SPYSHOTS: 2013 Toyota Vios spied, third-gen car spotted without disguise in Thailand!

Toyota Vios

Giant Toyota is bringing out the arsenal! We’ve just seen the production next-gen Corolla Altis uncovered for the first time, and now comes spyshots of the upcoming third-generation Toyota Vios! This is big news, given how popular the B-segment Vios is in Malaysia and the ASEAN region.

Amazingly, this set of spyshots show the new Vios without an inch of disguise, and wearing model number plates as seen in official pics.

From these pics, the new Vios appears larger and sharper. It looks more handsome too, shedding the bulbous “dugong” face of the current car for a V-shaped nose that integrates grille and headlamps – the same arrangement seen on the next-gen Corolla Altis and Auris hatchback.

At the back, the tail lamp cluster is much larger now, and is wrapped around the sides. There’s also a chrome bar linking both ends above the number plate. Looks good, and my initial impression is that it looks like a car from a larger class (like the current Altis), and a proper sedan without hatchback roots.

The new Vios, what do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:22 pm

If this is going to fill Malaysian roads than its good news. Awesome leap in design (honestly anything is a leap in design compared to the dugong) I don’t mind staring that front in my mirror and that tail. Design wise, this could finally put heat on the Koreans.

Now begin the pasistmist lambasting on which feature will be unavailable/omitted, even before specs is release.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 11
    • BMW Fanboi on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:53 pm

BMW Fanboi > Sam Loo > Forte Citizen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 30
      • Sam Loo (Official) on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Hats off to you mate, can’t agree more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
        • vioser on Feb 10, 2013 at 4:08 am

Not really impressive like korean cars but it’s vast improvement in exterior design over the previous gen

• Alpha on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:02 pm

Only complain I have about the design is that in my opinion, the front doesn’t match the rear. Very aggressive front but the rear seems too tame.

It’a B-segment. I won’t expect a long spec list. Only the Koreans can give a really long spec list on a B-segment. And this Vios is the entry-level to the T brand (not counting the Avanza). If they dare to remove VSC on a D-segment Camry, what do people expect out of an entry-level B-segment?

Most of the time when there’s a newer model out, the price will most definitely be higher than the model it replaces. So top of the range model for this one might just be around 95k will full options and some sort of TRD kits.

Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 11
      • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:26 pm

I find that the front and rear match quite well actually, only the side profile which still retains the typical Toyota bland design, it dose’t have the sweep or curves as a comparable Korean cars.

As for specs, I don’t think it will come close to the long least of the KIAs, but I believe it will be better than the current dugong. I know someone who knows Toyota well, rumor has it Thailand will get VSC and 4 airbags in the higher spec Vios.

Car price will forever grow higher. The Rio or Elantra are an average of 10 k more expensive than the previous gen. The current city is also more expensive than the last. But there are exception, the Honda civic stood at the same price with the last and packs with more toys, but at a cost of its aesthetics. The Camry I think is also the same as the last (am not sure), but most of the features are gone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo Ori on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:20 pm

This new vios will sell like hot cake. I work in UMW and trust me you wont be disappointed with the new modern looks. TRD spec will be around 99k. Very best value and high RV. Indestructible 4 speed super ECT gearbox and new dual vvti engine. What else you want for less than a measly RM100k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 30
        • What else? Priced at RM99k, it should have much better spec than the 2012 Rio!

• Chow1 on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:18 am

Exclude vsc in Camry is just big bully and not respectful for the serious buyers.

• I agree on your point that anything is better than the dugong design. But fighting design with the Koreans led by the German now? Let’s just wait until Vios’s next facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • I.ME© on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:31 pm

I say put some heat, I didt say fight. The Korean cars has a huge advantage in design terms over the current Vios. This car will close that gap.

