SPYSHOTS: Volkswagen Golf Mk7 TSI in Malaysia!

golf-mk7-spy-01

Yes, the Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has arrived in Malaysia, but before you and me can get our hands on it, the lucky folks at JPJ will need to test the car (what exactly they do, we have no idea) and give their thumbs up. These carpark pics, snapped by reader Anol Alias, show a grey Volkswagen Golf Mk7 in TSI guise, giving us a hint of what’s to come.

Unveiled in September last year, the seventh-generation Volkswagen Golf is lighter, longer and wider than the Mk6, but with a lower roofline. The C-segment hatchback’s wheelbase has also grown by 59 mm for a bigger cabin, and the boot can take in 30 litres more, too. Unlike the transition from Mk5 to Mk6, this one is all-new in every way – the Mk7 is the first VW to use the group’s flexible MQB platform.

The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 seen here wears a “TSI” badge on top of a “Bluemotion Technology” emblem, so it could well be the 140 hp/250 Nm 1.4 litre turbo engine, available in Europe with a cylinder deactivation system. In Singapore, this engine is available alongside a 122 hp/200 Nm 1.4 TSI. The 160 hp Twincharger 1.4 from the Mk6, which is said to be rather costly to produce, has been discontinued.

Full details and a huge hi-res gallery of the Golf Mk7 can be found here, and you can click here for some videos taken from the Mk7’s drive presentation in Sardinia. Official launch of “The Car” should be just around the corner now!

UPDATE: The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has been officially revealed in Malaysia. Read more details and browse our high res live gallery from the launch, or read our test drive review:

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CooShyRee on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:46 pm

But i thought that 4 our market, we’re gettin the 1.4 TSI, but without the cylinder deactivation..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Says who?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
      • AVH® on Feb 18, 2013 at 9:22 am

No idea why people are getting excied. VW overseas is known as a low class car. But in Msia, its marketed to challenge with the big boys, Audi, BMW etc. This MK7 model should even be priced below Rm100,000. What a rip off. Its like buying a Proton in Malaysia for RM200,000.
        In overseas, its known as the people’s car lah!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
        • tak sudah sudah on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:25 am

haiya…. again comparing our price to overseas. we decided the last government. next time decide again. meantime work harder or else buy kereta buruk only

• back in 2005 malaysians were being shoved with substandard cars.not much option available.proton was in its shittiest period (under reign of some ambitious but useless crony) .koreans doesnt really have good product in their stable (spectra,sephia).leaving with japanese or myvi.whatever thrown by them we swallow while knowing overseas people are getting much better models.then came vw with their mk5 gti.drives well,nice quality,powerfull engine,state of the art transmission etc.ofkos people are swept off their feet and perceive vw as god of car.vw also clever to see this and positioned themselves where they are now.viva NAP!

• Asyik Bising Saja on Feb 18, 2013 at 3:56 pm

VW no more people’s car.
            Only SKODA is position as brand entry level.
            Also in EU/UK you can see price of GTI similar to 328i (brand new)..
            Anyway; enough la stupid lame comment.
            No money just shut up..
            Let the big boys with money to buy these and have fun :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • kadajawi on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:14 am

If one is very supportive of NAP, he is usually a crony or a beneficiary of eith AP’s or Contracts. NAP has and is detroying the lives of people in Malaysia. The money they can save if cars were reasonably priced can then be used to buy books and better food for their children. The NAP is merely to help a few Bumiputera cronies to get richer at the expense of 25 million people who work hard for their money. By the way, I am a bumiputera myself and I look down on those who seek free AP and justify the existence of the NAP at the detriment of 25 million hard working Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Ppl who buy low class car bcoz they just want to show they r rich! overseas world r totally different,automatic toilet flush,fast train and more pls don compare…

• fandango on Feb 21, 2013 at 3:56 pm

VW used to be the Proton of Europe, and they still are but their quality today is far removed from Proton’s of course. A 3-year old will know that, AVH, but I suppose you are much younger than that. A Mk6 1.4TSI costs about 20k sterling today, that’s about RM100k. An an equivalent Mk7 being cheaper to build should cost more or less that amount as well. Proton certainly lost out big time when they decided to snub VW’s offer. But I suppose its still not too late as VW seem to be waiting in the wings, as they still have not set up an ASEAN hub yet.

