Perodua Myvi Xtra offered with 0% finance in the UK

140213per

Perodua UK has introduced the Myvi Xtra, a special edition offered at £7,099 (RM34k) with interest-free finance until the end of March.

British buyers can spread their payment over 24 months, subject to a 50% deposit of £3,549.50 (RM17k), followed by 23 payments of £147.89 (RM708) and one final payment of £148.03 (RM709).

For an extra £100 (RM479) over the standard Myvi SXi, buyers get reverse park control, front entry guards, protective side mouldings and remote central locking added to standard-across-the-range items such as air-con, electrically-adjustable colour-coded door mirrors and an integrated radio and CD player.

The retail price includes Perodua’s £1,000 retail incentive, six months road fund licence and first registration fee, while the zero-interest offer applies to the manual variant only.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• JUAN’s favorite car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:37 am

Malaysians have no dignity. This casr is sold so much cheaper in the UK than it is sold for its own rakyat in Malaysia. Malaysians have no shame but to just accept a slap on their face. To add salt to injury, on a one to one basis, the car is sold for a mere RM7099 assuming 1 Ringgit is equivalent to 1 Pound. We are treated like dirt and yet, we still keep quiet.

Anyway, this car has no RV in Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 19
      • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:36 pm

1 ringgit equivalent to 1 pound?! It’s ridiculous to count like that. The car still has to be produced. Can you produce a Myvi for RM 7000? No way.

Also, keep in mind there is a 75% tax on the Myvi in Malaysia. Of course it is going to be cheaper in the UK. And look at the specs. No alloy rims. Not even remote controlled central locking comes as a standard. No bodykit either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 76
      • A fren of Mine on Feb 15, 2013 at 4:49 pm

even though the car is cheap there. . .i’ve a fren just came back from UK for CNY..i did ask him how’s the life over there.My fren said only the Very Rich can afford to buy car over there…coz the Petrol price in UK is just burning ur wallet..For him Public transport is the best rather owning own car over there..if really need a car better go for Rental Car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 36
        • Red eyes on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:38 am

Ya.. ya car is cheaper there. Our Myvi more expensive HERE then you ADD the cost of hauling it all the 17400km away to UK and… presto! Abracadabra! still cheap-cheap than Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:07 am

I drove a Proton Satria in the UK. That was the export model. I can tell you, the quality is far superior that the crap we get here in Malaysia. ANother unfair practice. Mat Salleh get higher quality Protons but Malaysians get lower quality trash.

Somehow, some Malaysians were given the export model through leaks in Malaysia. Ask anyone who had the opportunity to drive the export model locally, they can tell you, the car NEVER gave them problems. The quality was at par with European standards.

Anyway, this is UK. In Saudi, our Protons are sold for HALF the price it is sold here. Worse still, Saudi people earn far far far more than the Malaysian earns.

This is one example of how Malaysians get trash and yet we keep on voting the same government in.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 15
      • Sam Loo2 on Feb 15, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Agree to the max,
        their myvi got lots of airbags and safety feature, good interior quality !!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 7
      • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:37 pm

They are getting the cars for half the price because there is a 75% tax on any Perodua or Proton in Malaysia. It is the same tax that ASEAN produced cars are subjected to, like for example the Toyota Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
        • dugong on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:19 am

you must be perutdua salesman. Cheapest myvi in labuan/langkawi is still RM40k even when duty free. what 75% tax are you mumbling about? phantom tax?

• What a load of propaganda, and it doesn’t sound like sarcasm to be because you aren’t being very funny.

Firstly, 1 UK pound is almost 5 RM. That means the MyVi costs around RM34,100 in the UK. Yes it is cheaper, but you’re forgetting that this is the OLD MyVi. No one wants to pay RM40k and above for an OLD MyVi, the British are not that stupid.

No RV ? The MyVi is easily Top 3 for RV when it comes to Malaysian-made cars. Go and check in Mudah, 3 – 5 year old MyVi still quite expensive and in good condition.

