All-new Kia Forte 5-door hatchback makes world debut at Chicago Auto Show; gets up to 201 hp GDI engine!

5461_1_2_1

With the ongoing Chicago Auto Show and Geneva Motor Show on the horizon, you’ll be seeing the word ‘debut’ here a lot. Like a whole lot. To start the ball rolling, the all-new Kia Forte 5-door hatchback has just made its world debut in the Windy City today, with plenty of surprises under its glitzy new sheet metal.

The first of which is its performance. Obviously more performance oriented than before, the Forte 5-door is offered with two powerful engine choices – a 2.0 litre GDI motor with 173 hp and 209 Nm of torque in the base EX model and a smaller but stronger 1.6 litre turbocharged GDI engine (the same one powering the upcoming cee’d/pro_cee’d GT and Hyundai Veloster Turbo) pushing out a full fat 201 hp and 264 Nm between 1,750 and 4,500 rpm in the range topping SX variant.

Both six-speed manual and automatic transmissions are available, the latter with steering-mounted shift paddles. The engine drives the front wheels (18-inchers on the SX shown here) while sports-tuned MacPherson struts up front and independent multi-link rear suspension put all that power to good use.

5422_1_2

Sharing very little with its sedan counterpart, the new hatchback gets a more European-influenced design featuring Kia President and global chief of design Peter Schreyer’s smallest and tidiest Tiger grille yet. Edgier from nose to tail, it proudly shows its sporty intentions with glee.

A prerequisite for the powerful engines is the deep air intake positioned below the front grille. The rear gets chiselled dual exhaust pipes and fancy LED lamps. It manages to look more athletic than the car it replaces despite growing in size – it’s lower, longer and wider than before. Interior space gets a big boost too of course, with 657 litres of usable cargo room with the rear seats folded down.

Inside, the Forte 5-door features premium materials and soft touch points to compliment its raft of interior comforts. Chrome accents, carbonfibre-like textures and leather trims all make an appearance.

The outgoing Kia Forte Hatchback never did make it to our shores so don’t hold your breath over the new one coming here. But when it looks this good while packing so much promise, one can’t help but wish that it does.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• xander on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:24 am

look very nice indeed. way better than japs design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 30
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:41 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 140
      • rakyat " on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:09 pm

wtf with preve all the time?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 22
      • rakyat @ smart guy on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:10 pm

do you know a lot of ppl buy cars based on looks (n at least with decent s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
      • rakyat @ smart guy on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:12 pm

do you know a lot of ppl buy cars based on looks (n at least with decent specs).
        preve’s look is only so so IMO.
        so fanboi, stop ur irritating postings!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • Flash on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Yeah u and your crappy preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
      • And Proton is still not the BMW of Asia.. Change your nickname please. Disgrace to BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
      • Ah Beng on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:05 am

Proton actually is the BMW of Asia but just in malay aka Banyak Masuk Workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Dr. No on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:31 am

Preve fetish syndrome? This is a common syndrome experience by Malaysian who are forced to buy preve. They have gone crazy because our beloved Gov denied their rights to buy the cars of their dream but instead brainwash them to buy preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Dr. No on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:55 am

Preve fetish syndrome? This is a common syndrome experience by Malaysian who are forced to buy preve. They have gone crazy because our beloved Gov denied their rights to buy the cars of their dream but instead brainwash them to buy preve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • First, the Preve launched. Then the new 2nd-gen Forte, but then this new Forte hatchback. Come on, Proton! Where’s your Preve hatchback? Don’t be lagged behind.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
    • Proton’s products take too long to launch, even if they have nice design nice business plan will also lose their element of surprise, by the time Preve hatchback is out, the world has already moved on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
  • busybody on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:26 am

new A class design elements? hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:30 am

The lines and cues remind me of the Opel Astra. Very handsome car. Schreyer has done again. Well done!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
  • _xXx_ on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:32 am

NOTHING BEATS PREVE!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 77
  • Henry on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:51 am

So handsome. I want one. Is it coming here? Can’t wait to see the new Koup too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
  • YeapyEvo on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:51 am

