SPYSHOT: Next-generation Citroën C4 Picasso caught undisguised, goes even further left field than before

Citroen_Picasso

Citroëns have never been caught on the right side of conventional, and the next C4 Picasso is set to continue that trend. This set of spyshots uncovered by Spanish site Highmotor shows the small hatchback-cum-MPV completely undisguised, and much like the namesake’s paintings, it’s sure to attract controversy.

The headlamps for starters, have two separate elements – one for the main beam and the other presumably for the indicators and LED daytime running lights (DRL). This arrangement isn’t exactly new; previously seen on the third-generation Nissan Elgrand. That doesn’t make it any less jarring however, taking centre stage in the otherwise fine looking car.

Pulling away from its egg-shaped predecessor, the new C4 Picasso takes on a more shapely, characteristically fluid design direction. The split glasshouse is another peculiar addition, and the crease along the door panels looks like it needs to be ironed out. Compared to the front and sides, there’s little to note on the C4 Picasso’s rear. The generously-flared wheel arches look to be hard to fill, yet there’s a certain Germanic-charm to it, much like the C5 sedan.

The Citroën C4 Picasso is scheduled to be shown at the Geneva Motor Show next month. We’ll bring you more revealing shots and details as they emerge. With Naza Euro Motors taking over as the official distributor for Citroën vehicles in Malaysia, this model could well make an appearance here in the future. Would you buy one? No mention of RV though pretty please?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• not eye catching design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Citoren is such a good and reliable car. Pity, the distributor in Malaysia is so unfocussed and the brand keeps on jumping from on distributor to another. I think high time Citroen themselves come here and set up shop. The same with Fiat. Such a good brand but managed by a bunch of unfocussed cronies.

• Sam Loo (official) on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:53 am

Citroen distributor makan nasi lemak dan tidur sahaja. Get up and do some work!

• looks futuristic and weird at the same time

• Jonathan Lee on Feb 06, 2013 at 1:34 pm

I think it’s great. Citroëns should be different. Shame though, about the dull colour the cars in these pictures. In a more vibrant hue (say, lime green or a deep metallic red), this would look great.

• neutral on Feb 06, 2013 at 1:34 pm

what a funky looking car!

• The A pillar is too difficult to understand…need to simplify the section…the rest of the car are acceptable

• not eye cathing?typical la..unique but not sporty,bla bla bla..this is soccer mum’s car…wht u expect? :P

• ben yap on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:20 pm

failed design class. better go back to drawing board, citroen.

• I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:52 pm

Citroën has always made unique ,out of this world design, and this is no exception. Like the Juke, i don’t think it’s a looker, but its unique, funky and different, and I bloody love it. Hope the interior is equally mad.

• 4g63t dsm on Feb 06, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Not to be unexpected from Citroen.

As cars needed to meet more stringent crash standards, the A pillars are likewise strengthened and usually end up thick and obstructive. The design of the c4 A pillar odd as it may well be, reduces this blind spot.

Citroen always does things differently, all the better for the rest of us…if not we’d be all driving bland toyotas.

• PauKaya on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:15 pm

i think the right carmaker for bland would be volkswagen. Toyota (globally, not malaysia market) has been making rather exciting cars as of late. in fact, its vw that’s been making rather predictable cars lately and have even took over the “beige” tag in USA.

• Makes me think of ninja turtle..

• kingston on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:01 pm

looks like a hamster.

• kadajawi on Feb 06, 2013 at 8:01 pm

Oh dear.

They really pulled that A pillar to far in front, the front end seems to go up like a lorry. Are they trying to mimic the Type H? Some ideas are nice, but I generally prefer the current C4 Picasso.

• lobservateur on Feb 06, 2013 at 9:00 pm

gosh, that engine space looks tight with the funky A-pillar jutting out!

overall, i think it makes the car looks more muscular (or maybe masculine?) compared to the more slick look with current C4 Picasso.

but then again, this is expected from citroen, bravo!