Like the Koreans are catching up to the Japanese for engine and driving dynamics. The Japanese are catching up to the Koreans for design aesthetics. Both are not equal to others strength YET, but I believe both will catch up and the consumer battlefield will be even in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:42 pm

So many fake fellas around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
      • Brain on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:46 am

Cause u r an idiot with no unique writing/thinking skills. People like David D, TurboMan, KumarSan, SOD, AVH are hard to emulate cause they have a certain writing/thinking style. Any monkey can copy your style. Just praise Toyota & bash other makes, particularly on RV and another Sam Loo is born.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • OMG…overall a bit better than existing 1.But better wait for the new K.Forte …much more nicer and the price expected to be very close each other.

• forte citizen on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:45 am

Yes K3 better than this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Zhi Teck on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:26 am

God you KIA fans are rubbish.

KIA owners are those stuck in limbo, too uptight about owning a malaysian brand, and concerned much on appeal, BUT knowingly you are going for a brand with several problems.

If i were to put a piece of shit with glitter and design on it, i bet you would end up holding it with a smile.

What i really hate, about you kimchiers, is that you BASH other jap brands so easily. Yeah, japs bash too, but not as much as you very insecure people. So im bashing you back.

Pfft, K3 forte sht, you think people even look at your car when driving past? More benci ada la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
          • David D on Feb 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

I beg to differ. You seem to be a newbie in this forum, hence not noticing the stupidest rants from Maserati or Sam Loo with their ridiculous ideologies about RV, rubbish Koreans and godly Japs.

I mean, not all supporters are like this, but it’s the attitude of SOME supporters, not all, that spoil the mood of this discussion. To be frank, Toyotas are still good cars, just that the specs we get does not justify the ridiculously high price. And the fact that competition is still hitting hard means Toyota will have to fight hard to keep it’s crown of the most popular automaker worldwide.

• Lonely Sam Loo on Feb 11, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Very nice design car, but expect no stability control and 4speed only for Malaysian like what New Camry having now :(
      Other country all getting full spec Camry , 6speed with stability control !

• Carlover on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Nice…Plan to book 1 when it launch in Malaysia…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 17
  • confused on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Swwwweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeettt……..!

*Jeremy Clarkson*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 54
    • kadajawi on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:34 pm

There is no way Clarkson would be saying THAT about the Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
      • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:14 pm

Don’t think Clarkson’s even heard of the Vios. But yes, Clarkson won’t be saying THAT bout the Vios even if he did.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • frossonice on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:28 pm

No he won’t.

And James May will say, “Oh, cock!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Kalun on Feb 08, 2013 at 7:43 pm

No wrong. James May would say “Good News, it’s the new Vios”

Then change topic.

• Modesto.hann on Feb 08, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Jeremy clarkson will only talk in favor of sponsorship. Brand which doesn’t sponsor will get bashed if unlucky. After all, who pays for their costly production? Production in North Pole for instance, with hilux convoy?

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:12 pm

British TV owners/tax payers. The BBC is very strict about sponsoring and advertising. They don’t even allow ads.

• gOOsh on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:25 pm

vios getting better arrr….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
  • Disappointed on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:26 pm

It sports the new Auris design language, which isn’t a bad thing. It looks like they’re finally ready to shed the boring look and go after younger buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Gianny on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:26 pm

This looks much stylist and nice. Hope coming soon and no large price increases Cos intented to buy new car after CNY.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • kington on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Toyota being Toyota or should i say under UMW, it will be overpriced with minimal specs unlike the Koreans.

Still, I have 2 Toyotas, can’t convince myself to get a Korean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 21
      • dugong on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:24 pm

bcos ppl like you keep on supporting them even when they sell a 160k car with 2 airbags and ancient g/box + engine. So why they need to improve the spec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • viotis on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:19 pm

yes umw will never decrease their price, but definitely will increase their price approx. 99k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • zaff1984 on Feb 08, 2013 at 7:37 pm

I also guess the price will be RM98k-RM99k for full spec… lowest spec will be RM78k-RM79k.

