Proton Prevé launched in Brunei – third export market

preve brunei

Proton has introduced the Prevé in Brunei, making it the third overseas market debut for the car after Australia last October and Thailand in November. The brand is represented in the Sultanate by distributor United Motors.

The Prevé is offered in three variants, the CAMPRO IAFM+ 1.6 Executive in both manual and six-speed CVT versions, as well as the turbocharged, seven-speed ProTronic CVT-equipped Premium.

In Brunei, the showroom price for the Prevé is at BND $26,900 (RM67,230) for the Executive manual, BND $28,550 (RM71,350) for the Executive CVT and BND $32,650 (RM81,605) for the Premium. The car, available in six colours, comes with a five-year or 150,000 km warranty.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kelvin on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:10 pm

They get cheap car because of strong currency. We loose big time, currency is weak, but the investor still run away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 80
    • In Brunei……
      1) Price of switf(latest version) or vios just arount RM40k ++
      2) Oil Ron97 about Rm1.20/litre

My friend drive Nissan Murano price about RM 160k only (3.5l version). I wonder how Preve going to penetrate Brunei Market.

Been there, hardly any perodua or proton….they just bought Daihatsu, VW, Lexus, Audi….

The Sultan have good taste of cars……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
      • _xXx_ on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:32 am

but i heard from my SG friends that life there is super boring…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
      • they have cheaper car there but no car maker want to open manufacturing plant there..wat a shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
      • PauKaya on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:09 am

their sultan have money, not good taste. his whole family are rather lousy drivers (only can drive auto). and they have no respect for cars, lots of nice cars being dumped around like garbage.

• Kereta sana mahal2…..tp tinted xboleh…wahahahah

• BMW Fanboi on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:47 am

Preve is still a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 16
  • isamsung on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:18 pm

wow..the price… :O

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • I’m wondering why it is so expensive. I mean, the Brunei CFE model is almost RM10k more than the Malaysian CFE model! I doubt it even comes with 6 airbags like the Thai and Aussie CFE models. Something has clearly gone very wrong here. Either way, I doubt it will make any difference, the Brunei market is tiny. Proton, if you’re listening, stop wasting time on small fry like Brunei and concentrate on the bigger ones like China and Indonesia instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • I think it might be too late now, but I can confirm that Brunei-spec Prevé models have 6 airbags (feel free to refer to Proton’s corporate website), don’t know if they’re standard or not, but this could explain why the cars are a bit more expensive…. but still. Hmm….

• wozzie on Feb 11, 2013 at 9:59 am

I just test drove the Preve in Brunei 2 days ago..according to the saleslady, the Preve Premium has 10 airbags…

• Kalun on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Meh! It’s just across the border. There’s not even a sea between Brunei.

Hardly to see Proton in Brunei because they can afford 3 Lamborghini in a family. Seen alot lingered around Miri City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 20
    • i don know if what u write is true….so far what i read..many their lower income people get bet B$300-B$800…i dont know how they can buy 3 lambo..in boleh standard they will be call org miskin (dolar to dolar comparison) even bomba get onli B$600++

• BMW & VW OWNER. on Jun 18, 2013 at 11:40 am

YOUR STATEMENT RUBBISH. YOUR STATEMENT IS NOT TRUE AT ALL. I WAS THERE FOR 15 YEARS..PLEASE CHECK AND DO SOME RESEARCH..BEFORE MAKING ANY STATEMENT DUDE.

• _xXx_ on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:29 pm

all show thumb-up…what’s so good there hah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • kheng on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:12 pm

That’s better than hot chicks in front of fugly car

• Grant on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:43 pm

must be the innovative fan that continues running even after the engine has been switched off

• The people of Brunei are so blessed with this car. They must be flocking to order it.
    Wow, lucky I didn’t book that BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 31
  • Honda city price at bnd26,800, jazz abt bnd31,000 while preve abt bnd28k to bnd32k….hmmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Kalun on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:56 pm

That’s why the Aussies say Proton Preve is the cheapest in it’s class.

• The Honda City is a B-segment car whereas the Jazz is in the A-segment. The Prevé is a C-segment car. You should be comparing the Prevé with the Honda Civic 1.8 BND40,100 and Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 BND30,900 instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • Paul Tan on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:57 am

Both Jazz and City are B-segment. Honda A-segment is Brio.