• meh.. most of us cannot afford it anyway.
      VW. overpriced

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
    • hahaha…i already said previously…any car maker have any ties with bolehland car company/parent or gov or car made in boleh…will be bash hard like there is (everyday) no tomoro..please cut the ties…..make sure no ckd in boleh..since boleh people said no gud maa……lololol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Cant believe the new version of the mk7 looks manly but less house power than the mk6…and i hope they solve the problems of the DSG b4 produce! pls make sure the mk7 DSG is save and last longer…

• Eyesore on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:38 pm

How many ‘house’ power that the mk6 have? Single storey? Double Storey? Terrace? Semi D? or Banglo?….

hehehe.. no offence… chill…

• Dr Mamak on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Still boring. Still overpriced. Next pls.

• flavalava on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Awesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • alldisc™ on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:03 pm

Danny,

Each time before a new car is launched, the dealer responsible needs to present the car to JPJ, a process known as Type Approval.

Even though the car has passed many international stringent tests, JPJ requirement is essential to ensure those cars will not bring hazard to road users.

for example, adaptive cruse control system using radio signals are not allowed by the authority. But another system (here in Mk III Foor Focus) was approved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Honda lover on Feb 18, 2013 at 11:00 am

I heard that BMW no need to present the car to the jpj.

• Rakyat on Feb 20, 2013 at 5:15 pm

How about potong, do their cars need to send to jpj for testing? Even after testing, their cars still not safe.

• Brayokmok on Feb 16, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Beautiful…just waiting for the price…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
  • intermilan on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:02 pm

Whats about the GEARBOX?

If still equipped with the problematic DSG, this is just same ol’ bobbytrap in slightly new cloth.

Potential buyer beware.

And with just 140bhp and weight around 1300kg,
    It sure is just a normal small family car.
    Dont take this as a hot hatch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 17
    • resdi on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:34 am

hp is just for higher end speed, how many of us drive 240km/h? the torque is enough to push the car fast from standstill

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • No worries on Feb 17, 2013 at 9:24 am

There’s actually no problem with the DSG. Do you hear complains from “actual owners”. I have a Mark 5 Golf GTI and a VW Polo TSI. Between them its about 7 years of usage traveling across the nation, to Singapore, Thailand and back.My friends own the 1st Gen Toureg in Malaysia, Tiguan and the previous Passat. None of us have encountered problems with DSG. Who is making these rumours abt VW DSG’s anyway. Could they be salesmen from other car companies losing sales to VW’s? Must because VW is now the best selling European car in Malaysia. Smells of jealously, here?

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 96 Thumb down 170
      • PauKaya on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

just because you do not have a problem, doesn’t mean the others don’t. I am really happy for you though, you are honestly very lucky. These things aren’t rumours. Just go to any VW workshop and check for yourself. If the service centre or salesman tells you there isn’t anything wrong, I honestly suggest you start looking elsewhere. Do know though that the DSG problems only affect those with the 1.4 TSI engines and below.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 40
        • Jib Gor Gor on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:34 pm

As if other makes don’t have problems…

Don’t get me started with BMW or Merc ok ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 11
        • kentji on Feb 17, 2013 at 4:42 pm

been driving golf tsi for years dsg still running silky smooth without any problems, and so my other’s dsg7 friends, dont simply believe those rumours of jealousy spread on the net which cause by the china batch, listen to those who REALLY own a dsg7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 53
          • Pls lah VW Salesmen F Off on Feb 17, 2013 at 9:55 pm

Common “No Problem” I own one of DSG7 n has been in n out d service center many time. 

Agreed wit PauKaya, its lucky some of u just don face d shit issue or just being “ignorant bastard” and embrace VW as ur god n being perfect at all time.

Tiu nia ma VW, not just DSG problem n for all d probelm given to me n lousy as hole service center. 

Btw, I m having 2 major problem now n still awaiting for parts to b arrive since last 2 mths

WTF

Those so call VW supporter n Typical salesperson  pls save all ur energy don bother to reply my msg or condemn me, wait till u hav d same experience like me for owning 2 years d so call mighty “super CB car” n averagely every quarter my car got problem n in n out still hav to face those fking inexperience technician n waste time stuck dis junk in d shit yard for long time, my worse experience more than 2 mths in it n do nothing.