• kington on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Looks amazingly sharp, this is probably the new face for most Toyotas. No Japs can match Mazda’s innovative design themes but for ordinary cases such as Honda and Toyota, this is a huge step forward. Most importantly, looks appealing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • the.cloudwan on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Doesn’t matter how it look or what stupid spec it could arrive with, most Malaysian’s will buy it.. The power of T&H brand in this country.. lol :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 12
  • underskinned on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:34 pm

From what I heard from a Toyota salesman this will only arrives in Malaysia in Q4 2013.

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Very, VERY bad idea from Toyota. By then ASEAN NCAP will have done side impact tests on the current Vios. Think the 1 star rating for the Saga was bad for Proton? It will be the same for the Vios. They better try to avoid such a debacle, either by quickly upgrading the current Vios or introducing the next one before the cars for the test are bought.

If they don’t do this, even though the next one will be better, people will find out about the low safety of the current Vios. That can ruin the resale value, and with bad resale value why buy a Toyota? (Fiestas should become hot items and get a good RV).

• Alfa156 on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Nice details but a lot of flat surfaces and a lot of cost cutting made to the exterior to cut the production cost. Hope they will upgrade the interior quality design and material quality. I still do think that the Almera is still the car to beat. Judging from the photos; the Vios is still based on the current car’s platform; note the a- pillar, c-pillar; the roof is the current Vios. The new design language surely will get everyone excited :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • kadajawi on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Hm. The interior looks quite a bit like the new Yaris, but if it is yet another facelift of the 2nd gen Yaris then that is a huge disappointment. Think I’ll wait for official shots before I do the comparison.

The surfaces are indeed quite flat…

• sepul on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:42 pm

It does look a lot better than the current one. Hopefully the specs is just as good as it looks. And drives better too.

Regardless, this will be common on our roads when it comes.

• OK looking lo…

• pak long on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Meh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • stunning on Feb 08, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Holy mackerel….its a beauty. One word impressive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • mat bad on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Nice one..design wise, this will put honda city under pressure

• joanna on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Dont buy this car. Preve is better what. Preve will be replaced in the next 10 years. See how good it is..it take 10 freaking years to replace.. Its quality is top class even can beat ferrari or lamborghini.
    Hidup Proton! Hidup Polisi Cukai Kereta Tinggi Giler Sampai Kena buat Loan 9 tahun just to pay the taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 21
  • Everp on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Looks like Toyota will kick out Proton as No.2 top car sales this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 12
    • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Yipppeee

• Chow1 on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:27 am

Sooner or later Toyota will be no2. Proton just cannot catch up with fierce competition out there although we had been hoping they will come out a real global cars but end up disappointed. In fact Toyota is already number one here with Myvi pretending to be national car.

• Keith Duckworth on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:13 pm

Will it be able to match Almera’s price?

• Looks like Nissan Almera.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • Try harder toyota. Thats the best u can do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
  • ts lim on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Good look! But with same engine and gearbox, …….. …….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Peyno on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Still using 4AT, timing chain with 2 airbags??

Sorry, rakyat n young generation smart oredi.. Lets older n outdated ppl n umw salesman buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
  • kev413 on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Impressive front

• LMFAO on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Unlike Proton, not many are willing to criticize Toyota. So, I’ll be the first. Toyota/UMW produces great cars of course, but they have gotten arrogant and over confident. They know those who’re upgrading from national cars will almost always put Toyota in their radar. For such a high price to pay for the Vios, they neglect to provide stability control and more airbags. The Koreans and Ford are doing it, but no, Toyota says “Take it or leave it. Fine leave it then, and cry when you sell off your Korean in 5 years”. I’ve got a Toyota sales advisor who said this, although I admit I exaggerated the tone and manner. Buy a national car and face the brunt of one of the nastiest after-sales service of any corporation has ever produced. Buy a Jappo and be shortchanged. Buy a Korean or American, and see the horror of not being able to cover the remaining loan from the sale of the vehicle. It’s hard for the middle class.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
    • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Dude, well said!!