You say UK Proton cars are of better quality compared to ours … where’s your supporting evidence ? Anyone can make a statement but it takes brains to come up with LEGITIMATE and RELIABLE evidence.

Saudi cars are cheap because they don’t have tax lah. They don’t need to work as hard as us, they’re blessed with black gold (oil). In Malaysia, Proton and Perodua cars STILL get taxed, although not as badly as imported cars. Clearly, you have not done your research.

Next time, if you want to criticise, please, be a constructive and courteous critic. Save yourself the shame and embarrassment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 91
        • If anyone is wondering how Perodua stacks up in the UK- they’ve sold 416 cars there in 2012, down from 532 in 2011. Their UK market share is well… 0.0% sadly. However, Perodua’s best export market is Mauritius (small country near South Africa). They sold 250 cars there in 2012 (compared to 149 in 2011), which adds up to 3.5% market share for passenger vehicles. Perodua sold more vehicles in Mauritius than Volkswagen, Ford, Mazda, Audi, Mitsubishi and Renault. I can’t include the links here because my comment will be tagged as spam, but you guys can always Google ‘bestsellingcarsblog’ for the full details. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 54
        • Depreciation should be compared according to percentage instead of the value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Are you insulting my intelligence ? I checked all my statements before posting my comment. A 2005 MyVi costs around RM20-25k second hand (when new it costed RM40k and above), that’s at least 40% depreciation in 7-8 years. Not so bad for a locally made car from that era. Compare the MyVi’s depreciation with a Proton Gen-2 for example; new Gen-2 in 2005 was RM50k and above, now RM17-19k – about 65% depreciation in the same time period. Same case with other Proton, Hyundai and Kia models launched between 2001 and 2005. Only Japanese cars from that era like the Vios and Corolla held the best RV in Malaysia.

I’m sorry, but I’m getting the impression that either most Malaysians are too stupid for their own good, or that this forum is full of Perodua and Proton haters. No wonder Malaysia is still third world, with this kind of mentality, we’ll never progress and we only have ourselves to blame. The change starts with us, not the government, not Proton and Perodua. Like what Gandhi said, ”Be the change you want to see ”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
        • leekowchai on Feb 16, 2013 at 1:44 pm

UK folks pay 7k, drive a brand new myvi. We can’t even buy a 10 year old kelisa with RM7k. I thought our national car project was to make cars affordable to rakyat. Strangely, they tend to make it more affordable to the UK folks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
          • UK people pay 7k POUNDS lah, not 7k RINGGIT MALAYSIA ! 7k pounds = more than RM33k. Learn to read for God’s sake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
          • Resident UK on Feb 16, 2013 at 4:39 pm

I kerja kuli in London (office boy) I got about 2000 pounds a month. I can outright buy this Myvi with 3 months pay.

You think in Malaysia, kerja biasa can buy this car in 3 months or are they stuck with the dreaded 7 year or 9 year loan which they end up paying Rm70,000 at the end of the day with interest added.

Looks like you talk rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
          • Resident UK on Feb 16, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Aero, i think you need to read before you open your gap. leekowchai said UK folks pay 7k. So, how come UK folk can afford this car more than the Malaysian folk, after all its a Malaysian made car for the Malaysian people. Mahathir made this project so that it would be affordable to the Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • Oh look, another smarty pants who thinks he knows how the world works. Listen boy, the UK is a developed, first world country. The average British citizen gets bigger pay checks than the average Malaysian because British living standards are higher than ours. If you kerja kuli in Malaysia, of course lah you get paid less compared to the UK, the demand and standards here are not as high as theirs. If you kerja kuli in Bangladesh or Nigeria or whatever, you’ll be lucky to get paid at all because their standards are so low. There’s also something called Purchasing Power Parity (PPP), but I assume that is too much for your little brain to comprehend. Go and read up on your sekolah menengah Economics text book instead, then come back and talk to me, that is, if you’ve got the nerve to anyway. It baffles me just how many stupid Malaysians are out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • Resident UK on Feb 17, 2013 at 9:40 am

I know what is PPP and the Big Mac Index. I worked in the UK for 10 years. As I said, even with the high standards of living, I could live very well merely working as a kuli. I lived in a nice apartment and drove a second hand BMW. So this proves and blows your theory that the living standards are so costly in the UK. Hello kawan, think before you talk. My Sainsbury grocery bill was 30 pounds per week but the same EXACT things I buy from Giant or Carrefour cost RM500 per week.