My 1st n last for dis shit brand

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
          • @Pls lah VW Salesmen F Off

Or you could simply be very unlucky to have such huge problem x2. Good luck on your next car. Have a great year ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
          • Honda lover on Feb 18, 2013 at 11:04 am

Yes typical Potong salesman.I think this fella is jealous of the junk Preve hb cannot win this VW icon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • driver on Feb 18, 2013 at 8:06 pm

I’m very curious to know the reason. Would it be because DSG 7 uses dry clutch as compared to wet clutch in DSG 6? Any thoughts?

• they said because cant engine CC too small to boost this much. because it happens only on 1.4 and below model, another thing could be the dry and wet clutch thingy too, GTI 2.0 uses wet clutch.

Anyway, me too, traded in my golf TSI after two time masuk kilang, stall at the mid of the road without any signal.

• Other brands must envy VW. True.

Having said that, to suggest VW’s without problem is a news to VW brand itself.

Newer technology normally come with problem. I’ve many VW friends that acknowledged their VW issues.

• civicEK on Feb 18, 2013 at 4:43 pm

errr bro, its not rumor coz my neighbor’s gear box also went for repair.

• Jimmy on Feb 23, 2013 at 1:16 am

This is not rumours, cos i inspect a lot of insurance claim warranty on VW DSG gearbox malfunction problem. If no problem why so many claim?

• lonelyobserve on Feb 18, 2013 at 6:42 am

If you guys still complaining about DSG, please make a petition to VW Malaysia on providing alternate gearbox besides DSG such as conventional automatic gearbox or manual gearbox. Rather than keeps complaining through the Internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
      • Typical Comment on Feb 21, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Ya rite, like VW M’sia will bother n listen?

THEY JUST WANT $$$

If they care, they should start improve their service center quality, any improvement??? Nope !!! since day one. My personal experience in 3 Klang Valley service cente, Sg Besi, Shah Alam n Damansara ——- one word “SUCK”

Ya, BTW I did Face to Face n written complain, so wat !!! Nothing help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • acrd2008 on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Spend 140k for a drivers car, an absolutely compact beauty or spend a bit more for a full fledged D segment car? Or a reconditioned Estima or Alphard?

A standard dilemma for any senior executive getting into the 8-10k salary range, by which time he has at least 2 young kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • Jimmy on Feb 16, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Unless wife also earns 8-10k per month, otherwise too small.
      Try not to spend > 10% of your monthly income on cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
    • what?? only earning 8-10k salary want to buy golf already, …i’m earning 14k now but wt the high cost of leaving, i still am driving a msian ppl car (p1) tks for a 1.5k monthly car allowance, at least i can afford to maintain & fuel the car wtout using my salary the car.

….wt 2 school going kids & even wife working, i dont think i can afford/waste 2k on monthly installment for this golf……wt bills to pay, school fees, kindie fees, housing loan…etc..etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 28
      • Agree! Better save some money for the children & buy more houses as investment. We have unpredictable and fragile looking economy now with European countries going into bankruptcy, better straighten up our priorities for the sake of our children’s future.

Unless we are raking in hundreds of thousands every month, then indulge as we like. It’s personal choice by the way, but make a good and wise choice.

Nevertheless, this VW is rather a nice and beautiful car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:10 pm

Can someone please explain to me why every Malaysian needs to have a few houses? Who is going to stay in them? At some point people will realize there is no demand for these houses, and the market will collapse. Same thing happened in Spain a couple of years ago.

Have one house for yourself to stay in: good. Investing… Very dangerous. I’d rather invest in other areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Wow 14k a month. What job u r doin?

• amirad on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Because they follow Kiyosaki and Azizi Ali. For cashflow and capital gains. Because of people like this, price of house skyrocketed out of control. I wonder how the next generation going to afford a house. Sure they can drive VWs but price of houses in strategic locations will be in millions in the next five years.

• Brought more Women on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:33 pm

my salary is approx rm11k a month and i drove a car with installment rm950 per month. personally, i think anything higher than my current installment will be a quite a burden.

i may not able to put aside certain funds such as other housing loans, kids education, emergency cash and holidays coz most of the monies spent on the installment.

but sometimes sibuk come paultan.org la just to droll at latest rides and can only wish.

