B10 biodiesel pilot programme starts – to be launched nationwide when B10 standard is established

biodiesel

Yesterday saw the introduction of the B10 blend biodiesel pilot programme in the country, in which vehicles of Ministry of Plantation Industries and Commodities (MPIC) are set to use the fuel, a mixture of 10% palm biodiesel and 90% petroleum diesel.

All 81 MPIC-owned vehicles with diesel engines, along with its agencies’ vehicles operating around Selangor and Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, will participate in the pilot programme. In total, the vehicles will consume 25 tonnes of palm biodiesel annually.

The implementation follows in line with the decision by the government to upgrade the existing B5 programme, which has been in place since November 1, 2011, to a B10 one. To support the development of B10, the MPIC is working together with SIRIM and Department of Standard Malaysia to build a new B10 standard, as the existing one, namely MS123:2005, is only for B5.

The new B10 standard is due to be launched nationwide as soon as it’s established, with the plan being to have a nationwide implementation in place by July 2014. The Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB) will head the programme, particularly in areas of palm biodiesel supply as well as related logistical and technical aspects.

diesel cap

Diesel passenger vehicles usually have a B7 rating written on the fuel cap, so the move to 10% inadvertently leads to questions about adverse effects on diesel engine vehicles.

According to the MPOB, studies conducted have shown that B10 usage will not bring have a negative impact on diesel engine vehicles. The move to have all MPIC vehicles and that of its agencies utilising it is very much a step to convince everyone – including OEMs and petroleum companies – of that.

We managed to ask BMW Malaysia about this matter, and it said that that the 10% in B10 is too small to have any significant effect. The company says it has carried out tests and its cars work fine up to B13 (which is a blend of 13% biodiesel and 87% petroleum diesel). The reason that B7 is written on the fuel cap is that in most markets overseas, the biodiesel only goes up to a B7 blend.

It was earlier reported that the move towards a B10 blend nationwide (for the non-subsidised sector) would ease the current record high palm oil stock by assisting the removal of crude palm oil stock from the marketplace. It is forecasted that a total of one million tonnes of raw palm oil will be used as material for the said program when it is running.

Click here and here to read more about the B5 biodiesel already in place.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• to help SD and IOI… all Hilux, D-max, Triton, Ranger owners in Sarawak will be victimised…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • Anton on Feb 09, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Not just Sarawakian diesel engine owners but whole Malaysians too.

• AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 11:34 am

Nothing but lies by our Government. Euro 4 or 5 also cannot give, want to give this crap! How long to protect Petronas? They should invest in planta to give us Euro 4. Obvious government wants the rakyat to use more fuel and suffer with petrol. Using diesel, we can save 50% of our yearly fuel bills.

• You do realise that B10 is for diesel.

• people want euro 4/5 diesel (better diesel). we get b10 biodiesel (worse diesel). even article states that everywhere else only up to b7. when can we use premium diesel engines without changing the injectors yearly like this. i dont know what the heck government is doing.

• based on my readings, biodiesel does not benefit the oil companies. it will only benefit the palm oil industries. i guess u didnt read much, dont u?

• does it lead to cheaper diesel alternatives?

• gen y on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:07 am

Finally… after so many hurdles. Good move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
  • hadi75 on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:30 am

Crap….i already lose mileage and power because of B5 biodiesel…now B10…crap..
    Why no choice for diesel users just like petrol users….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • Car Lover on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:07 am

Does that means old Ford Focus TDCI will benefit a lot from this diesel? Engine will run more better?

• in general biodiesel is slightly inferior compared to normal diesel fuel.. The move to add in bio-substances into diesel is to reduce pricing (either they reduce retail pricing and benefit consumers, or the keep the price unchanged and these producers earn more.. lolzz)..

biodiesel is common in developed nation.. Germany is the country with highest biodiesel consumption in the world and they produced the best diesel cars in the world..

even singapore launch bio-fuel campaign, collecting recycle COOKING OIL and produce fuel for diesel cars.. (search Alpha Biofuel Singapore).. thus having biodiesel in cars is not a big deal..

gee.. when is VW and Audi gonna bring in the TDI, cant wait..

