Honda Malaysia plans five new models for 2013, targets 64,000 units and 10% market share

honda-msia-bosses

Honda Malaysia (HM) hosted a media gathering yesterday night, taking the opportunity to reflect on an encouraging 2012 and share its plans for 2013. Plenty of ambition and plenty in store for us, as you’ll read about.

Last year started slow for Honda, as the carmaker was among the hardest hit by the big flood that swamped Thailand in 2011. Production at Ayutthaya, which was suspended in October 2011, only came back online in March 2012. But Honda bounced back strongly in the second half of the year – of 2012’s total of 34,947 units sold, over 24,000 units were racked up from July to December.

In that period, HM commanded 7.7% share of the Malaysian market, and achieved an all-time monthly sales record of 5,045 units in July, closing the year strongly with close to 4,800 units in December, the company’s third highest monthly sales ever. Honda is also the leader in hybrid sales, and became the first company to locally assemble a hybrid car in Malaysia with the CKD Jazz Hybrid.

honda-2013-plans

Looking forward, HM has set a sales target of 64,000 units and 10% market share for 2013. In the longer term, the company plans to sell 100,000 units annually here by 2017.

“2013 is a year where we strengthen our operations for the transition towards an even more competitive market. We are aggressively building a stronger brand image and maximising all our efforts to improve ourselves for future growth. Honda Malaysia is aligning our focus with Honda’s global strategy and strengthening our sales volume. We will be introducing exciting new models every quarter, including three upcoming CKD models,” said Yoichiro Ueno, MD and CEO of HM.

Which brings us to the exciting part – HM is planning to launch five new cars this year, including three locally-assembled models. The facelifted CR-Z Hybrid is one of the CBU cars, and we’re expecting two of the CKD models to be the new CR-V and new Accord. That’s three, so you can go ahead and fill in the blanks :)

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nasurudin on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Honda Hybrid is a big joke. At 21km /litre is nothing compared to a gasoline engine of Mitsubishi Mirage . Prius is the trully Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 84
    • Kalun on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Have you read about Honda new Earth Dream project. The famous one is the Honda NSX with 3 motor v6 hybrid with SH-AWD. The next one is Honda Accord Earth Dream.

It’s not a joke. Critism make Honda a serious player in hybrid powertrain. They could just overtake Toyota any moment now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 30
    • Alvin on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Honda Malaysia don’t just focus on launching new products. Fix the problems in the existing cars also.

My new Honda Civic 9th keep on having strong idle vibration and wind noise from driver’s side. Fix it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
      • nufad on Feb 09, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Agree with u alvin, my city 2013 also face the same problem. Noticable shivering during idling. Even my dad wira 1999 model is not giving such problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
        • Nuffnang on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:05 pm

A wira without vibration is called Lancer. my year 2004 wira 1.5GL, meter spoil (RPM full time at 6000), aircond spoil, plastic crack everywhere, power window spoiled, engine overhaul 2 times due to leaking oil, absorber changed 3 times, my mileage just clock 140k and I got all these problems. My City 2009 (my 2nd car), never give such problem. Clock at 75000 KM, only do normal servicing. No other complaint such as vibration when idling. But I do heard my friend complaint new City FL rubber over the door is very lausy, if u really compare to Pre-FL City, the pre-FL gets better quality rubber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
          • nufad on Feb 09, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Gosh, thts too bad for the city fl owner. I googgled around and saw for aussie model they put good qulity rubber all around the needed area to enhance sound proofing. When it came to msia everyting need to ….

Speechless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • AVH® on Feb 10, 2013 at 6:19 pm

My dad’s city 09′ recently went for a tire replacement from the original continental set to a Michelin set. I noticed that the road noise has been reduced.

Other than that, I did’t notice any vibration at idle too. wind noise is noticeable thou, but much better than the other cars drive (Saga/Alza).

On that side, Happy Chinese New Year to all.

• LovesCars on Feb 10, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Try BMW la. Even worse …

• Yes!! Fix the 9th gen civic wind noise at driver side first! Keeps asking me to go back to SC for check, how many times you want me to check? Until now, no feedback from HM! Fix it!