• Luar biasa on Feb 17, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Its ok thats why can always have HONDA “the power of dream” … can always keep dreaming..

dont see why need to keep so many cash..

later u grow old..
          cannot even enjoy drive/ride..
          why waste your youth/time..
          enjoy what u can have..

• ahmad loy on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:01 am

FYI..are you knowing about the “FC”(fuel comsumption)between NA engines with conventional gearbox compared to turbo engines with dual clutch (esp.with many ratio)?..if you know these tomorrow, the next day you will know that why the new BMW 3 series with 8 speeder only consumes fuel as much as Perodua Kelisa from KL to Kota Bharu (average 160km/h)..the VW Polo 1.2 TSi did 750km per full tank (RM83/RM1.98RON95)..which one better..when considering buying a car, please think “FC” first..so, are you “jimat” with P1?

• Spell check on Mar 07, 2013 at 10:02 pm

Cost of living , not “leaving “. Sorry couldn’t help it as you mentioned you are earning a good salary . But yeah I got the gist of your comments and congratulations on your financial sense not to indulge in buying imported cars when there are other more important priorities . Totally agree :)

• oilworker on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:13 pm

hmm this one vs mazda 6… hard to choose…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • blablabla on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Definately the Mazda6 for Design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
    • PauKaya on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:36 am

you like nice interior, Premium branding (well in malaysia at least) go VW, otherwise go Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 15
  • nanashisan on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Hope the VW Bluemotion technology will classified as EEV hence cheaper than normal price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • boring looking hatch…would only consider if manual tranny available.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
  • nothing new, old design

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 87
    • oldie on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:38 am

old design with lesser hp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • less hp not very inportant…this new tsi have higher torque of 250nm compared to the twin charger 240nm….for real world usage, torque is more inportant. 250nm torque this golf producing more than a 2.4 accord or camry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • TSI laa on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:59 pm

Simple, this ‘underpowered’ 1.4 TSI goes from 0 to 100 in 8.5 secs. The new “super high tech” dual VVTi 2.5V Camry takes 9.7 secs. The museum grade 2.0 Camry takes 12.5 secs. I think the Golf takes shorter than that on crawl mode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
          • ahmad loy on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:20 am

..please “apple to apple” comparison not “apple to limau mandarin”..the turbo engines dual clutch gearbox VW Golf 1.4 TSi “bukan lawan” 2.5V Dual VVTi Toyota Camry..itu serupa arnab lumba lari dengan siput babi..please lah kawan!

• Honda lover on Feb 18, 2013 at 11:08 am

u mean the upcoming potong hb?

• Jerry Tan on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Looks like a minor facelift

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
  • unforgiven on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:53 pm

So the actual price is supposed to be cheaper than the current preve? Eev tax structure since drb also indirectly or directly under tun? Our must we change something fast to enjoy lower price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:12 pm

What? Preve had a 75% tax. The CKD Golf probably around 85%? Or maybe even 75%…

• prakash on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Overprice car that sells on brand, sad to say, I’m a victim of the vw hype and now my golf tsi dsg gearbox cannot even do a smooth shift in traffic jam. Service centre told me upgraded new software but it feels worst, I will sell this car before warranty is over. Second hand value also quite weak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Feb 16, 2013 at 11:41 pm

Pity you.
      I am sure enourmous numbers of VW owners in Europe and America Syarikat are crying now because of their DSGs.
      VW, you are in trouble now. See, you have so many enemies and haters because of your DSGs. All of them are not your jeolous enemies ya VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • skypirate on Feb 17, 2013 at 1:07 am

as a matter of fact, the golf or any other VW is not a major player in Amerika Syarikat because of the Americans perceived reliability issues of VW. However in Europe, yes, it is a best seller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • googleitsnothard on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:45 am

yeah, it’s not like passat and jetta are selling well there.

• “Throughout 2012, the VW brand — the top-selling division for the German automaker — routinely posted sales increases of 30 percent or more. Volkswagen of America CEO Jonathan Browning warned at the Detroit auto show last month that the brand could not grow at such a brisk pace indefinitely.”
          http://www.autonews.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20130201/RETAIL01/302019746/volkswagen-finally-loses-some-steam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • ahmad loy on Feb 24, 2013 at 1:31 am

FYI..dual clutch gearbox, DSG not suitable for crawling in traffic jamned..gearboxes with outdated CVVT or advanced Mazda SkyActive the best solution for traffic jamned..using “+-” option for your DSG in traffic jamned.