• Car Lover on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:35 am

TSI, so does that means that it is good or relatively like NGV having less power? Because I do know that the Ford Focus TDCI petrol consumption is good but I do hear because of our diesel grade is not as good as other country, it will make the engineer to be carbonize(if I heard this theory correctly)?

Anyways, thanks for the sharing, I will try search up for details for it and from the rest of the people in this forum.

• Hadi75 on Feb 10, 2013 at 6:23 pm

The problem with malaysia is that diesel users got no choice…if petrol user can choose which type of fuel they want to put in their car….why diesel users don’t have that privilege…to choose which diesel they want…biodiesel or diesel…which by the way we’re still lagging behind our neighbours….all of them already on euro4 while we still stuck with euro2m….

• squall_shinoda on Feb 12, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Biodiesel is not cheaper than petroleum diesel. Why? Because in order to get biodiesel, it requires lots of catalysts and chemical reactions, such as removing glycerine to get fatty acid and then converting the fatty acid to cetane or diesel. It’s not as simple as buying a bottle of cooking oil and then pour it straight into the fuel tank – no, it’s not like that at all. The reason why our biodiesel blend has the same price as straight petrodiesel is because we are one of the largest palm oil producer, so the government can subsidize the domestic cooking palm oil price here.

• driver on Feb 09, 2013 at 2:03 am

Tests that are required:

1) technical test on the engine & it’s associated technologies
    2) mileage-fuel consumption
    3) power output
    4) environmental

I don’t have any idea who has been/will be doing these. Any input? and result?

• i guess Malaysian Palm Oil Board will be doing this since they are the one who did the R&D on palm oil related technology…

• Somchai srichiparn on Feb 09, 2013 at 3:42 am

I don’t know about your reports of vehicles accepting biodiesels without any long term harm. Infact there was a study by one of the pickup manufacturer in Thailand that biodiesels caused their fuel pump control valve to jam, prompting replacement to be done without media’s knowledge. I know because one of my Thai truck has had it’s valve replaced with a different type FOC and many other similar trucks and SUVs too. My Malaysian truck had the similar issue too. Got it replaced.
    Loss of power, engine shudder at certain rpm range, engine check light..etc
    now B10. Just spend the time and effort to introduce higher and cleaner spec (euro3) fuel. The consumer can accept the price. Offer your Bx fuel for price concious people. Heck Shell V’power diesel is Euro4 in Thailand.
    Don’t try to manipulate the story by clearing your palm oil stocks locally. If you want to try something new, why not try E fuel. Gasohol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Aren’t those cases where the vehicle was filled with 100% biodiesel? This one is 10% only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Why not give the biodiesel to the fishermen?

Biodiesel makes a lot of sense in marine engines as it’s not poisonous. And as far as I know biodiesel disappears a lot faster when spilled into the sea.

And as diesel for fishermen is subsidised anyway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • jilbaber on Feb 11, 2013 at 1:37 pm

I agreed with this one, or maybe sell the biodiesel to TNB for their generators and leave the normal diesel for small company and privately use like us…

and I alse agreed we should upgrade for at least Euro4. What the heck Gov are thinking delaying this matter !?

• This is crap! Instead of implementing the euro 4 or 5 standard diesel with ultra low sulphur levels, the govt is just beating around the bush. Both Singapore and Thailand have moved forward but us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • littlefire on Feb 09, 2013 at 8:13 am

Still EURO2 standart?!? Even it is B10, but still how the EURO rate? We need at least EURO4 now to run better and more efficient diesel engine…

• armandd on Feb 09, 2013 at 9:20 am

We should have more advanced diesel engines in the country than can run higher percentage of biodiesel. We are the major palm oil producer in the world. Petronas and Proton should take advantage of this so that when our oil reserves run dry, we have something else as our major income.

