Suzuki SX4 hatchback to receive a major facelift soon

Suzuki_SX4_facelift

When Suzuki unveiled the facelifted SX4 hatchback (or sport crossover if you must) some time back, we knew something was up as they hardly changed anything on it. With this China Car Times picture showing a more thoroughly-facelifted version of the car, it is now apparent that Suzuki has had bigger plans for the SX4 in mind.

The entire front half of the car looks new with redesigned lights, grille and bumper. More angular and aggressive than before, the headlamps and grille meet in intersecting lines that are angled outwards, flanked by protruding swages on the sculptured front air dam. Also new are the alloy wheels, squared off rear bumpers and what look like LED rear lamp clusters.

The new design elements at the front are reminiscent of the recently facelifted SsangYong Actyon Sports pickup, though of course we’ll leave our final judgement until the official pictures are revealed by Suzuki. To these eyes at least, the current flashy curvy front end fits the rest of the car better.

There aren’t any changes beneath the sheet metal, so you can assume that it will soldier on with the existing 1.6 litre engine and four-speed automatic gearbox. More powerful engines and a CVT transmission are available in other markets though, so nothing is cast in stone just yet.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Do people really still buy Suzuki? I hardly see any new Suzuki around. I think brands like Suzuki will become like Daihatsu, slowly, they will disappear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • I.ME™ on Feb 06, 2013 at 5:07 pm

And Congratulation on finding how to make the ™ on your name. You have my praise for being a truly great identity theft. Entertain the comment section while I’am away for now would you please.

• Sam Loo (official) on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:49 am

Suzuki is rubbish. Better they stick to motorbikes. Bad RV also. Toyota has better RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Vader on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:03 am

You plan to mentioned RV in every topic and every comment? Not feel boring after none-stop mentioning more than a years?
          Of course you can type whatever you like, but please do give right comments on right topic.
          A girl mention “Do you love me?” at the right time is so romantic, but asking few times in a day, that is a nuisance!!!

• I see new swift everywhere. With the new swift being launched I believe there will be even more.

• Rear looks like Polo.

• sheik mazlan on Feb 06, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Yah agree totally. Suzuki is a good product but marketing it in this very saturated market is one big hurdle. I drove a suzuki once n it is a damned good car.

• kingston on Feb 06, 2013 at 5:59 pm

It looks awful,the 1st generation looks better.

• This is still 1st generation because tis is a facelift. Not brand new!

• alldisc™ on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:35 am

first generation suzuki swift was in 1990 lah. u dont know kaa? but that also is actually 2nd generation swift which was still in production in India until 2007, under Maruti badge.

• Julian Lee on Feb 06, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Suzuki i10

• Kalun on Feb 06, 2013 at 7:57 pm

Now, that’s look good. The old one looks not so politically correct.
    This do remind me of Subaru.

• tony blair on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:21 am

WTF CAR!!..DAMN

• tupakamaru on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:07 pm

SMA, please bring the 2.0 version too…1st gen handling and comfort are good but its lack of power though…

• Dayalan on Mar 09, 2013 at 12:00 pm

http://www.autoblog.com/photos/2013-suzuki-sx4-geneva-2013/#photo-5689769/

This is the new SX4 2013, all new model.

IMHO, they are back to LIANA design and looks ugly.