• unforgiven on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:01 pm

The rim is not on par with the price, unless it’s a low spec price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:15 pm

I don’t want big rims. They ruin the ride. They can hurt handling. They ruin the car (mechanical failures). They hurt performance. The FC is higher. The tyres are expensive.

• unforgiven on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:52 pm

Have you driven those with above 18″ before? Conti? If not let’s wait for a price drop 1 day for you to enjoy it, else just have to forget it.

• PauKaya on Feb 16, 2013 at 10:24 pm

the dsg spells trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Pity Malaysians.

They not even noticed that they’re victimized by the brand alone! This car even with EEV STATUS not even we can dream about getting the same price as the predecessor’s.

This idiotic mentality is caused by the idea of protecting the resale value as well as trade in/trade of for old cars. Not to mention to protect of sustainability of government easiest source of revenue.

Thus, weaker engine though come with better technology PLUS EEV privilege must translated into CHEAPER than with the more powerful yet more expensive outgoing 160ps Golf 4tsi.

The discount should continue as the 7-speed DSG not the best tranny or more reliable than othet manufacturer 6AT.

RM140K or cheaper is only way though the premium is due to the VW badge appeal per se.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • vw does have problem free DSG gearbox.
      it is the 6 speed wet clutch DSG (6DSG) found in VW models with 2.0L engine.
      the 1.4Tsi comes with 7 speed dry clutch DSG (7DSG) which is the problematic GB most people encounter.
      if VW is smart enough, the newer 1.4 models should be fitted with 6DSG.

my scirocco 1.4 has probl;em free 7DSG though, only problem I faced is the crappy service from VW Sg. Besi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • DSG Problems

www.autoevolution.com/news/faulty-volkswagen-dsg-gearboxes-reported-in-europe-46766.html

• Davincci on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:18 am

Absolutely new platform and engine, car had grown much bigger compare to previous model. Volkswagen always able to live up our life.

Except its 7dsg…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:36 am

Oh my those rims sure look ugly to me.

On to the price issue here…even if VW were to lower the price, I think it’ll only be a few k cheaper since they did save some cost by using a cheaper engine.

In dropping the price, I sure do hope it comes with some basic driver aids like what the Mazda 6 has like lane departure or blind spot warning systems.

• Black Dog on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:51 am

My neighbour has booked a unit & the expected launch is in March.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • ish,before this i wrote comment in paultan comment section asking vw to bring in manual box.why they dont bring?vw,u no read paultan kah?i already start saving up to buy ur car u know.u bring dsg who are going to buy?alfa silispid better than ur dsg7 u know.now vw polo people sell cheap cheap also no one dare to touch.haihh,wat to do.buy japanese back lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Ah Jung on Feb 17, 2013 at 1:28 am

I owned Kia Forte but I rather buy cheapo and ‘frog’ design of Kia Rio. for me even Rio’s design are frog wannabe face but much cheaper and the rear design of MK7 is similar. Now Kia > VW/Conti > Japs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 30
    • What? on Feb 17, 2013 at 1:57 am

Kia…serious.. Comparing kia with a volkswagen? Lol.. Please, hussh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
      • Bohtakchek on Feb 17, 2013 at 4:40 am

Korean coming out with a 1.6 turbo soon…u lagi hussssh? Powerful engine tapi gbox koyak after 2 years wor…although vw Kasi foc Tukar baru gbox masa habits warranty 15k satu biji…u mau ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • Hahahkia on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:24 am

Please, u guys are funny,, kia and volkswagen.. Please hush. Bohrakchek, shhhhhhh..lbe quiet.. No more kia stuff on this page..especially comparisons… Big no.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
          • Chee Ming on Feb 18, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Man u kia fanatics kimchi lovers are so awesome.. Sarcasm detected.

Vw has its downsides, but never close to even be near KIA territory. Spare parts for mercedes can be expensive, but how does it look when u start comparing kia with it.. “Ooohh kia got 5 years warranty and merc dont, omg kia wins omg kia is so awesome” please, hush u kia fans. God u guys are just head over heels with ur kia shit.