So the gist of it is this, a Malaysian car should be cheap for the Malaysian folks. Why is it sold more expensive for the Malaysian than it is sold to the British person who earns about 3 to 4 times more than we Malaysians? The GDP per Capita of the UK is about 3 to 4 times more than Malaysians ie the white man earns 3 to 4 times more than the average Malaysian. Why are we Malaysians subsidising cars for the British folks?

Looks like you seem to look down on Malaysians and sound like a frustrated man that is so frustrated in life due to lack of achievement. Stop calling people names and looking down on Malaysians. Sort out your frustration first with Malaysia and Malaysians and then come back to this section to comment like a decent well behaved and well brought up individual please.

• costwise on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:07 am

Shame that Malaysia is tax 75% to buy a national car. If there are alternative like good public transport then it is fine, we can choose to use it and not buy a car. But is that the case? Where does the 75% go to? It is a lot of dough!

• powershot on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:24 am

stock clearance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • see how UK buyers benefit compared to us. what a ripped off..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • taboogen on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:24 am

John..go and stay in UK and see how much you have to pay to maintain a car over there…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 73
      • Yeah its more costly, that’s why they change cars more often, because they can afford it with kuli salary. Malaysia you can see managers driving 10 years old bangers. Very common sight in Malaysia. Thank you ….Malaysian government.

• They’re ripped off, may be.

But the models are outdated.
      They’re buying P2 Malaysian deadstock…

In a way, we’re ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • einstein on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:17 pm

meaning our malaysian consumer have high buying power(more cash or debt) than people in UK?

• alldisc™ on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:39 am

there is never such as thing as FREE. they are all known in simpler term as discounts.

FREE tinted means instead of giving discount, the dealer is using discount to pay for tinted.

FREE service means instead of giving discount, the dealer is providing free services indeed. many companies are doing this now, in desperation to move stocks.

in this case of zero interest financing, instead of car owners pay the interest it is actually the car dealers paying the interest itself. which varies according to amount of loan and tenure.

Audi did this around 5-6 years ago in Malaysia. provided owner pay 50% deposit up front and loan period not more than 5 yrs or something like that.

car dealers use all sorts of tricks to attract sales, including staggered interest rate scheme.

• sudonano on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:42 am

Next: Super Duper Xtra special edition.

• ben yap on Feb 15, 2013 at 9:50 am

good deal and a catch for Jeremy Clarkson to buy the Myvi and trashed it around, finally blowing it up with a C4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • lol how many times they want to launch new variant? Xtra Special Edition, Special Edition, Limited Edition and bla bla bla. Until now I don’t see UK launching the facelift Myvi also. THey are still getting the 1st Generation

• mayonis on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:41 am

cheapest myvi in malaysia is 43K. almost 10k different. build ‘here’ then wanna sell at UK – extra cost – transportation cost, taxs, dealer profit, sales commission. should it be more expensive than ‘here’?

so can i assume that myvi was build at UK. so myvi is actually a continental car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:40 pm

The Myvi is subjected to a 75% tax (actually 65%, and on that sum another 10%). Same as the Vios. So yes, of course it is going to be more expensive than the UK where it has a 20% tax or so.

The high taxes are not there to protect and help Proton and Perodua. They are there to make the government and friends (like from Toyota) richer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • dreaming of maserati on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:14 am

do you have proof that perodua is subjected to 75% tax over here?

• dugong on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:25 am

dei dont bluff la…there is no such thing as 75% tax on national car. 75% profit margin got la. what a noob.

