All-new Toyota Vios launching second half this year in Indonesia, CBU from Thailand – reports

vios-spy-2

It’s going to be a busy year for Toyota in Indonesia. The market leader is preparing to launch the Agya, Etios and Liva budget cars in the populous nation this year, but it has been revealed that the all-new, next-generation Toyota Vios will join the trio. The expected date of arrival in Indonesia is the second half of 2013, and the sedan will be imported CBU from Thailand, Kompas reports.

“Look forward to it, the latest design Vios is really good,” said Johnny Darmawan, president director of PT Toyota Astra Motor. Kompas speculates that the latest Vios will be powered by an improved version of the 1.5 litre four-cylinder VVT-i engine from the current car, which is very popular as a taxi in Jakarta.

You might have seen some spyshots of “the new Vios” uncovered and if those grainy shots are to be believed, the next-gen Vios will be bigger and sharper-looking than the current car, with a V-shaped nose similar to that on the production next-gen Corolla Altis.

Since the Indonesian launch is scheduled for the second half of 2013, it is reasonable to predict that the B-segment sedan will arrive here either at the tail-end of this year or in early 2014.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sam Loo on Feb 14, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Yeah… Again no stability control and old engine n 4speed gearbox for Malaysia !
    Just like the new malaysia Camry :(
    Other country all getting full spec safety feature

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 29
    • AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 3:14 pm

Which other country ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
    • tokmoh on Feb 14, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Fake.

Real Sam Loo don’t give a damn about all those. If RV good, then it’s a good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
      • AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Sam Loo has really stinked up the name of Toyota. By bitching about Hyundai and Kia, it has backfired and creadted countless of psuedo Sam Loos. And each Sam Loo now is spreading the “good news” to everyone about how
        UMW is comprmising people’s lifes just to reap more profit. That day, a newcomer to this site also advised me not to ever buy Toyota because a commentator named Sam Loo advised readers about the current batch not having Stability Control. Thank you Sam Loo for eating and shitting in your own plate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
        • AVH® on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:20 am

Like you, a pseudo of me that like to rent of un fair car, even before the cars international launch..
          Cheers

• AVH® on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:10 am

Sam Loo is such a loser. See, yiur malicious intent has and is backfiring on you! Next time, be fair. Learn to play fair. Don’t just run down a brand just because its eating a mega huge market share of Toyota. Now, everybody knows that Toyota compromises on the life and safety of its passengers just to merely save on cost and reap more profits.

• Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:52 am

That is the old me. Now I am starting fresh. I am going to play clean. I am sorry in the past to have bad mouth other brands RV. I know now, by playing dirty, I have made my own brand , Toyota, fall in disrepute. So, let me begin today by saying, let’s all play fair.

• Sam Loo (Official) on Feb 14, 2013 at 3:51 pm

BITCH, SHADDAP

THIS IS AN AWESOME CAR OKAY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 35
  • OfficialSamLoo on Feb 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm

First!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
  • What they cant sell in Indonesia,
    Last january they sold cars 28 % higher compare to january 2012. And please noted: this number exclude cars sold in grey market (which also huge)
    T Vios is commonly use by taxi operator all over indonesia. Biggest operator there is Blue Bird group with approximately 56.000 taxi fleet with T Vios as the main brand (others such as c/e class MB and busses). Per year, they aggresively increase fleet around 5000 unit all over the archipelago.
    No wonder Japs carsmakers are so serious expand their biz in this country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • alldisc™ on Feb 14, 2013 at 5:19 pm

its never easy for any taxi fleet on choosing what car to use for their services. the criterias include:-

1. price
      2. engine power
      3. economy
      4. reliability
      5. cabin space
      6. boot space (or as Malaysians say.. bonnet space)

Vios is not only popular as tax in indonesia but also in thailand, including corolla altis as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Almera on Feb 14, 2013 at 2:24 pm

i’ll trade in my Almera for this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • start-a-figt on Feb 14, 2013 at 5:01 pm

yups.. ur fictional almera with a fictional vios.. congrats on ur fictional purchase

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • preveh on Feb 14, 2013 at 8:15 pm

i’ll trade in my preve turbo for this Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
        • felali on Feb 14, 2013 at 11:05 pm

I will trade in my ferrari for new Vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • _xXx_ on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:52 am

ur breve got veri poor rv u knoe?