• The truth on Feb 18, 2013 at 9:26 pm

Its still cheaper than mercedes if we are talking about original parts. Ppl have the perception that merc parts are cheaper because there are scores of OEM manufacturer for Merc, but so far none for the korean and italian brands.

And don’t think for a sec VW is an awesome brand. Its the people’s car with half cooked technology bringing headache to the very people who owns it.

High tech but so what? Lets see what happens to the scores of TSi on the road in the next 5-8 years.

• Inside and out looks better than the mk6 TSI but the rims is ugly and very cheap…i don’t think Kia Rio looks like Frog but very nice looking car!of coz cannot compare with VW Golf except VW UP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • takada on Feb 17, 2013 at 1:41 am

though it is 140hp it is said to be 200kg lighter that the predecessor.
    I wonder how it performs…

• Bohtakchek on Feb 17, 2013 at 4:45 am

Save another 2 year to buy f30 la…more rewarding. Than expecting gbox SURE koyak experience…if vw bring in 6 speed manual can consider la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Malaysia 1 on Feb 17, 2013 at 2:47 pm

Well buy F30.. get seat karat/rusty…
      then vibrate here there..
      sensor pop2 lights up :)

hurm…

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:21 pm

F30 has the problem that the steering locks up if you drive faster for more than 100 km. Can be very dangerous. Sorry, but that car is still a beta version.

• costwise on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:56 am

What a bore! Like Toyota, the design strategy worked. Toyota, please do not follow Korean.

• Gavin on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:00 am

Meh same engine just different skin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • TSI laa on Feb 17, 2013 at 3:02 pm

New engine laa. The current twin charged turbo has ben dropped. this new one is just a single turbo with enphasis on efficiency.

• kelabu asap on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:05 am

Baru plan nak angkat polo sedan, tukar plan ambil almera lah kalau begini. Harga pun lagi murah.

• Mugilan on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:19 am

My favorite car of all time since I was from high school. ( I prefer the mk 5).

And VW are you listening ? I want manual in my Golf !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Have you driven a manual VW before? I had 3. All of them had a horrible clutch. Golf 4, Golf+ 5, Touran. Rest of the manual box is good. But the clutch lacks any indication showing you where it actually makes contact.

• akula on Feb 17, 2013 at 9:57 pm

Manual? How about Traffic Jam? My experience with traffic Jam at Bukit Tinggi(naik bukit), Karak Highway during balik kampung raya time make me fed-up with manual gearbox…lots of manual car got smoke come out. I think you know why.

• AVH® on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:44 pm

I drive a manual car almost daily to and from Subang using either the LDP or the NKVE. Agreed, traffic jam can be quite a pain. But it makes you plan your daily trip much better, well it did for me.

Check with your smartphone if you have one to find out if there is any Jam in the route. If there is, wake up earlier or if you’re not in a rush sit back and have some tea, somewhere, in about an hour, the Jam usually thinner. I play with Google Maps usual to find out new routes.

But yeah, I have’t tried driving into KL with a manual, still to tough. But trust me, if the roads is clear, it will make all your suffering worth it, well…. It’s worth it for me. BTW, you can actually bypass the Karak Highway if you’re heading to Bentong sing the old creepy road. but your driving skill must be up to task. I still suggest hitting Karak Highway on 6 am……trying to help.

• Maserati on Feb 17, 2013 at 8:39 am

Hahaha, someone comparing Korean rubbish like Kia with VW. What they fail to realise is that KIA technology is decades behind the japs and the germans.

Anyway, why u guys keep complaining about the DSG gearbox? Its covered by warranty, so go get it upgraded to the latest version! Its the clutch that is causing the dsg gearbox problems. The newly designed clutch doesnt hv this problem anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • kentji on Feb 17, 2013 at 4:52 pm

dude, haters everywhere, problem free dsg gearbox will never convinced them, 90% of those complaining dsg7 never own a vw, they are just fricking keyboard warriors, flipping those past issues

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 43
    • PauKaya on Feb 17, 2013 at 4:53 pm

warranty is more for the peace of mind than satisfaction. nobody should hope for any breakdowns unless he or she is desperate for a refund. just think of it this way, you saved up for your beautiful car, you can’t wait to drive it to the east coast and lovely sceneries, then the car simply just doesn’t work, its a pretty horrible feeling you know.