• Ah Long Kia on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:44 pm

YES!!!!!!!!! Korean keyboard warriors fails big time. Sucky kimc chi car for ppl who cannot afford jap/conti but also hate P1 / P2. Want to berlagak that my car not local segment. Phuiiii!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 56
      • Farhat on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:11 am

I have to agree with you…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
      • Ah long, i have to agree with u. what good about kimchi car? nothing! Outlook damn nice and elegant but quality bad. hey drop me message to my mail, i think we can chat alot

• squall_shinoda on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:40 am

Toyota salesman detected…!!!

True, in terms of standard measurements the Toyota Prius has better FC than Honda Insight or Civic Hybrid. But mind you, the best FC of all time among hybrids IS the 1st-gen Insight, even though it uses the 1st-gen IMA parallel hybrid. Another thing, even Porsche and BMW are using parallel hybrid systems, so there’s nothing wrong with that. Therefore, complex hybrid does not always mean better than parallel hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:41 am

The Mirage is a tiny little box that weights nothing. Sure it has a low FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • LovesCars on Feb 10, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Hybrid is all a joke. Its mainly a marketing ploy. Want to save? Try a 1 litre diesel car. I love my CRZ but the savings is not really that much. Still … Its a lovely car to drive.

• yup, a modern diesel such as polo/golf bluemotion or the fiesta econetic can easily surpass the jazz/insight hybrid….even honda owned civic new 1.6 idtec diesel can do bttr than its own petrol hybrid while producing good 300nm of torque!

• nah…ckd aka made/pasang in boleh no gud maa no quality bla..bla…- 90% paultanise like to say that refer paultan achieve…no need ckd here better get from thai….lol

• baloney on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:27 pm

so.. honda gonna release new city?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
    • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:52 pm

The new city usually comes a year after new Jazz is unveiled. The next generation jazz/fit is schedule to have its international unveilingd at the end of the year. So most likely next year we will see the new city.

• I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:27 pm

I still aim at owning a CRZ hybrid, no matter how shi**y some might say, you can’t have a top spec manual car at the CRZs price, no, I don’t like the Veloster, it still looks ridiculous in my eyes.

the other two models might be the brio and maybe, with the smallest of possibility, the facelift civic. Though I still wish for the n-one, nah not a chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
    • hiroshi on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Honda n-one selling hot in japan, even I wanna booking have to wait 3month waiting list

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:23 pm

I heard Japan has a very high restriction for their cars. If you have no parking space in your residence, you have to own a Kei-car. Also, although The cost of a car isn’t that high in Japan, but the car taxes are off the roof.

The N-One remains my favorite Kei-car(damn that thing is cute). But I find it impossible for it to reach malaysian shores, there is simply no market demand for a CBU Kei car.

• Hiroshi on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:56 am

In japan ,you need a Rent parking space & sustain expensive petrol , but since im work in japan, i consider affordable^^

• Sam Loo on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Some CRV try to tailgate my camry. But they never thought, they are a bunch of slow hybrid. Get a live CRV owner. U think this car will fly with the + button?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 83
      • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:16 pm

You’ve never cease to make me laugh, Sam Loo.
        Fyi, CRV is not a hybrid, its a slightly bigger ,higher fuel consumption car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Some people can’t even differentiate CRV and CRZ. Btw, you should get a ‘live’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
      • Crv hybrid??? Honda launching soon in 2013? Interesting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • HAHAHAHAHA CRV hybrid HAHAHAHAHA

• Wakawaka on Feb 09, 2013 at 11:03 am

Epic fail Sam loo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • azure on Feb 09, 2013 at 2:02 pm

CRV bila jadi hybrid?!? bodoh betul hahaha!!! nak belagak guna otak skit ye

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • LovesCars on Feb 10, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Go get it. The CRZ handles amazingly for the car of its price. Superb handling. I enjoy it more than my e90 325. Hehehe …

• bttr get a polo hatch tsi, it handle bttr & bttr torque & can fit 4 adults

• AVH® on Feb 11, 2013 at 12:19 am

I’ll follow LovesCars advice and go for a CRZ manual, because it has a manual gearbox(yes, I love them that much). A CNY chat reveals that an engine with too much torque can wear out the gasket fast, especially in a small displacement engine.

• After election bring Honda Brio sell 40k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Actually, RM10k, but only if you vote wisely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
      • Gegary on Feb 10, 2013 at 10:04 am

What the hell is all these “lower car price” after election BS? Did any parties promise
        this?