• Lan87 on Feb 15, 2013 at 10:47 am

sure sure… sell it cheaper in the UK rather than own country… they are soooOOO much poorer than Malaysians… we Malaysians are very rich thanks to our honest Government…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
    • grangon on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:25 am

go and live in uk and see how high the living cost is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 46
      • BodohBetul on Feb 15, 2013 at 12:37 pm

if you convert ringgit to pound/euro. sure expensive lo. but if you work there, expenses are definitely cheaper elsewhere…imagine you are earning 3000 euro and you are earning 3000 ringgit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
        • yeah, but in UK your salary will be deduct 40% tax for government. Mana2 pon sama jer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
          • TurboMan on Feb 16, 2013 at 5:47 pm

That is the biggest myth ever. In UK, if you earn 3000 quids/mth or 36000pounds/yr, you will be taxed 20 percent up to 35000pounds and 40 percent for the rest.

Don’t forget, that is taxable income. Various reliefs are not taken into account. If we take those into account, an average joe on the street earning 36000pounds only pays about 18 percent, which is not too bad considering 100quid in UK buys u much more compared to 100ringgit in Malaysia.

• Lan87 on Feb 15, 2013 at 2:34 pm

I did… but who asked you stay in central London… You can always stay outside of London and wouldn’t mind travelling on public transport there because it’s so much better compared to Malaysia… As for the cost of food, you can always cook at home… And if you earn there, then you surely can afford to live there… Don’t be so childish by comparing their currencies directly to our… A buck for a buck… Get it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • Finally, someone who understands how Economics work. Bravo. You give me hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • einstein on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:25 pm

if living cost so high in UK, then why the hell people choose to enjoy unemployment benefit than having a proper job???heck even healthcare, insurance are free in UK. did i mention overweight people enjoy extra benefit too?

• Because the British (Italians, Spanish and Greek) are lazy and incompetent. How come Germany is the only big European power NOT in debt ? Cause Germans are efficient, they’re hard working. Same case with South Korea. 50 years ago they were poorer than us (Go and check at Wikipedia if you don’t believe me). Now they’re Top 10 in the world in pretty much everything that matters.

I’m not being racist, this is the cold, hard truth. Learn to accept it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • wikipedia is nt a trusted source la hiyo act pro

• I have lived in the UK. Can buy a Mercedes there with a kuli pay over there ….five year loan no problem….brand new merc. Are you a malaysian government sponsered blogger?

• Hi Jeremy, wants one?
    Hahaha

• JAMES POH on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:02 am

perodua should do this at his own country because malaysian are the Most user of perodua cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Not possible. Taxes are too high in Malaysia, and Proton and Perodua are not excluded from them.

• It’s hard for Malaysians to get discounts when they bought Perodua cars. Moreover, the price for Perodua cars are exorbitant even if compared to a Proton of the same class. (eg. Perodua Viva vs Proton Savvy – Viva is more expensive despite its smaller engine, space, and less safety features)

Perhaps, Perodua might be trying to attract Malaysian students in the UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Savvy is cheaper becoz …. it can’t sell. hahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • peyno on Feb 16, 2013 at 6:16 am

myvi sell cheaper in UK but ppl still not buying…. only can cheat ppl in bolehland

• We are paying thru’ our nose because of Mahatir’s misplaced ego against the law of comparative advantage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • MB selangor on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:36 am

Malaysia Boleh Land.

• MB selangor on Feb 15, 2013 at 11:43 am

only in boleh land we get rapped

• No to Perodua on Feb 15, 2013 at 12:09 pm

MYVI – Overpriced car. Myvi is real big crap …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • nabill on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:02 pm

worshiped here , ignored thr…competition is so fierce over thr this car is a joke by comparison

• kadajawi on Feb 15, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Guys, if you haven’t realized yet: Proton and Perodua are not exempt from the ridiculous taxes we have. The taxes on their cars are the same as they are on other ASEAN produced cars, which includes the Toyota Vios for example. There is a 65% tax, on top of which another 10% are added (which are calculated based on car price including 65% tax).

That is the reason why local cars are so much more here than overseas.