• 20 years ago; we are so proud that we were ahead in ASEAN…but today, where are we?

Stop these crap (bloated R&D $) and introduce proper Standard …. don’t deprive us of EURO 4/5

• Jimmy on Feb 09, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Who said we were ahead in ASEAN 20 years ago? And you believed him/them? I declared today that we are No 1 in the world in terms of kejayaan and keamanan and we are so proud about this.
      Who will get the benefit from B10?
      Not you.
      Who will and how to safeguard this B10? You know le what I try to say. No planning one, atau ada pelan sahaja, sahaja ok.
      Moving backwards, in short.

• payne on Feb 13, 2013 at 8:24 am

kejayaan? what kind of “kejayaan” re we talking about here? please enlighten me.

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:33 am

They should introduce proper diesel instead, so that we can finally get the modern diesel engines people use in Europe. Yes, the cars will be a bit more expensive, but the power, torque and lower FC will be worth it, at least in D segment cars.

• the gov should consider the EURO4 diesel and ULSD for a greener environment.

• Cronies clearing out crude palm oil stocks !!! If this happens the price must come down coz palm oil cheaper than crude oil

• klata-klata on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Palm Oil is more expensive than retailed (subsidised) Diesel.

A 5 litre jug of cooking palm oil is retailed at a susidised price of RM13.35 which works out to be RM2.65 per litre. It is more expensive than the RM1.80 per litre Diesel at the pump.

Introducing bio-diesel is an environmental mission of sustainability and carbon-neutrality.

• tishaban on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Biodiesel saves the govt money through less subsidies. There’s also less if any infrastructure required to implement B10.

Euro 4/5/6 diesel costs more money since the base fuel itself is more expensive hence more subsidies.

This seems to be the obvious reason why the govt is going for B10 and not Euro4 or better fuel. What I still don’t understand is why we can’t have two standards for diesel like petrol. Euro 2M subsidized for older vehicles and Euro5 unsubsidized for those with newer cars. If Shell can sell expensive Vpower petrol why not Vpower diesel? I would have bought it for my BMW.

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Yes, I remember in Germany you could get low quality diesel for lorries like you get it here, while there is a proper quality diesel pump next to 95 and 97.

• sah147 on May 12, 2013 at 10:15 am

Most if not all of the fuel stations only have 3 tanks, so they use them for petrol RON 95, 97 and diesel. Adding another grade of diesel is not practical due to cost of building another underground tank.

• ThePolygon on Feb 09, 2013 at 3:29 pm

“The move to have all MPIC vehicles and that of its agencies utilising it is very much a step to convince everyone”

That’s because they don’t personally pay for the diesel vehicle themselves.

“The reason that B7 is written on the fuel cap is that in most markets overseas, the biodiesel only goes up to a B7 blend”

Then why was it written if the max is 7? The same statement MAX.B7 has a petrol equivalent of MIN.RON 97 for certain petrol engines. There is a reason for such restrictions.

• Terenceg on Feb 09, 2013 at 8:30 pm

As petroleum producing country, we are looking towards plantation? this just don’t make any sense in any angles.

We should be a leader in Asia for Euro4 diesels instead of going backwards like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • klata-klata on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:30 pm

We are the largest EXPORTER of palm oil in the world, and we are a negligible Net Exporter of mineral oil.

Palm oil can only grow well around a narrow equatorial belt, and is by far the cheapest vegetable oil to produce – hence the unjustified anti-palm oil campaigns funded by competitive oil producers such as soya-oil which is quickly losing market share to palm oil.

The world MUST gradually use more and more bio-fuels, and Palm Oil is an excellent choice for us.

Palm Oil has zero sulphur content, more lubricatious, and non-toxic. It works fine in our warm climate.

• Eason Leong on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:35 pm

Terenceg,
      Of cause it make sense. Did you know that M’sia also one of largest palm oil producer? Furthermore, it is environmental friendly.

http://auto.howstuffworks.com/fuel-efficiency/alternative-fuels/biodiesel3.htm

• petani on Feb 10, 2013 at 12:42 am

“As petroleum producing country, we are looking towards plantation?”
      U want all petani here join o&g industry or what??