• now vw puts golf to more family oriented car with bigger boots and cabin. single charger instead of two doesn’t mean it’s a lot of different from the previous version because 200kg lesser in weight can make it. more horse power is needed if you emphasize top speed and even so the malaysian roads condition make it near to useless.

• cyberbanana on Feb 17, 2013 at 9:43 am

I agreed with comments about manual gb, i just wonder why most car importers dont bother to bring in manual variants as they only need to import them as cbu and dont need to setup any new production line here. Even in small qty like 50 units a year should not be difficult to sell. There is demand for manual cars for example crz which is probably more common than polo here.

• beatnik on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:44 am

Lack of passion and enthusiasm and they just want to make quick $$$. They only interested to sell in large quantities (auto variant).

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:28 pm

Every variant needs to be approved by mito. I guess they don’t want that headache. And Malaysians generally don’t want manual boxes, or at least that is what the distributors think. Those who cry they want manual may not buy one in the end, cause they may not be able to buy the car anyway. If you want it, go to dealerships and write to the distributor. Make it clear that you would actually buy the car with a manual box.

That being said I am not a fan of VWs manual gearboxes. The clutch is completely dead in terms of feel and feedback.

• Rieba Kaiseg on Feb 17, 2013 at 12:18 pm

I just bought a Prius C and love it. I considered VW but I decided not to, after visiting a couple of VW Service Centres, although the cars were very sexy. The centres were dingy and not inviting. That might be superficial but they did not get my business. The car aside, the service quality is an important element of the ownership experience, and I cannot see any manufacturer defeat Toyota comprehensively in this space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Sleepyhollow on Feb 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Buy cars is about making choices in life. Another decision making at the junction.. Well, for those who can afford it, why not pamper itself wif something u adore? Those who couldn’t afford 1 jus yet, get something practical. Designs, safety, prices, maintainance , etc.. Are our consideration… I dun take 10 grant salary per month? But I still get something I like n afford..

• kadajawi on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:33 pm

The Golf is supposed to be a sane choice. The best car (overall) in the C segment (excluding premium brands). But not necessarily the most involving and exciting to drive (get a Focus), not the nicest looking (get a Renault or Alfa, or Citroen). That is why the design is very conservative. One car for all people, like in the ads.

Personally I would get a Focus instead. They are very nice to drive, and the rest is almost as good as the Golf. The manual gearbox is nicer, the steering is nicer. Interior is behind the Golf though. At least in past generations.

• golf guy on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm

The golf tsi mk6 is a good car but the ride is on the firm side and its not very quite at higher speeds….and in the corners its not fun to drive my peugeot 405 deals with corners much better. But the new mk7 golf is quiter, more comfortable and more fun to drive but the engine is underpowered pitty :( and i think the price should be around RM165k which is expensive. Some say the focus may be better to drive but the top of the interior is good lower down bad and back seat doors 100% plastic not very spacious and quite a small boot and most of all very very bad dealership like in ford puchong…….hummm

• golf guy on Feb 17, 2013 at 6:44 pm

How much is this car??? Down on power but good torque.As much as a camry and mazda 6 2.5. But low spec…….

• shawal on Feb 17, 2013 at 7:21 pm

steering wheel looks nice…
    but the dash is not finished in black gloss nor the brushed aluminium …. -_-” , that sucks…
    but its good to see that big touchscreen tho rather than the alarm-clock looking radio..

• Portal KSSR on Feb 17, 2013 at 11:11 pm

cannot afford on this one..hehe

• ImnotJuan on Feb 18, 2013 at 1:28 am

CRZ look nicer than mk7, boring golf…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • it will be awesome if this would to be sold around RM140-145k judging by the decrease of horsepower. well, HP doesnt count much in Malaysia as we only drive on short motorway which always filled with cars, esp in KL. Torque is the main player over here as well as in Europe thats y they are all driving diesel cars. HP oni being emphasized greatly in US as they love top speed rather that pick-up.

• VWSUCKS on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:54 am

Another expensive boring looking people car. The rear look like alfa 145. Heck, might as well buy alfa 145 and much nicer looking than this german tart.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • cybermaster98 on Feb 18, 2013 at 2:45 pm

yea, looks nice an all that, but at 150-160k, might as well get k5. best in its class and fitted with more tech gizmos…

• ernie on Feb 18, 2013 at 3:40 pm

my polo sedan is 2months old and the doors are squeaking already. taking it back for rubber lining replacement.extremely disappointed with VW for such shoddy workmanship!