• Mackaroni on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:09 am

isnt jazz a sub compact? O.o.ooooo

• Whatever class they are but if in msia a honda city & lancer 2.0 is cheaper than a preve, and a jazz is same price…..preve can close shop,

thats why the sky high taxes on other cars, just to protect proton….but see the real price of the other cars at real world car price, more or less same as a proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • what’s there to compare? the proton is totally out-classed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Abuya on Feb 07, 2013 at 5:59 pm

3 lambo for each family? You mean real car or real toy car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Yeah, sometimes other brands too like ferrari, aston, mclaren, bentley and the list goes on

• Kalun on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:20 am

Sorry brother. I have prove. I have pictures of Brunei plated Lambos, Maseratis, Porches, Ferrari.

The other day, my friend took a chrome coloured Lamborghini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • i don know y boleh people said all bruneian rich? the rich one is their king not the rakyat…there suffer same like use..many of them salary bet B$500-1000 still not enough for them…..as price of food is costlier…did u know that their excise system almost same as boleh only rate is diff (from 15-40% petrol, 20-45% diesel n hybrid 10-35%)

• Syahmi on May 02, 2013 at 5:17 pm

yup, been there, worked there, been to Miri, worked at Miri from West Malaysia btw

got many Bruneian friends who cannot afford C segment cars

and to be fair, yes, Proton have to compete with other car manufacturer in Brunei but does not mean they will definitely lost big time

• Expat on Feb 07, 2013 at 6:20 pm

I work in Brunei but will never buy Proton. For BND32k I can have BMW E90 yr 2010, VW Golf GTI 2009, New Honda City, New Kia Sorento 2.4, etc…sry Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 32
    • pak long on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Tahniah! All the best Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Ya who in the right mind would buy a proton that is unreliable when other car brands are like only 5% in price difference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Bagilah Proton sikit muka…

Their car still can EXPORTED wei…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
      • _xXx_ on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:30 am

anyone can export…but can sell or not is another issue.

• Proton killed the Malaysia auto industry

Because of Proton, we end up paying through our nose for the other makes

Death of proton will be the best thing to happen for car enthusiast in M’sia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • sigh man, u missed this, this is the best car ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• compared to a trolly?

Where have you been in the last 25 years??

• they don target expat yo…they target local yo..

• Hadok on Feb 07, 2013 at 9:58 pm

Noone cares what you want to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • So ? No one is asking you to buy a Proton. Go spend your hard earned money on one of the models you’ve mentioned instead. Don’t waste your time posting pointless, rude comments on the internet. Keep it to yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
      • Which part of the post are rude?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • It’s rude because it’s a subjective, opinion based comment. Opinions are either positive, neutral or negative. In this case, it’s quite negative because Mr.Expat here probably never experienced the Prevé first-hand. So yes, it’s not fair to be judgemental about something or someone without getting to know it/them first. Am I right ? No ?

• Do you personally know this person? Then you are rude too because it’s your negative comment toward Mr Expat and it is subjective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • unforgiven on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:52 am

So you’ll need to drive a Proton to be real special, maybe there’s a fool out there?

• Celicazz on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:30 am

last time, people said that to hyundai/kia… never want to buy then over bmw, merc, toyota honda bla3…

look where they are now?

bashing blindly wont get us anywhere…

• You’re absolutely right

Look at where Hyundai and Kia are today.

Proton is just incompetent and inapt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • halefomar on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:03 pm

I don’t understand the mentality of our people. When Proton trying to push their product outside other than Malaysia, our own people condemn and complaint.

Malaysian want Proton to be jaguh kampung only (now not so jaguh anymore)? Let them sell their product outside. Let other people taste malaysian engineering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • Superman on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:07 am

if proton take the politics out of the company and give chance to their own people and not to some Dato guys who bring rubbish and force them to use, I bet proton can present much much better cars. i hope new management open their eys and givee a chance to their own people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • gen y on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Typical bashers. If its cheaper than M’sia complain. Now expensive than M’sia also complain. Anyway kudos for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
  • Brain on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:11 pm

All the execs are giving thumbs up to the car.

But how many actually owns the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • siazshuakme on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:12 pm

haha..as i expected.
    soon if p1 launch at indon (for example), i can expect same script again..