Even if AP kings killed off, prices can’t lower overnight.

Just some stoopid rumor and empty hopefulness. Please don’t repeat this useless rumor LAH!

Can we vote wisely for better roads, better education, better security, no corruption and no racial politics instead?

Don’t fixate on your stupid car prices that is only one lousy aspect of your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
        • azhar on Feb 10, 2013 at 12:23 pm

when u can save money on cars..u can give better education,security for your families

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
          • don buy car then..save money….buy kapcai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • start-a-figt on Feb 13, 2013 at 11:07 am

manifesto bukan janji.. btw.. isnt it going to be free education as well?

• sambalbabi on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:33 pm

With their SOHC engine? I’ll gladly pass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
  • Extrimist on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Wow, a CKDed facelifted CR-Z. Cheaper by rm5k, perhaps. Good for malaysians.

BTW, don’t forget to omit these things to make it cheaper:

Halogen headlight
    FR auto wiper
    Rear seat seatbelt reminder
    Power retractable door mirrors
    Cruise control
    Glove box cooler
    Power door lock
    One touch lane change
    Side airbags with OPDS
    Side curtain airbags
    Hill start assist
    Front seatbelts 3-point ELR with shoulder anchor adjuster

Well, those are the lists of things that you omitted from the CBU Jazz Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:17 pm

The facelifted CR-Z will be one of the five cars to be launched in 2013, but not likely to be one of the three CKD cars. It should continue as a CBU from Japan.

Sorry I didn’t make it clear in the original post. Amended.

• teelim on Feb 11, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Doesn’t matter, he was just mocking the CKD Jazz Hybrid XD

• honda x guna on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:43 pm

See this and you ll never buy any honda car…

Click into this link for the story..this matter drag the victim for 1month plus…haiz

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2674251

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
    • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Most likely he is unlucky enough to receive a car that has the seawater hit it. The last time I asked my friend who buys AP cars, he said he avoids Naza World AP cars because they tend to have seawater in it. Or seawater rusted it.

After this was posted at the Honda civic wagon article, I went and ask several insight owners I know, they’ve heard the story, and checked those mention affected area, of their car, all fine. So if you’re going to hate Honda because of one affected car, than I don’t blame you. But at least 1 in 5 cars are always problematic in all major companies, even high end BMW and mercs have them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • citycus on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:57 pm

thought maybe new city n brio completed the 5 models…

• honda x guna on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:27 am

worst buying experience with Honda Malaysia
    http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2674251&hl=

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • How i wish HM bringing in the n-one…

• honda vendor on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:16 am

Civic hybrid, civic 2.0, civic 1.8, accord, jazz/jazz hybrid, crz & crv coming soon with honda telematics security (cobra telematics) packages… and its free for 1st yr…

• Soon Siung on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:40 am

+ Facelifted Honda Civic + Facelifted Honda Freed

• Very poor choice made by Honda, Freed and Stream not selling well.

Should bring in Stepwagon and Odyssey instead.

Then the used junks from Japan, can say bye bye.

Who makes all the crap calls.

• Fahmi on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:09 am

Last time the Odyssey is sold by Honda Malaysia at over 200k and its not selling very well…

• Japanese car is usually in the square box, or you can say traditional in term of model, tech, design, even selling strategy. theyare

• hehe, clever reporting. No mention of them losing #4 spot in the market to ETCM? :D

• new model or new variants? ^^

• Maserati on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:37 am

I would gladly buy the new crz hybrid! Love the car !

The hopeless veloster till now havent seen a single one on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • I.ME© on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:48 pm

I wouldn’t say its useless, it just attract a different crowd, not my type. The newly launch KIA K3 5-door is much better looking than whatever the Veloster is supposed to be. They say the Veloster has character, and so does Justin Bieber.

Come to think of it, yeah, I have’t seen one in the road yet with the exception of some in the showroom floor. Just saw my first Chevy sonic just now.

• Hi Danny,

Do u know from your sources within HM, whether the all new 2.0L Accod hybrid will be launched here by end of this year ? Will this new Accord hybrid, if to be launched here this year, be considered one of the 2 new CBU models mentioned by HM’s CEO ?