• incoming on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:24 pm

very poor? nah, you can take a look at oto or mudah. can get those prices easily.

proton has never got very poor rv and koreans are catching up.

buy more lose more, go figure

• LIKE WE CARE?

• Tminus1 on Feb 14, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Toyota Vios surely will continues strengthen it grasp in ASEAN market…no 1 for sure

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Just for information…. Wondering where is our Jaguh ?

Sold 2012 (EXCLUDE GREY MARKET):

1. Toyota 406.026 unit.
    2. Daihatsu 162.742 unit.
    3. Mitsubishi 148.918 unit.
    4. Suzuki 126.577 unit.
    5. Honda 69.320
    6. Nissan 67.143 unit
    7. Isuzu 33.165
    8. UD Trucks 2.695
    9. Peugeot 333 unit
    10. Other brand: 99.081 (WOW, JAGUH IS HERE)

YEAR-TO-YEAR DATA (EXCLUDE GREY MARKET):
    2001: 300.569
    2002: 317.749
    2003: 354.331
    2004: 483.170
    2005: 533.922
    2006: 318.904
    2007: 434.473
    2008: 607.805
    2009: 486.061
    2010: 764.709
    2011: 894.164
    2012: 1.116.230
    :::
    JAN 2013: 97.564 (JAN 2012: 78.623)

Some analyst said Indon highly possible surpass 1.3/1.4 mio this 2013, and this estimation is exclude grey market!
    Ayuh proton, jual banyak dong :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc™ on Feb 14, 2013 at 5:22 pm

99 thousand units is a lot for Proton.

• Meh..
        99 k is for all others (china brands, premium cars, rare brands, etc)
        From 99 k, Proton share is below 2 k only
        Pity

• Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 7:53 am

Where are the kimchis?

They are in my stockyard, being traded in for 50% of selling price within a year.

And my biz is booming selling used kimchis

• AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 3:23 pm

I honestly, and feel rather guilty admitting it, that I can’t wait to see it launch. I won’t be one of neigh sayer and predict the lack features and spec that most Paultanese like to do, but I have a hunch it will have the same if not better spec.

Having recently sat the oh-so-hated Camry XV50, I really can’t fault the car much, It’s comfortable, NVH is excellent and the 4-speed power train gets the job done easily. Although lack of VSC is quite noticeable, but it still is heavy and feel planted and confident. And a recent chat reveals a rumor that Toyota were having some problems with their VSC and were’t able to solve it, therefore instead risking it, they omitted it completely as they continue to find the fault.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
    • Omit something and increase price. Wonderful strategy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Dislike it as much to your desire, but car prices are going up [except maybe hybrids]. I remember somewhere that a 99′ Camry cost around 110k. The preve is more expensive than the persona, the Elantra is more expensive than the last, and so is the Rio.

But yeah, they omitt the VSC, which I still admit and agree fully is stupid, but everything else is hard to fault, It’s a comfortable, easy to live with, uncles car.Besides VSC, I can’t really think what they did’t omitt. they did throw in a better 6-speeder and GPS+Reverse camera and that after-thought-LED. BTW how much was the increase? I kinda forgotten.