• Kenapa Ya on Feb 07, 2013 at 7:31 pm

congratulation on the new export market.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Poor Bruneian…they’ve increased the number of rubbish in their country…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • Pontiac on Feb 10, 2013 at 12:10 am

I saw many proton in singapore. Rubbish in singapore too? Can be fine u know if u littering rubbish. U know la singapore is a fine city

• salambangi on Feb 07, 2013 at 8:15 pm

Not buying Proton is ok but Proton bashing is not right. I think you deserve to continue working in Brunei and dont ever come back to Malaysia. Will continue buying Proton for for its value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:55 am

Don’t be jealous of him because he works in Brunei and is able to drive all of the other cars brands. We here are stuck with Proton because the Government raises the taxes so high to protect Proton and we are never able to drive any other cars expect Proton for the rest of our lives. And don’t label me a Proton basher. I have owned different Proton models for 20 years and I have had numerous problems and wasted so much of time and money towing the car to workshop everytime it broke down and waiting for it to be repaired. I will never trust them!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • Sid Alias on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Different proton models for 20 years, seriously????? but complain and still own them. go and change to other brands and stop complain. i bed since you can afford defferent types of Proton cars, might as well you spend your money in buying other type of cars and stop complain for the past 20 years and still counting. LMAO >.<

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
        • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:11 pm

Iswara, Wira and now Persona. I complain because I cannot afford another brand. If I can afford, I would have dumped the stupid Proton by now.
          Don’t be arrogant and laugh at other people. Just because you can afford another brand, don’t think everyone is the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • there p2 brand oso maa..y don buy those p2? don say u don like p2 oso…

• Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:24 pm

I was very close to choosing the MyVi. But I need the boot space. That’s why. Regret now.
            Since Proton is coming out with the EMAS, why P2 cannot produce a sedan?

• gkj76jk on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:18 pm

I support you man. lol everytime I see ppl having an impromptu picnic at the side of the road because their proton broke down, I wind down my window, drive slow and yell at them, “BELILAH PROTON! KAKAKAKA!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • gkj76jk on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:19 pm

y, u mad bro? Cannot afford to buy a non-P1 or P2 ah? How sad. Typical proton hugger.

• Wow!!! More expensive than in Malaysia. Can sell ah?

• Kumar on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Crappy car with crappy look.
    PROTON never actually want to design a good looking car cos they know even crappy design many malaysian will buy due to other quality car prices are far too expensive due to BN led Gov and mahathir cronies companies.So malaysians have no choice.the rich get richer and the poor get deprived of their hard earned money by buying crappy cars like proton,thanks to father of proton for inventing such crappy cars and rip off the nation,malaysia does not need a national car,they need proper roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 61
  • Vellapan on Feb 07, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Woooooooo hoooooooo…another holiday for the Proton senior management bearing dodgy suits and ties, did they drive the car back to Miri after the photo op?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • rakyat on Feb 07, 2013 at 11:07 pm

why would proton want to penetrate Brunei?
    To prove that no one really wants to buy P1 cars in an open market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
    • Ah Beng on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:00 am

Be safe. Don’t simply penetrate.

• peyno on Feb 09, 2013 at 3:15 pm

to proof that jepun celup car only can be sold in boleh land.. in Brunei they prefer ORI one.. no wonder perodua tak laku

prrrtfhhh

• Rakyat on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:36 am

Thumbs down for preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Rakyat on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:37 am

Thumbs up for cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Proton Costumer on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:00 am

Yet.. proton is a very bad choice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • kancil turbo on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:02 am

my cousin in brunei use proton waja they like proton becouse easy and cheap maintainance as they often go to kota kinabalu. while his sister using ford also need to go kk to find cheap part. and his older ford unrepairable as cost to repair is crazy for such car and i manage to canibalize his car take his certain car part to my my ford 323. but thats 10 years ago. and currently i still can see many brunei car go to sabah for cheap maintenance and part.

• kancil turbo on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:11 am

but i think exora is more relevent in brunei as they like mpv vehicle there.it is must have for every family in brunei. especially larger family. during 1990s kijang is top in brunei also can see quite a lot of proton wira and a bit of satria at the time.