The only government support P1 and P2 get is that the government fixes the prices of their competitors, so even if they want to sell a B segment car at 50k, they aren’t allowed to do it. That way a safe distance can be kept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • dugong on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:34 am

dude why you keep on spreading lies? There is no such thing as 75% tax on national cars. Proton Inspira 2.0P langkawi tax free price is 84k. Peninsular price is 91k. Myvi 1.3M tax free langkawi /labuan price 39.9k and peninsular price 43.9k.

The tax rate is around 10% only.

Myvi is super overpriced here due to ppl worshiping it so p2 can price it as high as they like. But in UK ppl will only spit on it.

• borabora on Feb 15, 2013 at 2:29 pm

i do get sam loo’s point..if u live in the UK and u earn in £ it’s equivalent if we malaysians earning in ringgit and paying rm7099 for the car..don’t u get it,don’r convert the value because u earn in that currency..n who said cost of living is high in the UK? u can get way more stuff with £100 compared to RM100 here in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • underskinned on Feb 15, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Myvi – the choice car for terrible female drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • joanna on Feb 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Yeah sokong la kerajaan. With BR1M we can pay the car installment for the next 9 years. Syukurlah. Haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Mat Global on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:02 pm

@S.Loo -It’s not cheap to drive in overseas.I ve spent long vacations and rent-a -car in Perth Aus. and V’couver Canada mid last year while visiting my two children studying there.
    Toyota Camry is about 40% cheaper compared here. But you pay more than double for fuel, road tax, maintennnance, insurance and parking (This is partly due to VAT tax system).Further, their personal tax is much higher than us.Their food prices also 2-3 times more.

All in all i calculate after using the car for 5 years down the road, it is more expensive to own car there than here despite the lower buying price.

There are models in Aus. and U.K where price of the car is damp cheap, like Nissan Versa/Latio is less than £10,000, but the car is empty minus all the accesories and extra features.
    Btw, RV of Myvi is not bad and it is easy to dispose.
    I believe when gov. intro. VAT car prices can be reduced OR can we do away with fuel subsidy of RM1 per litre and reduce car prices accordingly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Well when my brother was working there he earned aus5000…. over here is about RM 2000 for the same level of experience and qualifications. You have to put this into your equation, then tell me if food, car maintainance …etc is more expensive over there.

• einstein on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Thank you paultan.org for reminding us Malaysian to vote wisely at GE.13

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Good.change now.selamatkan Malaysia…ABCD=asalkan bukan cap dacing..well u guys know better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
  • mama's papa on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:53 pm

maybe mat salleh is buying this car for their maid to go pasar,,,,,

• Mat Global on Feb 15, 2013 at 6:55 pm

In true spirit of Motoring in an Auto blog, it will be wiser to put politics separately.Do visit Malaysians Insider to post comments.
    As an economist i do see see pro and con in tax structures and revenue approach.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Davincci on Feb 15, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Still want to vote BN? Panda muka Kita

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • joanna on Feb 16, 2013 at 12:29 am

You cannot separate politic when talking about national policies mr self-claimed economist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Peyno on Feb 16, 2013 at 5:54 am

Stupid so called malaysia nationsl car.. Selling cheaper outside.. Expensive in motherboleh land.. Coz they know with this kind of car.. They only can cheat malaydian but mot in urban countries like UK

Say no to NAP.. We want cheaper imported car.. Not tin milo gomen perodua cars

• Garnier on Feb 16, 2013 at 1:55 pm

Life over Auz is much x100 better compare to Malaysia regardless of what you name it.

Listen, listen, listen, if you have the chance, plan for it.

Else vote wisely. Malaysian in Auz.

• Mat Global on Feb 17, 2013 at 3:08 pm

In all fairness pl. dont comeback to Malaysia.They are millions more chinese in mainland China waiting to come and live in this rich resources country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Chinaaaa on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:17 pm

Even chinese who live in china doesnt drive any other car maker accept fron china and japanese prefer their japan car even the car is outdated and getting uglier compared to korea car…why we are malaysian cannot proud with out car?