• reality on Feb 15, 2013 at 8:22 am

but its made in malaysia :) price should have been the same. the previous model was imported wasnt it? >_<

• alldisc™ on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:50 am

AVH,

camry was sold at 118K in 1997, before govt increase taxes up to 300% for CBU cars and all other segments.

i was working with UMW at that time. new price went to +-160K for that first gen SXV10 Camry.

when the 2nd gen Camry SXV20 launched, price remains the same.

same goes to 3rd gen ACV30, of cos with 2 model variety price range from 140k to 165k.

but UMW maintained the prices of Camry with the last ACV40 camry 2.0 and 2.4.

only when they launched the ACV50, the price was increased to 185K due to marketing strategies … like bigger 2.5 engine, 6 speed AT which is head to head with Mazda 6 and Nissan Teana and also VW Passat

but looking back at history, UMW did well in maintaining Camry prices for a period of more than 10 years but i would rather thank the govt for fixing the prices instead. you know, camry cannot be as cheap as perdana V6, and corolla/vios cannot be cheaper than waja/persona… those sort of things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • nexus2238 on Feb 15, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Car price in a country is influenced by a lot of factors.
            Not going to list them all, but just say FX.
            20 years ago, in Australia, you can get a brand new Hyundai small car ~ AUD12k. Now, you can get a Hyundai small car ~ AUD13k with much better spec :lol:
            Well, we decide to stay in Malaysia, just have to work harder and smarter :)

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2013 at 6:26 pm

Sejuk cerita bang.

Problem with VSC hahahahaha. So those sold in US, EU, oz all faulty la?

• AVH® on Feb 14, 2013 at 11:38 pm

Finally got to reply, you, can’t seem to get into this article since afternoon. Anyways, it’s a rumor, like the loch ness monster, it has something to do with that acceleration problem in the States. And if they take it out in the States or Europe, they can’t sell it as it’s not reached the legal safety requirement. shine on, Malaysia.

PS: My Gravatar isn’t showing, what rating did you put.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • tokmoh on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:21 am

Cool stories by salesman can never be trusted. I’ve heard Savvy engine built by Renault F1. Myvi use latest 4-speed auto while all proton still use “3-speed”. Suzuki Swift can do 30km/L. Buy Honda can bring luck (hahahaha). Et cetera.

Rating should be G, suitable for all websites

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2013 at 9:28 pm

VSC is very common technology that has been in use for many years. The Camry elsewhere also comes with it as standard. Toyota just found out that VSC doesn’t matter to their customers, so they removed it.

• alldisc™ on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:04 am

electronic stability control is a very useful tool when a car loses control like on slippery snow or black ice surface (those whom had driven will know)

ESC has little effect on high speed highway drive, or bumper-to-bumper crawl.

the only scenario that Malaysians will need ESC is when driving on a very heavy rain with many sudden change in directions at a speed that we may say stupid.

• same old engine…same old boring design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • Davincci on Feb 14, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Got VSC or not?

• tokmoh on Feb 14, 2013 at 6:32 pm

If got, I’ll change my avatar to justin bieber forever

• ondeh on Feb 16, 2013 at 1:04 am

Eleh keyboard warrior macam you cakap je lebih, tarak bran punya kah kah kah

• nabill on Feb 14, 2013 at 4:47 pm

u guys are all serious asking for traction control and trillion speed gearboxes for a vios???????
    btw vios in the middle east are all basic versions…which means manual windows and NO rpm meter….new design looks longer and narrower….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Vios in Japan (search Toyota Belta) got VSC and TRC lor…. Fullspec in home country.

Unlike Proton; fullspec for foreign country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • But it also means we’re screwed la. Here no full spec Proton nor full spec Toyota. FUMW.

• kadajawi on Feb 14, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Because Proton already offers much more than Toyota. Anyway, in Malaysia full spec cars (Fiesta) are less popular than no spec cars (Vios), despite the same pricing.

Proton needs to offer better safety specs in foreign markets, because they demand it, and the competition offers it.

• _xXx_ on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:07 am

who cares whether it’s full spec or full craps?