Kia Forten 1.6GDI got turbo, Preve 1.6 also turbo, but one is heaven another one is hell lot of different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
    • kumfu on Feb 09, 2013 at 6:02 pm

nothing to shout about, that’s GDI engine plus probably twin-charger turboed. preve’s single charger, if cfe has GDI plus another charger, for sure can churn out more power

• Everp on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:59 am

Let’s see how outdated the Preve Hatchback design will be!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
  • damn ugly interior…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
    • I wouldnt say its interior is totally ugly. But i would say that if it has such a striking exterior, the interior should live up to similar expectation. I think Peter really need to look into this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:11 pm

The much better looking, more practicle alternative to the Just weird Veloster Turbo.
    And IMO , is even better looking than the sedan version. Yup,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • joanna on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:09 pm

Meh still cannot beat any Proton cars. If not why Proton selling like pisang goreng panas compared to
    Kia? Haha.
    Actually malaysians have no choice but to buy low-quality-ugly-design Proton cars. The prices of other brands actually very affordable if the govt doesnt apply the current oppresive auto policy.
    But malaysian dont care. They indeed love low quality stuffs. They said we must protect Proton until our last breath!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • thedarkside on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:24 pm

can we just comment about the korean car? just give it a break…and BTW, Happy CNY!

• ben yap on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:16 pm

wow! 1.6 turbo developing 200hp. that’s really amazing power squeezed from a small engine. one day Kia will push it to 250hp for a 1.6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Kia/Hyundai turbo engines are well praised by Jeremy Clarkson.It is said their cars can fly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • Joe Radzif on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Why Proton cannot design a car like this…

just copy and paste from another car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • mentari-o-korea on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Yeah, you got the power to surprise, really!!! Bravo KIA !

• Wakawaka on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Even 1st gen of Kia forte is better than new gen preve…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Hyundai De La Junk on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Another Schreyer Copy cat of Polo design by De Silva, get a life you laousy South Chosun Copy Cat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:16 pm

There are limitations to how far a designer can go with his creativity due to the platform being used (Elantra GT), market needs, customer expectations and current regulations (laws). So a lot of the cars these days are gonna look similar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Mat Global on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Happy and Prosperous CNY to Paul Tan’s crew and staff and all PT readers.

We can differ in car choice and preferences but when it comes to festive and New Year celebrations let us merry together.

Do honk (not race!) when you come across my Proton Preve on N-S highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Sam Loo on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:49 pm

I love to see the look on the owners of this rotten cabbage when they trade it in.

All I can say is look at the Hilux parked in front of my shop and you are most welcome to use the soundproof room to shout hailat. I will also provide the King To Nin Jo Pei Pa Kou to soothe their throats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • With all due honesty Sam Loo, this model won’t be sold here as Malaysia is primarily a sedan market and in markets where this is sold, they care less about RV.

• PauKaya on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:04 am

to be honest. this kia > vw golf (bloody overrated and unreliable)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • faizulamin on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:20 am

somebody pls tell me?

why cars nowaday have a unsymmetrical dashboard? honda’s worse than this anyway.

• why do you need a symmetrical dashboard? it’s not like the front passenger has a steering wheel as well.

• Paul, have any idea why there is no turbo engine available locally?

• bcoz of fuel that we used..same reason for GDi engine that never make it to our shores..turbo definitely need ron97 so with direct injection maybe?,while most of us,even a beemer filled their cars with ron95..n bear in mind,hyundai/kia give huge warranty for their drive train,so incase of the engine failure bcoz of the fuel that we filled(ron95),they gonna loose money

• dandanial on Feb 12, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Protong preve goes to amarica better dont,unless can beat kia globally not domestic market in malaysia ,no class mike.Apa ada klass kereta hanya utk rakyat malaysia yg lekat dek proton pooooorah.

• ” Smart guys get it”……. FROM IDIOT! lol

• Sam Loo on Nov 07, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Typical rubbish car that fetches poor RV. Toyota is always a smarter choice to choose for in terms of reliability and RV .