• dugong on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:32 pm

Well if you take a 5 yr loan on your korean/conti/american car I’m pretty sure your loan will not be more than the value of your car. Its only when ppl take 9 yrs loan where there is a prob. Moral here is buy what you can afford, not to show off. Then you won’t get in trouble.
      Also not all jappo shortchange ppl. Take a look at mazda, the design, spec and tech is worth the money you pay.

• TurboMan on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:35 am

Finally someone who can see the whole picture, and not fanboys praising their fav brands and bashing other makes using the exact same point every day.

This vios do look great, but at the end, UMW will package it with very low kit levels and the brand will sell the car. However whether they know it or not, with each generations of cars with reduced kit sold, they are diluting the brand. There will be die hard fans, but there is a growing sentiment among the car forums ( malaysia and worldwide ) that toyota cars are not that great anymore. I said sentiment, which is a forward indicator of sales. The only thing they have to offer is RV, but that is slowly eroded by the day.

They do make good cars in the past, and current GT86 is an awesome car + some lexus are to die for, but reduced kit count on their bread and butter vehicle especially on safety kit vs competitors is one thing that will slowly erode the brand.

Yes, some fan boys will say they are still number one in sales. Well good for them. We shall see what happens in 5-10 years if they continue their current strategy.

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Good one.

2 things: Ford is German, except for the Ranger.

The RV depends on demand, and the demand can change. Malaysians are getting more and more safety conscious, and with ASEAN NCAP they are getting a decent tool to compare cars. They already see the Fiesta is a safer car in frontal collisions. Wait until they see just how much it is better in side impacts. If Ford is smart they will try to influence the media to show more horrible crashes involving other brands, especially side impacts. Make people scared to drive a Toyota. Just like Europeans are scared to drive unsafe cars, unless they are much much much cheaper and they can’t afford anything better. And even then they may shun them. Toyota is not cheaper here.

Personally you would need to give me money to drive an Avanza, and cover for great life and health insurance. Fortunately the Kangoo is quite affordable so I went for that one.

• Anonym646 on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:45 am

I believe toyotas are great cars, but not the distributor.

People like us middle classes have been poisoned by technology. Anything with a slight increase in technological features in cars, we buy. The koreans did this, they couldnt sell their cars before because it was plain, bland, even if it does have design, will design alone help sales? NO. Its things like push button start, bluetooth, rear view cam on rearview mirror, and not the safety technological features im talking about… They are gimmicks. Similarly to what u see on Samsungs compared to the iPhone. They are selling more because their adverts claim it has more features. Features we hardly use. But hell, it sells.

But just head to more expensive, more desirable, dreamy cars for us middle class… Vws, mercedes, bmws and even the toppers… Most dont even have push button start, nor rear view cameras, but they are also selling well because the customers know quality.

My dad’s 2009 mercedes has less technological creature comforts like bluetooth, pushststart, rear vie cam, compared to KIAs or Hyundais on the road at the time.. Why? Because those thing sell.

Its sad to see this anyways, but toyota needs to know their demographic. I like toyotas, hondas etc, but its sad to see it being bashed by fellow koreans who hates it to their guts due to the fact that it does not have these things in a car.

• well said…they just wanna bash

• forter on Feb 10, 2013 at 9:53 pm

I like those additional features whether on my cellphone or in my car. It’s not just useless features, it does help human to have better life. With rear view camera you don’t really have to turn your head if you can’t see your back clearly on your mirror, you don’t have to insert key to open car door, enough if you bring the key fob in your pocket, very helpful if you bring a lot of things with your hands, etc. So why pay more to get brand name but empty car?

It’s NOT plain bashing, please

• AVH® on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:08 pm

It’s late in this comments [forums?], but I really like your insight into this K-cars vs J-cars debate. Yes the Korean cars feature some things that most Japanese and even high end Merc dose’t have. But the japs and Germans are better at building something that even know the Koreans are struggling, a better engine.