• darker marker on Feb 14, 2013 at 7:11 pm

Dugong resurrected???

if its really another dugong design, toyota better close shop…..please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Grant on Feb 14, 2013 at 9:33 pm

This type of comment makes you look stupid. Paultan just showed the new design a few days ago. Its not that so called dugong design anymore. Its more refined and sleek.

• AVH® on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:28 am

They said they took down the photos……
        but anyways darker marker, it will not be a Dugong, much better looking IMO.

• Probably a dugong in a different “shell”..still a dugong inside

• Heng Lee on Feb 15, 2013 at 3:01 am

The painting and the rims is really not beautiful.

• If toyota closed, the whole world would loss a lot of car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • If the new Vios still without most important safety feature of VSC we may opt for other marque. we do have Kia Rio, Fiesta, Suzuki Swift or Chevy.

The problem is we always based on sensible: after few years the brand that gave best value for our hard earned money is Toyota. The easiest to find parts also T, not expensive, decent fuel consumption etc.

Unless the Korean were dare enough to bring small diesel with 88mpg not 88kmg the status quo of Toyota still intact.

If we can teach Toyota and abstain from buying and influence others too, then we can give Toyota a lesson: never underestimated buyers’ safety requirement. Hardly buyers really understand the safety whether passive or active in a car.

For me it’s simple l only buy car with VSC TCS in future. Not only Toyota, Nissan too hardly come with this feature. If NISSAN dare to beat Vios-Corolla duo, new Sylphy or known as Pulsar in Australia is Nissan 1.6 best bet to kill Toyota.

Priced it under RM99,999 (since the cheapest in Thailand just RM74,000 manual and RM77,000 automatic) and VSC ISOFIX made standard across the board then the Nissan will cannibalized some Vios market share.

• motorhead on Feb 15, 2013 at 8:58 am

Why vios need 5,6 or 7 speed?.. Standard vios easily can hit 180kmp without a fuss.. Smooth somemore. Don’t talk crap when you don’t understand technology that work. Plus cheap spare parts. Why change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • Tak Suka Inspira dan B.N. on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:04 am

Hope Paul will follow up closely Thailand side spy shot closely and get us latest interior and possibly of engine type will be use.so excited to look forward third gen vios.

• unforgiven on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:08 am

Unfairly and unfortunately to own a Vios it’s not cheap in Malaysia, probably it’s 9 years loan, very hard earn money, monthly payment, that partly end up in cronies pocket. The most reliable car, easy to maintain, for at least 9 years will get the most sales.

• Sam Dool on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:48 am

Dugong replacement model. Going to be ugly, underspec & overpriced, yet top selling Jap model. ‘Smart’ ah bengs get it! Lol…

• Peter on Feb 15, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Again, it’s not only the slumber attitude of UMW that reap us, many CBU cars in Malaysia are sold at lower specs. You guys’re clearer on this. Recently, Kia RIO UB sold in our country is only available in 1.4 Gamma engine, but on other countries i.e Australia, they got more option like 1.6 Gamma GDi; in China, they got Gamma II MPI version with dual CVVT … etc.
    Same applies to Honda Jazz Hybrid, Toyota Camry … and even our Proton Preeve get less feature than oversea version.
    This has become a norm in Malaysian market that sub-par treatment is offered. But our car price is not any lower than our neighbor countries … we all know this’s due to gov’s tax.
    So, there we go the actual root cause!

• Abg Long on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:19 pm

bored already with vios. bored already with vios.

• motorhead on Feb 15, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Do you have one? If not, better shut up.

• Sam Loo on Feb 16, 2013 at 7:54 am

He was shown the Hilux before CNY when he wanted to trade in hos rotten cabbage. That explains the behavior

• brian on Feb 19, 2013 at 8:54 am

all new design toyota vios 2013
    https://www.facebook.com/AllNewViosClub/photos

• sub_zero on Feb 24, 2013 at 3:56 am

Ah…… the crappiest car UMW ever produce under the big T instruction. Can see the dugong sink even further.