• Pengguna Bijak on Feb 08, 2013 at 7:30 am

I believe Brunei people are smart and wise enough in their buying decision. :D

• gkj76jk on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:21 pm

dude, you don’t need extra smarts to NOT buy a proton, just common sense also will tell you to stay away from them! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • sheikh mazlan on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:42 am

Proton preve expensive? Surely proton has done their market survey and saw that their pricing is competitive enough. If proton sells car at prices less than here, there will be howlings from ever corner. And if prices marked were at slightly higher or more realistic than there will still be arguments as seen above. Let the market ie in Brunei deal with proton. If it is not popular because of pricing than it will shown.

• sheikh mazlan on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:53 am

And to Mr Kumar, please shy away from politics. You cant really believe that everything done were politicised.

• darker marker on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:18 am

kesian proton…….for being tak laku in Brunei…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • With the kind of prices & choices over there, only a retard would buy a proton….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • gen y on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:52 pm

I think u r the retarded one. Do u know prices of other makes in the same segment there? Dumbo! Do u homework 1stla…

• This car is like a broken pencil. No point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • kancil turbo on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:56 pm

it will sell well there due to advantage of lower maintainence than other brand.

• half_Blood Prince Perak on Feb 13, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Hope P1 increase sale on outer countries and reduce heavy traffic in Malaysia to benefit our nations.

• annoni on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:14 am

if proton so good as claimed by its local fans, why until
    now still cant penetrate into foreign market?
    another 50 years? please refer to korea and VW

• Noriko on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:40 pm

No bruneian wants to buy proton, please take it back to your country..disgusting look proton

• Noriko on Feb 21, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Education in brunei is free, for medical you only pay $1 and petrol is subsidise…not like malaysia evryt.Hin is expensive..get a live retard

• Joe10 on Jun 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm

From the basis of opinion many of the bashers above,most of them don’t know economics,policies and manufacturing.

And also I concluded most of them don’t even own cars. I have driven a Honda Civic Type R 2011, City,
    Ferrari 355, Vios-both and currently a Preve’. From my experience, I rate the car highly as it out performed even the latest 2.0 civic iVtec SOCH in it’s class. In terms of acceleration, top speed, handling and sturdiness of the car is top notch for it’s price. I was impressed from the start to the finish for it’s performance. Not only it’s a 1.6T car means lower road tax. I even took on a 3-series 2009 and beat it flat. So it speaks for itself.

Too all the bashers above, drive 1st talk later is the best concept and not sit in a coffee shop bitching about how terrible the car is especially when you can’t afford to buy an imported C-segment car.And hell yeah I would pick the Preve’ rather than a Honda Civic. It looks better(Designed by ferrari’s designer),drives better(Lotus engineering and handling) and drags better(CFE engine). No wonder Honda is trying their best to form a strategic partnership with PROTON. Opps too late they already did. So to all the bashers above, correct me if I’m wrong. Opps again, I’m always right.

• It’s untrue that all Bruneians have 3 Lambos in their homes and also you are just noticing the rich peoples’ cars but when it comes to the average Bruneians, people often buy the Vios, plus, the Vios is everywhere when you go to the shops, roads, etc. Not everyone are rich either, they often pay monthly installments as a result of bankruptcy or unable to pay for their cars anymore and only a fraction, I repeat, a fraction of them pay the cars in cash. The ones that are usually claiming their fortunes show off when they can’t even seem to afford a damn sofa. Whereas the other countries overlook Brunei’s wealth into thinking and even spreading rumors that each family can even afford 3 Lamborghinis, like seriously, if you wanna own one, work your ass off first. MASMEAH BYEZ!

• ntah apa apa ntah on Jul 11, 2013 at 6:25 pm

“Harga yang ditawarkan ialah sebanyak BND$ 26,900 (MT) dan BND$ 28,550 (CVT) untuk varian Executive, sementara varian Premium berharga BND$ 32,650.”
    Brunei Median Monthly Disposable Salary (After Tax) BND$ 3,416.85.

Harga Prevé adalah antara RM59,540 hingga RM72,990
    Malaysia Median Monthly Disposable Salary (After Tax) RM 3,000.00.

Malaysian especially memang suka kene tipu and even if they realized they still ignorant.. admit it guys.. anyone stupid enough to rebut my statement? for god sake be strong people, put together your act and punish this Proton.. too much already..