If you look on Paper, some Koreans cars, especially the new 1.6 200hp Turbo engine in the Veloster Turbo, have more power and better transmission tech than the Japanese. But the Japanese powertrain last longer. I’ve asked someone who has a long engineering background, he says that the Japanese engine design and metal quality, is better than the Koreans, adding that there is a higher risk or a block cracking in a Korean cars than the Japanese. You look at the 4G63, 2JZ, RB26DETT and the F20C engine, they can all handle extreme amount of stress and insane power increase.

That’s why he says if you’re going and confident that your cars will last you 3 years, get a Korean, better safety, better toys. Any longer, and is best to have a Japanese, their spare parts is still around 20-30% (estimated) cheaper than their Korean counterparts. engine reliability is better. But the Japanese are also stubborn, I’ll agree with some people that they built cars only to comply with the standards of the countries road safety. They also believe that their engine reliability perfection is still ideal even to this day.

I agree with you, Anonym646. that most of the features in todays cars are gimmick (auto-wipers, how lazy do you want?, and the self park features in fords are impossible to use in Malaysia), onto phones, I know people with GAlaxy S3, coming to me showing me things that my 4s cannot do, almost 1 years on and their phones are lagging and are’t responding.

happy Chinese Year, PT-ers

• Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:51 pm

This is very nice!!

• Mackaroni on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:55 pm

not bad..aggressive front end, but unable to match with the read end, short rear overhang unlike almera which its a good thing coz it looks great with short rear overhang…now the only thing is to wait for the specsheet n interior shots

• ongalan on Feb 08, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Change my mind already…now support toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
  • The clowns at P1 must be scrambling to have meeting among themself thinking they are a strong contender.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Chow 1 on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:17 pm

Greedy UMW might increase price? Don’t like this too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • ben yap on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:20 pm

nice design. hopefully toyota don’t spoil the car by plonking in the decade old 1NZFE engine. they should put in a more powerful and advance engine.

• looks pretty good. but greedy UMW might have good excuse to increase pricetag.

• the front grill design looks like mitsubishi lancer. Toyota got no idea ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Grant on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:24 pm

Aston Martin Grille lar

• Anonym646 on Feb 10, 2013 at 11:50 am

Ford Fiesta took the aston grille
      Kia took the BMW grill and connect them
      Mercedes now have hints of Volvo’s new design language
      ….
      Why not you design a front that looks no where near any car in this world. Boleh?

• powershot on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:39 pm

new model vios price = old model vios price + rm10k

• new dugong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • amingo on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:43 pm

as usual,toyota style.. new generation with jurassic park engine & gearbox

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • front look like lancer and rear look like unwanted design. ermmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 32
    • anti sakai on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:42 pm

i dont know why everytime i see your posting, i feel like to punish you with the berdiri atas kerusi or ketuk ketampi. feel like you just from primary school..hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • rear is fucking ugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • agree with you, some people can’t bear the truth about other opinion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Looks too err…. Asian ? Very little European influence. Anyway I won’t judge the new Vios solely on the looks, you know the saying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Skypirate on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:58 pm

You are funny dude. It is an Asian company, what’s wrong with their cars looking Asian? I bet you prefer Asian girls with blue contact lenses and blonde hair!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • You’re missing my point, it has nothing to do with my preference. Let me rephrase things; When Toyota came out with the new Asian styled Camry last year, Malaysians were like ”Oh, looks so boring, like an uncle’s car only.” Before that, Kia came out with the European styled Optima and everyone was all gaga over it. Clearly, this trend is quite obvious. Even Proton had to ask an Italian to design the Prevé. Most Malaysians want European looks with Asian pricing and practicality. That’s a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Yoko Ono on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:46 pm

What’s wrong with being Asian? The European style optima K5 got everyone gaga in Malaysia, than they went and buy a Camry or Accord (true story). The ital design proton did’t make it to production, and they hired someone else to style the preve…….front, and they went and drink Teh Tarik before rushing to complete the rear, about 2 hours before the BOD presentation/approval. The Mazda’s Kondo design, is distinctively Japanese and it still looks awesome. Same goes for the previous Civic and the Lexus LFA.