• gOOsh on Feb 09, 2013 at 7:49 pm

honda??? taknak lah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Brio @ mirage price
    New Stream

• Farhat on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:09 am

CRZ faclift, 2013 CRV, 2013 Accord….. 2012 N-one? 2012 Brio (though id rather prefer the N-one), 2012 Oddyssey? CIVIC COUPE?

• alldisc™ on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:49 am

still so far away of what UMWT capable off for the past 10 years.

last year UMW moved more than 100,000 units of new Toyotas.

even if Honda managed to do 48K (meaning 24K in each half of 2012), it is still only 50% of Toyota total.

the journey is still long way to go for Honda. Even though they managed to secure top spot for JD power after sales for 2 years in a row, Honda Malaysia need to realise UMW success did not come overnight but a process which took more than 15 years to achieve.

among the secrets were:-

1. reliable cars
    2. good, if not excellent after sales service
    3. wide service network
    4. dependable parts supply
    5. reasonably priced cars (in 1997, Toyota Camry 2.2 GX SXV10 was priced at 118K only)

when you have all the above, good resale value will be an added bonus.

this is a formula that many car dealers missed including Skoda, Renault, peugoet (during Ibis Auto and MBf) and citroen (during USF and directional) and may happen to many more like Kia (sales now is nothing compare to 10 years back), Peugoet (now Naza also) and maybe Subaru (which hardly sells 10 units per month)

it is not about selling cars with 20 airbags or ESP (Malaysia doesnt have snow and ESP is never effective in bumper-to-bumper traffic where many accidents take place in KL, JB and Penang)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Mat Global on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Though, I was a Honda fan previously, I ve since abandoned my liking for the brand.
    I feel that Honda despite their ‘Power of Dreams’ have not been able to sort out their car suspension system. Further, the wind and road noise of H cars are apparently loud.

Honda Accord and Civic suspension is stiff and feel rather uncomfortable.Whereas, the one in Jazz is okay but it feels rough on secondary roads. And very often Honda cars ‘pitch’ while driving fast on undulating highways.
    The Toyota system is better and more comfortable. But, I pick Nissan for good all round suspension compliance driving due to its incorporating of a second arm known as ‘Nissan Ripple Control Shock Absorbers’ to iron out all road irregularities.

All in all, I experienced that Continental cars are always one step better in comfort as well as ride and handling,due to their good suspension set-up. Not to mention the mighty Merc, even many Peugeot cars ride and drive feel are all round better for both high and low speed driving.

Btw, Honda has lately changed their famous “double wishbones’ to ‘Multilinks’ set-up for reason best known to them. And now things could have become better.

• Carl Wong on Feb 11, 2013 at 10:29 pm

I am one of the new customer for this year, I always love HONDA and HONDA ONLY :)…!!!

• Fahmi on Feb 12, 2013 at 5:51 pm

New CR-V looks hideous… New Accord looks fine though not ground breaking anymore….

• Abe mang on Feb 12, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Nk beli honda civic…ok ke tak??

• Mat Global on Feb 12, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Honda Civic terkini sudah di perbaharu dgn suspensi belakang ‘Multilinks’. Sudah tentu ianya lebih selesa di pandu.Lagi pun harganya di pasaran kereta terpakai adalah baik.Kalau dah minat O.K.

• alldisc™ on Feb 13, 2013 at 9:33 am

harga pasaran terpakai baik?? bro, tengok di mudah.my

civic FD 2.0 tahun 2009 dan 2010 harga baru 130K.
      lepas 3 tahun tinggal 100K.

susut 30 ribu ringgit tu. banyak tuu….

• Same go to Toyota Altis.
        The worst part is Altis is still using old engine and gearbox after so many years.

• J. Lim on Feb 12, 2013 at 7:17 pm

Increase & Improve Customer Support Channel
    Add in Website Customer Support!!

TQ

• Turbo Guy on Feb 13, 2013 at 10:53 pm

They need to improve their service after sale. I’m still waiting for my tonneau cover after receiving the car for 2 months…

• AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 1:10 am

They’ve have Tonneau cover? anyways, regular servicing and checking are going quite well at our usual Honda service center [And there’s free hot drinks]. But the queue can be quite long.

• TurboGuy on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Yes, I’m still waiting for my Tonneau cover.
        I get no feedback from dealer nor Honda Malaysia. Perhaps, I should file my complaint to Honda Japan Headquarter.