Honda to build new plant in Thailand, increase annual production capacity to 420,000 units in 2015

honda new plant thailand

Honda has announced that it will be building a new production plant in Thailand, which will be located within newly-acquired land in Prachinburi Province, about 120 km east of Bangkok. The new factory is scheduled to become operational in 2015, and will have an annual production capacity of 120,000 units. It will primarily produce small and sub-compact sized vehicles.

In addition to the new facility, the company is ramping up annual production capacity of its existing plant in Ayutthaya from 240,000 to 280,000 units, and this has begun as of the end of January.

Plans are afoot to further increase the annual production capacity to 300,000 units in 2014, and combined with the capacity of the new Prachinburi plant, Honda’s total annual production capacity in Thailand will be 420,000 units in 2015.

The new Thai plant follows on the announcement of a new assembly plant in Indonesia last year. Expected to be up and running in 2014, the new facility in Bekasi will, together with the company’s existing factory, offer an annual production capacity of 180,000 units combined. Sounds like serious expansion, with six hundred thousand vehicles for the region by 2015, and that’s not including us.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anoynimous on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:00 am

Syabas tahniah to NAP and Dr M. Clap clap.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • I.ME™ on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:21 pm

How we lost out because of cronysim and corruption. You know, we were leading the race initially. Nearly every Jap had set up CKD manufacturing facilities in Malaysia. Then the greed of Government started to show. They were awarding contracts to friends and relatives. Corruption was rampant. The Japanese and Mat Salleh companies got so fed up and even closed some plants here to be relocated to Thailand. It is a matter of time before ALL the CKD plants will re-locate to Thailand. Then we will have to buy CBU cars like the good old 80s. Only at 3 times the price. A BMW will cost RM500,000.

Why? All because of cronyism and corruption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • all of us here practice cronyism either u perasan or not, either u like it or not…all of us here give priority to family first then friend to do anything…Corruption in every single way is bad, accusing corrupt without proof oso bad..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • i tot boleh people don like made in boleh car? some said low quality…some said sub-quality..some said no good…some said cbu better maa…some said suicide open in boleh….every single ckd car made in boleh was/is/will be bash by boleh people..the latest being bash is ckd jazz hybrid…why the heck car maker want to open car plant here…

• Wah, our NAP is working so well.
    Locals can continue buying Japanese used junks at an inflated price with NO warranty.
    New cars for sure overpriced and underspec. We deserve no less.
    All major car manufacturers going to Thailand and now Indon.
    Yes DrM is surely father of Thailand and Indon car industry, such a visionary!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
    • MycarMylife on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Oh my Malaysia !!! I cry for you !!!

Lets do away with NAP la , Pride always come before A Big BIG Fall .

• Ekspresi Ruang on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:04 am

With the ever changing government of yellow and red, the Honda still dare to invest big in Thailand? *sarcasm

So I guess there’s nothing to worry about the changing of a new government in Malaysia this year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
    • MycarMylife on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:49 pm

Thailand is still safer and stable for foreign investors and much much more friendlier ,agree ?
      Dont mix politics with business.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Sadly politics in Malaysia is purely a business…

• PauKaya on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:00 am

i want to be plain bold. thais are much more hardworking than us malaysians. the take higher pride in doing a good job.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Unlike Malaysia, the Thais are not demanding 30% for nothing or gtfo!

• carlover on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:09 am

Bad news for Malaysia….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • we setup MALAYSIA AUTOMOTIVE INSTITUTE (MAI) ; to Thai ‘MAI’ means ‘ Don’t want’ !

So, who’s to be blamed ?

• Malaysia Boleh! berjaya malaysia tahniah malaysia

• whocares on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Thailand deserves the investment as they are the one with vision and foresight to see the ever changing needs and requirement of a successful auto industry. Malaysia…well, we have Proton, Perodua and recon junks to be proud of.

• Malaysiaku on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:23 pm

how many of us can work as operator or technician with your salary RM800-RM1200 monthly? Normally company will looking low pay salary to operate the company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • unforgiven on Feb 07, 2013 at 8:32 pm

You think they know how to operate the multi b robots or machines?

• unforgiven on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:41 am

High tech robots, machines, super computers, green technology, etc. The question is do you have the knowledge in it? If yes, then your pay will not be low!

• Malaysiaku on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:09 am

ok.. i understand now. all screw under sit, under dashboard, putting carpet, tyre etc also done by robot.

• unforgiven on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:58 pm

There’s a balance in work forces in it.
          We need to see beyond Proton, if you believe in advanced technology.

• alldisc™ on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:42 am

this is where thailand has an advantage.

• gOOsh on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:38 pm

this may strengthened thailand as Detroit of Asia… sawadikap…

• Chow1 on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Why not build a plant in other part of Malaysia? Hm… there’s something wrong here.

• RejimKejamGanas on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:11 pm

So that BN cronies can screw it up? Look at the locally built Hybrid Jazz for a good example. Less specs and safety at a higher price. Are we even exporting this model anywhere?

As long as the govt continues to manipulate the local market it will backfire on investments and exports.

• unforgiven on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:47 am

Agreed, wondering how to export when the cost for ckd jazz is more expensive than cbu made in Japan.Are we getting a higher salary as compare to the Japanese?

• carlover on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Very sad news for all malaysian. If continues to be liked this we will be exporting maids and workers sooner than we know it.

• madey mudah lupa on Feb 07, 2013 at 12:57 pm

TERIMA KASIH MADEY … u memang bijak

• Saddy on Feb 07, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Bad..bad…news for all malaysian, sooner than we know it we will be exporting maids and workers to work there.

• NISSAN on Feb 07, 2013 at 2:04 pm

where is more dangerous than here where your share can be easily eaten up by cronies overnight.

• Yes, amazing Thailand. i love Thai food, Thai durian, Thai boxing, Thai girls and so does Honda.

• honda x guna on Feb 07, 2013 at 3:00 pm

Please beware buying Honda brand new car, especially year end stock…!!!!

Cant believe this is Honda CBU aka Japan build car!!
    http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2674251&hl=

• Small & Sub-compact, isn’t this suppost to be EEV concept that NAP suppost to target. I think NAP should be changed to D.E.E.P-S.L.E.E.P.

• Simple economics,
    Labour cost there is much cheaper than malaysia. Nothing to do with nap or whatnot. Malaysians are not prepared to work for rm500/ month.