• Malaysia will run out of natural gas in 33 years and oil (dinosaur) in 19 years.

• Botolsusu on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Typical malaysian beaurocratic analogies ” we put in all our vehicles so b10 must be ok” so its ok to use. Those are company vehicles… So who cares.. Company pay for car repair. For personal owners of diesel vehicles we now face further risk of engine damage, the manufacturers clearly state no biodiesel! If mpob want to convince us its ok… Warrant the use of b10 on personal vehicle la.. Give warranty for our engines, then u are credible… stupid.

• Botolsusu on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Agree with thepolygon!!

Anyway… Those who blindly support this are probably ones who work in the palm oil business or government agencies that DO NOT own diesel vehicles themselves.

Go eu4 diesel la… Not this crap. Wrong move pre election time i would say. You lost my vote!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Looks like 1Gostan campaign again..orang maju but v mundur, its shameful that oil producing country but users get the paling mundur diesel…neighbours getting gd stuff but v get ….

• langit hitam on Feb 10, 2013 at 7:08 am

Just curious.
    Do you think Malaysia government is giving a subsidized fuel to us?Or is it a manipulated statement and data similar with a crime rates?

• kadajawi on Feb 10, 2013 at 3:00 pm

While I haven’t checked it, wouldn’t it be easy to verify? The current pre-tax fuel prices are publicly known.

• kimberlycun on Feb 10, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Ford discourages use of diesel b5 and above for all its current and older vehicles media.ford.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=25065

this is a stupid move by the government. They should introduce euro3 and above alongside b10

• einstein on Feb 10, 2013 at 8:53 pm

waiting for our biodiesel to be alternative method to cook KFC chicken. yum finger licking good!

• BeemerFreak on Feb 10, 2013 at 8:55 pm

Just spend less on these useless biodiesel programme and launch the euro 4 diesel for god sake. Our stupid government is now bordering hopeless

• Ryan L on Feb 11, 2013 at 1:24 am

We don’t want anymore shitty biodiesel. Bring in the Euro 3/ Euro4 already. We’re begging youuu

• neutral guy on Feb 11, 2013 at 1:54 am

More pilot projects means more money for the pocket. After all, nobody is accountable if money is wasted and project failed but even if project is successful, it will be declared failed as well. If if project is successful, someone will cash in on others ‘ work and declare the technology intellectual rights belongs to him / them later.
    That’s how things work in this country!

• ichibawa1 on Feb 11, 2013 at 10:02 am

NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

Not enough that we are already suffering with B5… Higher consumption of diesel becos the energy delivered is lower, Now we have to subsidize privatised companies, FELDA FGVH, IOI and the rest. Excerpt from

http://media.ford.com/article_display.cfm?article_id=25065

Ford Motor Company recommends the use of fuels containing no more than five percent biodiesel (B5) in Ford diesel-powered vehicles. This is consistent with the standards set down by the World Wide Fuel Charter a compilation of fuel quality requirements endorsed by U.S., Japanese, European and other engine and vehicle manufacturers.

“The current and older diesel products can run on blends up to five percent,” says Harrigan. “Anything beyond that could cause damage to the engine with long-term use.”

• pelams on Feb 12, 2013 at 11:23 am

shit. i juz bought a triton

• Rulered on Feb 12, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Japanese used biodiesel derived from Jathropa curcas plants during world war 2 for their vehicles and machinaries. Certainly we should be a long way in improving biodiesel technology and usage all these years. We shouldn’t be a pessimistic and start thinking of renewable and sustainable energy source. Fossil fuel won’t last forever.

• Fredo on Feb 13, 2013 at 11:26 am

Holy crap! should introduce Euro3/4 instead of this ..
    WTH ??????

• how much will be the increase of Palm oil price wil be?

• Just invent a new engine which consume 100% biodiesel.