• Grant on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:30 am

Dude… chill…. Its not exclusively a Malaysian thing. Its generally a worldwide thing…. Its an appreciation of Italian style and elegance. Let me give you a few examples:
          British Lotus Espirit (1972) – styled by Italian
          American DeLorean (Back to the Future Car) – styled by Italian
          Tata Indica (1998) – styled by Italian
          Hafei Lobo @ Naza Sutera – – styled by Italian
          Hyundai Matrix – styled by Italian
          Volvo C70 – styled by Italian
          VW Golf (1974 – Original) – styled by Italian
          Daewoo/ GM Matiz – styled by Italian

I have observed myself in India and China OEMs prefer European looking cars compared to locally styling the cars themselves because of 2 main reasons. 1st is because their local customers prefer a European looking car and 2nd is because its easier to export the cars to be sold overseas if they have to.
          So Proton are going with the flow…. That’s all. Its what the market wants..

• kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Europeans are more daring in car designs. Asians seem much more conservative. Look at the EU Civic and the ASEAN/US Civic. Huge difference, especially the last gen that was in production for s while. The one we got was boring, slightly sporty. The one they got was a freaking space ship. It looked like it had the VISOR from Star Trek TNG as headlights.

Koreans, Proton, and of course the Europeans are designing their cars with European tastes in mind, and so does Mazda (though they add in a Japanese twist that works very well). Other Japanese brands are very Asian in design. Being cheap to produce and being inoffensive to everyone is the most important thing. (One may argue that VW is looking in the same direction, their cars are not stunners, but everyone is OK with the design, and the design won’t get old, while other brands may be to vulgar, look dated too fast etc.).

• sarawakiana on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:51 pm

The reason Toyota getting more and more popular among Malaysian Netizen is that, the hatters start to promote the car even months before the launch…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Thanks to the Koreans poor quality, reliability and RV, Fung Tien will again be no. 1 for many many years ahead, till I am old and grey, and beyond

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • kadajawi on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:05 pm

RV is not fixed, it depends on demand. We have already seen a rise in RV for contis and Koreans, that trend will continue.

• Joe Radzif on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Better than Dugong…

but the nose seem like derived from Lancer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Davincci on Feb 08, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Very nice! If with VSC

Other wise it is just another tin kosong

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • just imagine, even with a dugong design the existing vios was the highest selling b segment non-national car..if this new model comes out probably it will be selling like hotcakes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc™ on Feb 10, 2013 at 2:29 am

its just fact for year 2013

toyota total sales in malaysia = more than 100,000 units

honda total sales in malaysia = not even 40,000 units.

this is to say, for every 4 cars honda sold, toyota registered 10 units. doesnt matter whether honda sells more hybrids or no supply due to flood issue in thailand… as the saying goes.

you still win the race, whether by an inch or a mile – vin diesel in 1st fast and furios

• kingston on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:09 pm

YES PLEASE!

• Cun..this is one cool vios

• Sam Loo on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:41 pm

High RV for sure this one !!!! In your face Conti Kimchi Lovers !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • soya cake on Feb 08, 2013 at 3:47 pm

even yen dropped landslide, i wonder what is the price drop (if any) for the Vios or Altis

• droll on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:20 pm

see guys, competition is always good for the consumers. :)

• jolly_idiot on Feb 08, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Look more like a corolla altis to me. The size is even bigger than vios.