• of course squeaking…it is a VW.
      both my roc and passat cc started rattling in the 1st month itself. not happy to say it but it is a fact that i have to accept and will not deny it

• golf guy on Feb 18, 2013 at 6:56 pm

If a Volkswagen golf is boring then what about a Toyota Camry , Honda accord, civic???

• golf guy on Feb 18, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Then what cars do you drive toyota gt 86 , Ferrari 458 , BMW m5 ?

• golf guy on Feb 18, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Exciting cars well there is the Renault meganne RS 265 cup , ford focus st , BMW 328i , Audi A4 2.0 , golf r , sirocco r , Mazda 3 mps , Mazda rx8 , Toyota gt 86 under RM 280k

• Simon Lee on Feb 19, 2013 at 7:55 am

Its obvious VW is becoming a household name in Malaysia. Look how many comments here criticising the car? As we all know, that is the Malaysian way of saying we are “envious” of the success. Same as those who are envious about Toyota and Honda cars because they sell well.

Please go through Top Gear, Autocar, Car, What Car and other famous car magazines review of this particular VW Golf Mark 7 and you will know why this car is the “best” car money can buy now, not just in Malaysia, but throughout the world. Even the often cynical Jeremy Clarkson says that secretly, all cars companies want their cars to be VW Golfs’s ..

By the way, this new Golf has its DSG problems sorted out already. Please read the car reviews I mentioned above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 59
  • guys, whoever said Golf is a boring car must be katak di bawah tempurung. i wont judge what car are you driving but certainly you hvnt try the magnificent Golf just yet. yes, VW’s DSG might sux same goes to BMW and MERC. im driving a F10 528i and honestly apart from excellent handling, its not problem free. even in USA and Europe, rusty seat in F30 is a continuous issues. so dunnit to complain. wait one more year when the F30 is more stable. A piece of advice, never buy a first batch car no matter how hardcore fan u are. wait at least 6 month till bugs are all fixed. even BMW sc doesnt recommend me to buy 1st batch F30 when i wanted to book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
  • Garfield on Feb 19, 2013 at 10:28 am

True that someone said here the keyboard warriors know how to find faults but fail to enjoy real motoring experience.

Yes VW’s resale value are perceived low and made worse by the DSG7 problems. So? Take advantage of it! I bought for my wife a used ’08 Cross Touran, luckily with the reliable DSG6….. and I look forward for every chance to drive it rather than my trusty but boring Sylphy. Go ahead and thrash VW more….. and I look forward to my next used low-priced conti thanks to Malaysian not trusting these brands…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 51
    • Malaysian con by VW on Feb 21, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Don just say only, go n get d current DSG7, be it new or used then only comment.

It’s thr any comment bout DSG6 ???? Hardly see……. Pls lah another VW sales or supporter. Read all d comment 1st, it’s all bout DSG7 problem.

Btw, thrs lots of VW DSG7 owner here lah, some problem owner like me choose to express here n some choose to b quiet.

Wat keyboard warrior WTF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 35
  • golf guy on Feb 19, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Simon Lee I completely agree with you :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 19
  • Rakyat on Feb 20, 2013 at 1:01 am

Finally… the people’s car is back. For the same price, it’s time to dump preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • toyodes on Feb 20, 2013 at 8:43 am

The life would be boring with same cars, lucky other car makers come up with different ones. Just imagine if toyota comes with altis gti, altis plus, altis convertible, altis diesel, WTH

*vomit*

• Sensibility on Feb 23, 2013 at 11:50 pm

After reading all the comments here, i don’t think Malaysia can be ‘negara maju’ by 2020 with these type of people and thinking skills!

• if the dsg gear box can use longer than mk6, i will buy this car as the cabin is very refined

• Wheel on Feb 24, 2013 at 12:41 pm

I see lots of blind jealousy here. I’m really looking forward to the gti mk7, hopefully after raya here?

And for all you mental midgets who either can’t appreciate or buy one, why read the article/review anyway if your only input is blind negativity?

Useful and productive moments please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 68