Toyota GT 86 TRD – limited run goes on sale in the UK

86 trd 1

It was reported in Paris last year that the Toyota 86 would be getting the Toyota Racing Development (TRD) treatment, with TRD Performance Line accessories becoming individually available for the car in Europe.

Now, the TRD composition takes effect in full measure, with the announcement of the GT 86 TRD. Just 250 examples of the specific production model grade version – in both manual and auto – will be available in the UK, decked out in TRD stuff. Two shades are available, these being Pearl White and GT86 Black.

The TRD package includes 18-inch cast TF6 alloys, front diffuser, side skirts, a rear bumper spoiler and a fast-response quad-exhaust system with a rear diffuser. Also on, a TRD radiator cap and fuel filler cover, as well as a TRD gear shift lever.

No performance or mechanical improvements, but owners are bound to think their ride is faster than the standard 86, what with all those TRD bits strapped on. There was mention back then of individually available items such as a monoblock brake kit, shock absorber set, coil spring set, stabiliser set, front strut tower bar, member brace set and door stabiliser, so presumably that can be tacked on too at some point at one’s own cost.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TRD? The Real Damn?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 38
  • Honda on Feb 12, 2013 at 2:41 pm

TRD adjustable suspension set RM8,310
    TRD Sportive suspension set RM3116
    TRD Hi Response muffler RM4,155
    TRD monoblock brake kit RM28,395
    TRD mechanical 2-way LSD RM4,155
    TRD Engine mount (1 unit) RM415
    TRD stabilizer set RM2,181
    TRD member brace set RM1939
    TRD 18-inch wheels RMRM11,300

TRD is highly respected in Japan. Unlike in Malaysia. Maybe Vios haters don’t know the difference between TRD and TRD Sportivo. Currently I drive a Nissan but for me those TRD, Mugen, Nismo, MazdaSpeed and Ralliart are the tuning brands that I highly envy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • PauKaya on Feb 12, 2013 at 3:06 pm

i respect them. but one only really goes to these guys for the reason of warranties. For more power, more fun and more excitement try the many other tuners available.

• AVH® on Feb 12, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Are those the performance upgrade kits for the 86? and BTW, I think Ralliart is gone now.

• Kalun on Feb 12, 2013 at 4:12 pm

Don’t forget R3.
      Those are inhouse sport tuning but sometime manufacturer “tumpang nama” for the sake of selling off their products.

• as mentioned, toyota racing development..you see the trd vios..what’s the differences between vios J and TRD vios??? more power ka? just a kit, sport rim, suspension..pathetic

• Honda on Feb 12, 2013 at 10:29 pm

There are 106 Toyota models and 3 Lexus which got TRD accessories varying in aero parts, suspension, chassis, intake&exhaust, insulator, interior, rims, and others.

Vios, or sold in Japan as Belta (1.0cc) shares some accessories. Suspension kit for Vios is tuned differently with Belta to suit the driving style and road condition in South East Asia.

They also got TRD accessories for Passo and Camry. The problems with Malaysian is there are too many Vios haters. Worst, they don’t really familiars with the TRD brand itself. For me, TRD suspension kit is mouthwatering.

• He has a point. Vios TRD – 4 speed tranny, same old engine. What’s the point? This TRD 86 doesn’t make much sense as well, it is compulsory for the TRD badge to have mechanical improvements. Just like a normal Mercedes with AMG badge or normal 3 series with M badge, silly and stupid.

• AVH® on Feb 12, 2013 at 3:08 pm

When I saw Clarkson and a Irish man tested the 86, I really wanted to find ways to quickly get RM250k. It’s a car that is difficult to explain to normal, sensible human beings why motor heads love it so much. I drive a FF car daily and have (honestly it was an accident) gone a little sideways in the wet. It’s not about numbers, it’s about giving as much fun at low speed, like the original 205 GTi. A BIG SMILE ON YOUR FACE without the seriousness.

take a look at this review and bear with his accent, really shows how much fun the 86 can give.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6ObYAvMr9s

• Fahmi on Feb 12, 2013 at 5:41 pm

Not bad car though, just need a little bit more power… Say 220-250hp, wallah, thats enough for me….. Fun does not necessarily mean fast….

• AVH® on Feb 12, 2013 at 8:05 pm

I think because they’ve tune the engine specifically for engine respond, if they went for a Turbo, although more power, the responds would’t be as instantaneous, if they went for a more complicated turbo system, or a more complicated NA engine to omitt the lag and increase the power, the price wouldn’t be as cheap.

Its actually possible for the 86/BRZ to boost the acceleration to a sub 7 seconds that it normally has with just changing the tires, as motor trend proves, but you’ll loose the tail happiness. And the 86/BRZ isn’t meant to be fast, its meant to make every 60kmh commute feels like a roller coaster a HUGE smile on your face, and lets face it, there’s not much manual-RWD car you can get at around RM200k.

• PauKaya on Feb 13, 2013 at 4:25 pm

As much as I like the 86, the problem of it not selling as well as it should is because of the way they market the product. How many of us mere mortals have actually test driven the car before? Just like Mazda on how they treated people with their MX-5, Mazda3 MPS, RX8…the japanese carmakers in malaysia are treating their products like a total premium product there is virtually no test driving for the cars. Its ironic that one can get a test drive for a Porsche easier than a test drive for an 86.

• Fahmi on Feb 12, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Basically it shares the same engine with Forester Turbo.. Why just not use the car’s FA20 DIT engine? At least with a optional, higher priced alternative….

• Toh Ah Kau on Feb 12, 2013 at 7:16 pm

i don’t really like this kind of comment but the lower lip on the front bumper looks a lot like the myvi extreme…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • kadajawi on Feb 12, 2013 at 8:48 pm

Wait, TRD is changing the rims? Probably also go for wider ones? So they are basically RUINING the car! The reason why it is so brilliant is that they put on no-grip tyres. That makes the car fun to drive, because, well, if you want pure speed there are a ton of better options out there. But for sheer driving pleasure this should be it.

Also diffusers, spoiler, … won’t that improve grip? Again, isn’t the point of the 86 to have no grip?

• They’ve learned some trickery from Perodua I believe. You know those limited edition, special edition, stupid edition, ridiculous edition.

• dpluic on Feb 12, 2013 at 9:24 pm

This car is a waste of time. Why not putting supercharged or turbocharged 2.0 engine. That’s a lot of fun to drive

• kadajawi on Feb 12, 2013 at 10:07 pm

You mix up speed for fun. People seem to generally agree that this thing gives you the most fun you can have in a car. Had they fitted a turbo it would have made it less responsive, but you’d probably want that responsiveness when going sideways, using the gas pedal to steer the car. Toyota for once knew what they were doing.

If all you care about is speed, get the Megane RS. Still fun to drive, and very fast. But you won’t be going this sideway at legal speeds. Just watch the Top Gear review from a day or two ago.

• I love force induction engines but I think for the sake of throttle consistency, they opted for the N/A build. That’s a reason.

Have you seen the Top Gear review (i know Top Gear has max sarcasm but that review is somehow close to the truth)? After that you’ll realized why they didn’t go for force induction, albeit they can since turbocharging is Subaru’s strength.

• bloddy on Feb 13, 2013 at 4:05 am

Don’t believe those cheap review

• gOOsh on Feb 13, 2013 at 2:16 am

… and the legend continue… speechless…

• Ah Beng on Feb 13, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Better than preve for sure.

• I love this car’s cornering…..very good!