• ok i have to admit i was never a toyota fans

untill i see this vios. looks sharp and nice

but m holding back untill the specs are announced

as u all know.. toyota never improve their tech.. specially their engine.. and very kiamsiap when it comes to specs and gadget

let’s see what they got this time ard

• powershot on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:49 pm

funny, i am actually looking forward to the new corolla altis, although i’m no toyota fanboy

this year is full of surprises.

• yeah bro.

i dislike toyota more after what they did to camry

no ESP.. dang….

• fast on rolling downhill on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:23 pm

could be new price launch after election with hybird tax incentive..possibly engine prius C option availabe..affordable

• carreviewsncare.com on Feb 08, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Definitely a better Vios. This time the Vios is seem much more better compared than any previous model. Toyota designer seem getting more competitive. We hope the interior would give us an surprise too~

• sudonano on Feb 08, 2013 at 6:52 pm

This is a vios ah? O.O Makes the Sonic look boring. Still not a fan of the Sonic sedan back.

• ugly

• Pity City…

• peyno on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:03 pm

jepun celup era is over.. only old man and old minded ppl like our parents era in 80s love this car..

new gen ppl love preve, korean n conti… now rakyat hv many choices.. elantra, almera, preve kesayangan rakyat, forte, fiesta with better spec n better features..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • sudonano on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Agree with the list except the Almera. In malaysia it should be an Almari. Come one Tan Chong, base spec only 1 Air Bag? We are not in the Nissan Sentra age still la.

• thedarkside on Feb 08, 2013 at 8:14 pm

same engine and gearbox la..what so great about that! why toyota?? why so kedekuttt?? TIMKAIIIIIaaa???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • slimershine on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:15 pm

What?! Front look like lancer gt.. Rear like almera.. No identity ah? Better the old dugong
    true original identity..

• dugong on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:37 pm

To me the front look like cut fr insight and rear is almera. No originality at all!

• kancil turbo on Feb 08, 2013 at 9:51 pm

look like preve hehehe

• now i can see a design that make sense. at least i dont hate ugly dugong anymore.

• yippi33 on Feb 08, 2013 at 10:39 pm

dugong 2.0…back is fugly

• The biggest car company in the world dont even bother to cover up their upcoming model, unlike what Proton did with its Preve Hatchback recently testing, and even hiring escorts to discourage photo snappers…proton still living in the dark ages where most cars in deelopment heavily disguised…but the people aleady knew roughly how the Preve looks so why waste time being so secretive?

• Grant on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:36 am

It could be a marketing ploy to build up interest…… you never know….

• Ah Beng on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:16 am

No, it’s for the censorship board of Malaysia. Obscene if not covered. The designer also bertudung mah.

• bonbon on Feb 09, 2013 at 7:40 am

even for advertisement their should cover their car? read carefully

• Grant on Feb 09, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Building up interest which is indirect advertising isn’t it? Personally for me when a new car model is partially covered up, I am curious on how the car would look proper.

• Peyno on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Yes toyota is world no 1 car maker.. But it has nothing to do with model which marketed to 3 rd world counties like vios, unser, avanza , innova etc.. Toyota means toyota japan, edm n usdm.. Not vios, avanza k

Prffthhh

• Wisdom on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:15 pm

This toyota looks too Honda…

• tenine99 on Feb 08, 2013 at 11:36 pm

The front looks promising and sportier but the rear, i guess the rear lamp to big for the short butt…hehe! Hopefully it come with new engine then we can talk…hahaha!

• PauKaya on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:01 am

yes looks good. how about the internal, that matters.

• Lulu Designer on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:17 am

How did this car become fuglier than its predecessor? A new low for Toyota designers… Btw, I own an Altis, so not a T hater, just a Vios hater

• honda x guna on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:27 am

worst buying experience with Honda Malaysia
    http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2674251&hl=

• bomoh on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:10 am

damn… if this vios come out… cant bash toyota dugong fan boy anymore….

• Rakyat on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:11 am

This will kick preve’s butt!

