired of local companies such as Nissan(ETCM) or UMW Toyota giving us flimsy excuses for removing them. Toyota is supposed to be a respected brand globally, but they have certainly lost my respect

• Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:00 am

Sour Grape Syndrom

• Wanabe on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:21 pm

This is just awesome ! Be sure to equipped with better engine specs and equipment listing , set Honda civic aside and go for this

• louis lee on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:24 pm

the rear lights just copy and paste from hyundai sonata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • KORpengKIA on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:39 pm

only those monkey will buy this! still can’t beat civic n new forte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • akupunya on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:53 pm

I am betting there will be no visa for this car. who else is with me?

• akupunya on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Aiya..vsa not visa. Stupid auto correct..

• bonbon on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:34 am

yes yes,,all car must have visa to enter malaysia, … check ur car lah, got passport maa…

• pojie on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Haha…for a second there I was wondering what visa you’re talking about. But somehow I have a funny feeling that what you said might be true

• amirad on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Not bad. Looks like a mini avalon. Toyota may be uninspiring to drive but their ownership experience still better than most. That is one of the reason why customers are coming back.

• KillBox1Alpha on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:28 pm

Does’nt look too shabby…much better than previous incarnations of the Altis…boring as hell.

• frequency on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Hopefully they not strip down all VSC TRC etc like what they done to Camry….

Perhaps it is my replacement for the 12 year old altis :D which still serves me well

• jacksonkua on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:58 pm

By year 2014, probably this design does not look excited anymore.
    This is something happen to Honda city or accord as well and

remember when it first launch??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Mat Global on Feb 06, 2013 at 10:41 pm

For generations Altis design failed to excite and impress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • it just looks handsome…
    gonna honor again for world best selling C segment car..

• JeremyNg on Feb 06, 2013 at 11:07 pm

Erm…… toyota you forget to update Vios leh !! Vios like doesnt hv product life cycle at all , forever at maturity period LOL

• Rakyat on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:04 am

So Accord copy Camry and Corolla copy Civic?

• Finally not uncle look. but inside sure more uncle!!!

• tokmoh on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:37 am

Not bad, but the new Auris’ grille would make the car look cleaner and more modern. This grille kinda meh

Sam Loo feel very banggala now

• cybermaster98 on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:43 am

well, still a long long way to even match k5’s ability in handling, style and elegance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • How do you know about handling when you havent even driven the car??assumptions??Ridiculous….

• Anoynimous on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:06 am

Looks like Toyota, Honda now become followers in design due to Hyundai Kia. This is what competition really about – everyone improve their design or losing sales.

Except for Proton well confusing itself with European design and the result? Look at Preve rear design. Losing even more market share. Shooting own foot lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Karl von Jitry on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Look decent though l rather prever they borrow totally the Auris front end instead of this City-like grille. Having said that this is secondary.

Without VSC I’ll say bye bye to this decent look Toyota. VSC should made standard across the board just like airbags.

• Maserati on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:46 pm

Put the kia k3 nxt to this, and the k3 looks like crap! This new altis is awesome !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:09 am

The look of the face of kimchi owners will always look like crap when they find out that their cabbage is only worth 50% within a year

• Izit just me, or does the rear end really is a less-fluidic version of d current Elantra?

• honda x guna on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Please beware buying Honda brand new car, especially year end stock…!!!!

Cant believe this is Honda CBU aka Japan build car!!
    http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2674251&hl=

• Wan Fauzi™ on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:45 pm

wow.. Wonderful toyota corolla..i like lt…

• this is toyota? just like hyundai design to me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 7:59 am

Would love to see the look on your face when you are shown the Hilux

• Nobody-la on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Indeed very nice design compared all models evers, but still using Crystal lamp -> CHEAP and OLD MODEL lo!! Even MyVi also can found Projector Lamp and LED rear lamp.. What is Toyota thinking? Cut down cost for more Profit?

• will book for 2nd city car

• Ah Beng on Feb 09, 2013 at 2:23 am

Will buy for my maid and her dog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • Dr Mamak on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:25 pm

This will eat civic, forte and similar korean metals for breakfast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 7:58 am

Kimchi Elantra and Forte are already in rigger way before the announcement of this new Corolla

• hopefully it will come with 1.6 GDI turbo 200hp and 260nm torque

• Whatever models introduced here, we shouldn’t accept if they’re without safety like VSC, traction control etc.

Few models like New Sylphy as well new Vios and Corolla Altis will be unveiled locally and for time being I’ll opt for this Toyota had hey come with safety features. Fail to include this no more Jap in my driveway anymore.

If we’re not selective and simply drive by blind brand appeal per se don’t blame manufacturers since they’re merely after money.