• peyno on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:22 am

wow.. perodua salesman soo silent

prrrtfhhhh

• Xander on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:51 am

The grass is always greener on the other side. If the uk myvi is such a good catch they wouldn’t need to have 0% finance and all the free stuff

• Mat Global on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:49 pm

It is not unusual for u.k new cars to enjoy 0% interest.If i can recall correctly it has been long for some car makers there giving such rate.

• Cina Beng on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:42 pm

What a stupid statement from you guys to compare a price of perodua uk….just imagine 7k pound in malaysia nearly at 30k,get out from malaysia a live in uk….see how you are living in uk you dumbass chinese aka Sam Loo….

• dugong on Feb 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm

poor malaysians paying premium for a low cost poor quality overpriced product like myvi and are still proud of it.

• Grant on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:56 pm

At least MyVi better than your Proton.

• miey low on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:40 am

myvi better than proton?so you’re drunk mate..hahaha

• Peyno on Feb 18, 2013 at 5:57 am

Proven.. Proton hater= perodua salesman/owner but pretending as imported car owner/salesman

Prffhhhh

• Peyno on Feb 18, 2013 at 6:00 am

This topic story about perodua… U trying to change topic n talk about proton.. Rakyat still dont forget how perodua cheat stupid malaysian

• guys guys, dont compare Malaysia Myvi price with UK. their 7K doesnt translate to RM7K. dont always compare dollar to dollar. if thats d case, compare dollar to dollar with Japan, or Thailand. Im not supporting high tax but its not the right way. UK currency is still stronger compared to out cheap Ringgit despite their weak economy. besides, uk is a advanced country while we oni a third world country. our currency doesnt weight the same value. how to compare?

• Mat Global on Feb 18, 2013 at 12:09 pm

ya 3rd world country; but per capita income is higher than China, Indonesia, India, Thailand.
      In fact based on population ratio there is more Merc and Bmw in this country than Aus.
      Why ‘bising’2. No one stop anyone to migrate dollar for dollar cheaper in other countries.
      what is that to argue compare.

• Graduate on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:39 pm

1 think i would like to say here, braking is security spec for a car not accessory. In Malaysia, unless u going to buy full spec car, all other basics models u going to get terrible cars. (You say i’m wrong? Visit to nearest Proton Edar or Perodua outlets and ask the sales person. They will try to recommend and push you the expensive cars for your own benefits. The so called UK spec actually have the every basic security spec like air-bags, and proper bracking systems. yes Petrol in UK is expensive than in Malaysia, but a normal labour who working in UK gets better pay than those in Malaysia. yet providing a cheap cars for them, here salary margin low, and things are expensive…Indonesian mates who working in Malaysia is actually earning more than graduates!

• Flying Visit on Apr 19, 2013 at 1:37 am

Interesting conversation. Pls allow me to share my views.
    1. UK is going through a rough patch, double dip recession and suspected a third is in the making;
    2. Luxury goods are at a premium. More importantly now with the VAT rate has gone up from 17.5% to 20%;
    3. All renown car manufacturers, more importantly the Asian manufacturers, produce competitively priced small size cars. These are priced in the UK at starting pricing circa £8k;
    4. Perodua market share in the UK is extremely low. Car sales statistic above is fair at circa 500 cars a year and losing grounds;
    5. UK is one of few markets with a very competitive free market for cars. You virtually find any make cars and spoilt for choices for each budget range. The quality, finishing and independent critics did not help the cause for capturing the UK market because rating were poor.

There are many more reasons which I can list on and on. The 0% finance indirectly compensates for the increase in VAT and partly to attract new market share whilst competing with other manufacturers for the UK citizens to part their limited cash and stretched income.

With respect to purchasing power, UK citizens £ has devalued in real terms to foreign currencies due to Quantitative Easing for the last 5 years. This combined with rising fuel prices has not helped the cause.

The holiday money from £ to RM today will never go as far as the money was before the credit crunch. UK citizens will be feeling the pinch whether is spending their hard earned £ in their home country or overseas. This is the reality of the majority of UK citizens.