• Peyno on Feb 09, 2013 at 10:23 am

Why preve?? Why not almera, elantra, city, forte??
      Whyy??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Peyno on Feb 09, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Becoz.. He is not the owner of vios, city, almera, forte, fiesta preve… But only perodua ah beng

• kicap on Feb 09, 2013 at 5:17 am

damn u toyota, have to live with almera for another 5 years.

• In year end the ‘Flower Horn’ Almera will be given RM10k discount to clear the unsold stock! So pitty to
    current owner… huhu

• Ahmadfaris93 on Feb 09, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Here comes all the Vios fanboys ! Hahahah

• albag on Feb 09, 2013 at 2:09 pm

a pretty well proportion car… i will love it more if the metre display is moved to the driver side instead of centre position… hate previous vioses with centre metre displays

• kononnya Honda Malaysia on Feb 09, 2013 at 7:46 pm

Toyota all the way….
    Honda memang tax guna!!!!

See this brand new Honda Insight aka cbu car…
    brand new car but condition like shit!!!!

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2674251

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • how come i feel the front and overall body shape looks like Preve with rounder shape only.

• Haha.. if people dare complain about Toyota Malaysia, wait till they meet Honda Malaysia. Than you will see that Toyota Malaysia is much better than Honda Malaysia.

• David on Feb 10, 2013 at 1:09 am

Buy RM80,000+ after 7 years can sell RM50,000. This is call high resale value!! Agree? :D

• If it still 4speed at tranny. A big humble no, thank you.

• Unknown on Feb 10, 2013 at 9:19 pm

What the hell?! Why vios have the ‘antenna’ ?

• zebulun on Feb 11, 2013 at 12:24 am

..and the malaysian sheep will queue to buy this

• RajaKing on Feb 11, 2013 at 1:20 am

it’s a grown up dugong :)

• Nissan Rainy on Feb 11, 2013 at 8:05 am

Hopes it will be cheaper than Almera….

• JeremyNg on Feb 11, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Hold on …… I dono that Vios has product life cycle !! LOL

• TorrosTorros on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I think the Korean car will be more on Malaysia Road for the coming years.Japanese Car need to improve their spec and design for the third world country market like Malaysia. As i know, Toyota Vios only available for SEA country, and believe or not you won’t see any Toyota Vios car on Japan, Europe and America.
    BTW, i also believe KIA and HYUNDAI will be famous and popular among us one day just like what we using Samsung phone, it is just a time matter.
    Give Korean car’s made 10 years, i believe they will make better car ever. =)

• Jeannette on Mar 20, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Beautiful car, i think this newest version of vios is more interesting and looks fantastic.

• chongch on Mar 27, 2013 at 11:31 am

nice front like PREVE and back like Almera…being Jap…don’t expect price to be cheaper than those 2…

• possum on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:33 pm

My only concern is the price. I’m looking to replace my very old Wira and was considering the new Vios until a Toyota salesman told me few weeks ago they expect the new Vios to be more expensive than the current one. I was told the same thing by a Naza Kia salesman about the new Forte 2 months ago. So if my worst fears come true, then I might just have to go for either Almera or the old Vios.

I don’t want something beyond the RM 90,000 mark (if possible) because I’d like to able to change my car after 5 or 6 years before it starts giving problems.

• Can see a lot of people still don’t know about put Malaysian taxation. It’s the govt that’s y cars are expensive.
    Some more a lot of people always go for outer looks only. Talking sooooo good about Korean design. I know 8/10 person who bought Korean which they could buy a Toyota or Honda or even Nissan now. But could not afford so settle for Korean as its better than Proton. Not really because the specs are so good and the looks are so good. Own one and you will know the maintenance cost and fuel consumption

• fashion murah on Sep 27, 2014 at 7:20 am

I’m not guaranteed the place you happen to be having your info, but excellent subject. I personally has to expend some time learning a great deal more and also realizing extra. Appreciation for fantastic information and facts I’d been seeking this info in my quest.