BMW Speak Green @ Taylor’s Lakeside Campus

bmw activehybrid

BMW Group Malaysia will be partnering the Communications School of Taylor’s University Lakeside Campus to introduce the BMW Speak Green programme, which is designed to engage students on the importance of going green. It is part of BMW Group Malaysia’s on-going commitment towards creating an efficient and sustainable future.

The interactive programme will also showcase the car company’s fleet of vehicles under its BMW EfficientDynamics strategy – the ActiveHybrid 3 and 5, as well as BMW’s Advanced Diesel vehicles. BMW Speak Green will happen next Thursday (February 21) from 10am to 2pm at the Taylor’s Lakeside Campus in Subang. Admission is free.

Speaking of BMW’s hybrid models, both the ActiveHybrid 3 and 5 were recently reclassified as Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs) by the government, resulting in a quite substantial price reduction of RM140k and RM150k respectively. Click here for the full story.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• “Speaking of BMW’s hybrid models, both the ActiveHybrid 3 and 5 were recently reclassified as Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs) by the government, resulting in a quite substantial price reduction of RM140k and RM150k respectively.”

You fooled me for a second there. If 3 series at 150k, that’s one real killer. Put the actual price there please. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • they cant really put an actual price because its not final yet. If the 3 series is for sale at 150k ,it will dominate the honda accord , toyota camray, and the mazda 6. So let BMW do everything and lets try not to make false claim

• AVH® on Feb 18, 2013 at 9:28 am

BMW talk rubbish only. When talking to people in the past, they promised for years that the Gomen will introduce Euro 4 diesel “very soon”. That was 8 years ago. Every year they lie to people saying the same thing.

• “PRICE REDUCTION of RM140k and RM150k respectively.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • “You FOOLED ME FOR A SECOND there.”

Means I realized it on second read instead of first read.

From the other article link:
        “AH3 price has been revised to RM398,800,
        AH5 now goes for RM498,800,
        both on-the-road without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive”

• PauKaya on Feb 15, 2013 at 8:26 pm

don quite care if your cars are green or not. when are you bringing in the m-sport f30?

• ben yap on Feb 16, 2013 at 12:54 am

Auto Bavaria trying to sell BMWs to the rich kids?

• TurboMan on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:12 am

Its never too early to start building brand awareness.

BMW even has a kid’s buggy for sale at Ingress Auto.

• seancorr on Feb 16, 2013 at 1:51 am

Good place to showcase their cars there – in front of all those young prospective customers who will then ask their parents for one!

• jolly_idiot on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:43 am

Only rich can go green. Thats why bmw chosen Taylor. Next could be sunway college?

How about TARC? Those student there don’t deserve such program? I believe TARC have more student count than taylor and sunway.

Could this bmw green programme is actually more on a marketing / advertising programme? Trying to hunt rich man sons as buyer.

• tokmoh on Feb 16, 2013 at 11:24 am

They seem to have good relationship. Can always see BMW make appearance at job fair on campus. No Merc, no Toyota, no Proton.

Aside from finding buyer, they I think look more to scouting talents.

Toyota I know got once put GT86 on display on campus. According to some forummer with UMW insiders, they did manage to close one sale!

• TurboMan on Feb 16, 2013 at 7:10 pm

What about UM, UKM, UTM, etc?

They think the students there can only afford protons?

• unforgiven on Feb 16, 2013 at 11:32 am

A civic or crz already considered very expensive in TARC, where got chance to think of Merc or BMW?

BMW is definitely doing it right by targeting rich kids

• LovesCar on Feb 16, 2013 at 1:35 pm

One has to be dumb to buy a BMW. I was. No joy of ownership la. Always masuk workshop despite less than a year old. New F30 all comes with rusty seats too and steering column problems.

BMW sells BS. Period.

• TurboMan on Feb 16, 2013 at 7:05 pm

In a way i agree with u.
      BMW build quality is getting ridiculous nowadays.

• Kalau nak GREEN pi pakai sun solar power laaaa